Well said. The goal is promotion. Win one of the next two games vs Sligo and Tipp and it should guarantee it because the world would end if we lost to London or Waterford. Good to see the bench emptied yesterday and for Argue and Finnegan to start. People forget we had some relatively inexperienced players on the pitch yesterday with others like Oisin Brady coming on.
BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/02/2022 11:20:20 2402905 Link 0 |
Refixture confirmed BreiffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 28/02/2022 11:20:50 2402906 Link 0 |
As we thought then. It really was the only gap for the next month. We will be out 5 weeks in a row. Win this and we're very much in pole position, so go all out for this, and see if we change things up the weeks afterwards. Sligo will be gunning for us on the back of a loss, so need to get right for this
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 28/02/2022 12:05:38 2402926 Link 0 |
Agreed, we had a few different lads in today. Forgot to say we were missing Marty too. It's good to see these lads get a go. I'd rather a tight enough game with young lads learning, than the 10 point win with an experienced team that some were expecting. I think Mickey is managing this quite well to get us through this division.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 28/02/2022 12:07:12 2402929 Link 0 |
I would agree promotion from any division is the main aim but my God if we are not able to go 7/7 from this division and win the league final it's no wonder we are where we are with such limited ambition… As for Mickey managing us nicely through the Division… don't make me laugh.. It was his excellent management through Div 2/3 has us where we are …. I would excuse him in his first year in division 1 as he was just in and the team were away out of their depth regardless who was in charge… but little or no excuses for the last 2 years.. No manager in history has survived after taking a team from Div 1 to Div 4 but it goes without saying the only way is up…. ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 28/02/2022 13:13:49 2402954 Link 0 |
Some of the comments on here reflect the attitude and losing mentality across the county. We are in the basement division playing very poor opposition and at the moment we look like a poor to average team. We are scraping across the line . I don't have an issue with people being dissapointed in that. It's about setting standards, I remember that famous clip of the great Alex Ferguson after his Aberdeen team just won a cup. He called his players a disgrace and they should take no Glory from it because of the performance. There is nothing wrong with having standards. blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 28/02/2022 13:49:24 2402968 Link 0 |
Don't have to go 7 from 7 is my point. Sure it'd be nice, but I'd rather learn things that just coast through a division. Promotion is the goal, if there's a loss or a draw in there, I really don't care., And I have this argument with you already. League is all well and good, but it's not everything. There were very weird circumstance in the relegations to Div 3 and then 4. But did it really matter? Mickey clearly said at the time that his big deal was championship, and the league was to be used for developing. And hasn't that worked? A first Ulster final in 18 years, and a first win in 23? That's why he's still here. You are OBSESSED with the league, which I've said to you before. I see the League as a means to an end. It gets us ready for Championship. Our natural level is always going to be Division 2 or so, with the odd excursion up or down a level from there. We shouldn't have gone down here, but we're here after that weird setup last year so lets use it. But please don't act like League is more important or something. It's really not. It's all prep for Championship. Leagues are for playing, and Championships are for winning. And are you ever not giving out or being negative on anything? Like I cannot believe you think a manager who has reached Ulster finals and then won it should not have his job due to the league. That's actually laughable...
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 28/02/2022 13:55:27 2402976 Link 0 |
Does League really matter? And yes, we shouldn't be in this division, but we are due to circumstances we've debated many times. But we have to appreciate where we're coming from as a county and our size. I don't think anyone is accepting poor standards, I myself just said it should be used as an opportunity to build something, and we're trying new players out in this campaign. This is exactly what the league should be about. Sure, we want to get out of there, but we always need to build. The Championship is everything. Not the League. It's for building only. We have shown that we can compete at Championship level despite the league relegations. So I'm really not sure where you're getting this idea that people have a losing mentality. If it's losing in the league but winning Championships, then what'd be wrong with that? I think you lads have your heads screwed on the wrong way round. Look at the League for what it is. It changes next year, but last number of years it didn't mean anything as it wasn't linked to Championship. And how often do we ever get to Croke Park in Championship? Outside of that London win, we've had a quarter final against Kerry and a semi against Dublin. Did you think we were ever winning those? Being in Ulster, we only get a chance to be there at very late stages of Championship. Think you need to give your head a bit of a wobble there my good man... Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 28/02/2022 15:04:41 2403008 Link 0 |
I agree there is a major mentality issue in the county. There has to be some reason that a supposedly GAA mad county has both its hurling and football teams in the basement divisions. Shocking.
Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 28/02/2022 15:17:15 2403014 Link 0 |
Does League standing actually matter if Championships are being won? Like we reached an Ulster final, and then won one on the back of relegations a matter of months and weeks before, respectively. Why are you obsessed with our league standing if it does not correlate to our Championship results? Is shocking winning an Ulster title 15 months ago?
