2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To Bon:  "Its done to provoke a reaction from the opposition, hoping he may lash out. Its pathetic carry and its something I hate seeing in the game. Its a horrible fad that has been creeping in."
Totally. But strangely I have not seen this highlighted or commented upon by anyone.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 22:01:36    2356763

How does the qualifiers work out...Who do Laois and Antrim play..is there two separate rounds to the qualifiers?

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 05/07/2021 22:01:52    2356764

Replying To cityman73:  "Lads this has been going on all through my time and I'm not young,go back through the games,you think this is a new thing.Rose tinted glasses alot of ye have."
Maybe if this carried an automatic yellow card it would stop a lot of it I can tell you.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 22:03:03    2356765

Replying To katser:  "I think Round 2 of the Quallifer is open draw..so let's say Galway get a bye into Round 2 and Wexford win their Round 1 Quallifer v either Cork, Clare or Waterford, then just Maybe we could meet for a place in the Quarter Finals!"
And a meeting with Limerick further down the line? :)

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 22:04:01    2356766

Replying To Bon:  "Its done to provoke a reaction from the opposition, hoping he may lash out. Its pathetic carry and its something I hate seeing in the game. Its a horrible fad that has been creeping in."
Make it an automatic yellow card offence and that would stop it.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 22:04:48    2356767

Replying To midlands:  "Much has been said about John Owens' decision yesterday but this has overshadowed Paidi O'Dwyer's decision to give Cork a penalty and sinbin Peter Casey on Saturday. In my view both decisions were harsh, but if anything O'Dwyer's was the most harsh . Cahalane had at least two Limerick defenders between him and goal, and in truth Casey's challenge was scarcely even a foul. Morris showed great skill and resilience in regaining possession and while there didn't seem to be any defenders in a direct line between him and goal some Clare defenders seemed close enough to prevent him getting a free run on goal. McCarthy's challenge was a bit reckless but he's a very talented young player who will learn from the experience. Owens is getting far more criticism than O'Dwyer because his decision is deemed to have had a major impact on the outcome but if Horgan had nailed the penalty it would have put Cork five points clear. I think Limerick would still have won because, just like Kilkenny, they were good enough to overcome the loss of a player. Yet many seem to be suggesting that the penalty and sinbin cost Clare the game. This is pure speculation. How many times in recent years have we seen teams up their game after going down to 14 men? It's not always a game-changer to lose a player, especially if it's just for ten minutes."
Did see the watyBoylan was fouled when bearing down on the Cork goal-definitely a free in and in all probability a yellow card and yet not alone was he not given a free, but ended up getting yellow card himself

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4535 - 05/07/2021 22:43:14    2356789

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Make it an automatic yellow card offence and that would stop it."
Your right, it would quieten them down fairly quick. Or even reverse the free or line ball and give a throw in.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 05/07/2021 22:49:50    2356792

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "On the James Owens "error" some refs would give a straight red for that tackle.
I'm no fan of this ref but on this occasion I would get off his case."
Get of his case….. are you for real… Any ref with an ounce of common sense would never have given a penalty in that case… He wouldn't give one to Clare when he should have…. But let's all clap him on the back for a job well done

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 05/07/2021 23:47:16    2356801

"If one of the following infractions is committed on an attacking player with a goal-scoring opportunity, either inside the 20-metre line or the semi-circular arc "

Dress it up anyway you like, this is the rule. A goal scoring opportunity by the fouled player. Not any other player he might pass it to, or his team. There was no goal scoring opportunity. End of story. A mistake was made not for the first time either. If he hit him on the head it still would not have been a penalty. Yes a red card with a lengthly suspension. McCarthy was guilty of a mis timed dangerous tackle and deserved a yellow card and a free to Tipp. There were more egregious tackles over the weekend.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 05/07/2021 23:49:20    2356802

Replying To kavvie:  "people saying the umpire called it right and hawkeye proved it? im not so sure. as far as i can see hawkeye only works in one dimension as in is it going between the posts or not,not is it over the line? the umpire may have called it right but hawkeye didnt prove him right. all it proved was that it was going over the bar if eoin didnt catch it. same as brian hogan a few years back."
That is very true. Using Hawkeye for that incident was a misuse of the technology as Hawkeye doesn't take lateral views from the end-line. In any game if Hawkeye is consulted when a goalkeeper prevents a point from being scored by batting a high dropping ball away, Hawkeye will feedback every time that the saved shot was a point based on the TRAJECTORY that the ball would take if no effort was made to save it. Even on the screen you could see that Hawkeye portrayed a red line for the shot as it had actually travelled and then a lighter white line for its theoretical ending point but as the view is head on it proves nothing. Impossible to know from a frontal view where the red line finished and the whiter line began!

