Clare V Cork - All Ireland Hurling Final 2024

Replying To madfeen:  "Corkman here, ref did **** us a bit but no pint cribbing about it now. As someone pointed out; against Limerick in Munster this year we got away with a puck-out that was taken too quickly at the end that allowed us to win the penalty to win the game. If the ref had called that back Limerick would not have been taken by surprise and would not have conceded the penalty I think. We would have lost and been out of the Munster championship.
Limerick might have gone on to win the AI then. That's the way the cookie crumbles."
Johnny Murphy got his revenge for his native county against those rebel upstarts. Destroyed 5 in a row dream! Fair play to him… HA Ha

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 22/07/2024 14:32:03    2560636

Replying To cluichethar:  "Murphy was 10/15 meters away clear view of the play. It's unfortunate it wasn't called, damn I would love to see them go at it again in two weeks."
I think you need to look again. Just looked at it there now, yes the ref is only 10m away but he is unluckily at probably the only angle from where he cannot see Leen's hand pulling the jersey. O'Flynn is going directly across goal, the ref is 10m in front of him and a little to the right and the hand pulling the Jersey is on the far side from the ref and hidden from his view.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 22/07/2024 14:42:47    2560639

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Then it was an awful decision not to give a free… He clearly denied Cork of getting a draw so any criticism directed towards him is full merited… Any referee can make a mistake but this clearly doesn't come into this category… He saw the jersey pull and chose to ignore it which means this guy wanted Clare to win…."
Ah Forever thats a silly comment.Yes the last play shpuld have been a free but overall things balanced out.In fact while watching the game I wondered was Shane O Donnell ever going to get a free.Shane was pulled dragged jersey pulled throughout the game and could nt buy a ftee.Refs are human and make mistakes through human error and sometimes intimidation but I dont think they do it on purpose.A hard loss for Cork but a fab win for Clare in a truly magnificent game.In fact the trio of Clare Cork and Limerick just lit up the championshop all year

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 22/07/2024 14:49:10    2560648

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well done to both counties for providing an absolutely fantastic display of hurling yesterday. I felt Cork deserved another day but it wasn't to be. I'm sure the celebrations will be wild in Clare in the days and weeks ahead.

One thing that irked me yesterday is the slobbering over a few UK based people Tweeting about the game. Fair play to the BBC for broadcasting, and there's no better man than Thomas Niblock on commentary duty. I'm glad one of our great games is being enjoyed by people from other countries as well. But the reaction to this by Irish people is embarrassing if you ask me.

It's like our old inferiority complex surfacing again. Oh isn't it great that English people love our game, pat us on the head please...."
Pat us on the head over a game which huge swathes of the country have never had the chance to play.........

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 22/07/2024 14:49:23    2560649

Replying To cluichethar:  "Babies can be conceived & born before we get back to this level of hurling again. Arguably the greatest game in the world & the season lasts 3 months. The Munster & Leinster championships started on the 21/22 of April & everything ended on the 21st of August. An exciting 3 months"
Great post

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 22/07/2024 14:50:58    2560651

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Then it was an awful decision not to give a free… He clearly denied Cork of getting a draw so any criticism directed towards him is full merited… Any referee can make a mistake but this clearly doesn't come into this category… He saw the jersey pull and chose to ignore it which means this guy wanted Clare to win…."
I'm sure if we went back over the game we'd find a lot more but we got replay the ref didn't. Maybe it was at the wrong angle or maybe he just missed the call. It was a great game that wasn't stopped every 30 seconds for minuscule frees. That one was a big one but the Cork player should still have scored. I'm just mad I don't have another great game to watch in two weeks.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 471 - 22/07/2024 15:04:23    2560660

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Johnny Murphy got his revenge for his native county against those rebel upstarts. Destroyed 5 in a row dream! Fair play to him… HA Ha"
Well we in Mayo lost a few that we thought we got the rough end of the referees stick and we b*t*hed about it for a while. The. We went back a lost a few more. Cork will win the Next One. I'd put a wager on it but if I did ye would definitely lose.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 471 - 22/07/2024 15:08:18    2560662

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The end result of the game was spoiled you fool… Would you not have liked to see another epic match in a couple of weeks… the referees bad calls robbed us of that… Anyone's practical interest or involvement in anything is nothing whatsoever got to do with you… good lad.."
If he made so many "bad calls", as you say, how can you assume it would have been a draw if he had got all the calls right?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 578 - 22/07/2024 15:08:21    2560664

Replying To midlands:  "If he made so many "bad calls", as you say, how can you assume it would have been a draw if he had got all the calls right?"
I didn't say he made loads of bad calls and no referee gets them all right but the ones near the end clearly effected the result of the game…. It was clearly a free in at the end for a jersey pull which would have resulted in the game ending level and therefore a draw….. simple enough to work out really

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 22/07/2024 15:33:56    2560674

Replying To cluichethar:  "Well we in Mayo lost a few that we thought we got the rough end of the referees stick and we b*t*hed about it for a while. The. We went back a lost a few more. Cork will win the Next One. I'd put a wager on it but if I did ye would definitely lose."
Yep. Can't criticize referees as there is no point. They rule the roost. After Connolly and Ethan Twomey were blown up by alleged throw balls against Limerick, I felt that similar performance by a referee would influence the result of the final… but… the referee is infallible and no point in criticism. We'll just roll on….,

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 22/07/2024 15:49:43    2560682

I was one of the very lucky ones that was able to experience yesterday's All Ireland final of the ages.. in person. Just saying it was a super game doesn't go near to do it justice.
At half time I couldnt help feel that it's a pity all matches aren't refereed the same and I'm convinced that if Johnny refereed the quarter final in the same way as yesterday Wexford would have won that game 100%.

