Football Is Finished

Replying To sligo joe:  "I think your post is a gross insult to the other counties, especially those who consider themselves contenders. You are suggesting other counties have more talented players but are unable to get physically fit enough to compete at their max for 70mns. This despite the fact that counties like Mayo, Galway, Kerry, Tyrone and Donegal have no lack of resources. Indeed a couple of years ago a Kerry player was able to give up his job to concentrate fully on gaelic football, ironically the move to fulltime coincided with a downturn in his football career. And mechanically programmed, explain, are you suggesting the likes of Con O' Callaghan, Ciaran Kilkenny, Kevin Mac, are automaton like and predictable, I think many of the fine players that try to mark them would beg to differ. Sour grapes award of the week to you, for sure."
Country player don't have the time to get that fit Joe, what with work and travelling to train and all that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2020 11:02:34    2321295

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Country player don't have the time to get that fit Joe, what with work and travelling to train and all that."
IS that the excuse for your lot v Cork ? -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/12/2020 12:12:48    2321317

Replying To superbluedub:  "IS that the excuse for your lot v Cork ? -:)"
Why is your nose stuck to your forehead?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2020 13:15:13    2321334

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why is your nose stuck to your forehead?"
Go away you big child -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/12/2020 13:25:23    2321338

Replying To Saynothing:  "Agree, the other thing in the rules that is not helping is the mark. Teams can slowly build up until a opening appears and get a mark which is a guaranteed point. The back has no chance to tackle, block, or rob the ball of forward. I've seen our own Matty Donnelly standing still soloing the ball and as you say, it's awful."
But if there's no mark and a forward catches a high ball in he's surroundrd by defenders as soon as he comes down, yes if it was 1 on 1 then the mark would be terrible but its not the case anymore

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 11/12/2020 13:30:32    2321343

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's boring though,, tactically sound, sensible, conservative, mature, calm,, but boring,, and that matters."
Yes Galway I tend to agree. I used to love watching Dubs play but at mó I find them boring. It's hard as I guess no one wants to make a mistake as they all fighting for places. Also sometimes when wnen a team or individual in any sport dominates for so long the fear of losing becomes more important than the joy of winning. It's human nature.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 11/12/2020 13:42:02    2321350

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Galway I tend to agree. I used to love watching Dubs play but at mó I find them boring. It's hard as I guess no one wants to make a mistake as they all fighting for places. Also sometimes when wnen a team or individual in any sport dominates for so long the fear of losing becomes more important than the joy of winning. It's human nature."
What Dublin do, is a product of necessity in my opinion Mick, they found a way of beating the blanket and everyone plays a blanket against them defending.

I think teams are afraid of opening up against Dublin or taking risks, though that is understandable to.

There is a key to Dublin system, same way Dublin found a key to the blanket, it will come through tactical innovation, bravery and creative thinking, but it hasn't come to pass yet. Id have a few ideas on it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2020 13:50:16    2321352

Replying To TheUsername:  "What Dublin do, is a product of necessity in my opinion Mick, they found a way of beating the blanket and everyone plays a blanket against them defending.

I think teams are afraid of opening up against Dublin or taking risks, though that is understandable to.

There is a key to Dublin system, same way Dublin found a key to the blanket, it will come through tactical innovation, bravery and creative thinking, but it hasn't come to pass yet. Id have a few ideas on it."
Do your ideas involve having a massive population getting massive funding from the gaa and having eternal home advantage? Becas if it is then that's not going to work for most of us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2020 14:12:42    2321356

Replying To TheUsername:  "What Dublin do, is a product of necessity in my opinion Mick, they found a way of beating the blanket and everyone plays a blanket against them defending.

There is a key to Dublin system, same way Dublin found a key to the blanket, it will come through tactical innovation, bravery and creative thinking, but it hasn't come to pass yet. Id have a few ideas on it."
Move over Peter Keane, Kerry's new saviour, username :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 11/12/2020 14:26:09    2321361

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Do your ideas involve having a massive population getting massive funding from the gaa and having eternal home advantage? Becas if it is then that's not going to work for most of us."
And this as well
Dont forget about the free car, free gym membership, a team holiday and the 2 grand to spend as pocket money, getting off work early to go to training, or 95% full time professional during the 3/4 months that the all ireland football championship runs for and that includes having your meals cooked and delivered to you and training in the gym 2 times a day having your own personal trainer there in that gym to over see your training and not being out of pocket for any of that 3/4 months away from work. That is what is causing the problems. ;-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/12/2020 14:34:45    2321362

