Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "How many frees did Wexford players get for diving?"
None of course CC. We actually didn't get that many frees. Check the stats;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/05/2024 17:53:42    2547301

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""left a Leinster title behind us in the first two games"
Even if you'd won your first two games, you wouldn't have won a Leinster title you'd have qualified for the final. Your comment reeks of arrogance. The two best teams are in the Leinster final."
We were better overall in our game against them than Dublin. They were very lucky to get 2 goals in a minute and a half. The ref should've ordered the puckout retaken for the 2nd one as he never blew the whistle. Best you do a little reading up of the rules.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/05/2024 17:55:41    2547302

Replying To Fulgrim:  "lol you'd know Wexford got under your skin in recent years. Commenting more on Wexford hurling than anyone. Best if luck in the final."
She was very quiet after the Carlow game, making up for it now.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2006 - 26/05/2024 18:11:24    2547309

Replying To Fulgrim:  "lol you'd know Wexford got under your skin in recent years. Commenting more on Wexford hurling than anyone. Best if luck in the final."
'Wexford got under your skin in recent years'. Yeah right. Kilkenny have played in 9 of the last 10 Leinster finals, winning 7; played in 6 All-Ireland finals, in the same time, winning 2, losing 4.
Kilkenny maybe the be all for Wexford, but we have bigger fish to fry.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 26/05/2024 18:11:43    2547310

We went out of it either side of half time. Through we played as poor as we did all year in the first 15 mins of second half.

Kilkenny just shaded it overall I think. Penalty decision aside.

State of the pitch at one end was shocking. Walked out on it after the match. Horrible sod with lumps and bare patches.

Offaly or laois now in 3 weeks. Plenty to work on. Got turned over too much coming out from the back. Too many balls into right corner in first half.

Kilkenny winning most of the dirty ball.

Tj a master at winning frees (and scoring them).

I would have taken 3rd after the antrim game but feels like a real lost opportunity of a leinster final.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 104 - 26/05/2024 18:16:41    2547312

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I don't know. How many times did Wexford player get away with it?"
Eh, didn't see a Wexford player do it once??

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 26/05/2024 18:17:40    2547314

Replying To WEXILE:  "I hope should we win preliminary quarter that they play the quarter in Offally or Nowlan Park even bloody Waterford. Always in Semple or PUC"
Semple and Cork alot handier to South Wexford than Tullamore. Nowlan Park would be great ok. Waterford even better. But being as, if we beat Laois or Offaly, we will be playing Clare or Limerick, Offaly would be a long way out of the way for both of us. Most importantly our game against Laois or Offaly will be away.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/05/2024 18:24:05    2547318

I hope to God that was a penalty because if its a bad decision I'll be gutted watching it tonight.

Honestly do think KK tactically got it right for the middle third. We were launching long ball after long ball and in that period we made very little use of it. We were cleaned that in that period if truth be told. We couldn't seem to find another route while KKs striking from distance killed us. Credit to their backs too I think they were dropping mid fielders for our long balls.

Credit to the lads for battling back in to it. They didn't seem too gutted, saw em in O'Loughlin Gael's after the game.

We live to fight another day.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 26/05/2024 18:25:41    2547322

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'Wexford got under your skin in recent years'. Yeah right. Kilkenny have played in 9 of the last 10 Leinster finals, winning 7; played in 6 All-Ireland finals, in the same time, winning 2, losing 4.
Kilkenny maybe the be all for Wexford, but we have bigger fish to fry."
You're so uncontrollably bitter, it's fascinating. It just gushes out of you in colossal torrents. Like I said best of luck in the final, try to be a little happy for a change.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 26/05/2024 18:32:04    2547330

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Liam Gordon redefining what a penalty is…no black card so it wasn't a goal scoring opportunity but still gave a penalty. Three Wexford lads around the KK lad standing between the 14 and 21, joke of a decision. Fair play to lads battled back really well and we're still in the hunt thankfully."
Should mark the end of his inter county season.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 26/05/2024 18:34:30    2547332

We started well and but fircbit wayward shooting we could ve hd thrm under more serious pressure but kilkenny learned as game went on and closed down space outside out full forward line stopoing the good supply we had early in the game and mopped up breaks fir long periods we left too much space in between our half and full back line where we got exposed a bit . Tj showed all his experience winning ball and drawing frees . Pity we just lost our way for little while and got punished for it egilst missing dome very storable chances not being too critical of anyone in particular on that one . But it gave killkennyvthe momentum to six up when we could nt keep scoreboards ticking over.
But you could have to secure the effort to almost get back .
Pity about the leinster final . But I m quite happy to be in preliminary 1/4 final would have been happy with that befire a ball was thrown in this year 2 pt and 1st defeats show we stay in games and should fear any one pride is restored . Yes Antrim fine was strange one. Dont forget carlow nearly caught kilkenny too .
I think we are improving and happy with the managements and players reaction.
Don't think a circle wejs off and time to prepare for natch v Laois /Offaly is such a bad thing thought chin and Rory looks tired today . Surely wil give jippo de abd possibly few more time to get bzck to full fitness .
We ll hurl in June thats a bonus after last year .
Kilkenny prob just about deservd the win today overall .
Bring on the preliminary mow abd leaves jeep the consistency of performances to heights of last 3 games . Guarantee you Tipp otmr waterfird be happy to be where we are at present