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 22/07/2024 16:08:04    2560690

Replying To sligo joe:  "I think you need to look again. Just looked at it there now, yes the ref is only 10m away but he is unluckily at probably the only angle from where he cannot see Leen's hand pulling the jersey. O'Flynn is going directly across goal, the ref is 10m in front of him and a little to the right and the hand pulling the Jersey is on the far side from the ref and hidden from his view."
I think you could be right there with that. 99 times out of a 100 in this situations a ref will award the free i.e to make a draw out of it. Even if the Cork player had taken this ball into contact he may have gotten a free but the fact that he got the shot away and we can only assume that the ref did not see the jersey pull. All this talk of the referee not given the free is ridiculous. These refs are under scrutiny from Croke Park so in the back and white case of a jersey pull they have to give the free if they see it. I think it probably a by product of the split season that everyone would look forward to 1 more game and it's sad for hurling fans that the championship is over at the height of the summer.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 22/07/2024 16:13:58    2560693

Replying To Ryanteam:  "You definitely don't anyway. Big 3 phobia"
Ah no it's not a phobia. The big 2 in my lifetime have won enough AIs! Tipp have won enough also, the same number as Limerick since the year I was born. Its always nice when some of the rest of us win one! At this stage I'd nearly be happy if the Biffos won another one tbh! Only nearly, mind;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 22/07/2024 16:29:48    2560699

Replying To journeyman:  "I think you could be right there with that. 99 times out of a 100 in this situations a ref will award the free i.e to make a draw out of it. Even if the Cork player had taken this ball into contact he may have gotten a free but the fact that he got the shot away and we can only assume that the ref did not see the jersey pull. All this talk of the referee not given the free is ridiculous. These refs are under scrutiny from Croke Park so in the back and white case of a jersey pull they have to give the free if they see it. I think it probably a by product of the split season that everyone would look forward to 1 more game and it's sad for hurling fans that the championship is over at the height of the summer."
Don be trying to make excuses for him … he got it wrong.. So in your view will Croke park with all their scrutiny call him out on not giving a black card and a penalty to Cork for a blatant pull down stopping a goal scoring opportunity…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 22/07/2024 16:33:51    2560700

Great game yesterday honestly I think if it drawn should be no extra time in final it be great see them at it agsin ,,,, On a side note I think jarlath Burns as president does way 2 much talking before he presents cup remember it's about the teams not about himself or at least it should be only my opinion

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 928 - 22/07/2024 16:35:30    2560702

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I didn't say he made loads of bad calls and no referee gets them all right but the ones near the end clearly effected the result of the game…. It was clearly a free in at the end for a jersey pull which would have resulted in the game ending level and therefore a draw….. simple enough to work out really"
You mentioned bad calls. What other ones are you talking about?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 578 - 22/07/2024 16:39:47    2560704

Replying To journeyman:  "I think you could be right there with that. 99 times out of a 100 in this situations a ref will award the free i.e to make a draw out of it. Even if the Cork player had taken this ball into contact he may have gotten a free but the fact that he got the shot away and we can only assume that the ref did not see the jersey pull. All this talk of the referee not given the free is ridiculous. These refs are under scrutiny from Croke Park so in the back and white case of a jersey pull they have to give the free if they see it. I think it probably a by product of the split season that everyone would look forward to 1 more game and it's sad for hurling fans that the championship is over at the height of the summer."
1 more game, 1 more game..... ;o)

I was hoping for a replay myself, such was the closeness and entertainment on show.
Wonderful advertisement for Hurling, and BBC showing it, expanded the viewership...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 22/07/2024 16:45:43    2560707

All this criticism of Johnny Murphy is most unfair. It's being implied that he wanted Clare to win, while well-known hurling expert Eamon Sweeney effectively accuses him of robbing Cork. Every single hurling game ever played has debatable decisions, even more so nowadays with the speed of the game. There were times yesterday when Clare had reason to feel hard done by, and likewise with Cork, but I haven't heard any whingeing from the people that matter in Cork. Most of the complaints are centered on the incident at the end. I didn't notice the pull of O'Flynn's jersaey in real time, and neither did anyone watching the game with me, but it was clear as day on the TV replay, which the referee didn't have the benefit of. Both teams deserve huge credit for the level of entertainment they provided, and Johnny Murphy played no small part in contributing to the spectacle.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 578 - 22/07/2024 16:53:04    2560711

Even though it is nonsense anyway but to leave Gillane out of team of the year beggars description.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2847 - 22/07/2024 17:04:34    2560713

Incredible game

But......

I feel for Cork

Free in 100%

No team deserved to lose that game, Clare edged it with a bit of luck, no one can argue that wasn't a free in

A couple of jersey pulls served them very well

Horgan got his jersey pulled when he had a good goal opportunity, ref did bring it back for a free in, but you could argue it prevented the goal, and of course the blatant free in at the end.

Replay would have been the just result, but alas sport doesn't always work like that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 22/07/2024 17:15:03    2560721