Advertisement

Cavan Seniors 2022

There is no dressing up Cavans poor performances. Eversince we defeated Donegal in that Ulster Final our performances are woeful. We play for 5 or 10 mins and switch off completely. We actually did that in 2020 championship but got lucky in those games. It looks like the young players are regressing when they called into the County panel. Watching those lads playing with their clubs they are allowed to express themselves but in with the county set up they look average..
We need to move away from this handpassing sideways and backways horsedung. Its called Football.

Allrevvedup (Cavan) - Posts: 40 - 22/03/2022 22:01:54    2406600

Replying To BigEZ:  "Let's be honest, it's year four of this management team... And I don't think anyone could possibly say that this Cavan team has improved. We essentially have the same core of players the past four years and we have gotten worse.
I know the league is of less significance than championship but the teams we are playing are the worst in Ireland. I don't think losing and scrapping by these teams is a good thing for Cavan football. After four years of strength and conditioning and a similar tactical approach you would imagine things should be much better."
So if someone told you 4 years ago that over the next 4 years, with essentially the group of players his predecessor had, that we would play in 2 Ulster finals, winning one of them but end up in Division 3 of the league, would you take it?

I would.

I think anyyone with any love, passion or regard for Cavan football would.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 23/03/2022 10:31:34    2406623

Replying To BigEZ:  "Let's be honest, it's year four of this management team... And I don't think anyone could possibly say that this Cavan team has improved. We essentially have the same core of players the past four years and we have gotten worse.
I know the league is of less significance than championship but the teams we are playing are the worst in Ireland. I don't think losing and scrapping by these teams is a good thing for Cavan football. After four years of strength and conditioning and a similar tactical approach you would imagine things should be much better."
We've had one championship game since the 2020 Ulster winning season. You're basing this practically all on League. The team has absolutely improved since he took over in 2019, on Championship results at least. League as we all know is a different story, lets not go there again. But can we all please at least wait until we play Championship to see where we are?

He has also integrated quite a lot of youth last few years

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 10:52:33    2406629

Replying To cavanman47:  "So if someone told you 4 years ago that over the next 4 years, with essentially the group of players his predecessor had, that we would play in 2 Ulster finals, winning one of them but end up in Division 3 of the league, would you take it?

I would.

I think anyyone with any love, passion or regard for Cavan football would."
I asked that very same question of the negative lads a while back. Conveniently never got an answer from them. Of course any decent Cavan supporter would take that. Because as we know, it's about Championship not League.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 11:13:56    2406636

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "We've had one championship game since the 2020 Ulster winning season. You're basing this practically all on League. The team has absolutely improved since he took over in 2019, on Championship results at least. League as we all know is a different story, lets not go there again. But can we all please at least wait until we play Championship to see where we are?

He has also integrated quite a lot of youth last few years"
We've had one championship game since the 2020 Ulster winning season. You're basing this practically all on League. The team has absolutely improved since he took over in 2019, on Championship results at least. League as we all know is a different story, lets not go there again. But can we all please at least wait until we play Championship to see where we are?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 1274 - 23/03/2022 10:52:33

Why are you unwilling to take into account the league ?

If the team has improved why are we playing in Division 4 (yes we should be promoted at the weekend) and just about doing enough to get past these teams but letting them back into games towards the end and praying for the final whistle. The leagues have more importance now than ever before with the new structures so they need to be respected and every game is important.

I just can't see how a team coming out of Division 4 can be expected to have a good run in the Ulster Championship.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 892 - 23/03/2022 11:26:09    2406639

Time to forget about what happened this past few years and concentrate on the present and the future.
The style of football being played doesn't suit us.
Let players play next Saturday night and express themselves. Use their own initiative on the pitch for the 1st 35 min . Then sit down at half time and discuss the good and the bad.
Far too much Yap coming from the line even after 5/10 mins.
Let them go long/short as the situation arises. But of pff the cuff stuff. Management really need to stop badgering players . It knocks confidence. Let them play and express themselves.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 23/03/2022 11:37:12    2406643

Replying To RHF:  "We've had one championship game since the 2020 Ulster winning season. You're basing this practically all on League. The team has absolutely improved since he took over in 2019, on Championship results at least. League as we all know is a different story, lets not go there again. But can we all please at least wait until we play Championship to see where we are?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 1274 - 23/03/2022 10:52:33

Why are you unwilling to take into account the league ?

