Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To goreyll:  "Bizzare penalty decision got called out on the Sunday game, nice recognition of Mac as well. Great to see him back on form"
Yes great to see him scoring well again. Forwards did well overall as a unit. They all scored from play. We were a little loose on their puckouts though, which left some of their lads in alot of space around the middle 3rd to play the ball inside. Also their halfback line were excellent, but we helped them because we kept playing long ball down on them, their strength, rather than running at them and getting them turned, they aren't hugely fast. Very little to be critical about in the performance though, the game could've gone either way. We were a little flat, and maybe could've brought on Foley, Jacko, Mcguckin earlier. And maybe Dwyer.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 07:55:01    2547434

The positives -- we are still in the championship.
After our first two games things looked very bleak.
We were able to bounce right back against Galway and Carlow.
We got two first class goals yesterday. KIilkenny got one from a penalty that should never have been awarded.
The lads were playing out of their skins for twenty five minutes in the first half and the last ten minutes of the second half.
Brilliant performances from Mac and Cian Byrne.
What a find Cian is. I predict he will become one of the best forwards in the country in the years to come.
Our backs are now a solid unit. Jippo, Damien, Shane, Mathew, Foley and Eoin Ryan are teak tough and showed no weakness.
Rossi and the backroom have done a great job with this team. They learned quickly from the earlier games and he has got them believing in themselves.
We should fear no one in the remaining encounters. They are more than capable of competing with whatever is thrown at them.
The negatives-- fade out for a long stretch in the second half. Positional switches by Lyng gave us problems and we struggled big time.
Had Chin and Rory played up to their usual standard I am certain that we would have won but fair play to Kilkenny, they had done their homework on our key forwards and kept them uncharacteristically quite.
The free count was much too high and it's something we need to work on. All top counties have quality free takers and will convert a high percentage of what chances they get.
Now it's a crack at Offaly or Laois and if we get over that we will once again have a meeting with a munster team, possibly Clare but it wouldn't surprise me if the banner boys beat Limerick.
It's still wide open and anything can happen from now on.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 27/05/2024 08:36:55    2547439

Replying To goreyll:  "Bizzare penalty decision got called out on the Sunday game, nice recognition of Mac as well. Great to see him back on form"
Sunday game analysis was shocking..

Paddy Deegan has nailed down the 6 shirt " according to Dalo when he played midfield!!

They called out the bad penalty decision but said the one in first half was a black card. It wasn't - a black card is for a deliberate pull down inside the 21. Matthew fouled him but did not deliberately pull him down. Keoghan had taken 8 steps by the time he threw himself on the ground. The ref correctly gave a free and a yellow card.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 172 - 27/05/2024 09:01:22    2547450

A wider issue in hurling now is just how are you meant to tackle someone without conceding a free. So much inconsistencies in the reffing. Have a look back at the Limerick Waterford game some mad decisions there.

How can you tackle someone in hurling without making contact? If you stand em up and make contact they say its a frontal charge. If you hook your hurl around the shoulder it's a free. Jeez I thought it was a contact sport. How can ya coach young.players these days the art of.tackling. The games are turning in to free taking competitions.

its something Wexford have gotten badly wrong all year too from league to championship. We constantly get penalised for frees. At this stage I'm not sure of ot can be fixed. And then you've experienced cute players like TJ Reid and they know how to play the refs and get the free. Proper game management and win at all cost mentality. We seem to lack that at times too.

Still tho can't be awful critical, a few.weeks ago we thought we were in a relegation scrap so credit to the lads and Keith. I thought yesterday we had no plan B. But it is Keith's first year. He's blooded loads of youth some of which are flourishing. And we have a crack at Joe Mac team.plus hopefully Limerick or Clare.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 09:02:18    2547451

Mac is our best player this year outside of Lee. They highlighted it but also highlighted the one we got away with. I didn't see any of KKs challenges on us highlighted tho. Anyway I do feel the better team on day shaded it

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 09:04:52    2547453

Cian Byrne a good shout for young hurler of the year? 1:03 no bother against kk in Nowlan Park. Scored the same as all Kk forwards outside of Reid combined.

