2021 Hurling Championship

Congrats Dublin, another massive win against our lads.
No reason ye can't win Leinster and will be shouting for
the blue.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1771 - 05/07/2021 12:29:23    2356493

On the James Owens "error" some refs would give a straight red for that tackle.
I'm no fan of this ref but on this occasion I would get off his case.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1771 - 05/07/2021 12:31:31    2356494

I asked the question because I wonder are rules the same at club and county?also I see Connolly can't play under 20 due to getting a 2 minute run against limerick..Rodgers is the same now with Clare..surely they should have the game time at their own age and competition..Gaa rules again gone completely a...ways..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2628 - 05/07/2021 12:44:22    2356503

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "On the James Owens "error" some refs would give a straight red for that tackle.
I'm no fan of this ref but on this occasion I would get off his case."
The referee was entitled to make the decision that he made as per the rule that was pushed through by the suits in Croke Park.
The same journalists and social media keyboard warriors that made a big issue out of the so called cynical fouls are now slating the ref for using that rule to make his decision. The Tipp player was totally taken out of the game with no effort made to tackle him by the Clare player. That was the type of tackle that this rule was brought in to stop and as it was inside the 20m line he could make the call that he did. The county delegates that voted this rushed rule through new that it was leaving too much to the referees interpretation but yet voted it through as some counties saw it as a way of stopping some of the so called more physical county hurling teams.

Dont blame the ref, blame the rule makers who voted for a very vague rule with way too much room for interpretation.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 05/07/2021 13:19:11    2356521

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I asked the question because I wonder are rules the same at club and county?also I see Connolly can't play under 20 due to getting a 2 minute run against limerick..Rodgers is the same now with Clare..surely they should have the game time at their own age and competition..Gaa rules again gone completely a...ways.."
That penalty sin bin rule is only in at county level - TG

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 412 - 05/07/2021 13:33:55    2356530

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats Dublin, another massive win against our lads.
No reason ye can't win Leinster and will be shouting for
the blue."
Cheers for that.

We will certainly have our work cut out. For whatever reason we seem to have Galway's number, having beaten them 4 times in the last decade.

KK on the other hand are a different animal, having only beaten them once in the last 60 years.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 05/07/2021 13:41:07    2356533

Replying To Clubgaa:  "The referee was entitled to make the decision that he made as per the rule that was pushed through by the suits in Croke Park.
The same journalists and social media keyboard warriors that made a big issue out of the so called cynical fouls are now slating the ref for using that rule to make his decision. The Tipp player was totally taken out of the game with no effort made to tackle him by the Clare player. That was the type of tackle that this rule was brought in to stop and as it was inside the 20m line he could make the call that he did. The county delegates that voted this rushed rule through new that it was leaving too much to the referees interpretation but yet voted it through as some counties saw it as a way of stopping some of the so called more physical county hurling teams.

Dont blame the ref, blame the rule makers who voted for a very vague rule with way too much room for interpretation."
Agree. Think the rule is a good 1 but too vaguely written. Dont think Owens got that call right but that's easy for me to say having been able to watch reruns of it. At the time of the incident there were no defenders between the incident and the goal but in the replays you could see 3 Clare defenders mightve got a tackle in before he got a shot off depending how far he brought the ball in towards the goal before shooting.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 05/07/2021 13:43:12    2356535

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Means people might tune in and have to listen the rest of the crap RTE spews out on the radio, other than the music after 7pm!

Just check on line. If it wasn't for the matches I can't think of a single reason to watch RTE TV."
Totally agree with you

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 14:05:56    2356548

Replying To Viking66:  "Suppose these are different days and people arent as reserved as they used to be. I never minded John Mullane or whoever doing it it's all part of the entertainment. Maybe it would rise their opponent to try harder though so Im not sure it's a smart thing to do!!!"
Possibly. If I was playing though and an opponent jumped into my face and whooped I don't think somehow I would remain placid!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 14:08:20    2356550

Replying To Viking66:  "Suppose these are different days and people arent as reserved as they used to be. I never minded John Mullane or whoever doing it it's all part of the entertainment. Maybe it would rise their opponent to try harder though so Im not sure it's a smart thing to do!!!"
I remember one year John Mullane doing that against Limerick and Brian Geary fairly brought John back down to earth with a slap into the backside!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 14:10:33    2356551

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "I remember one year John Mullane doing that against Limerick and Brian Geary fairly brought John back down to earth with a slap into the backside!"