If the team has improved why are we playing in Division 4 (yes we should be promoted at the weekend) and just about doing enough to get past these teams but letting them back into games towards the end and praying for the final whistle. The leagues have more importance now than ever before with the new structures so they need to be respected and every game is important.

I just can't see how a team coming out of Division 4 can be expected to have a good run in the Ulster Championship."
I'm not unwilling to take it into account. I do, and go to all the matches, and for the most part enjoy the League. All I'm saying is that it's very very different to Championship. The Championship starting team is often very different to what we see in the League. The League is useful, and can be used for trying things, giving experience to young players and so on. And our manager has before this season said the League is not his main option, but getting ready for Championship. And literally this has worked for him, when we reached 2 Ulster finals, winning 1 on the back of successive relegations. Like the facts are there.

How many teams do we see go very well in league every year, but don't do much in Championship? They kill themselves all Spring, and aren't right in the Summer as they peaked at the wrong time of year. We haven't done that, and I will happily sacrifice any League if we're getting Championship results and that's what really matters. People don't care about the League, only when the current campaign is on. No one remembers League winners, but I could name out every Ulster and All Ireland winner going back 50 years off the top of my head, maybe more...

Now don't get me wrong, it has changed this year with League now running into Championship quicker (2 week break for us) and from next year they'll be linked. So we now need to do better, but wasn't the case before. But I will still rather we can use the League to develop to a point, not to peak, and not to show our hand too much before Championship. A team like Cavan does not have the squad to go out full bore for 7 (maybe 8) League matches, and then look to put a full Championship campaign down. I'm being realistic is all. I still like the League for what it is, and will go to the matches though. But it's about Championship, always.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 13:17:26    2406673

You have a tendency to ignore the results you don't like.

The Ulster final was over after 10 minutes in 2019.
In the qualifiers we were thrashed off the field by 16 points.

In 2021 we were thumped by 8 points in round 1. That was the defence of our title.

There is an imporvement, but it isn't as rosy as you make it out to be.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/03/2022 13:54:43    2406678

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "You have a tendency to ignore the results you don't like.

The Ulster final was over after 10 minutes in 2019.
In the qualifiers we were thrashed off the field by 16 points.

In 2021 we were thumped by 8 points in round 1. That was the defence of our title.

There is an imporvement, but it isn't as rosy as you make it out to be."
Not ignoring any. We're a bad qualifier team, no doubt about that. Need to get better. But our Championship results have been good since Graham came in. We won more matches in 2 years than a number of years before combined.

And yeah, we were poor in 2019 final. It was our first one in 18 years. But we kept at it, and kept things respectable when it could have went to a cricket score. We used a lot of that knowledge gleaned that year to turn it around and beat the same team the next year. That can't be ignored either.

And yes, poor last year too. Seemed to be some sort of hangover from our win, and also missing a fair few players we could ill afford to be without. Any idea what happened the team that beat us last year though?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 14:12:56    2406686

Spoke to a very prominent club forward a few months back who ordinarily would walk onto the current cavan team,plays with a club who deliver fast,diagonal ball into a full forward line.Asked him his thoughts on joining up with Cavan,he said why would I give up all my time to be told to play a game which is alien to what I grew up doing,been starved of possession and hugging sidelines and eventually run the risk of losing confidence if I wasn't getting on the scoreboard.
This is a guy who plays off the cuff,trys the spectacular at times,both feet,naturally talented.These types of players are been coached out of the game because of the style of football Cavan and many many other counties play.I saw evidence of this last year when I witnessed an underage club coach at a training session,blow his whistle and give a free against a 12yr old for chipping up a ball....

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 126 - 23/03/2022 14:40:34    2406692

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Not ignoring any. We're a bad qualifier team, no doubt about that. Need to get better. But our Championship results have been good since Graham came in. We won more matches in 2 years than a number of years before combined.

And yeah, we were poor in 2019 final. It was our first one in 18 years. But we kept at it, and kept things respectable when it could have went to a cricket score. We used a lot of that knowledge gleaned that year to turn it around and beat the same team the next year. That can't be ignored either.

