2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Samson55:  "This was huge. Beating Kilkenny in their own backyard is never easy. The lads gave a powerful performance and fully deserved the win. I was a bit nervous early on when they got their goal but what character they showed for the remainder of the game. I won't repeat what's been said already but Chin was simply unbelievable.
Delighted for Oisin Foley , great goal and our subs bench all made valuable contributions.
Special mention to all six backs. They never gave the cats breathing space.
It's probably going to be Kerry in the preliminary quarter final, so please lads don't go into that game with a casual attitude. Remember Westmeath.
The performance was terrific when you consider the fact that Rory or Mac didn't contribute much on the scoreboard.
Well done to the whole panel and management.
With heart and hand."
Another point about Oisin Foley is the amount of chasing back and blocking etc he gets through is massive too! Tbh all the lads had their best games in a long time and all the subs made an impact. Kevin Foley and Ryan looked to be back in form too which was very encouraging going forward. Well Paul didn't really get time to make an impact it was just good to see him back on the pitch.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:23:22    2419424

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Pleased for the cats in the under 20. Maybe we're not as far away there as we thought"
Good game. Thought Limerick overplayed the last play they had good opportunities to shoot to tie the game.Think from watching the games there'd be nothing between us, Kilkenny, Galway and Limerick. And Dublin too when you think about it. As regards Pepper and lads making the point he hasn't played much senior this year I guess the thing is he has had a full season being around the senior squad training etc and that should stand to him going forward. Is he u20 again next year?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:28:19    2419427

Fair play to the team, the stepped up a gear when facing down the barrel and pulled it out. However once everyone is over the hype and we look back on the game there are a few things that we should be concerned about.
First, why did Fanning take the first two long range frees when we were playing with the wind? they were well within Chins' range.
We started the game very much like we did against Waterford, started well and looked to have the game under control but then completely went out of it. The backs were standing off their men and we were not playing with intensity. Waterford took far more advantage of that then Kilkenny did. We cannot afford to do that otherwise the same thing will happen and the game will be out of reach.
Everyone is talking about Murphys save but lets be honest it was hit straight at him and Mac should have done better. He is there to score goals and that was one he should have got. They team sacrifices quite a bit by having him there so he needs to deliver on those opportunities.
Fanning did nothing yesterday to silence his distractors
Finally if we played the best hurling we have in a long time we were still withing a whisker of either losing or a draw. I am not saying beating Antrim or Kerry is a given but if we do, then based on what we have seen of Clare and Limerick so far, we need to find another gear.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2040 - 22/05/2022 15:28:36    2419428

Replying To Past hurler:  "Kerry will treat this as an all-ireland final down in Tralee.

Cannot be complacent at all but I don't think Egan will allow that happen again.

Kerry have beaten Westmeath twice in the last 3 years so they are of a similar standard."
Kerry could beat Antrim yet. And then we will be heading to Belfast.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:29:08    2419429

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Kilkenny winning the U20 was as good a result for Wexford as it is for Kilkenny. A poor start cost us an U20 Leinster and maybe an all Ireland. There's nothing between those sides and I would say we have the better hurlers overall. The future looks a bit brighter. See I'm not always negative!"
Brilliant Finchfurlong hate to see a lad bringing himself down in the dumps!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:43:52    2419443

Replying To Viking66:  "Another point about Oisin Foley is the amount of chasing back and blocking etc he gets through is massive too! Tbh all the lads had their best games in a long time and all the subs made an impact. Kevin Foley and Ryan looked to be back in form too which was very encouraging going forward. Well Paul didn't really get time to make an impact it was just good to see him back on the pitch."
And will Shane Reck be back in 3 weeks Wex98?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:44:41    2419444

Replying To zinny:  "Fair play to the team, the stepped up a gear when facing down the barrel and pulled it out. However once everyone is over the hype and we look back on the game there are a few things that we should be concerned about.
First, why did Fanning take the first two long range frees when we were playing with the wind? they were well within Chins' range.
We started the game very much like we did against Waterford, started well and looked to have the game under control but then completely went out of it. The backs were standing off their men and we were not playing with intensity. Waterford took far more advantage of that then Kilkenny did. We cannot afford to do that otherwise the same thing will happen and the game will be out of reach.
Everyone is talking about Murphys save but lets be honest it was hit straight at him and Mac should have done better. He is there to score goals and that was one he should have got. They team sacrifices quite a bit by having him there so he needs to deliver on those opportunities.
Finally if we played the best hurling we have in a long time we were still withing a whisker of either losing or a draw. I am not saying beating Antrim or Kerry is a given but if we do, then based on what we have seen of Clare and Limerick so far, we need to find another gear."
Fanning isn't the perfect keeper but I think he is the best we have overall at the moment. The biggest criticism of him for years were his puckouts but he did ok with these apart from the Waterford game in the League.
I've watched the game back on sky this morning, I recorded it, and an odd thing stood out. Yes, Mac could've done better with both goal chances in the 1st half, but he wasn't actually a passenger this time! He ran their backs down, made tackles and most of all made runs into space which sadly our other forwards didn't see. Maybe they weren't expecting him to have made these runs. Fair play to him it was his best game in a long time!
For sure we can improve. We will need to. At least we are still in it to try to improve as we go on. Something that seemed very unlikely reading this thread last week Zinny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 15:56:04    2419448

Replying To Viking66:  "Brilliant Finchfurlong hate to see a lad bringing himself down in the dumps!!!!"
I posted the same thing on Facebook and getting a slagging from Kilkenny fans. However, we all know their a classy bunch!

