Hurling Managerial Merry Go Round

Replying To carlovia:  "Eddie Brennan was on Off the ball a few weeks ago and was asked if Eddie would be interested in the Tipp job.

Good idea he said, I will bring them down from the inside.

Can't see Brennan or Davy being considered."
Cant see them appoint an outside man tbh. And I think if they only had applicants from Kilkenny for the job theyd let the players manage themselves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 02/09/2021 20:51:16    2377392

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Shane O Neill did the right thing to resign. Giving him a one year extension would have been no use to him or to Galway hurling. We have a rebuilding job ahead so the manager in charge next year needs to be at the helm for the next 3 years."
You have had great underage success this millenium surely one of those managers would be a good man to try out for the senior job?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 02/09/2021 20:53:31    2377394

Replying To endgame:  "He achieved nothing in the two years. At least he realised that unlike the Galway football Manager."
Nothing? Joint league winners 2021!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 03/09/2021 08:48:50    2377451

Replying To tiobraid:  "Whats the Limerick posters opinions on potential changes of their setup? Two people who are consistently mentioned are Currid and Kinnerk. Coud Caroline Currid be such a big loss? She has some CV behind her at this stage. I was lucky enough to be part of a team a fair few years ago now who she gave an hour or so too and she definitely changed my mind on how important she could be to a team. When Tipp failed to follow up All Irelands successes we often her of management or coaches who left who were so vital to the setup. Without being part of the panel we don't know but could she be a huge loss and irreplaceable in Limerick?
Also is there any hope Kinnerk might take a few years off?!!"
Currid is staying in place whilst also working with the Munster rugby setup.
Mikey Kiely the S&C coach is leaving to take a position with Ulster Rugby.
I assume it is just a matter of JK being nominated again and him picking his coaches selectors.
It would be good to freshen up the backroom team with new ideas/voice.
Roll on 2022

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 03/09/2021 10:49:50    2377483

Bye bye SON!!!
Hello Davy Fitz your more than welcome to join Galway

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 03/09/2021 10:54:07    2377485

Replying To tiobraid:  "Whats the Limerick posters opinions on potential changes of their setup? Two people who are consistently mentioned are Currid and Kinnerk. Coud Caroline Currid be such a big loss? She has some CV behind her at this stage. I was lucky enough to be part of a team a fair few years ago now who she gave an hour or so too and she definitely changed my mind on how important she could be to a team. When Tipp failed to follow up All Irelands successes we often her of management or coaches who left who were so vital to the setup. Without being part of the panel we don't know but could she be a huge loss and irreplaceable in Limerick?
Also is there any hope Kinnerk might take a few years off?!!"
Not sure yet what the story is with Caroline Currids involvement.
Maybe she can overlap the 2 as the Rugby & GAA season run over different months..
She will be a loss if she doesn't continue but I think/ hope that a great deal of her work is done.

We were such underachievers for decades, losing matches we should have won and certainly could have won a few all Irelands along the way between 1973 and 2018.

The mental side of things was essential to get right in 2018.. I know the players spoke a lot about not carrying baggage from the past but I'm not sure how true that is... Fear of failure in Croke park was part of the Limerick hurling mindset..

Currids work in preparing them to get over the line as a very young team coming from nowhere was invaluable.

That could be seen especially when she came back in 2020 after we lost the 19 semi final v Kilkenny..

Limerick could have been one hit wonders but its testimony to the fantastic work done by her and others to keep lads in the right frame of mind and get to a higher level.

Now our team have 3 all ireland medals and the self confidence that comes with success.. I hope she stays involved in some capacity but if she doesn't she will always be remembered with gratitude..

Kinnerks another story, I think he's irreplaceable. Limerick hurling owes him and Kiely some debt of gratitude.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 03/09/2021 11:09:40    2377490

Darragh Egan to be manager in Wexford..another name off the list in tipp..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2209 - 03/09/2021 11:31:55    2377496

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Darragh Egan to be manager in Wexford..another name off the list in tipp.."
It's a strange 1 ok. Think I'll head down the bookies stick a few quid on Maher for the Tipp job! Hopefully Darragh can develop our players and squad furthur and has some new ideas to make us that little bit better. Would be great to be winning the important games by one score instead of losing them by one score.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 12:24:24    2377522

Replying To Viking66:  "It's a strange 1 ok. Think I'll head down the bookies stick a few quid on Maher for the Tipp job! Hopefully Darragh can develop our players and squad furthur and has some new ideas to make us that little bit better. Would be great to be winning the important games by one score instead of losing them by one score."
That's a huge gamble by Wexford. Taking on someone with no adult managerial experience, even at club level. It's one thing been brought in by Sheedy but going to Wexford is a massive task and gamble. Probably need to cut his teeth with underage hurling in Tipp first. Was never a contender for the Tipp job.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/09/2021 12:31:18    2377527

Replying To tiobraid:  "That's a huge gamble by Wexford. Taking on someone with no adult managerial experience, even at club level. It's one thing been brought in by Sheedy but going to Wexford is a massive task and gamble. Probably need to cut his teeth with underage hurling in Tipp first. Was never a contender for the Tipp job."
Agree Tiobraid it certainly is. He mustve impressed the Board with his ideas. I think reading between the lines they are taking a longterm view. The Board have shown over the last few years that they are very astute people and the new plan is following on from the last plan that achieved nearly all its goals. We need more than just a good manager for the current squad going forward. We need to rethink our whole underage system also. We haven't won an underage all Ireland since the 60s. When you look at the work put in by Dublin and Galway initially, then Limerick and more recently Cork it isnt looking likely we will end that drought anytime soon. With obvious negative consequences for our Senior team. One thing is for sure we could end up going backwards before we go forwards. He will need time. What exactly was his role in Liam Sheedys management team do you know?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 13:34:45    2377547

