Advertisement

Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Well lads new season is closely approaching I presume lads are back at it in gyms and on field etc.. hope for this year is a good crack at Leinster as i firmly believe we are well capable of winning it.. on the field side of things like to see Charlie mcguckian carry his club form onto the inter county scene.. also like to see Cian Molloy get a chance as I think there is a few spots up for grabs in the backs as Ryan and the 2 recks are my only nailed on starters…anyone know what the situation is with paudie foley is he done with Wexford or what would love to see him back as i think he is a fantastic hurler and athlete.. anyone else people would like to see get a run this year??

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 336 - 14/12/2023 09:46:16    2516708

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads new season is closely approaching I presume lads are back at it in gyms and on field etc.. hope for this year is a good crack at Leinster as i firmly believe we are well capable of winning it.. on the field side of things like to see Charlie mcguckian carry his club form onto the inter county scene.. also like to see Cian Molloy get a chance as I think there is a few spots up for grabs in the backs as Ryan and the 2 recks are my only nailed on starters…anyone know what the situation is with paudie foley is he done with Wexford or what would love to see him back as i think he is a fantastic hurler and athlete.. anyone else people would like to see get a run this year??"
Think Mcguckin has to be tried wing back. Don't think Paudie will be back. Ian Carty and David Clarke are away travelling. Hopefully Joe O Connor will be better next year after getting in a full preseason. Think Cian Molloy is currently injured but yes it would be great to see him fight for a place next year. Shane wouldnt be a nailed on starter on last years intercounty form tbh but did well for Oylegate and hopefully will carry that forward to next year's intercounty season. Hopefully Damien will be fully fit all year next year a very important player for us, same for Jippo who was unlucky with the finger this year. Hopefully Matthew is fully fit also as last year showed he's probably still our best back when fully fit, this year he never looked injury free. Donohue and Devitt are both solid backs and will have another years experience. Niall Murphy likewise will have another preseason done. Shame AJ won't commit does anyone know what the story is there? Not sure Conor Foleys best position is a back tbh. Maybe midfield? Hopefully a couple of newer lads will put their hand up during the Walsh Cup and League also.
That's my take on the backs. Alot of "hopefullys " there though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 14/12/2023 10:38:04    2516714

Replying To Viking66:  "Think Mcguckin has to be tried wing back. Don't think Paudie will be back. Ian Carty and David Clarke are away travelling. Hopefully Joe O Connor will be better next year after getting in a full preseason. Think Cian Molloy is currently injured but yes it would be great to see him fight for a place next year. Shane wouldnt be a nailed on starter on last years intercounty form tbh but did well for Oylegate and hopefully will carry that forward to next year's intercounty season. Hopefully Damien will be fully fit all year next year a very important player for us, same for Jippo who was unlucky with the finger this year. Hopefully Matthew is fully fit also as last year showed he's probably still our best back when fully fit, this year he never looked injury free. Donohue and Devitt are both solid backs and will have another years experience. Niall Murphy likewise will have another preseason done. Shame AJ won't commit does anyone know what the story is there? Not sure Conor Foleys best position is a back tbh. Maybe midfield? Hopefully a couple of newer lads will put their hand up during the Walsh Cup and League also.
That's my take on the backs. Alot of "hopefullys " there though."
Would agree on Shane R - I wouldnt have him as a cert either. Conor Devitt is underrated i think, a strong man marker - Donohoe is very solid but his habit of constantly running the ball can cause problems. P Foley wont be back till next Summer. Cian Byrne is a fella i would hope to see introduced in the forwards, he is small but it is Summer hurling come championship so that would work for him , he could also be carried for free taking alone - whatever happens next year that major issue needs to be sorted. I wouldnt be convinced of Joe O C for intercounty, i think he has had his chances and rarely shown enough for that level. Cian O Tuama should be looked at too but in reality its more forwards we need and not backs. I always think Kyle Firman looks impressive for the Martins but maybe not at that level. Rumours O Foley will not be playing, that would be another forward gone.

