2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To WEX98:  "We will beat either by 20 points and then hopefully we get Clare........we owe them one and Wexford will be gunning for them."
Show a bit of respect bud, at the end of the day you came third in leinster just about

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 805 - 22/05/2022 21:11:48    2419544

Replying To Viking66:  "Definitely. If fully fit he would be the man to mark TK if we play Clare again he did a great job last year in the championship."
Has come back too early a couple of times now so hopefully he will be 100% before being played.

If not Damien might be the man, kept Eoin Coady very quite last night.

His goal line block was unbelievable......we could be out of the championship only.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 22/05/2022 21:13:40    2419545

A great win for team and management. The tactic of playing Dee O Keefe as a spare man in the middle third worked a treat.

Groundball (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 22/05/2022 21:19:29    2419549

Replying To zinny:  "Fair play to the team, the stepped up a gear when facing down the barrel and pulled it out. However once everyone is over the hype and we look back on the game there are a few things that we should be concerned about.
First, why did Fanning take the first two long range frees when we were playing with the wind? they were well within Chins' range.
We started the game very much like we did against Waterford, started well and looked to have the game under control but then completely went out of it. The backs were standing off their men and we were not playing with intensity. Waterford took far more advantage of that then Kilkenny did. We cannot afford to do that otherwise the same thing will happen and the game will be out of reach.
Everyone is talking about Murphys save but lets be honest it was hit straight at him and Mac should have done better. He is there to score goals and that was one he should have got. They team sacrifices quite a bit by having him there so he needs to deliver on those opportunities.
Fanning did nothing yesterday to silence his distractors
Finally if we played the best hurling we have in a long time we were still withing a whisker of either losing or a draw. I am not saying beating Antrim or Kerry is a given but if we do, then based on what we have seen of Clare and Limerick so far, we need to find another gear."
Are you for real zinny? You probably never hurled a match in your life. A man hurling his 100th game wearing the county colours and you reckon he's a passenger? You're an insult to the game. Had Daveys style of play suited Mac he'd have a lot more goals scored too but did he sulk? No he knuckled down and did his bit for the team. And this is the third manager who sees the value of the man and the work he puts in. You don't play 100 times for ANY county if you don't put in the work. And that's any county!!! Faceless keyboard warriors like you are what makes this forum such a sham. Yes have your opinion but never insult your own players like that. Keep that kind of stuff for shouting at your premiership team on the tv in the safety of you sitting where they won't hear you or give a toss.
Yes either side of the keeper and Mac would've had his 35th goal for his county but I wouldn't say one player on that panel thinks they're sacrificing anything for him. The goal against Galway? Have you got an opinion on how he could've done better for that one? Were you there to see it or was it too early in the season for you? I've defended these players who give so much of their time against poisonous pen pushers like you before and always will. Next time you play a championship match for your club, if ever, think about some tosser writing garbage about you when you make a mistake. Don't worry about the intensity of the game( even if it is junior B), don't worry about the intensity of the opponent that's been hanging out of you for the 30 minutes. Just think about the fella on Hogan stand thinking you're a passenger. That's what will make you better isn't it????

