2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To Richardkimble:  "Some interesting games over the weekend some expected wins for Limerick, tipperary and kilkenny. The biggest surprise was Dublin beating Galway. We will only know how good a performance that was after the leinster final. The most disappointing team has to be wexford after their collapse in extra time after going a goal up and kilkenny reduced to 14 men. This was a total bottle job by wexford they were diabolical to a man, nobody wanted to drive on and horse into the cats they just threw in the towel. Some of their players were more interested in coming off than anything else they looked like they were happy to take it lying down yellow bellies for sure."
Harsh! I thought Wexford to a man played their hearts out. Lee Chin and Mathew Hanlon especially. They couldn't deal with the introduction of Walter Walsh, who came into the fray at the opportune time, and sealed Wexford's fate. Wexford's heart and intensity is unquestionable!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/07/2021 19:11:19    2356161

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Can we have some sort of understanding and sympathy for referee's decisions. He (or she) make split second decisions on what they see in a moment in time. Unlike the vast majority of us, they do not have access to replays (slow motion) from different angles."
All the more reason to consult. Owens is a good referee but let's be honest he is the goat tonight and it is the Clare players who deserve the sympathy.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 04/07/2021 19:22:38    2356168

Replying To Richardkimble:  "Some interesting games over the weekend some expected wins for Limerick, tipperary and kilkenny. The biggest surprise was Dublin beating Galway. We will only know how good a performance that was after the leinster final. The most disappointing team has to be wexford after their collapse in extra time after going a goal up and kilkenny reduced to 14 men. This was a total bottle job by wexford they were diabolical to a man, nobody wanted to drive on and horse into the cats they just threw in the towel. Some of their players were more interested in coming off than anything else they looked like they were happy to take it lying down yellow bellies for sure."
Did you once have a bad experience with a Wexford girl, broke your heart; or something similar?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 04/07/2021 19:22:57    2356169

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes said it at the time. Cynical fouling that stops a goal chance needed to be addressed but double penalizing was always wrong. In this instance there was no goal chance the same as yesterday. So a free and no penalty. Can they do anything close to correct. If a player is fouled and no defender inside a penalty. That is sufficient punishment. We have pulling and dragging, throwing the ball and simulation ignored most of the time. It is probably best if these clowns leave the rules alone and just maybe enforce the existing ones. Disappointed for Owens as he is the best ref."
Best ref? The same ref who sent David Reidy off for an imagined strike when Diarmuid Byrnes dived against Clare in 2018. He has it in for clare there is no doubt about it.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 04/07/2021 19:23:50    2356170

Tell you what there lad, why don't you spend 90 mins running the length of a pitch taking strong tackles from intercounty hurlers and see how much you have left in the tank towards the end. What a diabolically stupid thing to say! Did you read over that dribble before you hit submit or what? Those Wexford lads left everything out there on the pitch.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 04/07/2021 19:24:48    2356171

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Can we have some sort of understanding and sympathy for referee's decisions. He (or she) make split second decisions on what they see in a moment in time. Unlike the vast majority of us, they do not have access to replays (slow motion) from different angles."
Can we have a small bit of sympathy for the players who put in so much effort and commitment only to have ridiculous calls deemed as acceptable misjudgments.
Cop on a small bit and calm down yourself.
It simply isn't good enough.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/07/2021 19:27:36    2356172

That wasn't a split decision, the free was, the penalty and sending off were not. He could and may have consulted the linesman. Owens has been the talking point after more then 1 big game the last few years and that is a problem.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 04/07/2021 19:32:33    2356175

Replying To Rockies:  "Now that the Irish government require mandatory quarantine for visitors from UK and presumably Northern Ireland... theoretically counties traveling into North for games, should quarantine when coming back! What a joke! Whole country is soft.., no wonder Luxembourg beat Ireland in football. In saying that, the Tipp /Clare game and Wexford /Kilkenny was top drawer. Haven't seen a better player than T.J Reid... his longevity and general all round play is unsurpassed!"
Rockies. I totally agree with what you say about TJ. He is one of the last players left from the great Kilkenny team (2000 - 2016), he joined the senior panel in 2007. This is his 14th season at inter-county level (leaving aside his club Ballyhale Shamrocks exploits).

A lot of people see him as a free taking machine, but he has exceptional all round hurling skills. Plus he is a leader, an inspiration to the players around him, a player who never drops his head whatever the situation. He'll go down as one of the greatest ever Kilkenny players.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 04/07/2021 19:44:31    2356180

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Wow. The game of hurling is ruined if that is a penalty."

Well, since hurling as we know it has been going for over 130 years, it's very sad that you have decided hurling after today is ruined, not just for Clare but for every other county.
Maybe you could now give your full attention to the Clare football team."
His full attention to the Clare football team ,coming from a Kilkenny man that is some statement.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 04/07/2021 19:45:40    2356181

What a shame today that a stupid referring decision turned and destroyed a great game!

