Clare V Cork - All Ireland Hurling Final 2024

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don be trying to make excuses for him … he got it wrong.. So in your view will Croke park with all their scrutiny call him out on not giving a black card and a penalty to Cork for a blatant pull down stopping a goal scoring opportunity…?"
That shouldn't have even been a play in the game. The free that play resulted from should've been a free in for Clare if it was a free at all, not a free out to Cork.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 22/07/2024 17:27:39    2560726

Was on the Hill yesterday to see the game, heartbroken to be honest, but Clare were hungrier for the ball in a lot of places, which cost us dearly in our puckouts. But to be fair to the lads they fought back every time, and Downey scored a screamer of a goal.

Well done to Clare for everything though.

I'm very happy with Pat Ryan, this only being his second year with the seniors, I believe he'll bring this team great places, maybe a few titles aswell. I'm only 18, so have never seen Cork bring back the hurling, but I'm confident it'll happen in the next year or two.

As a Glen man I'm obviously very disappointed for Hoggie, but as I've learned during the week there's a big enough list of amazing players who've never earned a Celtic Cross, unfortunately i think he'll be joining that list.

It'll be a few tough days but I'm kind of used to that by now. Can't wait until Croker is blaring out the Banks, soon enough.

It's been a great year and I'm greatful for where we got to after the start we had this year. Cork will be back next year, no doubt about it. Would love a Cork Clare Munster final, show Limerick that they don't own the competition.

CORK FOR LIAM 2025!

HonCork (Cork) - Posts: 2 - 22/07/2024 19:45:09    2560759

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Neither would even have been frees based on today. The chop on fitzgibbon was worse than either of Rory's and resulted in a Clare score"
I think the Wexford lads are taking the AI defeat worse than the Cork lads. Wexford lads and some cawbogue from Cavan. Please don't ever or forever confuse me with him. I'm foreveryoung. He's forever wrong or something like that with a color thrown it!

Bottom line lads, Johnny Murphy is a great ref and has a great team of officials with him! His only downfall is that Limerick has been so successful over the past 6-7 years that he could never get near an AIF until Limerick lost.

Think about it Wexford heads, you better start praying that Limerick start making finals again, or Murphy will have any AIF without Limerick in it, over the coming 5-6 years until he's 50!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2068 - 22/07/2024 20:19:20    2560761

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don be trying to make excuses for him … he got it wrong.. So in your view will Croke park with all their scrutiny call him out on not giving a black card and a penalty to Cork for a blatant pull down stopping a goal scoring opportunity…?"
The GAA wont review? Refs body may do. I am sure when the ref looks at the match he will see he missed and got alot. We all rave about the spectacular speed and skill levels of the game it must be an incredibly difficult game to officiate. But if a superhuman ref happened to come along and he got every infringment right a hurling match would last about 4 hours. Its swings and round-abouts Cork are not complaining so forget it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4936 - 22/07/2024 20:46:49    2560765

Congrats on Johny on his All Ireland medal. Only Limerick man to receive this year.

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 24 - 22/07/2024 23:14:26    2560792

Liam McCarthy is only on loan this year ........

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 180 - 23/07/2024 01:14:08    2560797

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Congrats on Johny on his All Ireland medal. Only Limerick man to receive this year."
Six in a row Munster Champions. What did Cork actually win this year??

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 09:36:38    2560813

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I think the Wexford lads are taking the AI defeat worse than the Cork lads. Wexford lads and some cawbogue from Cavan. Please don't ever or forever confuse me with him. I'm foreveryoung. He's forever wrong or something like that with a color thrown it!

Bottom line lads, Johnny Murphy is a great ref and has a great team of officials with him! His only downfall is that Limerick has been so successful over the past 6-7 years that he could never get near an AIF until Limerick lost.

Think about it Wexford heads, you better start praying that Limerick start making finals again, or Murphy will have any AIF without Limerick in it, over the coming 5-6 years until he's 50!"
Yes indeed and Owen's is a brilliant Referee as well. As Brian Cody so famously said to Marty long ago. 'Look at the whole game before you criticize a Ref Performance'.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 09:40:40    2560814

Replying To HonCork:  "Was on the Hill yesterday to see the game, heartbroken to be honest, but Clare were hungrier for the ball in a lot of places, which cost us dearly in our puckouts. But to be fair to the lads they fought back every time, and Downey scored a screamer of a goal.

Well done to Clare for everything though.

I'm very happy with Pat Ryan, this only being his second year with the seniors, I believe he'll bring this team great places, maybe a few titles aswell. I'm only 18, so have never seen Cork bring back the hurling, but I'm confident it'll happen in the next year or two.

As a Glen man I'm obviously very disappointed for Hoggie, but as I've learned during the week there's a big enough list of amazing players who've never earned a Celtic Cross, unfortunately i think he'll be joining that list.

It'll be a few tough days but I'm kind of used to that by now. Can't wait until Croker is blaring out the Banks, soon enough.

It's been a great year and I'm greatful for where we got to after the start we had this year. Cork will be back next year, no doubt about it. Would love a Cork Clare Munster final, show Limerick that they don't own the competition.

CORK FOR LIAM 2025!"
You have obviously a very level head on you for one so young. However I was fifty years older than You before I saw Limerick win their second All Ireland in my lifetime and I never begrudgjed Cork their many success in all them decades. None of us Limerick Folk think we own that or any other competition, but we are all very proud of that grand team that won it a record six times in a row

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 09:48:05    2560816

Firstly, congratulations to Clare, the best team won and I have no hesitation in saying that. I'm not going to discuss refereeing decisions because you should never be putting yourself in the position where they can influence the result.