Northcountyman (Wexford) - Posts: 59 - 23/05/2022 08:10:39    2419562

I am a disappointed Dub this morning but great credit to my adopted Wexford. I went to the game in Kilkenny as the chaps wanted to go.
Wexford were by far the better team and wanted it much more than Kilkenny. Kilkenny people should be disappointed with their display as every time Richie Reid and Paddy Deegan got the ball they just hit it down the field to out numbered players. It was 90's stuff.
Wexford should be delighted though, I knew there might be a kick in them after the Westmeath game but to a man they won their individual battles and the subs all contributed. Delighted to see young McGuckin coming in and winning ball and using it well, battling, hooking. He is a big part of the Wexford future and Wexford need him come through.
The Wexford backs were class, you cold name all 6 but Damien Reck is on for an All-Star if he keeps this up. He hurled well v us, and Galway and was the anchor of the defence. But they all put their body on the line. O'Keefe dropping back to help out gives Wexford an extra set of hands but also a player with the mobility to get up the field.
Chin was immense, he really makes Wexford tick and if Wexford had him fit v Galway and us, Wexford would have won both.
McDonald and Rory were in and out but when they got 1-on-1 they caused trouble. Jack started well and faded. Oisin Foley did well and took the goal well. Kevin Foley's form has dipped but hope he can find it again. All the subs contributed, Mick Dwyer point was a beaut.
The only caveats I would have for Wexford is that I think Kilkenny are not a good side (we made them look it), only Michael Carey can hold his head high after that performance.
The only other caveat I would say is there is a lot of long-range shooting, when they go over all is rosy but when the go wide they can deflate inside forwards.
Wexford at full strength are arguably the strongest side in Leinster, and they need to not sleep walk in to a match v Kerry/Antrim. I say any element of complacency is gone after Westmeath.
So now that our hurls are down for the summer, I'll be cheering the yellow bellies on.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 23/05/2022 08:51:39    2419569

What a night in Nowlan Park Saturday . Our lads really stood up when their backs were to the wall. I thought Damian Reck and Chin were outstanding and really drove us on. Hanlon done a great job on Tj Reid. Great to see Dee and Jippo back hurling like we know they can . That Mikie Dwyer point will live long In the memory . Its brilliant to be still in the championship now we need to drive this on. The Westmeath result will mean complacency shouldn't be an issue . You would imagine it will be Kerry away but you never know . Then we hopefully have a All Ireland Quarter final against Clare or Limerick the week after. The good thing about Saturday is I think we can even improve on that. Rory and Mac had a quiet game while Jacko and Kevin Foley are capable of raising their game. It will take a huge performance to beat probably Clare but we are capable and we owe them one after the last few years

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 23/05/2022 09:13:00    2419577

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "What I said was true. It showed that our group has great potential that we could have beaten the potential All Ireland champions. Should have with the chances. If I'm on that U20 panel you'd be fair driven to try get onto the senior panel as you'd think you'd have a good chance of winning something down the line. There's a lot of sound Kilkenny fans but there's a portion of their fanbase that are the most cockiest bunch in the entire GAA. That's what drives the rivalry I suppose."
You went to school with a lot of KK's and there wasn't too many like that at all.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 874 - 23/05/2022 09:14:37    2419579

I meant to say, the Wexford support was unbelievable in Kilkenny. I don't know what the final attendance was but Wexford out numbered Kilkenny by about 2 or 3 to 1.
Now I know people will say "what sort of Dublin supporter are you, sitting in Kilkenny" but my children wanted to go to the match and as I want them to keep going at the game, coupled with the fact that I didn't give Dublin a prayer in Galway.
But if there was 17-18k at the match the other night, I think 12 of it was from Wexford. Kilkenny are traditionally poor supporters and probably waited for the final but fair play to the Wexford people, especially on the back of a bad result.
Some counties on here love to self-glorify how great their supporters who have appeared out of nowhere are on the back of a bit of success - I think Wexford are as good a supporters as their is in the country. In hurling anyway!

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 23/05/2022 09:14:46    2419580

The round robin has led to a lot of camaraderie between Leinster teams and supporters.

There is only a puck of the ball between the top four in Leinster and all four teams have good fans and mutual respect - as do the players.

I would say I would shout for any Leinster team vs any Munster team now - even Kilkenny which as a Wexford supporter I thought I'd never say.

RTÉ only showed one Leinster match this year live on TV and all the Munster games which is a big insult to Leinster hurling which had far more close contests which would appeal to the neutral.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 23/05/2022 09:42:05    2419586

I think people are being a bit harsh on Jack O Connor, for me he is essential to have there in our half forward line, his sheer presence alone occupies the opposition and his marker and he is always an option there.