However the umpire was convinced it was a point and he was the person best placed to call it so there is no argument. It WAS a point according to the rules of the sport. But using Hawkeye to decide something that it wasn't designed to do was ridiculous.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2110 - 06/07/2021 01:17:04    2356814

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "How does the qualifiers work out...Who do Laois and Antrim play..is there two separate rounds to the qualifiers?"
Antrim play Laois this weekend coming. Loser is relegated to the Joe Mcdonagh. Winner goes into qualifier draw with Waterford and the 4 losing semi finalists. 2 will get byes to the 2nd qualifying round and the other 4 will play eachother in the 1st qualifying round.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 06/07/2021 07:35:33    2356821

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "That is very true. Using Hawkeye for that incident was a misuse of the technology as Hawkeye doesn't take lateral views from the end-line. In any game if Hawkeye is consulted when a goalkeeper prevents a point from being scored by batting a high dropping ball away, Hawkeye will feedback every time that the saved shot was a point based on the TRAJECTORY that the ball would take if no effort was made to save it. Even on the screen you could see that Hawkeye portrayed a red line for the shot as it had actually travelled and then a lighter white line for its theoretical ending point but as the view is head on it proves nothing. Impossible to know from a frontal view where the red line finished and the whiter line began!

However the umpire was convinced it was a point and he was the person best placed to call it so there is no argument. It WAS a point according to the rules of the sport. But using Hawkeye to decide something that it wasn't designed to do was ridiculous."
Excellent post….. Making the hawk eye signal was another bad refereeing call…. If even we know hawk eye can't determine a score in that situation why is this guy put in charge of a match…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 06/07/2021 10:00:09    2356844

Never had any bother getting a drink of water out of my bottle myself last summer, even during the normal course of play, I know that much.
I never need much water for the first half, but take on a lot during the second. Not just at the water break. There are enough frees, etc to have enough time.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1941 - 06/07/2021 10:12:18    2356847

Replying To Viking66:  "Antrim play Laois this weekend coming. Loser is relegated to the Joe Mcdonagh. Winner goes into qualifier draw with Waterford and the 4 losing semi finalists. 2 will get byes to the 2nd qualifying round and the other 4 will play eachother in the 1st qualifying round."
Thanks for that Viking,could the winner of Antrim/Laois get a bye to second qualifying round?

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 06/07/2021 11:01:04    2356864

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Never had any bother getting a drink of water out of my bottle myself last summer, even during the normal course of play, I know that much.
I never need much water for the first half, but take on a lot during the second. Not just at the water break. There are enough frees, etc to have enough time."
One of our club players a wing back went over to the sideline to get a drink. One of our lads were taking a 65 put it over the bar goalkeeper took a quick puckouts down to the wing forward un marked who took off on a solo straight through the center drew a man handpassed to full forward who then scored a goal. Our lads went mad because of the quick puckout but in fairness it was our own fault.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 06/07/2021 11:04:32    2356865

Replying To cityman73:  "Lads this has been going on all through my time and I'm not young,go back through the games,you think this is a new thing.Rose tinted glasses alot of ye have."
Maybe so but I can't recall seeing 3 or 4 fellas screaming into a guys face after winning a free, or even in big matches on tv.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 06/07/2021 11:14:18    2356871

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "That is very true. Using Hawkeye for that incident was a misuse of the technology as Hawkeye doesn't take lateral views from the end-line. In any game if Hawkeye is consulted when a goalkeeper prevents a point from being scored by batting a high dropping ball away, Hawkeye will feedback every time that the saved shot was a point based on the TRAJECTORY that the ball would take if no effort was made to save it. Even on the screen you could see that Hawkeye portrayed a red line for the shot as it had actually travelled and then a lighter white line for its theoretical ending point but as the view is head on it proves nothing. Impossible to know from a frontal view where the red line finished and the whiter line began!

However the umpire was convinced it was a point and he was the person best placed to call it so there is no argument. It WAS a point according to the rules of the sport. But using Hawkeye to decide something that it wasn't designed to do was ridiculous."
Tipp had a goal disallowed in 19 semi that was brought back by hawkeye for a point for wexford as Brian Hogan had caught the ball over the crossbar. Umpire never signalled a point. It was communicated to the ref that Hawley had registered a point so hawkeye is in use for this purpose.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 06/07/2021 11:37:54    2356886

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Thanks for that Viking,could the winner of Antrim/Laois get a bye to second qualifying round?"
I assume so. No reason to treat them differently as they wouldve played eachother and the winner earned their place in the 6 team qualifying group.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 06/07/2021 12:06:29    2356900

Incorrect on Hawkeye. It does judge whether a ball has cleared the width of the crossbar fully. Has been the case for last 4-5 years to deal with that exact scenario.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2501 - 06/07/2021 12:24:12    2356910

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Incorrect on Hawkeye. It does judge whether a ball has cleared the width of the crossbar fully. Has been the case for last 4-5 years to deal with that exact scenario."
Its called trailing edge sensing used as an option in all sensing and imaging technology. Or leading edge can be used. Both can be used. Using the leading edge to active the signal and the trailing edge to shut off the signal. Fairly basic technology for some time now.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 06/07/2021 14:54:01    2356986