And yes, poor last year too. Seemed to be some sort of hangover from our win, and also missing a fair few players we could ill afford to be without. Any idea what happened the team that beat us last year though?"
"Being hammered is fine as long as it's a good team"

Said literally no true fan ever.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/03/2022 14:43:24    2406694

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  ""Being hammered is fine as long as it's a good team"

Said literally no true fan ever."
Where exactly did I say that? Come on, point it out for me...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 14:48:47    2406696

Replying To CR7:  "Spoke to a very prominent club forward a few months back who ordinarily would walk onto the current cavan team,plays with a club who deliver fast,diagonal ball into a full forward line.Asked him his thoughts on joining up with Cavan,he said why would I give up all my time to be told to play a game which is alien to what I grew up doing,been starved of possession and hugging sidelines and eventually run the risk of losing confidence if I wasn't getting on the scoreboard.
This is a guy who plays off the cuff,trys the spectacular at times,both feet,naturally talented.These types of players are been coached out of the game because of the style of football Cavan and many many other counties play.I saw evidence of this last year when I witnessed an underage club coach at a training session,blow his whistle and give a free against a 12yr old for chipping up a ball...."
Agree with you 100%. You have to adapt to the players you have not the system every other county is playing. If you have good accurate long ball passers well use them. If you have a full forward that can win 50% possession on a 1to 1 well send it in to him. Cavan were never suited to lateral / backward passing and all this zonal stuff. Off the cuff.
Adapt to what the players you have are capable of doing comfortably.
A fast Corner forward with win his ball against any back if it's delivered the way he wants it.
His job then is to beat his man or lay it off for a score not pass it back out to midfield who in turn passes it back to the keeper.
Develop a style / styles to suit the players that are on panel and are comfortable with. Not what every other county are doing.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 23/03/2022 14:55:14    2406700

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Where exactly did I say that? Come on, point it out for me..."
You clearly implied it in your last question.

It was offered as an excuse for a poor performance, and a result that runs contrary to your argument.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/03/2022 15:30:56    2406710

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I'm not unwilling to take it into account. I do, and go to all the matches, and for the most part enjoy the League. All I'm saying is that it's very very different to Championship. The Championship starting team is often very different to what we see in the League. The League is useful, and can be used for trying things, giving experience to young players and so on. And our manager has before this season said the League is not his main option, but getting ready for Championship. And literally this has worked for him, when we reached 2 Ulster finals, winning 1 on the back of successive relegations. Like the facts are there.

How many teams do we see go very well in league every year, but don't do much in Championship? They kill themselves all Spring, and aren't right in the Summer as they peaked at the wrong time of year. We haven't done that, and I will happily sacrifice any League if we're getting Championship results and that's what really matters. People don't care about the League, only when the current campaign is on. No one remembers League winners, but I could name out every Ulster and All Ireland winner going back 50 years off the top of my head, maybe more...

Now don't get me wrong, it has changed this year with League now running into Championship quicker (2 week break for us) and from next year they'll be linked. So we now need to do better, but wasn't the case before. But I will still rather we can use the League to develop to a point, not to peak, and not to show our hand too much before Championship. A team like Cavan does not have the squad to go out full bore for 7 (maybe 8) League matches, and then look to put a full Championship campaign down. I'm being realistic is all. I still like the League for what it is, and will go to the matches though. But it's about Championship, always."
In the past 10 years Dublin have won the division one National League in 2013,14,15,16, 18. It didn't really seem to hamper them come the championship but I could be wrong. Think they only managed to win 8 all Ireland's between 2010 and 2020.

I think we need to hold ourselves to a higher standard. I don't think it'd be acceptable to Tyrone or Donegal if they were relegated to division 4. It's grand if we are happy to be a mediocre team. But we won't improve if we are playing in the lowest league.

I'd agree that the championship is more important, and yes I'm delighted with an Ulster title, but looking at the big picture. We did well to win Ulster, but to say there wasn't even an element of luck in that is daft. Look at our results and more importantly performances other than the final over the past few years. The year before there was a chasm of difference between ourselves and Donegal, we then got beaten of the field by tyrone in the qualifiers. Last year we were beaten by a far superior Tyrone team again.

