Replying To breffnibluewhite: "listening to the two on northern sound commentary each sunday they havent got a clue they dont appear to know that we are playing in division 4 on about great performances in the previous three matches when in reality we struggeled to win all three and any one of them could have gone the other way. With 8 minutes to go against Carlow who sligo beat by about 20 points the week before we were only winning by three points and had a man red carded but listening to the two you would think it was kerry we were playing." You are correct…. Some people love talking up this team when in reality they are a shambles… How management was left in place after 3 consecutive relegations is a complete joke… It wouldn't be tolerated in any sport anywhere in the world…. I guess you reap what you sow…,.
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 14/03/2022 13:11:14
Replying To ramor101: "8 scores in 80+ minutes of Division 4 football.
Who is our forwards coach? What is he at?" Out forwards coach is only one cog in the wheel, from what I seen our inside forwards were making the runs, but 90% of those runs went unnoticed by the lads out the field, we were too predictable with the slow build up. I think Paddy Lynch, Capimhin O Reilly etc are strong enough to win 50/50 ball at this level if someone would kick it in early.
facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 14/03/2022 13:32:16
Cavan will get Prompted but they have to be aiming to win the League final.
Potentially some big names in the Tailtean Cup if Cavan don't make Ulster final, Cork and Down. They are not going well at present ,but could be a different prospect in championship.
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 14/03/2022 15:10:09
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "You are correct…. Some people love talking up this team when in reality they are a shambles… How management was left in place after 3 consecutive relegations is a complete joke… It wouldn't be tolerated in any sport anywhere in the world…. I guess you reap what you sow…,." agree with both points!
cavantown (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 14/03/2022 16:19:08
Replying To facer4home: "Out forwards coach is only one cog in the wheel, from what I seen our inside forwards were making the runs, but 90% of those runs went unnoticed by the lads out the field, we were too predictable with the slow build up. I think Paddy Lynch, Capimhin O Reilly etc are strong enough to win 50/50 ball at this level if someone would kick it in early." I have said it a hundred times in the last decade coaches have Gaelic football ruined….. it is now all about keeping possession and keeping the stats man ( another blight on the game ) busy totting up figures… Football must now be a horrible game to play (along with horrible to watch) as players are afraid to take any chances with kick passes afraid of loosing possession and getting a telling off from management…. Any game now say rugby or soccer is about risk taking to make the unexpected happen… that's what appeals to supporters not this dross that is going on in Gaelic football….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 14/03/2022 16:19:44
Replying To Cavan_Shambles: ""It's different when I do it"" Listen I am glad you enjoyed the loss and it brought some happiness to you. I thought it was a very poor performance and as a Cavan supporter that actually goes to the games I was very disappointed this week.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 14/03/2022 16:20:27
Replying To fredflint: "Listen I am glad you enjoyed the loss and it brought some happiness to you. I thought it was a very poor performance and as a Cavan supporter that actually goes to the games I was very disappointed this week." In fairness 'fredflint' I don't think any Cavan supporters ever enjoy a loss…. but every Cavan supporter is entitled to question or comment on what they see in front of them…. and for the last 2/3 seasons it hasn't been good… Some seem to dismiss our plummet down the league's as unimportant but the manner in which we let Wicklow ( a poor team ) beat us last season really shows where we are and how badly we are been managed… That's an observation anyone is entitled to make…..
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 14/03/2022 17:52:54
Replying To facer4home: "Out forwards coach is only one cog in the wheel, from what I seen our inside forwards were making the runs, but 90% of those runs went unnoticed by the lads out the field, we were too predictable with the slow build up. I think Paddy Lynch, Capimhin O Reilly etc are strong enough to win 50/50 ball at this level if someone would kick it in early." The forward coach is one reason why Cavan are where we are
tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 337 - 14/03/2022 21:59:27
Replying To tom84: "The forward coach is one reason why Cavan are where we are" Do we have a forwards coach….. hardly much need for one when the ball is very seldom kicked in any where near them…. They would rather have a stats man than a forwards coach I'd say….!!!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 15/03/2022 10:19:36
Replying To Cavan_Shambles: "A very negative post.
Loghduff lad and co. will be along any moment now to put a stop to the negativity." What are you on about? Very telling you went straight to naming me. Must be living rent free in your head. And you must not read very many of my posts. I try to tell it like it is, and I'm both negative and positive where I feel we are on things. I'm just not negative on everything. I give honest assessments on many facets of our game, and have been after every game this year. I've criticised where required, and given praise where required too. And just some of my own analysis on what I pick up on. It's not just about constant negativity.
