Hurling Managerial Merry Go Round

Replying To slayer:  "In my opinion Darragh Egan is a great appointment, even if seen as a gamble.

Also think he is showing a lot of bravery by putting himself out there so fair play to him."
It is a gamble but I too think it is a good appointment. Insanity is doing the same thing and expecting a different result.
I was wincing at the idea of JJ Doyle or Derek McGrath.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 03/09/2021 15:11:15    2377595

Davy to Galway? I can't see that being good for Galway. Galway need 2-3 years to rebuild, but there's plenty of hurling talent in the county. However, this young talent doesn't need to be stifled, with a sweeper system and an overly structured approach. They need to be allowed hurl with abandonment, with no handbrake on.

A one year extension for Shane O'Neill was never going to work, as Galway needs a 3-year focus to try to get them
back to the top. I'd say Joe realizes that as much as anyone, and he left quite quickly after Galway exited the championship. A couple of more might follow suit.

As bad and all as some critics deem O'Neill's term in Galway to be , he did run Limerick closer than any team in the championship over the last two years, with only a puck of a ball between the two sides last year, and this year he beat Limerick, albeit in the league, something which greatly irked the Limerick crowd.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 03/09/2021 15:15:28    2377596

Replying To katser:  "Bye bye SON!!!
Hello Davy Fitz your more than welcome to join Galway"
Hope not, we need the hurling to be done on the pitch not on the sideline!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 03/09/2021 18:48:06    2377633

Replying To StoreysTash:  "It is a gamble but I too think it is a good appointment. Insanity is doing the same thing and expecting a different result.
I was wincing at the idea of JJ Doyle or Derek McGrath."
Here's what I think about Derek McGrath. He is a good people person. They are two people who may not be with us today only for the intervention of Derek in their lives. Anyone who has played for him think a lot of him. I would not be as positive about his reading of the game. You have to be able to do this on the run never mind two weeks ahead of the game. I honestly thought he was better especially when he had the Waterford job. In 2017 it was his call to get Austin off not Conor. Austin is much more of a hurler but Conor is more of a man marker and at that time in my opinion was at his best. He would have curtailed Joe influence on the game. Then faith played its hand also. Austin was sick and should have not been playing. Derek could not do anything about that but the decision may have cost us an All-Ireland.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 03/09/2021 19:00:22    2377636

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's what I think about Derek McGrath. He is a good people person. They are two people who may not be with us today only for the intervention of Derek in their lives. Anyone who has played for him think a lot of him. I would not be as positive about his reading of the game. You have to be able to do this on the run never mind two weeks ahead of the game. I honestly thought he was better especially when he had the Waterford job. In 2017 it was his call to get Austin off not Conor. Austin is much more of a hurler but Conor is more of a man marker and at that time in my opinion was at his best. He would have curtailed Joe influence on the game. Then faith played its hand also. Austin was sick and should have not been playing. Derek could not do anything about that but the decision may have cost us an All-Ireland."
Its hard to know where if he'd ever manage a top county again seems very one dimensional as a coach.
He does always come across as a pure gentleman and anybody that has ever met him agrees. That said he always hit me as the type of coach who'd drop a fella at training on the Friday night and call in to see if he's ok on the way home. I think he needed to be a little bit more ruthless.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 03/09/2021 19:35:08    2377640

Replying To CaddyParroll:  "Read between the lines in the statement

Davy bled us dry

We are focused on underage development

This is a cheap solution for us in the mean time as we are broke!"
Go look at our accounts.... very well ran. in a good financial position and Davy didn't bleed us dry.. and then go look at your county. Good man

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 03/09/2021 19:42:55    2377642

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Davy to Galway? I can't see that being good for Galway. Galway need 2-3 years to rebuild, but there's plenty of hurling talent in the county. However, this young talent doesn't need to be stifled, with a sweeper system and an overly structured approach. They need to be allowed hurl with abandonment, with no handbrake on.

A one year extension for Shane O'Neill was never going to work, as Galway needs a 3-year focus to try to get them
back to the top. I'd say Joe realizes that as much as anyone, and he left quite quickly after Galway exited the championship. A couple of more might follow suit.

As bad and all as some critics deem O'Neill's term in Galway to be , he did run Limerick closer than any team in the championship over the last two years, with only a puck of a ball between the two sides last year, and this year he beat Limerick, albeit in the league, something which greatly irked the Limerick crowd."
Hurling with abandonment with no handbrake on was the traditional Galway way for over a century. And one of the reasons why they won so few All Irelands despite huge playing numbers and exceptional hurlers down the years. It took Donoghue adding structure and a sweeper to deliver the All Ireland in 2017. Most Galway folk I know, well all 4 of them that I know well for a long time, would rather be celebrating winning titles than go back to being everyone's favourite 2nd team like we have been most of the time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 19:50:33    2377645

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I'd say between a certain J Bolger paying for Davy, along with Wexford bringing big crowds to matches, along with Zurich's hefty sponsorship, Wexford are doing just fine financially."
But people will say Limerick bought the All-Ireland! Wexford full of cash and won nothing!!!!

CaddyParroll (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 03/09/2021 20:52:04    2377655

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Davy to Galway? I can't see that being good for Galway. Galway need 2-3 years to rebuild, but there's plenty of hurling talent in the county. However, this young talent doesn't need to be stifled, with a sweeper system and an overly structured approach. They need to be allowed hurl with abandonment, with no handbrake on.

