2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "The comment about beating Kilkenny one time was referencing Westmeath beating Kilkenny at U21 a few years back. That was the defense you out up as to why we didn't beat Westmeath."
I didn't offer any "defence" as to why we didn't beat Westmeath. The reason we didn't beat Westmeath on the day is because we didn't play better than them on the day. No more or less than that. I merely pointed out that the group of lads they have currently not only drew with us but also beat Kilkenny when they were under 21. They beat us in the 2015 Leinster Minor Championship QF also. And beat us in 2013 at minor after we had beaten Kilkenny with a couple of Conor Mac goals. It's not as if they came from nowhere.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 21/05/2022 17:31:42    2419225

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "The comment about beating Kilkenny one time was referencing Westmeath beating Kilkenny at U21 a few years back. That was the defense you out up as to why we didn't beat Westmeath."
Our wides against Westmeath and Dublin were unacceptable as you correctly pointed out though. But surely that was down to the players that hit them? Some were really poor including easy enough frees from Rory and Lee. Are you saying they should be dropped? They are 2 of our best players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 21/05/2022 17:34:46    2419226

C'mon Wexford!!!!!

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3884 - 21/05/2022 18:40:18    2419235

Yahoo......enjoy tonight, worry about qualifiers later. Brilliant.well done everyone management and players

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 21/05/2022 19:42:39    2419242

Well fair play to ye, ye proved me wrong! Congrats

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 21/05/2022 19:44:47    2419244

Never so happy to be so wrong in my life.

What a performance from the lads, with special mention to the outstanding Chin. Mogie did a lot of the donkey work too, and collectively the backs outplayed the Kilkenny forwards as well. We must be the market leaders for backs scoring from open play.

That score from Dwyer was one of the best I have ever seen, and for all the hype about Eoghan O'Donnell, Ryan has to be the best, and certainly in the top bracket, full back around.

I will say, Kilkenny are fairly limited though. When they are second best in the tackling,hooking and blocking stats like they were today, they really have very little else to their game. We'd be pulling our hair out if we went as aimlessly route one as often as they were. TJ looks spent to me.

For once we aren't rueing our wide count at the end. However, after a bright start, Jacko faded into obscurity yet again. If he had the workrate of the much maligned McGuckin, we'd be far better served. Kevin Foley wasn't really at the races either. Good to see Dee back to his best again though.

Bring on Antrim/Kerry anyway and while taking on Clare (more than likely) again is a bit meh after our last few championship encounters, maybe they will be demoralised if they get trounced by Limerick, and at least there won't be the Davy sideshow this time.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 21/05/2022 19:54:47    2419252

Replying To tearintom:  "100% i agree.

Absolutely we can go up there and beat Kilkenny. But to do that will need a complete change in approach from management or for the players to completely ignore what they are being instructed to do.

We need to put them under pressure across the pitch, straight off from their puck out they need to see pressure. We need to push up on them and not give them time to breathe. More numbers in defence with the right balance between running at them from deep and giving proper good ball into the likes of Mac and Rory, only when they have the opportunity to actually win and beat their men.

Go up to Nowlan Park, stand off our men, retreat and concede the puck out whilst either taking pot shots from 80 yards or just drive it long into Mac and Rory hoping they can win the ball on their own and we will be beat out the gate.

Looked at the recorded Dublin V Kilkenny match and watched with horror as Dublin conceded the puckout mostly to Kilkenny, might as well put up the white flag straight away."
Like I've argued, this team is capable of so much more that they shown and simply because our approach had been wrong imho.

Fact is we are more than capable of being unbeaten in a Leinster final at this stage.

Look at what we done tonight, put them under pressure, didn't completely concede puck outs, got in their face and put the pressure on them across the field, balance between going long and through the lines was dead on tonight.

Fantastic performance and result that's been there all along, that's the killing part but fair play to the manager tonight, I had my doubts but he got it spot on tonight and the players responded, brilliant, absolutely brilliant.

Our keeper is still giving me palpitations mind but we will take that

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 21/05/2022 19:58:24    2419255

Great result the lads played with great heart and skill. Management clever too. 3 Subs scored great points and Charlie was a terrier! Tactics were spot on! Thanks to the lads!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 21/05/2022 20:01:27    2419256

Lee chin…. God's gift to the people of wexford!!!!
Brilliant performance from one and all. Very proud wexford man. Loch garman Abu

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 21/05/2022 20:02:57    2419258

Well done to Wexford, great result, Chin is a monster.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 21/05/2022 20:22:07    2419265

Replying To Viking66:  "Great result the lads played with great heart and skill. Management clever too. 3 Subs scored great points and Charlie was a terrier! Tactics were spot on! Thanks to the lads!!!"
delighted for ye viking ye love yer hurling even after the westmeath draw last wkend ye kept faith........i'm predicting a wexford limerick final...))