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 22/05/2022 16:28:46    2419461

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "I posted the same thing on Facebook and getting a slagging from Kilkenny fans. However, we all know their a classy bunch!"
Shame you can't use eemojis on Hoganstand. : D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 16:40:16    2419464

What I said was true. It showed that our group has great potential that we could have beaten the potential All Ireland champions. Should have with the chances. If I'm on that U20 panel you'd be fair driven to try get onto the senior panel as you'd think you'd have a good chance of winning something down the line. There's a lot of sound Kilkenny fans but there's a portion of their fanbase that are the most cockiest bunch in the entire GAA. That's what drives the rivalry I suppose.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 22/05/2022 16:53:23    2419471

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "What I said was true. It showed that our group has great potential that we could have beaten the potential All Ireland champions. Should have with the chances. If I'm on that U20 panel you'd be fair driven to try get onto the senior panel as you'd think you'd have a good chance of winning something down the line. There's a lot of sound Kilkenny fans but there's a portion of their fanbase that are the most cockiest bunch in the entire GAA. That's what drives the rivalry I suppose."
I've some very good friends up there lad. But equally there are some clowns up there too. You have that cocky section with Cork and Tipp too. After watching 2days rubbish you would have to say Kilkenny are closer to winning an AI than Cork or Tipp though. Not that I think they would get close either.
I'm really looking forward to hearing/reading Derek Mcgraths next insights. Wonder will he be on Dalos podcast or TSG this week?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 17:59:48    2419483

Replying To zinny:  "Fair play to the team, the stepped up a gear when facing down the barrel and pulled it out. However once everyone is over the hype and we look back on the game there are a few things that we should be concerned about.
Finally if we played the best hurling we have in a long time we were still withing a whisker of either losing or a draw. I am not saying beating Antrim or Kerry is a given but if we do, then based on what we have seen of Clare and Limerick so far, we need to find another gear."
Vert very negative post in my opinion

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 22/05/2022 18:38:24    2419494

Replying To Viking66:  "I've some very good friends up there lad. But equally there are some clowns up there too. You have that cocky section with Cork and Tipp too. After watching 2days rubbish you would have to say Kilkenny are closer to winning an AI than Cork or Tipp though. Not that I think they would get close either.
I'm really looking forward to hearing/reading Derek Mcgraths next insights. Wonder will he be on Dalos podcast or TSG this week?"
How will Derek explain that annihilation today by Clare's second string. Should be fun

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 22/05/2022 19:16:19    2419498

Replying To hunting:  "Vert very negative post in my opinion"
I think it was a good post by Zinny. It we get past the joemac runners up, looking at Clare or Limerick - they are well above us.
Therefore we need to find areas to improve.

Fanning has been dodgy this year. Take him off frees and let him purely concentrate on goalkeeping. It was his error which lead to kk almost scoring that goal.

We really need another ball winner up front. This aspect improved yesterday but still not enough. Would love to see jacko dominate high ball better. He has the size and a good hand.
Else mix it up more by batting down to waiting forwards. We do well on dirty ball so maybe try that.

A MAJOR positive for me though is the contribution of the subs. Delighted for them. Was sitting beside a guy from fethard and he nearly fainted when he saw dwyers point.

Waldorf.Salad (Wexford) - Posts: 36 - 22/05/2022 20:13:20    2419512

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "How will Derek explain that annihilation today by Clare's second string. Should be fun"
Should be lol.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 20:44:30    2419526

Replying To Waldorf.Salad:  "I think it was a good post by Zinny. It we get past the joemac runners up, looking at Clare or Limerick - they are well above us.
Therefore we need to find areas to improve.

Fanning has been dodgy this year. Take him off frees and let him purely concentrate on goalkeeping. It was his error which lead to kk almost scoring that goal.

We really need another ball winner up front. This aspect improved yesterday but still not enough. Would love to see jacko dominate high ball better. He has the size and a good hand.
Else mix it up more by batting down to waiting forwards. We do well on dirty ball so maybe try that.

A MAJOR positive for me though is the contribution of the subs. Delighted for them. Was sitting beside a guy from fethard and he nearly fainted when he saw dwyers point."
One of the best points I've seen this season in fairness! Hard to know what to make of Jacko tbh. Agree we need more ball winners up front but I haven't seen too many around on the club scene this last few years either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 20:46:26    2419527

Replying To Viking66:  "And will Shane Reck be back in 3 weeks Wex98?"
He's gone back training with the team last week, but only starting to run now.

Knowing Shane he will have been doing savage training himself (non running).

Would be some addition for the quarter final.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 22/05/2022 20:54:02    2419532

Replying To Viking66:  "Kerry could beat Antrim yet. And then we will be heading to Belfast."
We will beat either by 20 points and then hopefully we get Clare........we owe them one and Wexford will be gunning for them.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 22/05/2022 20:56:06    2419537

Replying To WEX98:  "He's gone back training with the team last week, but only starting to run now.

Knowing Shane he will have been doing savage training himself (non running).

Would be some addition for the quarter final."
Definitely. If fully fit he would be the man to mark TK if we play Clare again he did a great job last year in the championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 21:05:07    2419540

Replying To WEX98:  "We will beat either by 20 points and then hopefully we get Clare........we owe them one and Wexford will be gunning for them."
If we are going to go all the way to the final, with my optimistic head on me, we will have to beat Kerry/Antrim and then likely Clare and Limerick or the other way round. Unless whoever loses the Leinster final beats Cork or Antrim or Kerry then we will play the Leinster final winners in the SF as repeat provincial finals are to be avoided. Our record against Antrim is pretty bad for the last 12 years or more. I doubt very much we will beat them by anywhere near 20 points if we play them instead of Kerry. Although whoever we play will be after losing the Joe Mac final the week before so it might affect them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 22/05/2022 21:11:15    2419543