I argued against it at the time. Giving a referee that discretion is absolutely ridiculous! Thankfully it didn't come into the club games and hopefully it never will!! At least James Owens will have the full rath of the media and "referees club" to deal with. I should feel sorry for him but I don't. Any rule that is left open to such interpretation is mad!

I can't understand why a cynical foul any where in the pitch isn't just a straight red. If it's in the big square then a penalty - simple as! In fairness to Aidan McCarthy, the slippery conditions today made it look worse.

These lads give up their lives so they can entertain us. The least they deserve is a bit of fairness.

There was a good discussion on this platform before last congress that brought in this rule. My criticism at the time was the referees interpretation. What do you all think now?

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 412 - 04/07/2021 19:52:39    2356186

No. He gives a free unless absolutely certain there was a goal scoring chance. Owens left himself open to much criticism and I would be surprised to see him on a big stage again. Two game turning errors today. Both against the same county. Paud Dwyer's decision last was also bad but it will not be under the magnifying glass as much because, luckily for Limerick, Hoggy missed the penalty!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 412 - 04/07/2021 19:59:11    2356190

The foul was a split decision, the penalty and sending off wasn't. He had time and may have consulted his linesman. Anyway the powers that be have ruined football and have hurling in their sites now. I will say this isn't the 1st time this ref has been a major talking point after a big game.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 04/07/2021 20:04:22    2356193

Replying To Canuck:  "What is wrong with the GAA in this year of 2001? There are 7 officials involved in a game and the ref does not consult anyone before making a decision before giving a match changing penalty and a sending off. To those who don't want video replays how about agreeing that consultation should take place. Especially the lines man is also a ref. Tipp won and that is their good and not responsible for refereeing. However in my opinion incorrect decisions decided the result today and that is not what you want to happen. Mistake will occur but how about doing everything possible to avoid them. Consultation between officials can not be too much of an ask and then let the cards fall where they will."
I agree but the 4 umpires are not qualified officials, they are just mates of the Ref or "Good club men". This has to end, its been shown up time and time again, the umpires need to be qualified referees to help the referee along with the linesman.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 04/07/2021 20:05:03    2356195

What a total reckless statement about amateur sportsmen who ran themselves into the ground for 70mins, under normal circumstances this should of been a reply, unlike kilkenny cork tipp and maybe cork other counties do not have the numbers, and numbers with fresh legs won yestetday, any respect i have for laois after your cheap shot is gone,
Great game of hurling and proud of both amateur teams for one god dam great effory

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 04/07/2021 20:10:40    2356201

Bottle, yellow bellies! Wexford are doing their utmost to compete at the top table & yesterday indicated that we can, just need more consistency. No doubt another Leinster title was within their grasp but would not question their bottle.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 78 - 04/07/2021 20:26:20    2356213

The mistake the ref made is that I thought that was a red card challenge.

It was a very dangerous tackle.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2964 - 04/07/2021 20:28:47    2356215

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "What a shame today that a stupid referring decision turned and destroyed a great game!

I argued against it at the time. Giving a referee that discretion is absolutely ridiculous! Thankfully it didn't come into the club games and hopefully it never will!! At least James Owens will have the full rath of the media and "referees club" to deal with. I should feel sorry for him but I don't. Any rule that is left open to such interpretation is mad!

I can't understand why a cynical foul any where in the pitch isn't just a straight red. If it's in the big square then a penalty - simple as! In fairness to Aidan McCarthy, the slippery conditions today made it look worse.

These lads give up their lives so they can entertain us. The least they deserve is a bit of fairness.

There was a good discussion on this platform before last congress that brought in this rule. My criticism at the time was the referees interpretation. What do you all think now?"
A cynical foul can't be a red because it would be interpretation again. I dont want to see more red cards anyway. Today's decision was a scandal. Yesterday Paud got 2 decisions wrong. You can't give amateur refs scope to interpret. They are too mediocre to do it. He didn't even consult his lines men. That's how poor this guy is.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2021 20:40:22    2356220

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Best ref? The same ref who sent David Reidy off for an imagined strike when Diarmuid Byrnes dived against Clare in 2018. He has it in for clare there is no doubt about it."
Yes LRH, he also backed off putting Donoghue off in PUC the same year after he committed a neck high tackle on Cian Lynch, when he was already on a yellow card. Anyway Byrnes was just winded, after a heavy tackle, that day and there is no clear indication he was trying to get DR red carded.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4535 - 04/07/2021 20:41:35    2356222

Obviously doesn't like us after the 2 drubbings we gave his team this year!

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 04/07/2021 20:41:55    2356223

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Ah stop they're the one team I'm praying we avoid in the qualifiers. James Owens did us or Clare no favours today…"
Me too. Would far rather play Cork or Waterford though both of them would be hard games to win as well!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17839 - 04/07/2021 20:44:02    2356227