Anyway, was away yesterday, so will get a chance to put up some of my thoughts later today
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 15/03/2022 11:21:26
Replying To breffnibluewhite: "listening to the two on northern sound commentary each sunday they havent got a clue they dont appear to know that we are playing in division 4 on about great performances in the previous three matches when in reality we struggeled to win all three and any one of them could have gone the other way. With 8 minutes to go against Carlow who sligo beat by about 20 points the week before we were only winning by three points and had a man red carded but listening to the two you would think it was kerry we were playing." Couldn't agree more unfortunately living across the water it's the only way i can hear the game and I'm grateful for that but their commentary is awful they talk absolute garbage and talking up the team when we're making mistakes ie carrying the ball into tackles and dropping it short into goalkeeper hands it's division 4 for god's sake and talking about goal chances +making excuses for missing them, very frustrating to listen to. Surly northern sound must have someone better available. As for the Cavan performance's or lack of it the players we have should be storming that division.
[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 15/03/2022 11:28:34
So anyway, what to make of Sunday? I was so disappointed, dejected even, at the final whistle. That was a bad loss, no matter what way you spin it. I had a feeling we might not go 7/7 as I've said here before. There's always a chance of a slip up, but didn't think it'd look like this. It was just bad on so many levels.
First half was an odd one. Again we went against the wind, in the hope we'd pull away in the 2nd half. Tipp were better in the 1st half, and ticked off some nice scores, and we kept in touch even though they opened up a 4 or 5 point lead at one stage. It was the usual stuff. We tried a few long range efforts, but they went well wide or dropped short. Even Gerry Smith who has a decent boot had a mark from 25m drop quickly down on that wind. So we had to work the ball in. Tipp knew this and dropped a lot of men back. But jeez we walked into them. I get that we need to recycle the ball to try a new channel, to try find new gaps, but we were so slow and methodical that Tipp could crowd back into the 45 and we had no hope of getting through them. We have an inability to break down teams when they sit back. A few times we stretched them later in the game (of which we didn't take advantage) but otherwise we're quite clueless against the wind against defensive teams. The Caoimhin goal was good though. Our first proper goal, and from a man who has an eye for the net. At that stage I thought we were where we needed to be. Point behind, with the wind in the 2nd half, happy days here we go.
I just don't understand what went wrong. Like on the face of it, that was a brutal 2nd half showing. 3 points, all from frees (one of which was a mistake on Tipps part with a free taken to close to the next man) and none from play in a half when we had the wind. Sure, the wind dropped at times, and the weather turned bad, but that is inexcusable. Tipp did what they needed to (and which Sligo were unable to do) and just picked us off at ease on the break and kept us at arms length all afternoon. Constantly chasing, we went looking for goals a little too early in my opinion. On that note, we easily missed 5 goal chances that half. From point blank shots, not squaring the ball across, shots off the bar and posts. One of those goes it, and we win that game I feel. A 2nd goal for us would have killed them off and we could have picked points off and not just chase the goals constantly.
It's really hard to know what to make of it all. I've never seen so much go wrong at the one time before. And Tipp got a lift from that. They're a decent team we have to remember, and were well worth their win, but we still should have won with our chances. The lads on the podcast reckon we missed 5-13 over the course of that game. Tipp got 12 scores from something like 18 chances. We're getting 8 from 26. Nowhere near good enough. And we need to try get something out of the attacks. When the goal chance disappeared, we need at least a point. Too many times we went up the field, goal chance, it went out for a 45 or it was recycled and we didn't even get a point. A few points off those goal chances and we're back in the game and not chasing as much.
Was this just one very bad day at the office? Any other day you'd expect at least 2 of those goals, and maybe 5 more points. You win the game handy with that. GMac was quiet as well (he was well marshalled) and we didn't seem to know what to do when he wasn't in the centre of everything. Need to learn how to deal with that if it happens again, as it will as he gets on. Someone needs to step up. And was it just me or was the ref harsher on us? Tipp seemed to get their frees a little bit easier, and we had to work harder for a free. He didn't seem consistent and easily gave them a free but not us the next moment for the same thing. He missed another black card for them for a rugby tackle around the waist. And that looked a stone wall penalty when Cormac was dragged down on claiming the ball. Whatever it was, it certainly wasn't him overcarrying when he was pulled and held down on the ground. I really hope that 2nd half was a huge dose of bad luck happening at once and we don't get any amount of bad luck like that again. Crazy that we're so flaky at home too and many teams can easily come to Breffni and beat us. Is it the supporters? The lads beside me were absolutely brutal and were shouting and giving out from the first minute. Does that feed into the team on the field when so many are giving out and not getting behind them?
