Hard to sum up the round Robin altogether.
I'm absolutely delighted for the lads and Darragh.
All the negative talk in the past couple of weeks, we knew we needed a massive performance and we got it.
We were going on about how simple hurling can be and last night was all the evidence we need.
We had 50 hooks and blocks in the game and should probably have been out of sight by half time.
Donoghue, Ryan and Devitt were fantastic.
Dee, Paudie and reck the same and matt never fails to get into tjs head.
Best performance in a Wexford Jersey from Oisín.
Chin was superb.
Rory and mac didn't score much but caused huge problems for kilkenny and won their battles.
All the subs made a contribution.
Dwyers point is one of the best I've seen.
We needed that display so badly.
Now if not for a square ball we'd be in the leinster final but it shouldn't have come to that.
The way the table finished, the draw with Galway suddenly looks a great result.
The Sunday game will say kilkenny weren't at the races, the fact is they weren't let play at all.
If we can reproduce that we can give it a good rattle, but before we get carried away, we can't look past the preliminary round.
Nice to have eyes on munster today knowing we still have a stake and I think we just about deserve it.
The attitude was right for the first time this championship, we were much more focused and made most of the right choices that we'd struggled with in the last few games.
One note of caution I suppose, we let them get a run on us for 11 minutes early on.
We'll need the full 70 to trouble any of those munster teams.
A standout moment for me was the scrap on the sideline when mullen shouldered Rory in the back.
Jack made about 30 yards to give him a dig and Darragh Egan got involved. That just galvanised the group and the attitude of the day.
We're Wexford, and ya won't bully us!
So pleased this morning. Knew it was in them!!
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3884 - 22/05/2022 10:37:01
congratulations to all you fine hurling people of wexford savaged display I'm thrilled for ye
someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 22/05/2022 11:04:50
After what happened against Westmeath there's no chance we'll take the preliminary quarter final for granted. Momentum is with us now and the confidence from beating Kilkenny in their own backyard should make us a dangerous animal in the all Ireland series. Egan also says shane reck is nearing a return and paul Morris should also get up to speed in the next 3 weeks which gives us more options. Yesterday shows when we're focused and hurl to our ability we're a damn good team.
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 22/05/2022 11:18:41
Well done Wexford delighted for ye I always admired yere passion and great tradition And of course the yellowbelly bandwagon when it gets rolling I hope ye build on that win over the cats now By the way one of yere posters was very hard on yere u20 team here That Kikenny team that only just about beat ye beat a very highly rated Galway team A Galway team who had won many all ire minor medals and some lads who were with seniors I would rate that u20 Kilkenny team highly they had to give best to Galway in all ire minor finals But they got the better of Galway this year in a unreal game of hurling I would expect quite a few of them to play senior with Kilkenny So i think you have a good u20 team there to work with for the future
rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/05/2022 11:37:38
Replying To Doylerwex: "Hard to sum up the round Robin altogether.
I'm absolutely delighted for the lads and Darragh.
All the negative talk in the past couple of weeks, we knew we needed a massive performance and we got it.
We were going on about how simple hurling can be and last night was all the evidence we need.
We had 50 hooks and blocks in the game and should probably have been out of sight by half time.
Donoghue, Ryan and Devitt were fantastic.
Dee, Paudie and reck the same and matt never fails to get into tjs head.
Best performance in a Wexford Jersey from Oisín.
Chin was superb.
Rory and mac didn't score much but caused huge problems for kilkenny and won their battles.
All the subs made a contribution.
Dwyers point is one of the best I've seen.
We needed that display so badly.
Now if not for a square ball we'd be in the leinster final but it shouldn't have come to that.
The way the table finished, the draw with Galway suddenly looks a great result.
The Sunday game will say kilkenny weren't at the races, the fact is they weren't let play at all.
If we can reproduce that we can give it a good rattle, but before we get carried away, we can't look past the preliminary round.
Nice to have eyes on munster today knowing we still have a stake and I think we just about deserve it.
The attitude was right for the first time this championship, we were much more focused and made most of the right choices that we'd struggled with in the last few games.
