Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Timbertony:  "Can't knock his finishing but I thought he struggled a bit to win contested ball. Even balls out in front of him, slippy/bad sod (the state of the pitch yesterday was a disgrace) his first touch wasn't to its usual high standard. With the exception of Mac and maybe McGovern I thought the rest of our forwards were bullied a bit yesterday. Not every pass or ball in at this level can be gift wrapped."
I thought they all struggled to win ball to be fair bar Mac in 1st half who had a field day. Chin at times struggled too and he's a savage to win ball

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 12:20:13    2547579

Replying To Yellow:  "Back to the cycle of trying to get over this loss and the feeling of leaving behind wins during the campaign against lesser teams.

Again I feel we were good enough to win Leinster this year but we left it behind like 2018, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Not closing out the Dublin game and not kicking on after 7 point win in Antrim cost us a Leinster final place. We should have been going up yesterday with 8 points and a Leinster final in the bag.

If we can come within a point of Kilkenny in Nowlan Park then we can surely beat Antrim.

Jack made a big difference yesterday but was brought on too late. We needed a physical presence in the half forward line and this wasnt addressed soon enough. The penalty was a free and those 3 points cost us the game. Even with us not playing well. Dublin are in their 2nd Leinster final since 2021 but I feel we are a better team. The difference is they dont get turned over by the so called weaker counties but we do. Not once, not twice but three years in a row. (Westmeath 2022, 2023 and Antrim 2024)

Dublin beat Galway and lost to Kilkenny. Same as us but they progress to a final and we dont. We lost by the bare minimum a point to Kilkenny. And we beat Galway by 8 with 14 men. If Kilkenny had finished third yesterday and we were in Leinster final people would give Kilkenny every chance of getting over Clare in the Preliminary quarter finals. However now that we are finished third I give us very little chance of getting over the Munster runner up - why is this??

Because the bare minimum that Kilkenny bring - every single day - is 100% commitment and work rate. We do not bring that every day. Our forwards were not chasing or pressurising yesterday as soon as we went ahead. The difference between us yesterday was;
1. Work- rate and intensity - chasing every lost cause
2. Free taking ability
3. Giving away soft frees
4. Aerial ability - winning primary possession. When the ball broke - we missed a lot of pick ups.
5. Too many repetitive long balls on puck outs"
Mac and Chin are excellent offensive forwards, but working hard when not in possession they aren't as good at. The Kilkenny backs had all the time in the world to play the ball out after short puckouts. After the first 2 or 3 Eoin Murphy knew he could puck the ball short to his fullback line and we wouldn't be trying too hard to turn them over. That then gave them an excellent platform to play shorter ball inside from further up the pitch. Niall Williams and JJ Doyle gave an excellent coaching session for coaches in Ferns about this very subject just last week, building attacking play. Forwards have to do alot of running to prevent it.
Tbh if our backs, especially Shiner on Cody, had of been worse we could have lost that game by a good bit more. TJ missed 3 off his left too, he's left handed, and Mossey missed I think 4 scorable chances. Most of those were under a bit of pressure from our backs though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13329 - 27/05/2024 12:26:29    2547581

Replying To Afinestick96:  "It's extremely disappointing this group of players will might only end up with one Leinster medal. I feel like this year and 2021 were huge opportunities for us. Its so disappointing because we know we more than likely wont win the All Ireland and our dream of winning Leinster is gone. Im sure the players are hurting today"
There's always an AI to aim for when you are still in it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13329 - 27/05/2024 12:27:30    2547583

Replying To WEXILE:  "I admire your optimism. Usually it's finalists that get the gongs like hurler of the year all stars etc. or at least that's the way its been in last few years.

I don't see us getting to final. TBH I don't see us getting to Semi final. With our recent record against "lesser" teams I'd have angst going to play offally or Laois and thats evidence based, post traumatic stress.

I really don't want to say we can't beat Clare.or Limerick because on any day anything can happen. But it's extremely extremely unlikely.

It's always could haves and should haves and what ifs. And they've all bloody hurt. Tip in 19,.Clare in 22, Dublin and KK this year.