In related news - what in the name of god are Wexford CB doing taking on South E R and crying about online abuse?? - since sport was played anywhere people give out, criticise, boast, compliment and talk etc, it has always been there. The differnce now is it goes online and you have a lot of rubbish being said obviously. Wexford performed very poorly this year and naturally felt the heat for that, was it all fair?? Certainly not but making a big song and dance about it and implicating a local radio station in the mix is very embarassing. The chairman making out 72 delegates supported the complaint is also very far fetched, delegates listenned to the CB saying they were making a complaint and no one spoke against this, that isnt my understanding of everyone supporting the idea.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 51 - 15/12/2023 10:48:13    2516889

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Would agree on Shane R - I wouldnt have him as a cert either. Conor Devitt is underrated i think, a strong man marker - Donohoe is very solid but his habit of constantly running the ball can cause problems. P Foley wont be back till next Summer. Cian Byrne is a fella i would hope to see introduced in the forwards, he is small but it is Summer hurling come championship so that would work for him , he could also be carried for free taking alone - whatever happens next year that major issue needs to be sorted. I wouldnt be convinced of Joe O C for intercounty, i think he has had his chances and rarely shown enough for that level. Cian O Tuama should be looked at too but in reality its more forwards we need and not backs. I always think Kyle Firman looks impressive for the Martins but maybe not at that level. Rumours O Foley will not be playing, that would be another forward gone.

In related news - what in the name of god are Wexford CB doing taking on South E R and crying about online abuse?? - since sport was played anywhere people give out, criticise, boast, compliment and talk etc, it has always been there. The differnce now is it goes online and you have a lot of rubbish being said obviously. Wexford performed very poorly this year and naturally felt the heat for that, was it all fair?? Certainly not but making a big song and dance about it and implicating a local radio station in the mix is very embarassing. The chairman making out 72 delegates supported the complaint is also very far fetched, delegates listenned to the CB saying they were making a complaint and no one spoke against this, that isnt my understanding of everyone supporting the idea."
100% agree with what Wexford GAA are doing - There is no denying that it was a poor season but Wexford GAA is bigger than any one team or individual. Huge amount of good work going on in all aspects of the association. People think they have a god given right to come onto the radio and give out about people and make it personal. The online abuse aimed at certain players and management isn't on. A lot of those people I bet have zero to do with their local club, part of the 'Oh shur i wouldn't have time to do that' brigade. The same abuse is at club level so there is nothing new there.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 15/12/2023 12:01:18    2516906

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Would agree on Shane R - I wouldnt have him as a cert either. Conor Devitt is underrated i think, a strong man marker - Donohoe is very solid but his habit of constantly running the ball can cause problems. P Foley wont be back till next Summer. Cian Byrne is a fella i would hope to see introduced in the forwards, he is small but it is Summer hurling come championship so that would work for him , he could also be carried for free taking alone - whatever happens next year that major issue needs to be sorted. I wouldnt be convinced of Joe O C for intercounty, i think he has had his chances and rarely shown enough for that level. Cian O Tuama should be looked at too but in reality its more forwards we need and not backs. I always think Kyle Firman looks impressive for the Martins but maybe not at that level. Rumours O Foley will not be playing, that would be another forward gone.

In related news - what in the name of god are Wexford CB doing taking on South E R and crying about online abuse?? - since sport was played anywhere people give out, criticise, boast, compliment and talk etc, it has always been there. The differnce now is it goes online and you have a lot of rubbish being said obviously. Wexford performed very poorly this year and naturally felt the heat for that, was it all fair?? Certainly not but making a big song and dance about it and implicating a local radio station in the mix is very embarassing. The chairman making out 72 delegates supported the complaint is also very far fetched, delegates listenned to the CB saying they were making a complaint and no one spoke against this, that isnt my understanding of everyone supporting the idea."
I thought he said he had made a complaint. In fairness to him he speaks his mind, even if I don't alwaysagree with him. And he turns up everywhere he puts some amount of his time into the whole thing. If lads are OK for giving out about him, or the team, or management or whoever, be it in person or online, isn't he well within his rights to give out about them too?
The bottom line for me is that most of these "proud Wexford supporters" likely weren't even at the Westmeath game. There were around 2000 of us Wexford fans there which is a pathetically small turnout. Tbh Wexford Park wasn't near full for the do or die game against Kilkenny either, and around a third of that crowd were from Kilkenny.
Anyone who was among our small following up in Thurles last year will be well aware of what proper support can do for a team when it's all on the line. Match alot of these clowns on twitter better to put their money where their fingers are and get out support the county teams, never mind talking s###e about where it's all going wrong.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 12:23:46    2516913

