The same with Cork in the '18 Semi Final and yesterday. This running possession game clearly involves huge energy levels. They completely ran out of steam in the last ten minutes both days.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4535 - 04/07/2021 20:46:21 2356229 Link 0 |
Was going to get into a long post contradicting you but I couldnt be bothered. You are an a##hole.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 04/07/2021 20:46:33 2356231 Link 2 |
Wow. For a ref to not ask his linesmen for a second opinion. And besides that it was just plain wrong. Lohans interview was good, he was fair. There needs to be an sideline camera the ref can look at, has to look at for these decisions... doesn't need to be an extra official. Just give Lohan and the opposition manager a Challenge a half...and make the ref look at it again. Easy bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2021 20:47:09 2356232 Link 0 |
Exactly. Put their hand up in training over the 1st year or 2. Then when they pass the in house tests get given league chances. Very few players are good enough to walk onto a senior intercounty team like you seem to think. You are the lad who knows it all sure.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 04/07/2021 20:49:13 2356235 Link 0 |
I agree totally. For me a red card would be a very harsh for that foul, but in light of the consequeces i.e. a penalty far more prefereable. A sin bin is perfect for any cynical foul. Why they cant just stick to Sin Bin and as you say if committed in the box a penalty, bizarre they went this route. But look at the Mark in football, a scoring free for a "catch" laughable when all it should be is an indirect free. They just cannot get these rule changes right at all.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4959 - 04/07/2021 21:16:50 2356253 Link 0 |
Can't agree with you there at all. It is most demeaning to state that umpires are untrained and are just mates of the referee. Have a look at the umpires of the referees. All of them have been officiating for years. I am looking at 4 referees from my county who officiate at national level and I see them week in and week out with the same officials, yes umpires but to me they are officials. Have you ever officiated as an umpire... its not that easy either. Please don't DEMEAN all those men and thankfully women who give up their home time to officiate at local AND county level. Watch the white flag official at the Canal End yesterday when Eoin Murphy took down the ball going over the bar and it was flicked brilliantly to his net... what flag did he put up... yes white one... and why... because he was well positioned to see the ball going over the bar as Murphy brought it down.... and hawkeye proved him right. I have massive respect for umpires for the time they give and the expertise they bring to their chosen job within our games. carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1883 - 04/07/2021 21:29:21 2356262 Link 3 |
Well fella the truth does hurt sometimes. Take a look at the extra time again and there was only one team going that extra yard for the ball. It was an almighty collapse that's my opinion anyway. I don't doubt the commitment of any of the players who wear a County Jersey. The point that I'm making is when the cats were down to 14 men they pulled out all the stops whereas wexford just stopped. To be perfectly honest I was shouting for wexford but was I surprised in the end no one team wanted it far more.
Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 04/07/2021 21:38:07 2356267 Link 0 |
Are you a bit, how can I put, slow? 1. I never asked for sympathy. 2. If someone states that " the game of hurling is ruined", surely it would be better they followed another sport. Football was my initial suggestion because it is a GAA game, but I could have also suggested soccer or rugby. Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 04/07/2021 21:51:58 2356275 Link 0 |
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 04/07/2021 22:02:52 2356282 Link 0 |
Can we stop the rubbish about players putting their lives on hold? Local runners train harder and no one forces anyone to play inter county. Choices. Lives on hols. Load of rubbish. Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2501 - 04/07/2021 22:06:02 2356286 Link 0 |
Nonsense lad you are some clown. Kilkenny had subs who had won AI medals. We didnt. Our subs were up and coming lads. Lads were out on their feet after giving their all. Nothing to do with desire. We can blame a few different things but the players heart wouldnt be one of them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17840 - 04/07/2021 22:12:30 2356290 Link 0 |
I didn't see the weekends game, bear that in mind, but I'll never forget the 2015 all Ireland final, kilkenny v my own county, a game where, when it boiled down to it, a team full of players who had won loads of all Irelands, wanted it more than a team full of players, not one of whom had ever won a senior all Ireland. I don't know what it is about that black and Amber Jersey but even after 6 years without winning Liam,some teams still wilt when they turn up the heat. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 04/07/2021 22:18:12 2356293 Link 0 |
The fact is Wexford hurled themselves to a standstill. The system Davy has them playing requires unreal levels of fitness and unfortunately the bodies gave in in extra time. That's bottling nothing and your previous comments smack of pure ignorance
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 04/07/2021 22:22:12 2356294 Link 0 |
I do have the right to change my mind. Certainly after today. A guy called in off the bank to ref a challenge match would not call that. Who knows what would have happened yesterday if Quaid had not stopped the shot. All of these calls to date except Murphy were wrong. In cluding Shane Fives against ye.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 04/07/2021 22:35:53 2356306 Link 0 |
Just Looking at Sunday Game. While agreeing that Tipp incident was not a penalty they did not even mention a fairly cast iron one denied to Clare. I'm sure they were told to lay off on the criticism for the ref. The analysis after the match itself was much more honest and better. Not good enough and too politically correct. A disgrace is a disgrace and should be called out as such! Smb2 (Clare) - Posts: 12 - 04/07/2021 22:38:57 2356310 Link 1 |
You make a good point and I don't doubt the value of the work these guys do week in week out, but I do think that they need to be qualified to do far more than calling square balls/65's/or scores in general. They need to have the power to make decisions that the ref misses or needs assistance with. Especially in this day and age the referee needs more assistance than ever. They have little or no power in the overall scheme of things and that needs to change. I don't envy the job of umpires its a thankless number. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 04/07/2021 22:45:16 2356315 Link 0 |
If the position of umpires was really taken seriously then there would be a proper way of selecting other than buddies of the referree. The sooner the better they become a thing of the past the better. Replace with technology and save the food bill.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 04/07/2021 22:53:32 2356318 Link 0 |
If you were at the match, you would have known that the players were gassed by the final period of extra time. There were players being rubbed for cramp off camera all throughout it. But anyway Richard, I think there are problems closer to home. Oiche Maith a chara. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1941 - 04/07/2021 23:44:18 2356329 Link 0 |
Agree but at least have the qualified ref on that side line involved. I find it hard to believe that even two officials could agree that was a penalty.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 05/07/2021 00:01:48 2356332 Link 0 |
Really, like Laois showed up this year, your county have never produced anything like the displays Wexford have down the years, 1 All Ireland in 1914. Wexford gave it everything, didn't your side lose by 39 points to Wexford over 2 games this year. I'd respond to that comment if someone from Kilkenny, Tipp or Cork said it, as least they can back it up with honours and history. Good luck in the Joe McDonagh next year, backing Antrim all the way, hope they stay up.
Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 05/07/2021 02:34:19 2356344 Link 0 |