We've a very good team and hopefully on the up next year. It would be great to turn those close games to actual victories. Until then I'll be going to the games in hope than expectation.

I had expectations yesterday and look where that got us"
This one hurts big time to be fair! It's good we are still in the championship but a Leinster title was our only realistic chance of silverware this summer. To be fair to Keith and the lads we have came a long way since last year and I hope we continue on an upward trajectory this summer and next season's goal must be Leinster final at the very minimum

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 12:27:44    2547584

Replying To WEXILE:  "I admire your optimism. Usually it's finalists that get the gongs like hurler of the year all stars etc. or at least that's the way its been in last few years.

I don't see us getting to final. TBH I don't see us getting to Semi final. With our recent record against "lesser" teams I'd have angst going to play offally or Laois and thats evidence based, post traumatic stress.

I really don't want to say we can't beat Clare.or Limerick because on any day anything can happen. But it's extremely extremely unlikely.

It's always could haves and should haves and what ifs. And they've all bloody hurt. Tip in 19,.Clare in 22, Dublin and KK this year.

We've a very good team and hopefully on the up next year. It would be great to turn those close games to actual victories. Until then I'll be going to the games in hope than expectation.

I had expectations yesterday and look where that got us"
I always go in hope. Even going to Portlaoise or Tullamore I won't be travelling in expectation. But if we stay injury free we have a team that can trouble anyone on our day, and not having the weight of expectation might stand to us against Clare, Cork and even Limerick. The last time a team was going for 5 in a row I think that expectation definitely influenced their performance on the day. They were a little flat and got comprehensively beaten, even if it was only by 8 on the scoreboard.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13329 - 27/05/2024 12:35:05    2547589

Replying To Fulgrim:  "I thought we couldn't buy a free yesterday, someone else mentioned we have a problem with tackling but I don't see it to be honest.

Happened to be watching highlights posted on the GAA website just now https://www.gaa.ie/videos/kilkenny-v-wexford-full-time-highlights-lshc. Billy Ryan's second score was a free out (1:48), he's beaten to the ball by Jippo and pushes him straight into the back. Not just a hand on the back he literally puts his weight behind it and shoves him. Then TJ takes the softest of contact off Eoin Ryan twice and dives. Thought the ref was very biased, we weren't fouling any more than Kilkenny. I think it's unfair to have a ref from the same province doing the game, especially when Galway were still in it on the last day."
Fulgrim. The referee is from Galway. Why would he be biased towards Kilkenny? Are you suggesting that he thought if Galway won their game they would have a better chance of beating the cats more than us? Doesn't make sense.
We will always look for excuses as to why we lost.
The simple fact is we played so poorly leading up to half time and again for most of the second half.
They were ultra strong in their half back line and our key forwards were outshone.
Yet we we were within a whisker of getting a draw or maybe even winning. Small margins.
No, the referee made some errors all right but we contributed to our own downfall by letting them dictate the trend of play in that second half.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 27/05/2024 12:38:23    2547592

Replying To Fulgrim:  "I thought we couldn't buy a free yesterday, someone else mentioned we have a problem with tackling but I don't see it to be honest.

Happened to be watching highlights posted on the GAA website just now https://www.gaa.ie/videos/kilkenny-v-wexford-full-time-highlights-lshc. Billy Ryan's second score was a free out (1:48), he's beaten to the ball by Jippo and pushes him straight into the back. Not just a hand on the back he literally puts his weight behind it and shoves him. Then TJ takes the softest of contact off Eoin Ryan twice and dives. Thought the ref was very biased, we weren't fouling any more than Kilkenny. I think it's unfair to have a ref from the same province doing the game, especially when Galway were still in it on the last day."
PS. You may say that we beat Galway by 8 points and Kilkenny drew with Galway earlier on but it counts for nothing in the later stages. Usually games take on a life of their own and previous clashes don't always favour the team that won in the round Robin.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 27/05/2024 12:52:40    2547600

I agree with every word. We have to live with it but I thought it was really shocking.