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 28/02/2022 15:55:08 2403028 Link 0 |
Agree with you totally..Blueskies.. but some on here love to dwell and live in the past and think every comment is negative if it doesn't suit their agenda.. People need to wake up… we are playing in this division through bad management and overrated players who thought all they had to do was turn up in Division 3 and waltz back up again… It doesn't work like that and silly excuses like covid doesn't cut it either… Why did it not effect Wicklow…? We will waste 3 seasons at least between division 3/4 and believe me playing in those divisions is no preparation for Championship football and if Mickey Graham thinks it is he is in for some shock…!!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 28/02/2022 16:25:14 2403039 Link 0 |
Lets discuss the london trip. Will the marquee be up at Ruislip? i.am.legend (UK) - Posts: 49 - 28/02/2022 16:36:42 2403043 Link 0 |
I agree with you that the championship is everything, always has and always will be. But the leagues importance has grown rapidly in recent years. It's no coincidence that the teams operating in division 1 are the teams who compete at the business end of championship and win all Irelands. And this argument that Cavan have done well in the championship but not in the league doesn't sit with me. We got an ulster final in 2019 following a year playing division 1 football. We won an ulster in 2020 following a year of division 2 football playing against decent teams. In addition we had spent 2 out if the previous 3 seasons in division 1. It remains to be seen how we will fare in the championship following the last 2 years operating at such a low level. I don't think we should talk ourselves done because of resourcing issues, Monaghan and Roscommon have shown that shouldn't be an issue once you have decent structures in place. In terms of Croke park, what about Roscommon and Tyrone in the 3 league final defeats. We also lost to Roscommon in a semi in 2007. It's much deeper than our senior team it's our hurlers our under 21s and minors who have all lost heavily in recent years. There is clearly a pattern. We just don't have a winning mentality end of story. Tyrone go to Croke park with an arrogance and no fear but most importantly they go to win. We just go up hoping for the best and a **** up. blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 28/02/2022 16:39:05 2403045 Link 0 |
What championships are being won? You keep harping on about championships being won. It's been one title in 23 years. What are you talking about? Face it, GAA in this county, both hurling and football is sorely broken, and it ain't going to change if you believe championships are being won when they clearly aren't. Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 01/03/2022 08:30:29 2403139 Link 0 |
We literally won an Ulster title 15/16 months ago pal. That's a championship title being won. Unless you're strictly talking All Irelands and that is genuinely unrealistic to think that is our yardstick. I don't know about you, but it's championship football and titles I look forward to.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 01/03/2022 09:43:23 2403155 Link 0 |
Well said Cavan Shambles…. Loughduff lad seems to think a miserable 2 Ulster titles in over half a century is a great measure of success….. I can tell you now if Mickey Graham thinks playing Div 3/4 football is the way forward ( he has no interest in the league according to experts on here ) we will be in for another wait of half a century for our next Ulster title…!! ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 01/03/2022 10:05:01 2403169 Link 0 |
I'm aware of that, I literally acknowledged it in my post. You spoke about championships, (plural) what other championships are you talking about? Nobody expects All Ireland's, nobody even mentioned them. But for a supposedly GAA mad county, would it not cross your mind that perhaps just two provincial titles to show for over half a century's effort is perhaps a desperately poor return? We are averaging one Ulster title every 25 years or so, and that doesn't strike you as a cause for concern? Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 01/03/2022 11:58:09 2403207 Link 0 |
Who said it was a measure of success? It's yourself who is miserable and called the 2020 title a fluke by the way. I absolutely know it's not good enough. I'm just realistic is all with a county of our size and how far we dropped into the 00s, and know that league isn't everything. Never have I said I was happy with our Championship record over the last 50 years, but 2013 to 2020 was a hell of a lot better than a lot of what we saw before. And you're the boy calling for Graham to be gone as manager even though he won us a title. You'd get rid of the manager who finally broke a drought, all because of league results? I have to ask if you're even a Cavan fan? As you're the most miserable negative person I've ever seen on here or elsewhere. So miserable you couldn't even enjoy the Ulster win. Are you even a football fan? I travel the length of the country year after year following the team at every game. And I know how bad we've been in the past, lord knows I watched some shocking games. But I can see our recent results for what they are, and I enjoyed that Ulster win. Some flukey relegations in a competition that doesn't mean as much does not take that away from me. I feel sorry for you that you can't enjoy it Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 01/03/2022 12:02:05 2403209 Link 1 |
I'm moving on from this. Ye both came out with the same stuff on the other thread, you're obsessed with this. I'm focussing on the now, and how we get ready for Championship. I'm not having the 2020 title being talked down. If you want to be super negative, then away with ye. I'll not engage on that anymore. We are where we are and that's what I'm looking at. At least I look realistically at things for the county we are. Over and out, unless it's about Sligo at the weekend Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 01/03/2022 12:44:21 2403226 Link 0 |
We all saw and went through bad times with Cavan in the past as you say but as pointed out it's the here and now that counts … and this is the worst Cavan had been in football in their history… as it's the first time we have been as low as Div 4… Time for you to wake up to yourself… the league tables don't lie.. 2 consecutive promotions and stability in Division 2 is now what's needed to restore a bit of respectability… Time doesn't stand still although you seem to be still stuck somewhere still reminiscing about our Ulster win….. It was great at the time but real teams and management don't stand still and certainly don't end up in Division 4…. ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 01/03/2022 13:22:00 2403241 Link 0 |