One note of caution I suppose, we let them get a run on us for 11 minutes early on.
We'll need the full 70 to trouble any of those munster teams.
A standout moment for me was the scrap on the sideline when mullen shouldered Rory in the back.
Jack made about 30 yards to give him a dig and Darragh Egan got involved. That just galvanised the group and the attitude of the day.
We're Wexford, and ya won't bully us!
So pleased this morning. Knew it was in them!!" Great post. It almost reads like poetry. Delighted that Wexford have made it through to the quarter-finals. And what's stopping you from going even further? While I generally like the Kilkenny attitude and the way they play, I like it even more whenever Wexford beats them. Looking forward to a right bruiser of a Leinster final between themselves and Galway.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2359 - 22/05/2022 11:45:53
Replying To tiobraid: "Well done wexford. I said before the westmeath game that the wexford team looks very strong on paper - that hasn't changed. Unfortunately I couldn't see the game yesterday but moving Chin to midfield (which I believe he was there..) could be huge for wexford. Should wexford get through a prelim quarter final, I'd imagine they'd be playing the losers of Clare and Limerick which will be a tough draw but confidence will hopefully be high now going into that game… Although they likely could be playing Antrim before it which could be a tough one too" Think Antrim would be favourites to beat Kerry so we would be playing Kerry if that happens. Either will be tough and will have nothing to lose so either will be tough. Think the Westmeath game will mean there will be no complacency going into that game whoever we end up playing. Clare or Limerick would obviously be tough but I don't think there will be any easy games in the AI series if we make it past the Joe Mac runners up.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 11:59:11
According to gaa.ie we play runners up of joe mcdonagh final on the 11th June.
Outstanding performance by the lads. I was worried when kk went 1.4 to 2 up but the lads really got stuck in. Goal was crucial just on half time. Hanlon very good on tj who doesn't look right this year. Missing 4 frees and contributing little from play always dangerous though. Dee very good as was reck who has been our best player this year. What does Mac have to do to get a free or a penalty. One stage in the second half we hit the post and full back swung out of his neck in front of the two umpires. Rory took unreal amount of punishment aswell but has to get used to that unfortunately. Chin was unreal in the second half and really took the game to kk. Liam og hurled well and was his best game for a while. Mcguckian was very good when he came on and the Dwyer point was savage. Jippos point was huge and was a killer for kk. Makes you wonder why he didn't shoot against Dublin.
Anyway we'll done to everyone involved and best of luck for the rest of the championship
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 22/05/2022 12:15:53
Replying To jobber: "He has done a very good job Keogh Cup,League title, division 1 hurling and Mccarthy to look forward to in 23.Beating Laois in championship drawing with ye guys and if we had Aonghus Clarke against Dublin I think we could have beaten them.Well done to Wexford but be very wary of Antrim or Kerry the underlings in Hurling are coming to get ye." Think the lesson from Mullingar is that complacency will get you nowhere! He has done a good job but you are reaping what you are sowing at underage!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 12:17:37
Replying To rhudson: "Well done Wexford delighted for ye I always admired yere passion and great tradition And of course the yellowbelly bandwagon when it gets rolling I hope ye build on that win over the cats now By the way one of yere posters was very hard on yere u20 team here That Kikenny team that only just about beat ye beat a very highly rated Galway team A Galway team who had won many all ire minor medals and some lads who were with seniors I would rate that u20 Kilkenny team highly they had to give best to Galway in all ire minor finals But they got the better of Galway this year in a unreal game of hurling I would expect quite a few of them to play senior with Kilkenny So i think you have a good u20 team there to work with for the future" We have for sure. But credit to those KK lads. At minor they lost to us in the Leinster final and lost to ye in the AI final. They beat us both this year.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 12:21:15
This was huge. Beating Kilkenny in their own backyard is never easy. The lads gave a powerful performance and fully deserved the win. I was a bit nervous early on when they got their goal but what character they showed for the remainder of the game. I won't repeat what's been said already but Chin was simply unbelievable. Delighted for Oisin Foley , great goal and our subs bench all made valuable contributions. Special mention to all six backs. They never gave the cats breathing space. It's probably going to be Kerry in the preliminary quarter final, so please lads don't go into that game with a casual attitude. Remember Westmeath. The performance was terrific when you consider the fact that Rory or Mac didn't contribute much on the scoreboard. Well done to the whole panel and management. With heart and hand.
Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 22/05/2022 12:24:24
Replying To Viking66: "Think Antrim would be favourites to beat Kerry so we would be playing Kerry if that happens. Either will be tough and will have nothing to lose so either will be tough. Think the Westmeath game will mean there will be no complacency going into that game whoever we end up playing. Clare or Limerick would obviously be tough but I don't think there will be any easy games in the AI series if we make it past the Joe Mac runners up." Very hard for the Joe McDonagh Cup losers to come back seven days later and play against Wexford though. The losers would still be mentally recovering from losing their biggest match of the year and then would find themselves up against a top-tier county fresh off a three-week break.
Would make more sense if the GAA applied the following approach:
Same Round-Robin system as before in Leinster and Munster
Joe McDonagh Cup losers do not get an entry into the All-Ireland Championship
Instead, there are two rounds to the Qualifiers
R1: 4th place in Munster versus 4th place in Leinster at a neutral venue
R2: Winners of the R1 match play 3rd place from the other province (To avoid repeat match-ups) - 3rd place team at home The other 3rd place team then plays away to the Joe McDonagh Cup winner The two winners then advance to the Quarter-Finals against the Provincial finalists
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 619 - 22/05/2022 12:34:36
Replying To Tiger1: "Great win last night well done to all the team and management on getting the fire back have to say kilkenny hurled with no great spirit and even the crowd didn't seemed too surprised that I was talking to seemed to be fed up of Cody tactics and treatment of players which surprised me..Let's home we get over joe Mcdonald winners and then give Clare or Limerick a right crack." Maybe it's because we didn't let them play with any great spirit
Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 22/05/2022 12:40:11
Replying To realdub: "Well done to Wexford, great result, Chin is a monster." Fair play to you realdub - it's a pity ye didn't make it this year but it shows there is nothing between the top 4 in Leinster
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 22/05/2022 12:54:31
Congratulations Wexford. I am not a bit surprised and predicted it. Ye were vilified over a draw with Westmeath but they can hurl and we were lucky against them last year. In fact I felt we got out of jail and they were more deserving of a win. However it is about Wexford gutting it out this year. Be proud and delighted for ye.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3162 - 22/05/2022 14:27:07
Congratulations Wexford. I am not a bit surprised and predicted it. Ye were vilified over a draw with Westmeath but they can hurl and we were lucky against them last year. In fact I felt we got out of jail and they were more deserving of a win. However it is about Wexford gutting it out this year. Be proud and delighted for ye.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3162 - 22/05/2022 14:39:34
Pleased for the cats in the under 20. Maybe we're not as far away there as we thought
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3884 - 22/05/2022 14:54:02
Fair play to W.exford,they were the better team
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 541 - 22/05/2022 14:55:03
Lads we must be doing something right underage, Kilkenny bet Limerick today in the under 20 all ireland final.
We only lost to Kilkenny by a point.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 977 - 22/05/2022 14:55:19
Replying To Viking66: "Think Antrim would be favourites to beat Kerry so we would be playing Kerry if that happens. Either will be tough and will have nothing to lose so either will be tough. Think the Westmeath game will mean there will be no complacency going into that game whoever we end up playing. Clare or Limerick would obviously be tough but I don't think there will be any easy games in the AI series if we make it past the Joe Mac runners up." Kerry will treat this as an all-ireland final down in Tralee.
Cannot be complacent at all but I don't think Egan will allow that happen again.
Kerry have beaten Westmeath twice in the last 3 years so they are of a similar standard.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 977 - 22/05/2022 15:11:47
Kilkenny winning the U20 was as good a result for Wexford as it is for Kilkenny. A poor start cost us an U20 Leinster and maybe an all Ireland. There's nothing between those sides and I would say we have the better hurlers overall. The future looks a bit brighter. See I'm not always negative!
Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 22/05/2022 15:18:43