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 26/05/2024 18:36:09    2547333

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'Wexford got under your skin in recent years'. Yeah right. Kilkenny have played in 9 of the last 10 Leinster finals, winning 7; played in 6 All-Ireland finals, in the same time, winning 2, losing 4.
Kilkenny maybe the be all for Wexford, but we have bigger fish to fry."
I think them days are coming to an end for you. Heavily reliant on a 37 year old wizard to pull you through. Even at that he missed three shocking wides from play. We will take 3rd place and go at it again in 3 weeks or that. Think Dublin will have every chance in the final, seem to be finally improving

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 192 - 26/05/2024 18:43:08    2547338

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/crazy-kilkenny-penalty-wexford-decision-599200

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 308 - 26/05/2024 18:50:14    2547342

We outscored them 1-11 to 0-09 in the first 25 minutes and outscored them 1-06 to 0-04 in the last 20-25 minutes but as others have said, the problem was in between where they outscored us 1-11 to 0-03

For me, our big problem was that we were second best in terms of physicality in the middle third, we seemed to win every breaking ball against Carlow last week but this week was the reverse, we were cleaned out of it

I still think we're leaving meat on the bone in terms of our team selection + style of play; some mightn't like Jacko but our half-forward like lacked size compared to Kilkenny's half-back line, that was a big reason why they got the better of us, we were able to compete better with Jacko on the pitch. I also think having Chin in the full-forward line is too clever for our own good, we don't have a good enough half-forward line to win ball without him, he needs to be out there

As for style of play, I think that in the middle third of the game, we ended up playing a lot of long balls into the Kilkenny defence and they came out with the ball pretty much every time, we seemed to have forgotten our running game. I think we should be dropping Damien into the full-back line and the two midfielders into the half-back line off the puck-out like Limerick do. That would give us enough numbers to run the ball out from the back and if they pushed up on us, we'd have more space to play the ball long into the forwards

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 26/05/2024 18:51:38    2547343

Replying To WexMurph:  "I think them days are coming to an end for you. Heavily reliant on a 37 year old wizard to pull you through. Even at that he missed three shocking wides from play. We will take 3rd place and go at it again in 3 weeks or that. Think Dublin will have every chance in the final, seem to be finally improving"
Heavily reliant on TJ? Absolute nonsense. There are already very good/great players established in the Kilkenny team, with plenty of good youngsters on the panel.
I agree. Dublin have every chance in the final. It should be a cracking game, the two best teams in Leinster going head to head, once more.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2618 - 26/05/2024 19:00:23    2547346

Replying To juan31:  "It was as the kilkenny lad was down for 40 seconds on the ground injured then Murphy taken forever to puck it out all during the 4 minutes injury time"
Yeah they took 3.5 of the 4 minutes. We'd have got another chance.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 26/05/2024 19:18:16    2547350

Great game. Hard luck, Wexford; was hoping that ye'd win. Wexford has a decent team but I think ye need to do it this year. Good youth has come through but how much is left in Chin, Ryan, O'Hanlon, McDonald, etc. If Wexford don't spring a surprise in championship this year, then I think other teams will be onto them and your really good players will be too old.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2053 - 26/05/2024 19:22:13    2547354

As bad a penalty decision as you will ever see.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 26/05/2024 19:39:12    2547363

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Heavily reliant on TJ? Absolute nonsense. There are already very good/great players established in the Kilkenny team, with plenty of good youngsters on the panel.
I agree. Dublin have every chance in the final. It should be a cracking game, the two best teams in Leinster going head to head, once more."
Not to the same standard as before. Actual Hurling people in Kilkenny will tell you that.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 192 - 26/05/2024 19:48:01    2547367

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Great game. Hard luck, Wexford; was hoping that ye'd win. Wexford has a decent team but I think ye need to do it this year. Good youth has come through but how much is left in Chin, Ryan, O'Hanlon, McDonald, etc. If Wexford don't spring a surprise in championship this year, then I think other teams will be onto them and your really good players will be too old."
Chin is only 30. Mac and Jippo aren't even 30 yet.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/05/2024 19:51:24    2547370