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree Tiobraid it certainly is. He mustve impressed the Board with his ideas. I think reading between the lines they are taking a longterm view. The Board have shown over the last few years that they are very astute people and the new plan is following on from the last plan that achieved nearly all its goals. We need more than just a good manager for the current squad going forward. We need to rethink our whole underage system also. We haven't won an underage all Ireland since the 60s. When you look at the work put in by Dublin and Galway initially, then Limerick and more recently Cork it isnt looking likely we will end that drought anytime soon. With obvious negative consequences for our Senior team. One thing is for sure we could end up going backwards before we go forwards. He will need time. What exactly was his role in Liam Sheedys management team do you know?"
Selector and coach is all I know. He has been regularly credited with being one of the main reasons for turning kildangan into a force in Tipp senior hurling. He apparently made huge changes as juvenile chairman of the club and now they have two. Senior teams. It's not long ago they were a junior club - although he can't be credited with getting the to senior in the first place.
The seem to be throwing out underage Tipp players on a yearly basis now.
I'm still baffled by him getting a senior intercounty job tho particularly a county as big as Wexford. Time will tell.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/09/2021 13:53:26    2377557

In my opinion Darragh Egan is a great appointment, even if seen as a gamble.

Also think he is showing a lot of bravery by putting himself out there so fair play to him.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 03/09/2021 13:56:17    2377559

Replying To Viking66:  "It's a strange 1 ok. Think I'll head down the bookies stick a few quid on Maher for the Tipp job! Hopefully Darragh can develop our players and squad furthur and has some new ideas to make us that little bit better. Would be great to be winning the important games by one score instead of losing them by one score."
Every so often the jackpot is hit. Hopefully this is what will happen in Wexford. The skill of the manager is certainly a factor but it has as much to do with the confidence the players have in him to lead and the systems he uses. It is truly management anymore of trainers and support staff. However you deal directly also with the workers (players). You also probable interact with the players full time employer and outside medical support. Like running a medium size company (public). Between players and back ground team it must be 60 people. You have the county board like your board of directors and the public are like non voting shareholders but will rip you to bits if things don't go good. Actually that means winning the All-Ireland. Any thing less is failure by most. You also run a recruiting department looking for more qualified players that you have or up and coming talent. At the end of the day your success depends on a whole lot of other people and you had better get that right.
And the pay ? Well expenses. I don't know if many potential executive would submit their c.v. for such a position. It has got to be something else. Love of the sport I suspect.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 03/09/2021 14:07:36    2377562

Read between the lines in the statement

Davy bled us dry

We are focused on underage development

This is a cheap solution for us in the mean time as we are broke!

CaddyParroll (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 03/09/2021 14:07:46    2377563

Replying To CaddyParroll:  "Read between the lines in the statement

Davy bled us dry

This is a cheap solution for us in the mean time as we are broke!"
We are well run and I'd say Davys presence helped with our current good financial footing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 14:41:33    2377579

Replying To tiobraid:  "Selector and coach is all I know. He has been regularly credited with being one of the main reasons for turning kildangan into a force in Tipp senior hurling. He apparently made huge changes as juvenile chairman of the club and now they have two. Senior teams. It's not long ago they were a junior club - although he can't be credited with getting the to senior in the first place.
The seem to be throwing out underage Tipp players on a yearly basis now.
I'm still baffled by him getting a senior intercounty job tho particularly a county as big as Wexford. Time will tell."
He was the 2nd name mentioned out of 7 after Cahill as possible successors to Sheedy in the,Examiner when Sheedy quit. Must be highly rated.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 14:45:22    2377583

Replying To slayer:  "In my opinion Darragh Egan is a great appointment, even if seen as a gamble.

Also think he is showing a lot of bravery by putting himself out there so fair play to him."
Definitely! Our job will be a tough one to start your intercounty managerial career in.... .

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 14:46:12    2377584

Replying To Canuck:  "Every so often the jackpot is hit. Hopefully this is what will happen in Wexford. The skill of the manager is certainly a factor but it has as much to do with the confidence the players have in him to lead and the systems he uses. It is truly management anymore of trainers and support staff. However you deal directly also with the workers (players). You also probable interact with the players full time employer and outside medical support. Like running a medium size company (public). Between players and back ground team it must be 60 people. You have the county board like your board of directors and the public are like non voting shareholders but will rip you to bits if things don't go good. Actually that means winning the All-Ireland. Any thing less is failure by most. You also run a recruiting department looking for more qualified players that you have or up and coming talent. At the end of the day your success depends on a whole lot of other people and you had better get that right.
And the pay ? Well expenses. I don't know if many potential executive would submit their c.v. for such a position. It has got to be something else. Love of the sport I suspect."
Well put Canuck!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 14:46:55    2377585

Replying To Viking66:  "He was the 2nd name mentioned out of 7 after Cahill as possible successors to Sheedy in the,Examiner when Sheedy quit. Must be highly rated."
Sorry Tiobraid it was Skysports not the Examiner. 16/08/21.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 14:59:24    2377590

Replying To CaddyParroll:  "Read between the lines in the statement

Davy bled us dry

This is a cheap solution for us in the mean time as we are broke!"
I'd say between a certain J Bolger paying for Davy, along with Wexford bringing big crowds to matches, along with Zurich's hefty sponsorship, Wexford are doing just fine financially.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 03/09/2021 15:05:16    2377592