Football Is Finished

Replying To Jackeen:  "Hoganstand these days:

"New" poster lobs a grenade of a thread then disappears. More "new" posters keep the thread going. I long for the old days when you had your odd "new" poster stirring but in the main people knew they could enjoy debate without things becoming personal and if they did cross the line, they were pulled up."
Jackeen you can't say much about new posters when you've got the likes of usernames and jimbo with multiple accounts trying to steer conversions the direction they want.

We have a new lad on this thread with 15 posts writing like an old pro about the kerry minor 5 in a row team.

It is a shambles though and I don't agree with multiple accounts.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2020 13:18:15    2320213

Replying To football first:  "Funnily enough, nobody was saying "football is dead" on the evening that Cork dumped Kerry out of the championship, or when Cavan came from 10 points down to beat Down, or on the night of the Munster and Ulster finals, or throughout the summer when there were great club championships going on. We're two weeks from Christmas, after an awful tough year, and we still have the football championship to talk about - that's brilliant, just enjoy it."
leinster football is dead.

What happened in Ulster and Munster will never happen in leinster if the GAA continue to ignore the problem. Many Dubs dont even care about the leinster title and I doubt it matters to the team anymore. That's what will happen to Sam soon because 6 years ago the leinster title mattered and was an achievable target for the other counties...not anymore

Are you really happy with the way leinster is particularly when you see the absolute euphoria of Cavan and tipp? Happy that unless something is done that will never happen in leinster

And Mayo were delighted to get to lift frank fox because the connacht championship is competitive.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/12/2020 13:37:19    2320222

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jackeen you can't say much about new posters when you've got the likes of usernames and jimbo with multiple accounts trying to steer conversions the direction they want.

We have a new lad on this thread with 15 posts writing like an old pro about the kerry minor 5 in a row team.

It is a shambles though and I don't agree with multiple accounts."
I'm talking about all counties KB. It's a nuisance.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/12/2020 13:41:48    2320225

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm talking about all counties KB. It's a nuisance."
I agree with you 100%.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2020 14:15:16    2320242

Replying To galwayfball:  "leinster football is dead.

What happened in Ulster and Munster will never happen in leinster if the GAA continue to ignore the problem. Many Dubs dont even care about the leinster title and I doubt it matters to the team anymore. That's what will happen to Sam soon because 6 years ago the leinster title mattered and was an achievable target for the other counties...not anymore

Are you really happy with the way leinster is particularly when you see the absolute euphoria of Cavan and tipp? Happy that unless something is done that will never happen in leinster

And Mayo were delighted to get to lift frank fox because the connacht championship is competitive."
Frank Fox?? When did Mayo compete in the Galway county championship ? Lol

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 08/12/2020 15:01:46    2320257

I think it's time a foreign brain was brought in to sort out the mess for the GAA, wouldn't need a rocket scientist to figure it out.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/12/2020 15:19:17    2320269

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I think it's time a foreign brain was brought in to sort out the mess for the GAA, wouldn't need a rocket scientist to figure it out."
You sound like you might be a candidate.
Apart for the brain bit that is.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/12/2020 16:13:32    2320301

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I think it's time a foreign brain was brought in to sort out the mess for the GAA, wouldn't need a rocket scientist to figure it out."
How about yourself ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 16:23:49    2320312

At the end of the day funding is the main issue. Granted if the same money was pumped onto one of the weaker counties in the morning it wouldn't work but over a set period of years with the correct structure being put in place from grassroots level it would definitely help close the gap. Rome wasn't built in a day and neither was this formidable Dublin team.

Do the Dublin lads not get all their meals delivered to them? Most of their days have to be spent in the gym. I very much doubt many of them have to stress too much in the day jobs knowing that they get big bucks to appear at sponsorship deals. (Sure isn't that why Connolly left in the first place the first time around)The physical conditioning compared to most other counties is ridiculous. And its not to do with genetics.
People give the argument that if funding was the case the hurlers would win all before them but its a completely different sport. You can't win hurling games with fitness and conditioning alone but it certainly can go a long way in football. There's a cuteness and a skill level there that can't be manufactured but give it time, given the current games structure for underage in Dublin, it won't be long before they begin to taste success at this level. Aswell as which the sliotar does most of the hard yards!

Thus talk of amalgamating counties is pure and utter nonsense. If it was population that won all Ireland, Dublin would have a lot more than they do today!
I am not one for cutting funds to the Dublin underage structure in terms of training etc but the playing field has to level out at senior level.

