Clare V Cork - All Ireland Hurling Final 2024

Replying To jimbodub:  "Remember James McCarthy getting slagged off for talking about "the hurt of losing" even after winning 6 in a row

That's the mindset I feel Limerick will be in.. it won't be sitting well with your serial winning players, in fact your stupidly excellent panel of extraordinary serial winners.

The right people will be saying the right things, enjoy the little bit of rest, but for me, Limerick will be like demons next year, the class and desire will be flowing."
Yes, great 2025 in store and getting out of Munster will be a challenge. Cork, Clare Limerick, Waterford and Tipperary will battle it out again. Leinster is a walk in the park, and Kilkenny have no problem in getting through.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 11:41:11    2560851

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Firstly, congratulations to Clare, the best team won and I have no hesitation in saying that. I'm not going to discuss refereeing decisions because you should never be putting yourself in the position where they can influence the result.

Clare should have won it in normal time, but some wayward shooting meant they didn't. Still, huge credit must go to our lads for hanging in there and not giving up, which obviously led to the great spectacle it was.

As they did down in PUC, Clare dominated the puck-outs, and this is where we lost the game. Leen and Hogan's performances in the corners were also outstanding. For us to win we needed Barrett motoring, but he was never let and ended up being substituted.

As a Glen Rovers man, I'm gutted for Hoggie, but immensely proud of the year both Downey brothers have had, and was delighted to see them named on team of the year.

Lastly, there was 6 empty seats next to me for the whole match (Cusack 408 row H) which was shocking to see, especially when you had to walk past people on the way in who were desperate for tickets... Not sure how this happens.

Roll on 2025 and we go again...."
I thought cork had to be a bit braver on their puck outs.

They didn't go short enough, Clare set up in a way that almost said "go on I dare you to go short" and Cork for the most part went long playing into Clares hands.

Fantastic game, Clare marginally the better team, poor performance from our officials I thought, not just Johnny Murphy who bottled the biggest decision of the day.

Nevertheless that shouldn't take away from Clares performance on the day.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1401 - 23/07/2024 11:44:53    2560854

Replying To Viking66:  "Ah lad it's only having the craic! I was on the Dart after the game heading for Dun Laoghaire and got talking to a young lad from Cork, who started the conversation by laughing at my Wexford top. We were all wedged together like sardines. He's a friend of Ciaran Joyce and hurls for Castlemartyr. He was very knowledgeable for a young lad, and good craic for 20 minutes though slightly the worse for drink! I didn't get thick with him for laughing, so neither should you!"
You're just an attention seeker. Wexford haven't won all Ireland since 1996, so you follow Limerick. Yeah, who cares if you wear Wexford shirt to All Ireland, gives you something to post about here. Hoganstand needs you. Ha ha

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 11:45:01    2560855

Replying To tearintom:  "I thought cork had to be a bit braver on their puck outs.

They didn't go short enough, Clare set up in a way that almost said "go on I dare you to go short" and Cork for the most part went long playing into Clares hands.

Fantastic game, Clare marginally the better team, poor performance from our officials I thought, not just Johnny Murphy

Nevertheless that shouldn't take away from Clares performance on the day."
A perfect summing up… Corks long puck out just didn't function…and your view of the officials is spot on…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 23/07/2024 12:18:36    2560865

Replying To Ryanteam:  "You're just an attention seeker. Wexford haven't won all Ireland since 1996, so you follow Limerick. Yeah, who cares if you wear Wexford shirt to All Ireland, gives you something to post about here. Hoganstand needs you. Ha ha"
Nail on the head! Mr. Viking just does not like Cork - he will say otherwise, Cork friends, etc.. but no fooling us.
I'm wondering was it a Clare jersey he had on for the match???

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 347 - 23/07/2024 12:23:20    2560868

Replying To tearintom:  "I thought cork had to be a bit braver on their puck outs.

Fantastic game, Clare marginally the better team, poor performance from our officials I thought, not just Johnny Murphy who bottled the biggest decision of the day.

Nevertheless that shouldn't take away from Clares performance on the day."
We wanted Cork to go short as Collins is not suited to it. in the RR game, he coughed up a number of points by going short.