Sure he doesnt get on the end with loads of scores but he works himself every day he goes out there.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 23/05/2022 10:01:26    2419596

Well done to all involved. I was a proud man walking around Nowlan Park, taking it all in.

It is a seismic result for many reasons for Wexford hurling ... beating KK in Nowlan Park for the first time ever, that great high quality team performance, subs come in and perform, lots of different point scorers, management team gets pretty much everything right, the fact we are still in championship, more revenue for county board to put back in Wexford GAA, feel good factor, hopefully touchwood a big day out in Croker, the confidence the subs can take from winning that game.
And that's not taking into account, we have a very good panel of U-20's who will be absolutely gunning for and are good enough to get into that wider senior panel in the next few years.
It is a huge result for us.

Huge credit must go to Darragh Egan ... he got the tactics spot on, he got his selection spot on and it shows he has developed a bench to come on and make a difference.
Huge credit must go the players because they upped their performance for this all important game. Everybody performed well.
A special mention for the subs that came on and scored ... those scores made the difference.
I think I've watched that Damien Reck stop/lift about 40 times on twitter!

So we have a very good manager and very good squad of players and we are still alive in the championship. Super!

One final note of caution ... I saw the highlights of Kerry v Offaly from a few weeks ago and Kerry have a number of very good players(super corner forward like ROC), they would have won that game well except they conceded 2-3 goals which they could have done better on.
Same goes for Antrim ... playing Antrim in Belfast is always a tough physical battle.
So both these teams are at Westmeath level and will give us a good game because they both have very good hurlers.
On the flip side of that is the fact that we have 3 weeks to prepare and the Westmeath draw should have players forewarned.

Anyway, to finish off, well done to everybody involved.
Up Wexford!

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 319 - 23/05/2022 10:06:46    2419598

Replying To preddan:  "Show a bit of respect bud, at the end of the day you came third in leinster just about"
Kerry and Antrim might not want to win the Joe Mac now to avoid Cork!

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 23/05/2022 11:09:21    2419621

Replying To WEX98:  "Kerry and Antrim might not want to win the Joe Mac now to avoid Cork!"
So they don't want to get promoted? On Conor Mac. He's constantly manhandled and when you see the penalties awarded over the weekend and rightly so it's incomprehensible how referees ignore the fouling he has to put up with.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 23/05/2022 11:43:55    2419647

6 teams left in the championship

Kilkenny - we beat them in the championship and drew in the walsh cup
Galway - we drew in championship and beat them in the league
Limerick -we beat them in the league
Clare - we beat them in the league
Cork - we beat them in the league

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 23/05/2022 12:04:41    2419657

Replying To Yellow:  "6 teams left in the championship

Cork - we beat them in the league"
And Antrim and Kerry.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 23/05/2022 12:54:54    2419671

Lord god almighty has Waterford's elimination not taught ye to forget about the league.

Also, you are being so disrespectful against your next round opponents

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 23/05/2022 13:03:46    2419678

Waterford won the league and ...........

Forget about the league.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 977 - 23/05/2022 13:08:37    2419683

No offence, but the league counts for zero. Look at Waterford.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 23/05/2022 13:09:03    2419684

Replying To WEX98:  "Kerry and Antrim might not want to win the Joe Mac now to avoid Cork!"
I'd say both would like to go up! And Kerry would love another crack at Tipp they beat them already this year. And that was minus their Kilmoyley lads too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 23/05/2022 13:23:31    2419697

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "So they don't want to get promoted? On Conor Mac. He's constantly manhandled and when you see the penalties awarded over the weekend and rightly so it's incomprehensible how referees ignore the fouling he has to put up with."
Have to agree.

Stonewall penalty ignored late on in nowlan Park.

Couldn't believe it at the time but no impact on the result in the end

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3884 - 23/05/2022 13:36:13    2419705