And don't get me wrong I have nothing against the players. I admire all they achieved, particularly the hunger and desire to keep going year after year. However, its a lot easier to achieve big playing downhill with the wind at your back.
Other teams over the years would've had great financial support which would've greatly helped them (Kerry and Meath to a certain extent) but weren't being bankrolled by the organisation which should be providing equal opportunity for all, regardless what part of the country you live in!

This isn't going to be fixed over night and definitely won't be fixed via these forums. All we can hope for is a decent, competitive final and may the best team on the day lift Sam.

Thebantersauras (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 08/12/2020 16:55:50    2320335

Replying To yew_tree:  "Frank Fox?? When did Mayo compete in the Galway county championship ? Lol"
Jesus I get confused in my old age. Frank fox is sitting pretty in my clubhouse

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/12/2020 17:32:22    2320354

The questioned asked is football finished, no is the answer but the spectacle of football as a game to watch I would say is.
I have not enjoyed watching football in a long time as it has become a running game, possession the key driver to every move. Mayo when they played Tip could not find a man when they had to kick pass a ball. Everything is about running or soloing to find an opening through a walled defence (Jimmy's winning matches gift to football).
This has filtered down to clubs at senior and underage level in counties that has stymied adventure and risk which is a pity (have a go not gonna happen).
As mentioned re spectacle, how many people switched off or watched some other sport before halftime in both weekend semi finals. Quite a lot I would say.

Convert2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 08/12/2020 17:36:16    2320356

Replying To superbluedub:  "How about yourself ?"
Yes, why not, and start with your lot lol.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/12/2020 19:10:01    2320388

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jackeen you can't say much about new posters when you've got the likes of usernames and jimbo with multiple accounts trying to steer conversions the direction they want.

It is a shambles though and I don't agree with multiple accounts."
Sincere apologies didn't realise the number of posts you have on here determined your level of knowledge re. GAA

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 08/12/2020 19:11:11    2320389

Replying To Convert2:  "The questioned asked is football finished, no is the answer but the spectacle of football as a game to watch I would say is.
I have not enjoyed watching football in a long time as it has become a running game, possession the key driver to every move. Mayo when they played Tip could not find a man when they had to kick pass a ball. Everything is about running or soloing to find an opening through a walled defence (Jimmy's winning matches gift to football).
This has filtered down to clubs at senior and underage level in counties that has stymied adventure and risk which is a pity (have a go not gonna happen).
As mentioned re spectacle, how many people switched off or watched some other sport before halftime in both weekend semi finals. Quite a lot I would say."
I swear I saw Cillian O Connor receive a kick pass for his fourth goal. And Tommy Conroy receive a kick pass but didn't take the mark and put it over. Kevin Mc Loughlin lofted in some lovely kick passes where you could see Ciaran Mc Donald's influence on the forward line.

mayoman007 (Mayo) - Posts: 159 - 08/12/2020 20:37:33    2320448

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Yes, why not, and start with your lot lol."
Start away , looking forward to seeing how you get on -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/12/2020 21:02:01    2320462

Replying To superbluedub:  "Start away , looking forward to seeing how you get on -:)"
Engraving a few asterisks on Sam to start with.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/12/2020 21:31:42    2320474

Replying To galwayfball:  "Jesus I get confused in my old age. Frank fox is sitting pretty in my clubhouse"
Spoken like a true balooba.
Oh ! That Frank Fox is it ?
I never though he was the name on that yoke.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/12/2020 22:22:26    2320494

Replying To Convert2:  "The questioned asked is football finished, no is the answer but the spectacle of football as a game to watch I would say is.
As mentioned re spectacle, how many people switched off or watched some other sport before halftime in both weekend semi finals. Quite a lot I would say."
There were a few poor kick passes from both sides, particularly in the first 10 mins when things were settling down, but 90%+ found the man after that. Not sure what era you're hankering after, but every game played down the ages featured a level of inaccurate passes, both hand and foot, with that level of inaccuracy diminishing the more rosey tinted your glasses happen to be. No challenge on the possession thing... it's the whole philosophy of football currently.

I'd love to outlaw goals which aren't finished either directly by the foot or the deflection of a foot pass. That would include Cillian's first goal and the one the Dubs scored against Cavan. They're basketball not football.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 09/12/2020 14:38:12    2320670

I agree,basketball goals diminish the game of football.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 09/12/2020 14:44:31    2320676

Didn't realise Jim invented Donegal football. We've always played a running, hand-passing game. He just made us winners on top of that.

Our most famous goal in Croke Park came from a fine kick pass as well but sure it doesn't suit the narrative.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/12/2020 14:51:42    2320680