We have had 3 back to back relegations. We are playing weak teams in division four. It stands to reason that this would not be good preparation for any championship because we will end up playing teams that play at a higher standard on a regular basis. Being in division 4 is a disaster considering the talent in the squad.

BigEZ (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 23/03/2022 15:34:50    2406712

Replying To CR7:  "Spoke to a very prominent club forward a few months back who ordinarily would walk onto the current cavan team,plays with a club who deliver fast,diagonal ball into a full forward line.Asked him his thoughts on joining up with Cavan,he said why would I give up all my time to be told to play a game which is alien to what I grew up doing,been starved of possession and hugging sidelines and eventually run the risk of losing confidence if I wasn't getting on the scoreboard.
This is a guy who plays off the cuff,trys the spectacular at times,both feet,naturally talented.These types of players are been coached out of the game because of the style of football Cavan and many many other counties play.I saw evidence of this last year when I witnessed an underage club coach at a training session,blow his whistle and give a free against a 12yr old for chipping up a ball...."
Couldn't agree more, you just have to look at the confidence of some of the forwards in the set up now.
Listened to the we are Cavan podcast last night, and they were saying the three top scorers for the team are Geroid, Paddy lynch and Ray galligan. It's bad when theres one game left to play and your goalkeeper is the third top scorer. It's fairly clear the attacking "system" isn't working considering we are playing in division 4.

Then from play G Mac again is the top scorer which isn't surprising, Paddy lynch second (I think he's had a very good league) and Caomhin Reilly which I was surprised with seeing as he hasn't played close to a full game the entire league.

It's hardly good for a forwards confidence if he is scoring and being whipped of at half time or not long after, same applies to Cormac Reilly, think he's been sharp when he has played but again seems to find himself on the bench not long after half time.

BigEZ (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 23/03/2022 15:51:59    2406717

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "You clearly implied it in your last question.

It was offered as an excuse for a poor performance, and a result that runs contrary to your argument."
No, I didn't. So maybe don't put words in my mouth when I did not say something. Wise up, and act like that

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 16:34:40    2406726

Replying To BigEZ:  "In the past 10 years Dublin have won the division one National League in 2013,14,15,16, 18. It didn't really seem to hamper them come the championship but I could be wrong. Think they only managed to win 8 all Ireland's between 2010 and 2020.

I think we need to hold ourselves to a higher standard. I don't think it'd be acceptable to Tyrone or Donegal if they were relegated to division 4. It's grand if we are happy to be a mediocre team. But we won't improve if we are playing in the lowest league.

I'd agree that the championship is more important, and yes I'm delighted with an Ulster title, but looking at the big picture. We did well to win Ulster, but to say there wasn't even an element of luck in that is daft. Look at our results and more importantly performances other than the final over the past few years. The year before there was a chasm of difference between ourselves and Donegal, we then got beaten of the field by tyrone in the qualifiers. Last year we were beaten by a far superior Tyrone team again.

We have had 3 back to back relegations. We are playing weak teams in division four. It stands to reason that this would not be good preparation for any championship because we will end up playing teams that play at a higher standard on a regular basis. Being in division 4 is a disaster considering the talent in the squad."
You really can't be comparing us to Dublin, are you serious here? I clearly say above that we don't have the squad to be able to go full bore, and if we have a choice, I'd rather use League to develop, and Championship to be ready for. You can't come in here with the best team of all time and say, well if they can do it...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 23/03/2022 16:36:58    2406727

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "No, I didn't. So maybe don't put words in my mouth when I did not say something. Wise up, and act like that"
Then why did you ask how Tyrone got on afterwards?

You were clearly implying that a hammering against them is acceptable because they went on and won the All Ireland. Otherwise why would you ask ?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/03/2022 16:50:53    2406732

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You really can't be comparing us to Dublin, are you serious here? I clearly say above that we don't have the squad to be able to go full bore, and if we have a choice, I'd rather use League to develop, and Championship to be ready for. You can't come in here with the best team of all time and say, well if they can do it..."
Except that is not what he is saying at all..........

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/03/2022 16:51:34    2406734