Down Forum

Alcohol consumption effecting the GAA

(Oldest Posts First)

It has came to my attention in recent years that alcohol is starting to have serious effects on players breaking into senior level. I have been monitoring the subject for three years now and I have came to a conclusion that it seems to effect rural clubs more so than the town / city teams. Players between the age of 16 and 21 here seem to lose all interest in the sport and just turn to drinking at the weekends instead. Obviously I don't want to mention any names, but these players need to realise that they only have (if lucky) a maximum of 15 more years of playing football and should know to make the most of it.
This may seem like a bit of a rant but id like peoples thoughts on this and thought on how these rural clubs can combat this.

blackspot15 (Down) - Posts: 18 - 21/11/2014 11:26:41    1673919

Link

Blackspot, I don't think this is a recent problem by any stretch. Have you factored in the proportion of young people who go on to study further/higher education? Fewer and fewer are willing to work in a rural setting and when they go to the Universities and take a loan they end up hitting the drink and having a great time. There were always ones who went home at the weekend to play a match, but others, like myself, left the football not to return until years later.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1504 - 21/11/2014 11:46:15    1673922

Link