There was actually a period in the second half after mogie scored that Wexford didn't touch the ball for about three minutes yet somehow won 3 sidelines.

There was an older couple from Kilkenny beside me that were bemused at quite a few decisions in their favour.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 27/05/2024 12:57:46    2547603

Some thought provoking comments above, thank you.

Chin and Rory were either well held or had an off day, the two on same day points towards its being the former.

We handed them a couple of scores (at least) be conceding the short puc out, was this the smartest tactic in retrospect?

Their penalty was not penalty but the 1st half incident was.

The second half fade out was very disappointing, looked like a total collapse was on but to be fair the lads did get stuck in towards the end and could have stole it.

Probably lacking 2-3 players to make us serious AI contenders.

Still in the championship but the next game is a potential banana skin and the lads have to approach it like they did Carlow 'professionally' - no complacency.

Well done to the minors, brilliant result.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 27/05/2024 12:59:32    2547606

Replying To Viking66:  "I always go in hope. Even going to Portlaoise or Tullamore I won't be travelling in expectation. But if we stay injury free we have a team that can trouble anyone on our day, and not having the weight of expectation might stand to us against Clare, Cork and even Limerick. The last time a team was going for 5 in a row I think that expectation definitely influenced their performance on the day. They were a little flat and got comprehensively beaten, even if it was only by 8 on the scoreboard."
Yeah I agree with all that plus emotionally spent team after losing a Munster are always vulnerable and we've seen that in 2022. Again another if....if we'd the bodies.....If Rory wasn't injured. And that's the frustrations. It would be great to turn these into results. I can't believe this Wexford team have only 1 Leinster. We have under acheieved.

Hopefully we can extend our run and I'd be more optimistic for next year. But in the near future as in this year for me the glass is half empty for you maybe the glass is half full and that's OK too.

Possible return for Paudi and Oisin Foley next year. Will Carty be back? We'd Hopefully have an injection of.more youth with another year of S&C done. Corey Dunne Dunbar, Molloy could all make an impact maybe?

Maybe we'll get more out of Tucker Kinsella with more s&C done same as Conor Foley and Owen Ryan, Cian Byrne too.

Hope we haven't seen the end of D. O'keefe and Mcgovern etc. stay on Hopefully.

I'm not totally negative. Just a bit cautious about asking we can take the likes of Limerick this year

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 13:09:44    2547615

Replying To Magpie2:  "Fulgrim. The referee is from Galway. Why would he be biased towards Kilkenny? Are you suggesting that he thought if Galway won their game they would have a better chance of beating the cats more than us? Doesn't make sense.
The simple fact is we played so poorly leading up to half time and again for most of the second half.
They were ultra strong in their half back line and our key forwards were outshone.
Yet we we were within a whisker of getting a draw or maybe even winning. Small margins.
No, the referee made some errors all right but we contributed to our own downfall by letting them dictate the trend of play in that second half.
."
Although I agree with the previous post about the referee what you're saying is true.

There are loads of excuses beyond our control but we can't change them.

It's very important for us to acknowledge the things we ourselves did wrong.

I am still sick over it. I think it was the last big opportunity for our older lads.

When we review the season it was surrendering commanding leads in the opening two games that actually killed us.

But hey, we're still in the hunt and we've another day at least with plenty to work on. Then who knows.

It's just hard to be from Wexford sometimes.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 27/05/2024 13:11:45    2547618

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Sunday game analysis was shocking..

Paddy Deegan has nailed down the 6 shirt " according to Dalo when he played midfield!!