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 05/07/2021 14:40:09    2356563

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "On the James Owens "error" some refs would give a straight red for that tackle.
I'm no fan of this ref but on this occasion I would get off his case."
He got both big decisions drastically wrong, the penalty and the sin bin and also the penalty Clare should have gotten. He needs to be called out for this. Its two serious a mistake and too much at stake.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 05/07/2021 17:02:33    2356653

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Fascinating. And staying on this subject - what is this malarkey of recent years of players almost jumping into other players faces and whooping when a free is awarded to them? The great players of the past executed all the skills and weren't indulging in this "showmanship" and trying to get the crowd going when decisions went their way."
Its done to provoke a reaction from the opposition, hoping he may lash out. Its pathetic carry and its something I hate seeing in the game. Its a horrible fad that has been creeping in.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 05/07/2021 17:07:37    2356656

Dreadful decision by Owens yesterday to award penalty and sin bin Clare player. Listening to the radio earlier gavin cumiskey said this kind of scenario could arise according to feargal Horgan so the problem appears to be in how the rule was drafted. It'll be interesting to see whether Owens gets anymore games to ref in the championship. Maybe the assessor was smiling in the stand yesterday with the decision

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 05/07/2021 17:35:51    2356666

Replying To Viking66:  "Shame that! Maybe if between us we can win 2 or 4 games we will get to play eachother later in the year!"
I think Round 2 of the Quallifer is open draw..so let's say Galway get a bye into Round 2 and Wexford win their Round 1 Quallifer v either Cork, Clare or Waterford, then just Maybe we could meet for a place in the Quarter Finals!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2767 - 05/07/2021 19:47:00    2356705

Replying To Bon:  "Its done to provoke a reaction from the opposition, hoping he may lash out. Its pathetic carry and its something I hate seeing in the game. Its a horrible fad that has been creeping in."
Lads this has been going on all through my time and I'm not young,go back through the games,you think this is a new thing.Rose tinted glasses alot of ye have.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 05/07/2021 20:53:07    2356726

Much has been said about John Owens' decision yesterday but this has overshadowed Paidi O'Dwyer's decision to give Cork a penalty and sinbin Peter Casey on Saturday. In my view both decisions were harsh, but if anything O'Dwyer's was the most harsh . Cahalane had at least two Limerick defenders between him and goal, and in truth Casey's challenge was scarcely even a foul. Morris showed great skill and resilience in regaining possession and while there didn't seem to be any defenders in a direct line between him and goal some Clare defenders seemed close enough to prevent him getting a free run on goal. McCarthy's challenge was a bit reckless but he's a very talented young player who will learn from the experience. Owens is getting far more criticism than O'Dwyer because his decision is deemed to have had a major impact on the outcome but if Horgan had nailed the penalty it would have put Cork five points clear. I think Limerick would still have won because, just like Kilkenny, they were good enough to overcome the loss of a player. Yet many seem to be suggesting that the penalty and sinbin cost Clare the game. This is pure speculation. How many times in recent years have we seen teams up their game after going down to 14 men? It's not always a game-changer to lose a player, especially if it's just for ten minutes.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 631 - 05/07/2021 21:01:11    2356730

Replying To katser:  "I think Round 2 of the Quallifer is open draw..so let's say Galway get a bye into Round 2 and Wexford win their Round 1 Quallifer v either Cork, Clare or Waterford, then just Maybe we could meet for a place in the Quarter Finals!"
Will be a great game if it happens Katser. Would rather we got the bye though;)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 05/07/2021 21:20:09    2356746

Replying To cityman73:  "Lads this has been going on all through my time and I'm not young,go back through the games,you think this is a new thing.Rose tinted glasses alot of ye have."
From reading Nicky Rackards biography himself and Pat the Diamond Hayden were at it all through the games they played against eachother. And worse!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 05/07/2021 21:22:37    2356748

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Dreadful decision by Owens yesterday to award penalty and sin bin Clare player. Listening to the radio earlier gavin cumiskey said this kind of scenario could arise according to feargal Horgan so the problem appears to be in how the rule was drafted. It'll be interesting to see whether Owens gets anymore games to ref in the championship. Maybe the assessor was smiling in the stand yesterday with the decision"
Sin bin/penalty rule is too much of a lottery.

I thought both games on Saturday were much better reffed. Just let the four teams at it, and only pulled up for technical fouls and dangerous play.

Had Owens been there for your own game, from my vantage point in upper Canal, Wexford might have gotten two penalties for lads been stopped in their tracks on way towards goal. But no one made an issue out of it, and no one was complaining after.

I can see where they were coming from regarding "professional fouls" but a red would be a better deterrent surely? Just tell refs that when it is their belief that a back takes out a forward illegitimately with 75/80% goal chance, then it's the line.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3879 - 05/07/2021 21:24:00    2356749