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1149 - 21/05/2022 20:25:18    2419266

Replying To beano:  "Never so happy to be so wrong in my life.

What a performance from the lads, with special mention to the outstanding Chin. Mogie did a lot of the donkey work too, and collectively the backs outplayed the Kilkenny forwards as well. We must be the market leaders for backs scoring from open play.

That score from Dwyer was one of the best I have ever seen, and for all the hype about Eoghan O'Donnell, Ryan has to be the best, and certainly in the top bracket, full back around.

I will say, Kilkenny are fairly limited though. When they are second best in the tackling,hooking and blocking stats like they were today, they really have very little else to their game. We'd be pulling our hair out if we went as aimlessly route one as often as they were. TJ looks spent to me.

For once we aren't rueing our wide count at the end. However, after a bright start, Jacko faded into obscurity yet again. If he had the workrate of the much maligned McGuckin, we'd be far better served. Kevin Foley wasn't really at the races either. Good to see Dee back to his best again though.

Bring on Antrim/Kerry anyway and while taking on Clare (more than likely) again is a bit meh after our last few championship encounters, maybe they will be demoralised if they get trounced by Limerick, and at least there won't be the Davy sideshow this time."
Will they raise their game against us the same as they did when Davy was manager?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 21/05/2022 20:32:23    2419272

Well played Wexford, you deserved to win this evening. Good luck in the quarter-finals, you can approach them with new hope and confidence.

From a Kilkenny point of view, I'm very disappointed. People always say (ad nauseum) Kilkenny are never beaten until the final whistle, never give up. Well tonight, we were out fought and out thought by Wexford in the last 15 to 10 minutes.
We have a lot of good players on the panel, probably not enough to win an All-Ireland, but at least a chance to reach the semis. I'm not sure Cody knows what his best starting 15 and subs are yet.
Still, there is a Leinster final against Galway coming up, followed by an All-Ireland quarter-final or semi-final. There's time to improve.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 21/05/2022 20:33:28    2419273

One swallow never made a summer! As chin crucially indicated mentality, and with that comes intensity, if you have intensity you always have a chance. Some result for Westmeath, JF is a good manager.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 21/05/2022 20:47:54    2419280

Congratulations. An excellent performance all round. Chin was the glue that held it all together.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/05/2022 21:03:57    2419284

Replying To munsterchamps:  "delighted for ye viking ye love yer hurling even after the westmeath draw last wkend ye kept faith........i'm predicting a wexford limerick final...))"
Be great! My 2 favourite counties!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 21/05/2022 21:30:13    2419294

Replying To FearBeag:  "A new low"
Followed by a new high,. Going to Wexford games nearly 50 years and last night was right up there. Hurled their socks off, most lads were brilliant but Chinner stands apart, he was immense when it mattered most. Hon Wexford!

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 94 - 22/05/2022 07:11:14    2419305

Well done wexford. I said before the westmeath game that the wexford team looks very strong on paper - that hasn't changed. Unfortunately I couldn't see the game yesterday but moving Chin to midfield (which I believe he was there..) could be huge for wexford. Should wexford get through a prelim quarter final, I'd imagine they'd be playing the losers of Clare and Limerick which will be a tough draw but confidence will hopefully be high now going into that game…
Although they likely could be playing Antrim before it which could be a tough one too

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/05/2022 08:00:29    2419309

Replying To bottletopbill:  "One swallow never made a summer! As chin crucially indicated mentality, and with that comes intensity, if you have intensity you always have a chance. Some result for Westmeath, JF is a good manager."
He has done a very good job Keogh Cup,League title, division 1 hurling and Mccarthy to look forward to in 23.Beating Laois in championship drawing with ye guys and if we had Aonghus Clarke against Dublin I think we could have beaten them.Well done to Wexford but be very wary of Antrim or Kerry the underlings in Hurling are coming to get ye.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1777 - 22/05/2022 08:10:40    2419311

Great win last night well done to all the team and management on getting the fire back have to say kilkenny hurled with no great spirit and even the crowd didn't seemed too surprised that I was talking to seemed to be fed up of Cody tactics and treatment of players which surprised me..Let's home we get over joe Mcdonald winners and then give Clare or Limerick a right crack.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 22/05/2022 08:56:15    2419320