I understand we won't go deep in to the championships that's what awards seem to be based on but he's surely nailed on for a nomination.

No fear or trepidation in him at all

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 09:09:46    2547456

Disappointed waking up this morning. That game was there for the taking . We reverted to playing every ball long in the first 20 minutes of the second half. The Kilkenny backs dominated us in the air. Chin had an off day which can happen anyone. One positive from yesterday is we have young lads like Eoin Ryan, Conor Foley, Lawlor and Cian Byrne showing they are well able to compete at this level and will continue to improve. Decisions went against us no way was that a penalty and the supposed penalty in the first half was over the line in the lead up to it. The Wexford support was great yesterday but we need to stay with the team now for the rest of the season. We should get over Laois or Offaly and then face probably Clare again. I agree with another poster no way should we be made go to Cork or Thurles again. Id be amazed if its a double header Cork will bring 30k to quarter final v KK or Dublin so there wont be enough tickets for other supporters. Providing we get over Laois or Offaly the Wexford county board should be pushing for the Clare/Limerick game to be in Nowlan Park or Portlaoise.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 27/05/2024 09:39:15    2547464

Replying To WEXILE:  "A wider issue in hurling now is just how are you meant to tackle someone without conceding a free. So much inconsistencies in the reffing. Have a look back at the Limerick Waterford game some mad decisions there.

How can you tackle someone in hurling without making contact? If you stand em up and make contact they say its a frontal charge. If you hook your hurl around the shoulder it's a free. Jeez I thought it was a contact sport. How can ya coach young.players these days the art of.tackling. The games are turning in to free taking competitions.

its something Wexford have gotten badly wrong all year too from league to championship. We constantly get penalised for frees. At this stage I'm not sure of ot can be fixed. And then you've experienced cute players like TJ Reid and they know how to play the refs and get the free. Proper game management and win at all cost mentality. We seem to lack that at times too.

Still tho can't be awful critical, a few.weeks ago we thought we were in a relegation scrap so credit to the lads and Keith. I thought yesterday we had no plan B. But it is Keith's first year. He's blooded loads of youth some of which are flourishing. And we have a crack at Joe Mac team.plus hopefully Limerick or Clare."
Thought Tj bought two or three frees yesterday clearly grabbed our lads arms and went to ground

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 27/05/2024 09:47:29    2547468

Replying To WEXILE:  "Cian Byrne a good shout for young hurler of the year? 1:03 no bother against kk in Nowlan Park. Scored the same as all Kk forwards outside of Reid combined.

I understand we won't go deep in to the championships that's what awards seem to be based on but he's surely nailed on for a nomination.

No fear or trepidation in him at all"
Why won't we go deep?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 09:49:51    2547469

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Disappointed waking up this morning. That game was there for the taking . We reverted to playing every ball long in the first 20 minutes of the second half. The Kilkenny backs dominated us in the air. Chin had an off day which can happen anyone. One positive from yesterday is we have young lads like Eoin Ryan, Conor Foley, Lawlor and Cian Byrne showing they are well able to compete at this level and will continue to improve. Decisions went against us no way was that a penalty and the supposed penalty in the first half was over the line in the lead up to it. The Wexford support was great yesterday but we need to stay with the team now for the rest of the season. We should get over Laois or Offaly and then face probably Clare again. I agree with another poster no way should we be made go to Cork or Thurles again. Id be amazed if its a double header Cork will bring 30k to quarter final v KK or Dublin so there wont be enough tickets for other supporters. Providing we get over Laois or Offaly the Wexford county board should be pushing for the Clare/Limerick game to be in Nowlan Park or Portlaoise."
First we have to get over the losers of Laois or Offaly. But if we do Portlaoise might not hold the crowd tbh. We seem to have got a bit of a following back. Limerick or Clare will bring large support also. Also Portlaoise isn't any handier than Semple to get to really.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 10:08:37    2547478