IMO Cork need to change the goal keeper. Once we got control of the long ball it was serious advantage clare.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 23/07/2024 12:30:37    2560872

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Yes, great 2025 in store and getting out of Munster will be a challenge. Cork, Clare Limerick, Waterford and Tipperary will battle it out again. Leinster is a walk in the park, and Kilkenny have no problem in getting through."
Limerick have won 6 provincials in a row at present. Kilkenny have not.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 23/07/2024 12:35:08    2560876

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Six in a row Munster Champions. What did Cork actually win this year??"
They won twice against the 5 in a row seekers, took the wind out of their sails, stopped ye from becoming the all time top-braggers, no mean feat!
Clare along with Cork gave us one of the most exciting AIs in many a year and restored hurling supporters' belief in the game of hurling.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 23/07/2024 12:55:40    2560883

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Yes, great 2025 in store and getting out of Munster will be a challenge. Cork, Clare Limerick, Waterford and Tipperary will battle it out again. Leinster is a walk in the park, and Kilkenny have no problem in getting through."
Are you serious Ryanteam???
Kilkenny won leinster but in getting there they drew with Galway, beat Wexford by 1 point and drew with Carlow!!!
A walk in the park for the cats is outrageous to say the least.
Typical munster arrogance.
It was most definitely a great game and great credit to Clare and Cork but please cut out the smugness.
Tippersry or Waterford didn't manage to get out of munster. Indeed if relegation existed in your province Tipperary would be in the Joe Mac next year. Waterford will be playing 2nd tier hurling in February.
Nobody can say for sure how 2025 will pan out.
There will be many twists and turns along the way.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 23/07/2024 12:59:08    2560885

Time to abolish Leinster in both codes!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 23/07/2024 12:59:41    2560886

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Congrats on Johny on his All Ireland medal. Only Limerick man to receive this year."
I am as neutral as can be in this match-up - really didn't care who won, just wanted to see a great game which I was treated to thankfully.

And in general I don't like whinging about referee calls - it doesn't do anyone or any team any favors to harp on about a referee, I usually say take it and move on, you'll get the breaks the next day.

But I in saying that, missing that free at the very end is unforgivable. The biggest play of the year, 1 ref, 2 linesmen and 2 umpires all watching what exactly? It was as blatant as could be.

Commiserations to Cork - you should have had another day.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 331 - 23/07/2024 13:16:22    2560894

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "They won twice against the 5 in a row seekers, took the wind out of their sails, stopped ye from becoming the all time top-braggers, no mean feat!
Clare along with Cork gave us one of the most exciting AIs in many a year and restored hurling supporters' belief in the game of hurling."
AH go away with your auld Begrudgery. Ye have never got over 18.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 13:20:00    2560896

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Limerick have won 6 provincials in a row at present. Kilkenny have not."
Would you bet against KK winning the next 5?

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 23/07/2024 13:23:17    2560897

Clare after winning an All Ireland in 2013 after not beating the great Kk team nor Tipp team and 2024 without beating a Limerick team which beat them twice in the championship and in numerous finals the last 3 years. Pity will always be a tainted All Ireland. Hopefully they get the opportunity to do so next year.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 682 - 23/07/2024 13:29:42    2560899

Replying To countyman2022:  "Clare after winning an All Ireland in 2013 after not beating the great Kk team nor Tipp team and 2024 without beating a Limerick team which beat them twice in the championship and in numerous finals the last 3 years. Pity will always be a tainted All Ireland. Hopefully they get the opportunity to do so next year."
They'd better hand back the Cup right away.....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1809 - 23/07/2024 13:34:47    2560905

Replying To Oldtourman:  "AH go away with your auld Begrudgery. Ye have never got over 18."
I'm definitely over 18, nearly as ould as yourself I'd say! lol

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 23/07/2024 13:47:19    2560912

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Would you bet against KK winning the next 5?"
WHY DON'T YOU BACK GALWAY TO DO IT

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 13:57:46    2560915

Replying To countyman2022:  "Clare after winning an All Ireland in 2013 after not beating the great Kk team nor Tipp team and 2024 without beating a Limerick team which beat them twice in the championship and in numerous finals the last 3 years. Pity will always be a tainted All Ireland. Hopefully they get the opportunity to do so next year."
Either you're on the wind up or you really dont like Clare.Im sure the people of Clare couldn't care less about who they played or didn't play.Simple fact is Clare won and bet who they had too.It was a great game to watch and hard luck to Cork who have been unreal this year and pity there had to be a loser on the day.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 23/07/2024 14:02:35    2560918

is clares winning the all ireland without playing the great limerick team hurt there legacy ?

topcorner4 (Westmeath) - Posts: 5 - 23/07/2024 14:03:25    2560919

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Nail on the head! Mr. Viking just does not like Cork - he will say otherwise, Cork friends, etc.. but no fooling us.
I'm wondering was it a Clare jersey he had on for the match???"
So what B and B.. I am a Limerick Man and shouted for Clare and was in Croke Park to do it as I have traveled to support them in 95, 97,02 and 13. I support them in preference to the likes of Cork because they have a much smaller pool to draw from and had only won four All Irelands to Corks thirty prior to last Sunday. Nothing to do with disliking or begrudging Cork, which I do not

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 23/07/2024 14:07:45    2560922