Replying To realdub:  "Move over Peter Keane, Kerry's new saviour, username :D"
Now now Peter is only a shop keeper he wouldn't have the education of the medical technician above.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/12/2020 15:26:25    2321377

Replying To realdub:  "Move over Peter Keane, Kerry's new saviour, username :D"
No chance Kerry have to many away games. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/12/2020 15:43:34    2321379

Yes share you ré ideas to us Username. True teams seem to play with fear against the dubs. On the entertainment value you ré damned if you do and damned if you don't. If the dubs stop playing keep ball and bang in 5 or 6 goals they will be accused of showing no respect and keep ball is kind of boring. I suppose with Jack Mac bursting runs missing and Connolly s sparkling plays it makes the team kind of robotic but needs must.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 11/12/2020 17:44:12    2321405

Replying To TheUsername:  "No chance Kerry have to many away games. :D"
:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 11/12/2020 17:45:47    2321409

Remember boring boring Arsenal? Well they won f**k all :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 11/12/2020 18:24:32    2321418

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Do your ideas involve having a massive population getting massive funding from the gaa and having eternal home advantage? Becas if it is then that's not going to work for most of us."
How about a relatively small population like Kerry getting massive funding in a hurling province. That all seems fair right ?
Of course it is it's not an issue at all at all.
Let's all go back to Kerry winning all Ireland's and everything will be just fine.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/12/2020 18:41:49    2321423

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Galway I tend to agree. I used to love watching Dubs play but at mó I find them boring. It's hard as I guess no one wants to make a mistake as they all fighting for places. Also sometimes when wnen a team or individual in any sport dominates for so long the fear of losing becomes more important than the joy of winning. It's human nature."
I don't find Dublin boring at all, no more than I did Kerry when they were winning 4 in a rows etc, I miss the likes of Connolly and McCaffrey though, but there are some brilliant individual players still on the team,
the thing is this year they haven't been tested so we haven't seen the best of them, I wish we had of got the chance to play them in semi final, I think if all went well for us we'd have given them a real test,
Mayo should give them a real stiff test in the final and that's the question now, are the Dubs coming in under cooked and is this Mayo's best ever opportunity to take them down? Really looking forward to this final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 11/12/2020 18:47:47    2321424

Replying To lilylanger:  "Matters to who?"
I think you highlighted the wrong post there sir,, I'm assuming you were referring to the post where I said boring football is an issue to people.

I was referring to neutral viewers,, casual fans,, avd fans of the team who are losing to the "keep ball" system. (and perhaps to some fan's of the winning team).
Nobody likes seeing their team lose,, but losing when you've no hope of even touching the ball is enough to pick up the remote.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 11/12/2020 19:33:07    2321436

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't find Dublin boring at all, no more than I did Kerry when they were winning 4 in a rows etc, I miss the likes of Connolly and McCaffrey though, but there are some brilliant individual players still on the team,
the thing is this year they haven't been tested so we haven't seen the best of them, I wish we had of got the chance to play them in semi final, I think if all went well for us we'd have given them a real test,
Mayo should give them a real stiff test in the final and that's the question now, are the Dubs coming in under cooked and is this Mayo's best ever opportunity to take them down? Really looking forward to this final."
The Dubs are so well cooked they've scorched every opponent up to this. There's no evidence of any drop off and anyone who thinks otherwise is grasping at straws. Mayo can't rely on the Dubs dropping their standards... they haven't been found off-focus since the first final in 2016, when the devil himself intervened and granted them not just one but two unheard of lifelines in one game. Mayo can only go into this game looking to play their way and be 100% sure that the Dubs will do the same. I don't care how the Dubs play to be honest just so long as our lads just play better and the devil stays busy sorting out the heating arrangements!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/12/2020 19:39:50    2321440

Replying To Galway9801:  "I think you highlighted the wrong post there sir,, I'm assuming you were referring to the post where I said boring football is an issue to people.

I was referring to neutral viewers,, casual fans,, avd fans of the team who are losing to the "keep ball" system. (and perhaps to some fan's of the winning team).
Nobody likes seeing their team lose,, but losing when you've no hope of even touching the ball is enough to pick up the remote."
Sure the neutral casual viewers can switch over to Ozark, Game of Thrones and Fair City or go on to Facebook on their phone if they don't like some games where teams play more tactically because gung-ho football at the wrong time will kill them? What good are casual TV fans to GAA clubs and counties who need more players and volunteers and supporters to follow their teams to games through thick and thin?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 11/12/2020 20:02:11    2321445