They called out the bad penalty decision but said the one in first half was a black card. It wasn't - a black card is for a deliberate pull down inside the 21. Matthew fouled him but did not deliberately pull him down. Keoghan had taken 8 steps by the time he threw himself on the ground. The ref correctly gave a free and a yellow card."
Are you saying you have to be pulled to the ground for a penalty.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 156 - 27/05/2024 13:21:41    2547623

Replying To Magpie2:  "Fulgrim. The referee is from Galway. Why would he be biased towards Kilkenny? Are you suggesting that he thought if Galway won their game they would have a better chance of beating the cats more than us? Doesn't make sense.
."
That's fair enough, speaking more with my heart than head probably. We were so close, bitterly disappointed. Not really looking forward to another Clare game if we beat the Joe McDonagh losing finalists and they lose Munster (most likely outcome). Sick to my teeth of going out in a quarter final against Lohan and his lads. And knowing the GAA well probably get dragged down to PoC. At least we won't have to worry about the side show with Davy.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 27/05/2024 13:31:29    2547629

So we basically have a month to prepare for Clare or Limerick - with a challenge game vs Laois or Offaly the week before. That's how we need to view this. I think it will be hard for Clare to pick up the pieces if (and that is a big if) they lose the Munster final again. It might be a chance to get one over on them finally

Obviously we need to get over Offally/ Laois first but I cant see us being on the wrong end of another upset this year.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 27/05/2024 13:33:14    2547634

So we basically have a month to prepare for Clare or Limerick - with a challenge game vs Laois or Offaly the week before. That's how we need to view this. I think it will be hard for Clare to pick up the pieces if (and that is a big if) they lose the Munster final again. It might be a chance to get one over on them finally

Obviously we need to get over Offally/ Laois first but I cant see us being on the wrong end of another upset this year.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 27/05/2024 13:41:50    2547637

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Thought Tj's diving was a disgrace yesterday and even Kilkenny men around me said he clearly pulled our lads arms and went to the ground. Sickening because the margins were so small"
He gets soft frees in a lot of games he should have been done for over carrying at one stage yesterday small things went against us like the sideline ball he knocked over that was a wexford ball beforehand its just frustrating I can usually get over a defeat no bother but feel like I've a hangover today, anyways we live to fight another day ..

juan31 (Wexford) - Posts: 165 - 27/05/2024 13:57:41    2547643

."
Thought it was a poor weekend for the refs in Leinster. Penalty decision in our game was clearly wrong, Chris Nolan getting sent off also wrong in my opinion and David Burke red card should've or could've been yellow. All 3 decisions had a major influence on the results of all 3 games. Referees will never get everything right but by god the big game changing ones have to be got right

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 27/05/2024 14:00:35    2547645

Replying To Yellow:  "So we basically have a month to prepare for Clare or Limerick - with a challenge game vs Laois or Offaly the week before. That's how we need to view this. I think it will be hard for Clare to pick up the pieces if (and that is a big if) they lose the Munster final again. It might be a chance to get one over on them finally

Obviously we need to get over Offally/ Laois first but I cant see us being on the wrong end of another upset this year."
Challenge game? Really, like the challenge game last year against Westmeath? We didn't exactly steamroll Offaly in the league!

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 27/05/2024 14:06:13    2547653

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Although I agree with the previous post about the referee what you're saying is true.

There are loads of excuses beyond our control but we can't change them.

It's very important for us to acknowledge the things we ourselves did wrong.

I am still sick over it. I think it was the last big opportunity for our older lads.

When we review the season it was surrendering commanding leads in the opening two games that actually killed us.

But hey, we're still in the hunt and we've another day at least with plenty to work on. Then who knows.

It's just hard to be from Wexford sometimes."
I agree with you Doylerwex. This defeat is hard to take we were so close to a Leinster final . On another poster view that Kilkenny wouldnt be big enough for the All Ireland Quarter final surely 24k capacity would cater for us against Clare or Limerick

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 14:24:00    2547667

Replying To Yellow:  "So we basically have a month to prepare for Clare or Limerick - with a challenge game vs Laois or Offaly the week before. That's how we need to view this. I think it will be hard for Clare to pick up the pieces if (and that is a big if) they lose the Munster final again. It might be a chance to get one over on them finally

Obviously we need to get over Offally/ Laois first but I cant see us being on the wrong end of another upset this year."
Ah here. If we've learned one thing this year, surely it has to be to take nothing for granted against any opposition. Referring to our match against Laois or Offaly as a challenge game is both disrespectful and inappropriate.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2460 - 27/05/2024 15:05:06    2547677