Clare should have won it in normal time, but some wayward shooting meant they didn't. Still, huge credit must go to our lads for hanging in there and not giving up, which obviously led to the great spectacle it was.

As they did down in PUC, Clare dominated the puck-outs, and this is where we lost the game. Leen and Hogan's performances in the corners were also outstanding. For us to win we needed Barrett motoring, but he was never let and ended up being substituted.

As a Glen Rovers man, I'm gutted for Hoggie, but immensely proud of the year both Downey brothers have had, and was delighted to see them named on team of the year.

Lastly, there was 6 empty seats next to me for the whole match (Cusack 408 row H) which was shocking to see, especially when you had to walk past people on the way in who were desperate for tickets... Not sure how this happens.

Roll on 2025 and we go again....

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 347 - 23/07/2024 10:22:04    2560824

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Six in a row Munster Champions. What did Cork actually win this year??"
Same as they have won every year since 2018.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 10:38:11    2560827

Having watched it back, we got the rub of the green from the referree there is no question about that.

If we had been more effecient with our shooting we would have won the game regardless but Cork can feel hard done by.

In saying that if you go 7 or 8 points ahead and lose the game, you cant really have any compliants. I thought we were sharp all day and we had stand out performances all over the pitch. Cork on the otherhand did not get the traction out of their marquee players that we did and that was the winning and losing of the game IMO.

I thought Cork would overrun us in extra time as they have youth on their side but our lads stuck at it and it was incredible see our subs have the impact they did. Meehans point showed courage and proved to be the winner.

So proud of our lads. Its an incredible feeling.

To the Limerick lads saying Liam is on loan, it isnt. Its home!!!!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 23/07/2024 10:50:10    2560836

Replying To Viking66:  "Same as they have won every year since 2018."
Classy...

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 347 - 23/07/2024 10:59:47    2560838

Replying To Viking66:  "Same as they have won every year since 2018."
Typical snide remark. At least we stopped the drive for 5, and contributed to one of the greatest all Ireland finals ever seen. Rebel team of 2024 can hold heads high!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 11:10:44    2560839

Replying To bruffgael:  "Liam McCarthy is only on loan this year ........"
Remember James McCarthy getting slagged off for talking about "the hurt of losing" even after winning 6 in a row

That's the mindset I feel Limerick will be in.. it won't be sitting well with your serial winning players, in fact your stupidly excellent panel of extraordinary serial winners.

The right people will be saying the right things, enjoy the little bit of rest, but for me, Limerick will be like demons next year, the class and desire will be flowing.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 23/07/2024 11:11:48    2560840

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Six in a row Munster Champions. What did Cork actually win this year??"
Does Winning Munster actually mean much anymore? Getting out of Munster and winning All Ireland is the target! Kilkenny have a stranglehold on Leinster, but am sure that the All Ireland is all that's on their minds. Cork have had a good year, providing some great hurling, unlucky not to have got a replay, and stopping Limerick twice. Was good to see Tony Kelly of Clare, lighting up Croke park with his class, and was the highlight of a great final.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 11:19:11    2560842

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Having watched it back, we got the rub of the green from the referree there is no question about that.

If we had been more effecient with our shooting we would have won the game regardless but Cork can feel hard done by.

In saying that if you go 7 or 8 points ahead and lose the game, you cant really have any compliants. I thought we were sharp all day and we had stand out performances all over the pitch. Cork on the otherhand did not get the traction out of their marquee players that we did and that was the winning and losing of the game IMO.

I thought Cork would overrun us in extra time as they have youth on their side but our lads stuck at it and it was incredible see our subs have the impact they did. Meehans point showed courage and proved to be the winner.

To the Limerick lads saying Liam is on loan, it isnt. Its home!!!!"
we did get lucky breaks definitely the 65 that wasn't the foul on ROF the possible black card, John Conlon one handed pull that landed on Cork player but we missed some awful wides we were marginally better.

Next year will be a nightmare to qualify even so many teams that can do it Limerick will be even better next year there age profile is good Cork Kilkenny obviously literally 10 teams that could win it not a lot between any teams on a given day

Roll on 2025

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 958 - 23/07/2024 11:20:43    2560843

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Typical snide remark. At least we stopped the drive for 5, and contributed to one of the greatest all Ireland finals ever seen. Rebel team of 2024 can hold heads high!"
Ah lad it's only having the craic! I was on the Dart after the game heading for Dun Laoghaire and got talking to a young lad from Cork, who started the conversation by laughing at my Wexford top. We were all wedged together like sardines. He's a friend of Ciaran Joyce and hurls for Castlemartyr. He was very knowledgeable for a young lad, and good craic for 20 minutes though slightly the worse for drink! I didn't get thick with him for laughing, so neither should you!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 11:23:55    2560845

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yes indeed and Owen's is a brilliant Referee as well. As Brian Cody so famously said to Marty long ago. 'Look at the whole game before you criticize a Ref Performance'."
Yeah.....Cody had plenty to say about referees BEFORE games too, if it suited his agenda. I recall him having plenty to say on the subject in the lead up to the '12 final, for example, possibly because the 'brilliant' Owens wasn't slated to handle that one. Was Cody the first 'celebrity' ever to bring the word 'criminal' into the public domain, in relation to a refereeing performance?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 23/07/2024 11:28:22    2560846

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Having watched it back, we got the rub of the green from the referree there is no question about that.

To the Limerick lads saying Liam is on loan, it isnt. Its home!!!!"
No harm in Clare winning all Ireland. They've had their own tough days in last few years, and in Tony Kelly and Shane O' Donnell had a few players who are probably best in the country. Worthy winners and here's to 2025!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 11:31:22    2560847