And just to wind the negative lads up, I'll put a little positive spin on this now. I think we'll have learned far more from this than a facile win pulling up. I would hope the lads are raging with the way that 2nd half went and will be pulling up trees to rectify this. It's a kick up the a**e that some of them needed. Promotion will still be got, and we'll have a league final where we may get a chance to put one over Tipp again. If we win a league title by learning a lot from this loss, and avenging it against the same team, then we can take something from that. Any other day we'd get a few of those goals, and it was good to see the chances being made. The James Smith goal chance was one of the best moves I've seen us put together in quite a while. More of that please, but with the goal at the end. I think we make enough chances to win many games, if we just do not lose the head. London seem to be falling away, so a win there means we can't be caught by either Sligo or Leitrim as we've head to head on them. Then build for a league final, and Antrim (who are going very well btw). Maybe this loss makes us learn and hardens our focus, I'm hoping so at least…
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 15/03/2022 12:14:26
Replying To [email protected]: "Couldn't agree more unfortunately living across the water it's the only way i can hear the game and I'm grateful for that but their commentary is awful they talk absolute garbage and talking up the team when we're making mistakes ie carrying the ball into tackles and dropping it short into goalkeeper hands it's division 4 for god's sake and talking about goal chances +making excuses for missing them, very frustrating to listen to. Surly northern sound must have someone better available. As for the Cavan performance's or lack of it the players we have should be storming that division." I would hsve to agree, I was listening to the Sligo game the weekend previously as I was away. You would swear Sligo were world beaters the way it wss being portrayed. In fairness I think the lads are excellent on the podcast and the radio, they know there stuff. But it's probably difficult to report sometimes when your are so friendly with the panel on a personal level. I do remember Mattie coming in for a lot of criticism even after getting us to division one a few years back. It's easier to call out the outsider but you need to be fair at the same time.
blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 15/03/2022 12:24:21
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "Do we have a forwards coach….. hardly much need for one when the ball is very seldom kicked in any where near them…. They would rather have a stats man than a forwards coach I'd say….!!!" Kicking of the ball into the forwards and the timing of same is surely part of the remit of a forwards or offensive coach. Did you ever coach a team yourself foreverblue2?
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 15/03/2022 12:50:00
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "Do we have a forwards coach….. hardly much need for one when the ball is very seldom kicked in any where near them…. They would rather have a stats man than a forwards coach I'd say….!!!" Did you watch the game? Buddy we had loads of chances, it was both kicked in, and we also had runners off the shoulder when working the ball in. The problem was our shot decision and such. We had around 26 scoring opportunities, and multiple more times when we were inside their 45 and even their 21 when we didn't get a shot away and got turned over. Oisin Kiernan played some very nice balls into the forwards, we just did nothing with them.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2488 - 15/03/2022 13:09:11
Replying To fredflint: "Kicking of the ball into the forwards and the timing of same is surely part of the remit of a forwards or offensive coach. Did you ever coach a team yourself foreverblue2?" I did and would never have players doing what these high paid coaches are expecting of players now… Was only asking do we have a forwards coach and if so he must be just as frustrated as any forwards trying to play nowadays…. We have a desperate management team who are totally out of their depth… Division 1 to 4 in 3 years says it all…
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 15/03/2022 13:11:56
When the game was in the melting pot on Sunday Mc Kiernan should have passed the ball when in on goal to make sure of it… he is our most experienced forward but showed are real lack of intelligence in that one instance….. I remember some other play in a similar position v Wicklow late in the game but went for glory himself…. That's not team play it's selfish unintelligent play….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 15/03/2022 13:28:24
We are in and around our level and no dressing up or excuses will change my mind on that. How anyone can remain positive after the results and performances the last two years is beyond me.
The effort is been put in i just don't think we have intelligent footballers or ones that will play off the cuff. It's all about keeping possession and not making mistakes. Would hate to be in the full forward line on that team making runs and the ball been played over and back over and back over and back over and back.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 892 - 15/03/2022 15:30:36
When Derry were in Division 4,they were never a Division 4 team with the players they have. The underage l teams and Club teams. Cavan haven't been pulling up trees underage,.
Cavan have some good players and are better then Division 4,but I wouldn't be confident they would get out of Division 3 next year. Killian Clarke, Gerry Smith will be 30 next year, Cavan needs a few teams to emerge underage because this team isn't getting any younger.
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 15/03/2022 17:08:55
Replying To FoolsGold: "When Derry were in Division 4,they were never a Division 4 team with the players they have. The underage l teams and Club teams. Cavan haven't been pulling up trees underage,.
Cavan have some good players and are better then Division 4,but I wouldn't be confident they would get out of Division 3 next year. Killian Clarke, Gerry Smith will be 30 next year, Cavan needs a few teams to emerge underage because this team isn't getting any younger." The difference with Derry and Cavan is the club scene…. Derry have always had strong club teams who have done well in the club championship… Cavans clubs are no better than those in Carlow, Waterford or Leitrim and probably not as good … Couple that with some of our better club players uninterested in committing to the huge workload involved with been on a County panel ( wouldn't blame them ) we are left with some seriously average players donning the county jersey…. another problem is our lack of any real talent coming through our underage teams….!!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 16/03/2022 07:16:42