Hurling Managerial Merry Go Round

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's what I think about Derek McGrath. He is a good people person. They are two people who may not be with us today only for the intervention of Derek in their lives. Anyone who has played for him think a lot of him. I would not be as positive about his reading of the game. You have to be able to do this on the run never mind two weeks ahead of the game. I honestly thought he was better especially when he had the Waterford job. In 2017 it was his call to get Austin off not Conor. Austin is much more of a hurler but Conor is more of a man marker and at that time in my opinion was at his best. He would have curtailed Joe influence on the game. Then faith played its hand also. Austin was sick and should have not been playing. Derek could not do anything about that but the decision may have cost us an All-Ireland."
.... were lucky rather, not to have been beaten by more.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 04/09/2021 14:44:30    2377757

Replying To baire:  ".... were lucky rather, not to have been beaten by more."
Ye both sound like an excerpt from Henry Martin's, Unlimited Heatbreak. It's a fascinating insight to Limerick GAA and well worth a read, but if I got a fiver for every 'if' and 'but' in that book, I could almost buy Croke Park!

When Limerick do their 10-in-a-row, that Kerry ppl fear they will, Martin's book will probably sell as many copies as the Bible.

Everybody will want to know, 'where did it all go right?'

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 04/09/2021 15:47:46    2377778

Replying To Viking66:  "Hurling with abandonment with no handbrake on was the traditional Galway way for over a century. And one of the reasons why they won so few All Irelands despite huge playing numbers and exceptional hurlers down the years. It took Donoghue adding structure and a sweeper to deliver the All Ireland in 2017. Most Galway folk I know, well all 4 of them that I know well for a long time, would rather be celebrating winning titles than go back to being everyone's favourite 2nd team like we have been most of the time."
Galway never had a sweeper in 2017! Every other teams bar tipp had a sweeper that year we played with 6 defenders. We don't have huge playing numbers 2/3 of our county is football.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 04/09/2021 15:50:21    2377781

Ye both sound like an excerpt from Henry Martin's, Unlimited Heatbreak. It's a fascinating insight to Limerick GAA and well worth a read, but if I got a fiver for every 'if' and 'but' in that book, I could almost buy Croke Park back for Frank B. Dineen!

When Limerick do their 10-in-a-row, that Kerry ppl fear they will, Martin's book will probably sell as many copies as the Bible.

Everybody will want to know, 'where did it all go right?'

Btw, thankfully, that ten-o-phobia was identified early and contained. It was never allowed to cross the Kerry borders; high alerts on the Tarbert Ferry helped immensely.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 04/09/2021 15:59:19    2377784

Replying To ecad123:  "Galway never had a sweeper in 2017! Every other teams bar tipp had a sweeper that year we played with 6 defenders. We don't have huge playing numbers 2/3 of our county is football."
Indeed, when Galway won in 2017, they'd mighty strong men in defense; the same as that great team in 1987 and 1988; and, the same as Limerick has now. When a team has a powerful half-back line (Finnerty/Keady/McInerny was as good as I ever saw play live…have only seen this present Limk team on screen), it doesn't need a sweeper.

I'd say before that Galway team of the 80's, you'd have to go back to the Wexford men of the 50's and 60's to find such big, powerful hurlers. And I'd bet, but don't know, that the last batch of Waterford men to claim LIAM, were no crowd of leprechauns either.

Do big men alone win AI's? No. Does it help, if you're not one of the big 3, to have a team of big, strong men who can also swiftly wield the caman? Most definitely!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 04/09/2021 16:17:29    2377791

Replying To ecad123:  "Galway never had a sweeper in 2017! Every other teams bar tipp had a sweeper that year we played with 6 defenders. We don't have huge playing numbers 2/3 of our county is football."
Aidan Harte was effectively a sweeper in every game bar the Tipp one. And did very well in the role. After the big 3 you would have more lads playing mostly hurling than any other county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 04/09/2021 16:55:00    2377799

Yes you can read things as been lucky or unlucky depending on which things you choose. Galway were lucky not to have been at 14 men before the ball was thrown in. The bottom line is Galway won it deservedly and good luck to him. Great supporters that day and who would begrudge the great Joe an All-Ireland.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/09/2021 18:41:29    2377813

Wondering what others think of Eddie Brennan's chances of landing a county role. He is often linked to vacant positions but thinking on his managerial career to date a few caveats stick out.

Manager of Kilkenny u21's in 2016 when they lost to Westmeath in the Leinster championship

Manager of Kilkenny u21's in 2017 when they lost the most one sided 6 point defeat ever to Limerick 0-17 to 0-11 in the all Ireland final

Manager of Laois but ended up giving that famous interview to Colm Parkinson, notable victory over Dublin in championship

Coach of Cuala tonight when beaten by Kilmacud Crokes 3-24 to 0-18

Fair play to him for putting himself out there and taking on high profile roles but would the points above be a blot on his copy book?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/09/2021 21:38:41    2377844

Managing Cuala to their worst hiding in ten years is not a good CV!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 04/09/2021 22:14:57    2377849