On proper topic I don't think Kyle Firman is in the panel. That's bad news if Oisin Foley isn't. Mogie and Dee are likely not around next year either. Cian Byrne hopefully will step up this year, and Corey Byrne Dunbar also. Would be great if Cathal Doyle, Seamie O Hagan, Tucker, Mahoney, and any other new forward minded players do also.
I'm really optimistic about next year if we can keep our established players injury free. Most of the criticisms I would have had about the last regime will hopefully be addressed. Judging by the coaching team Keith Rossiter has assembled I fully expect us to have more than one gameplan, and that these will be tailored to suit the players we have. We have a sports psychologist. We will be fitter. And we have a largely Wexford born, or longtime associated, management team who will know exactly what it should mean playing for the county and should be able to motivate the lads accordingly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 12:31:43    2516914

On proper topic I don't think Kyle Firman is in the panel. That's bad news if Oisin Foley isn't. Mogie and Dee are likely not around next year either. Cian Byrne hopefully will step up this year, and Corey Byrne Dunbar also. Would be great if Cathal Doyle, Seamie O Hagan, Tucker, Mahoney, and any other new forward minded players do also.
I'm really optimistic about next year if we can keep our established players injury free. Most of the criticisms I would have had about the last regime will hopefully be addressed. Judging by the coaching team Keith Rossiter has assembled I fully expect us to have more than one gameplan, and that these will be tailored to suit the players we have. We have a sports psychologist. We will be fitter. And we have a largely Wexford born, or longtime associated, management team who will know exactly what it should mean playing for the county and should be able to motivate the lads accordingly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 12:32:20    2516915

Replying To MyOhMi:  "100% agree with what Wexford GAA are doing - There is no denying that it was a poor season but Wexford GAA is bigger than any one team or individual. Huge amount of good work going on in all aspects of the association. People think they have a god given right to come onto the radio and give out about people and make it personal. The online abuse aimed at certain players and management isn't on. A lot of those people I bet have zero to do with their local club, part of the 'Oh shur i wouldn't have time to do that' brigade. The same abuse is at club level so there is nothing new there."
What are they hoping to achieve? Get these people back on the radio to apologise ? This is the real world and when you are playing at that level you take the rough with the smooth. What do the players think about this i wonder? I think the energy of the CB would be far better spent on other playing related matters as this will undoubtedly lead to nothing. To make matters more comical, the County board thought they had lodged a complaint with the relevant authority but it turns out they havent as they didnt reply to an email..... If the CB had major issues they should go driectly to the radio station about it and deal with it instead of creating a big circus over it.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 51 - 15/12/2023 12:40:45    2516918

The online abuse and stuff on radio this year was disgraceful and I heard the screenshots shown at convention were disgusting. Do you think people should just accept the abuse? I think fair play for calling it out.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 206 - 15/12/2023 12:41:31    2516919

Replying To wexfordwin:  "The online abuse and stuff on radio this year was disgraceful and I heard the screenshots shown at convention were disgusting. Do you think people should just accept the abuse? I think fair play for calling it out."
Dont waste energy on idiots who post bad abuse like that, their opinions should be ignored. Its the campaign against South E R radio part of it I cant understand.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 51 - 15/12/2023 13:43:50    2516932

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Dont waste energy on idiots who post bad abuse like that, their opinions should be ignored. Its the campaign against South E R radio part of it I cant understand."
I don't get worried about those idiots either but it can effect certain people and importantly it might not only effect players etc. but friends and family around them, tbh even before the county chairman spoke on the matter I taught 1 SE radio show was out of order this year, I wouldn't get bogged down in whatever coverage was on after the Westmeath game, the coverage 2 weeks prior after we lost to Dublin by 2 points was scandalous, asking a former player if there should be a change in management mid championship before the Westmeath after a 2 point loss, there's 2 public spat's gone on locally at the moment and might not be a coincidence SE radio are involved in both.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/12/2023 13:57:44    2516933

Replying To OasisorBlur:  "Dont waste energy on idiots who post bad abuse like that, their opinions should be ignored. Its the campaign against South E R radio part of it I cant understand."
I agree to a certain extent. Alan Corcoran is a proud Wexford supporter. Often see him at games. He's heavily involved with his club also. He's certainly not afraid to speak his mind either. But as a presenter maybe he should look to be more balanced. He's in a position of influence.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 14:03:22    2516934

Oisin Foley would be a big loss. He has size which we lack and is well able to take a score. Also agree on South east radio dont think the criticism was over the top myself. It was our worst result in championship hurling and a very poor year. South East Radio have always provided great coverage of our senior hurlers

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/12/2023 14:43:56    2516939