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Disappointed waking up this morning. That game was there for the taking . We reverted to playing every ball long in the first 20 minutes of the second half. The Kilkenny backs dominated us in the air. Chin had an off day which can happen anyone. One positive from yesterday is we have young lads like Eoin Ryan, Conor Foley, Lawlor and Cian Byrne showing they are well able to compete at this level and will continue to improve. Decisions went against us no way was that a penalty and the supposed penalty in the first half was over the line in the lead up to it. The Wexford support was great yesterday but we need to stay with the team now for the rest of the season. We should get over Laois or Offaly and then face probably Clare again. I agree with another poster no way should we be made go to Cork or Thurles again. Id be amazed if its a double header Cork will bring 30k to quarter final v KK or Dublin so there wont be enough tickets for other supporters. Providing we get over Laois or Offaly the Wexford county board should be pushing for the Clare/Limerick game to be in Nowlan Park or Portlaoise."
First we have to get over the losers of Laois or Offaly. But if we do Portlaoise might not hold the crowd tbh. We seem to have got a bit of a following back. Limerick or Clare will bring large support also. Also Portlaoise isn't any handier than Semple to get to really.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 10:08:52    2547480

I read in an article on the examiner I think it was,.that our game would be the Sunday and in Thurles. Hope that's challenged. Obviously need to win the preliminary also!

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 10:09:39    2547482

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Sunday game analysis was shocking..

Paddy Deegan has nailed down the 6 shirt " according to Dalo when he played midfield!!

They called out the bad penalty decision but said the one in first half was a black card. It wasn't - a black card is for a deliberate pull down inside the 21. Matthew fouled him but did not deliberately pull him down. Keoghan had taken 8 steps by the time he threw himself on the ground. The ref correctly gave a free and a yellow card."
Jackie thought that was Galways 1st time not coming out of Leinster too, when actually they haven't come out of 40% of the rounds robins. Same as Dublin.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 10:22:45    2547490

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Thought Tj bought two or three frees yesterday clearly grabbed our lads arms and went to ground"
Even the Kilkenny lads around me thought he dived

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 10:28:05    2547494

Replying To WEXILE:  "Cian Byrne a good shout for young hurler of the year? 1:03 no bother against kk in Nowlan Park. Scored the same as all Kk forwards outside of Reid combined.

No fear or trepidation in him at all"
And scored 1.03 off Mikey butler which is a fair achievement. Eoin Ryan also deserves a mention.Thought he would struggle at this level but he has proven me wrong and looks like he'll be a fixture in Wexford teams for years to come.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 27/05/2024 10:31:18    2547496

Replying To Viking66:  "Why won't we go deep?"
Because even the most optimistic supporter couldn't see us beat Clare and if we did then we'd get Limerick or Cork. Or maybe KK

I'm not saying we can't beat Clare by the way.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 10:31:54    2547497

Replying To WEXILE:  "I read in an article on the examiner I think it was,.that our game would be the Sunday and in Thurles. Hope that's challenged. Obviously need to win the preliminary also!"
Thurles has been in graveyard for us over the years

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 27/05/2024 10:34:32    2547500

Replying To WEXILE:  "I read in an article on the examiner I think it was,.that our game would be the Sunday and in Thurles. Hope that's challenged. Obviously need to win the preliminary also!"
Nowlan Park would be ideal for us but would it hold enough spectators?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 27/05/2024 10:34:45    2547501

Replying To Viking66:  "Even the Kilkenny lads around me thought he dived"
He does get a soft free here and there no doubt but he's a great hurler pity ye dident het a Leinster Final

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 958 - 27/05/2024 10:37:20    2547503

Replying To Viking66:  "Why won't we go deep?"
Im naturally optimistic about Wexford Hurling but if we did get over Laois/Offaly then probably Clare we'd likely come up against Limerick i think? I just couldnt see us beating them. Think if we hurled well and Clare had an average day we could definitely beat them in a quarter final

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 27/05/2024 10:38:29    2547504