Replying To Viking66:  "Aidan Harte was effectively a sweeper in every game bar the Tipp one. And did very well in the role. After the big 3 you would have more lads playing mostly hurling than any other county."
In 17 we always played with 6 defenders it was wexford and Waterford that played with 7 defenders, Offaly had 2 sweepers. We left our six backs in place we set out to play orthodox in every game but yourselves and Waterford withdrew a forward. Surly Waterford and Wexford have more playing hurling than galway

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 04/09/2021 23:22:34    2377854

Replying To ecad123:  "In 17 we always played with 6 defenders it was wexford and Waterford that played with 7 defenders, Offaly had 2 sweepers. We left our six backs in place we set out to play orthodox in every game but yourselves and Waterford withdrew a forward. Surly Waterford and Wexford have more playing hurling than galway"
You have to laugh when people come out saying things like that. I remember the same was said about Tipp when they played Waterford a number of years ago. It shows the people who never played the game that they think a team keeping their 6 backs in place against 5 forwards is the same thing! You have to cringe a bit.
By the way youre 100% correct Galway def did not play a sweeper in 2017

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/09/2021 09:20:14    2377869

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes you can read things as been lucky or unlucky depending on which things you choose. Galway were lucky not to have been at 14 men before the ball was thrown in. The bottom line is Galway won it deservedly and good luck to him. Great supporters that day and who would begrudge the great Joe an All-Ireland."
Those of us who go to games regularly see red card behaviour in many of them, the AIF included. I remember a particularly nasty one by MF on JC in the 2015 AI when most eyes were following a high ball into the KK goal. It took a fair bit out of him and he missed the next free.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1803 - 05/09/2021 09:55:36    2377871

Replying To ecad123:  "In 17 we always played with 6 defenders it was wexford and Waterford that played with 7 defenders, Offaly had 2 sweepers. We left our six backs in place we set out to play orthodox in every game but yourselves and Waterford withdrew a forward. Surly Waterford and Wexford have more playing hurling than galway"
You couldve put the spare man on the sweeper up the top of the pitch rather than playing with one yourselves? As in hurling only or mainly hurling in Waterford and Wexford? Definitely not. Some of the best club hurlers have been on our county football team and even more so the other way around. Think we only have 2 or 3 hurling only clubs in the whole county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 05/09/2021 11:00:47    2377883

Replying To tiobraid:  "You have to laugh when people come out saying things like that. I remember the same was said about Tipp when they played Waterford a number of years ago. It shows the people who never played the game that they think a team keeping their 6 backs in place against 5 forwards is the same thing! You have to cringe a bit.
By the way youre 100% correct Galway def did not play a sweeper in 2017"
Aidan Harte only played a conventional wing back in the game against you Tiobraid.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 05/09/2021 11:01:50    2377884

Replying To slayer:  "Wondering what others think of Eddie Brennan's chances of landing a county role. He is often linked to vacant positions but thinking on his managerial career to date a few caveats stick out.

Manager of Kilkenny u21's in 2016 when they lost to Westmeath in the Leinster championship

Manager of Kilkenny u21's in 2017 when they lost the most one sided 6 point defeat ever to Limerick 0-17 to 0-11 in the all Ireland final

Manager of Laois but ended up giving that famous interview to Colm Parkinson, notable victory over Dublin in championship

Coach of Cuala tonight when beaten by Kilmacud Crokes 3-24 to 0-18

Fair play to him for putting himself out there and taking on high profile roles but would the points above be a blot on his copy book?"
Can't beat confidence though

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 05/09/2021 13:27:30    2377900

Replying To Shocs07:  "Can't beat confidence though"
Real confidence yes you cant beat it. The appearance of confidence not the same at all....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 05/09/2021 14:49:11    2377909

Replying To Viking66:  "You couldve put the spare man on the sweeper up the top of the pitch rather than playing with one yourselves? As in hurling only or mainly hurling in Waterford and Wexford? Definitely not. Some of the best club hurlers have been on our county football team and even more so the other way around. Think we only have 2 or 3 hurling only clubs in the whole county."
Please tell me you are not serious!! Again like I said ye played with 7 defenders why on earth would we move one of our 6 defenders to mark one of your defenders? You have to be joking.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 05/09/2021 18:19:53    2377960

Whose the favourite for the Tipp job,they usually give the job to a Tipp man so who are those in the running within Tipp.Could they go for Eddie Brennan...married to a Tipp woman I think.

I couldn't see Tipp giving the job to Davy Fitz but Galway just might if the 2017 AI winning manager doesn't take it.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 05/09/2021 20:36:38    2378006

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Whose the favourite for the Tipp job,they usually give the job to a Tipp man so who are those in the running within Tipp.Could they go for Eddie Brennan...married to a Tipp woman I think.

I couldn't see Tipp giving the job to Davy Fitz but Galway just might if the 2017 AI winning manager doesn't take it."
Apparently between Brendan Cummins and Willie Maher for the Tipp job.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 05/09/2021 21:40:51    2378025

Replying To wexico15:  "Apparently between Brendan Cummins and Willie Maher for the Tipp job."
Hard to see them going for Cummins. He has no experience in any way relevant to the demands of inter county management.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 05/09/2021 22:53:05    2378050