Replying To Viking66:  "I thought he said he had made a complaint. In fairness to him he speaks his mind, even if I don't alwaysagree with him. And he turns up everywhere he puts some amount of his time into the whole thing. If lads are OK for giving out about him, or the team, or management or whoever, be it in person or online, isn't he well within his rights to give out about them too?
The bottom line for me is that most of these "proud Wexford supporters" likely weren't even at the Westmeath game. There were around 2000 of us Wexford fans there which is a pathetically small turnout. Tbh Wexford Park wasn't near full for the do or die game against Kilkenny either, and around a third of that crowd were from Kilkenny.
Anyone who was among our small following up in Thurles last year will be well aware of what proper support can do for a team when it's all on the line. Match alot of these clowns on twitter better to put their money where their fingers are and get out support the county teams, never mind talking s###e about where it's all going wrong."
The influence the massive Clare crowd had at the end of the game was huge. Their support was defeaning in the final stages which gave Clare players that extra lift to get them over the line

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/12/2023 14:47:07    2516940

Replying To wexfordwin:  "The online abuse and stuff on radio this year was disgraceful and I heard the screenshots shown at convention were disgusting. Do you think people should just accept the abuse? I think fair play for calling it out."
I agree the online abuse from Wexford ''fans'' who likely havent been to a game since 2019 was scandalous but thats rampant on all social media platforms unfortunately. Do think South East Radio coverage was fair and not abusive

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/12/2023 14:49:24    2516942

https://wexfordgaa.ie/statement-in-respect-of-south-east-radios-recent-coverage-of-wexford-gaa/

Thing is, the complaint to the Broadcasting Authority (which apparently never became an "official" complaint because they missed an email advising of an imminent deadline) doesn't relate to coverage of team performance or managers or players at all.

It's instead about a piece with Dr. Stephen Bowe that was broadcast after the inter-county season ended, where he spoke about how his time as team doctor came to an end and how his replacement was appointed. Wexford GAA say it had several inaccurate claims and are annoyed that since it was a pre-recorded interview, there was no attempt made to contact them about those claims in the time between it being recorded and being broadcast.

I've never heard the piece myself so I don't know exactly what he said, but would seem to me to be bad practice to broadcast what are likely to be controversial claims in a pre-recorded interview without any attempt to get both sides of the story.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 4002 - 15/12/2023 15:24:38    2516949

Replying To Viking66:  "I agree to a certain extent. Alan Corcoran is a proud Wexford supporter. Often see him at games. He's heavily involved with his club also. He's certainly not afraid to speak his mind either. But as a presenter maybe he should look to be more balanced. He's in a position of influence."
What goes around comes around. He is well able to give it, not take it however it seems.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1089 - 15/12/2023 15:54:42    2516956

Replying To MyOhMi:  "100% agree with what Wexford GAA are doing - There is no denying that it was a poor season but Wexford GAA is bigger than any one team or individual. Huge amount of good work going on in all aspects of the association. People think they have a god given right to come onto the radio and give out about people and make it personal. The online abuse aimed at certain players and management isn't on. A lot of those people I bet have zero to do with their local club, part of the 'Oh shur i wouldn't have time to do that' brigade. The same abuse is at club level so there is nothing new there."
I agree with that.

If you aren't happy with what has gone on, you get your backside out on to the sideline and coach better than the man who is giving of his time and do it better.

If you aren't happy with the decisions at county board, you go through your club to get an item on the clár. Or go get on your committee (not something I would enjoy by my own admission).

I have come across many "passionate Wexford supporters" since I moved down here and most are reasonable fair and balanced in their opinion. Then you go on Twitter and see the anonymous trolls who hide behind anonymity to throw abuse at amateur players giving of their time.

And you don't use your position as a radio station presenter to knife everybody. We all have opinions, but some need to be kept within from time to time. The farce which had the County Chairman go on to defend himself to that radio presenter during the most important week of reckoning hurling in Wexford ever faced was a nonsense situation.

I felt the treatment of everybody involved from a mouthy radio station nobody was way over the top. I fully support the action taken by Wexford GAA.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1635 - 15/12/2023 16:05:54    2516959

Replying To Afinestick:  "The influence the massive Clare crowd had at the end of the game was huge. Their support was defeaning in the final stages which gave Clare players that extra lift to get them over the line"
Definitely!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 16:12:33    2516961

I have heard people rant and rave and bellow
That we're done and we might as well be dead
But I'm only a cockeyed optimist
And I can't get it into my head

- Oscar Hammerstein, South Pacific

Great quote for the year ahead!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 15/12/2023 17:50:59    2516974