As bad and all as some critics deem O'Neill's term in Galway to be , he did run Limerick closer than any team in the championship over the last two years, with only a puck of a ball between the two sides last year, and this year he beat Limerick, albeit in the league, something which greatly irked the Limerick crowd."
Don't be surprised if Shane O'Neill manages Limerick down the line .....

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 03/09/2021 21:26:17    2377661

I am a limerick supporter for many years and I very much doubt if it irked us Limerick people that much. Kiely did put on a bit of a performance afterwards, but I would pay little heed to that. I would dispute slightly that Galway were the closest to Limerick last year as Waterford ran them to four points in last years Munster Final and also beat them in the League. Galway did run them very close. but unlike Waterford this year and last year, they hardly ever saw the white of Quaid's eyes and Eanna Murphy made a number of brilliant saves in the Galway goal.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 03/09/2021 21:33:35    2377663

Replying To CaddyParroll:  "But people will say Limerick bought the All-Ireland! Wexford full of cash and won nothing!!!!"
Have won more than ye both football and hurling lad!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 03/09/2021 22:49:48    2377678

Replying To CaddyParroll:  "But people will say Limerick bought the All-Ireland! Wexford full of cash and won nothing!!!!"
Haven't heard anyone say Limerick bought the All Ireland, you can't buy a hurling all ireland like arguably Dublin have in football with central funding, Limerick got their house in order with the assistance of a very wealthy man who obviously has a genuine pride for his county but that's just 1 of many elements, no amount of money could coach some of moments of genius produced by Cian Lynch.

In short you attempted to use the lazy narrative of Davy bled Wexford dry but you didn't even do any basic research and see that Wexford are on a sound financial footing.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/09/2021 01:19:41    2377694

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I am a limerick supporter for many years and I very much doubt if it irked us Limerick people that much. Kiely did put on a bit of a performance afterwards, but I would pay little heed to that. I would dispute slightly that Galway were the closest to Limerick last year as Waterford ran them to four points in last years Munster Final and also beat them in the League. Galway did run them very close. but unlike Waterford this year and last year, they hardly ever saw the white of Quaid's eyes and Eanna Murphy made a number of brilliant saves in the Galway goal."
OTM, while it's true that Galway didn't create one goal scoring chance in the 2020 semi-final, I'd say you and many other Limerick folk were expecting the biggest challenge in 2021 to come from Galway. Instead it came from Waterford (and Tipp for a great half of a game). Going forward, I think that it will come Waterford.

Irked? I dunno that it didn't. Did you not see the interaction between Limk n Galway posters even here on HS in the aftermath of that game and for weeks afterwards? It got quite hot n heavy at times.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/09/2021 03:16:18    2377697

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's what I think about Derek McGrath. He is a good people person. They are two people who may not be with us today only for the intervention of Derek in their lives. Anyone who has played for him think a lot of him. I would not be as positive about his reading of the game. You have to be able to do this on the run never mind two weeks ahead of the game. I honestly thought he was better especially when he had the Waterford job. In 2017 it was his call to get Austin off not Conor. Austin is much more of a hurler but Conor is more of a man marker and at that time in my opinion was at his best. He would have curtailed Joe influence on the game. Then faith played its hand also. Austin was sick and should have not been playing. Derek could not do anything about that but the decision may have cost us an All-Ireland."
Waterford got two soft goals in that AI and we're lucky not to have been beaten by more. Galway had the stronger bench. Poor management and tactics cost Galway in 2012 and 2015, all water under the bridge now, Canuck.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 04/09/2021 09:02:29    2377703

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I am a limerick supporter for many years and I very much doubt if it irked us Limerick people that much. Kiely did put on a bit of a performance afterwards, but I would pay little heed to that. I would dispute slightly that Galway were the closest to Limerick last year as Waterford ran them to four points in last years Munster Final and also beat them in the League. Galway did run them very close. but unlike Waterford this year and last year, they hardly ever saw the white of Quaid's eyes and Eanna Murphy made a number of brilliant saves in the Galway goal."
The puckouts broke down also costing us 6 points. Losing Cathal mannion who was playing well at the time. Hegarty lucky to stay on the field and Joe injured. Game was level over the 70 minute mark so of course Galway were closest to limerick in the knockout stages of the championship and that's where it matters. But fair play limerick deserved it. I still think going well Galway and Waterford ar the only two teams capable of beating limerick.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 04/09/2021 09:22:09    2377709

Replying To Viking66:  "Have won more than ye both football and hurling lad!!"
How is that? Not that it matters. Limerick have ten senior All Irelands, six Under 21, Fourteen National Leagues and Three Minors to your six senior, one U21, Four National Leagues and three minor. Yes Wexford have five football to our two, although since no Sam McGuire Cup has come to either county is football is that big a deal?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 04/09/2021 10:21:25    2377715

Replying To Oldtourman:  "How is that? Not that it matters. Limerick have ten senior All Irelands, six Under 21, Fourteen National Leagues and Three Minors to your six senior, one U21, Four National Leagues and three minor. Yes Wexford have five football to our two, although since no Sam McGuire Cup has come to either county is football is that big a deal?"
Yer man is from Westmeath OTM.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 04/09/2021 13:04:44    2377734

Replying To Oldtourman:  "How is that? Not that it matters. Limerick have ten senior All Irelands, six Under 21, Fourteen National Leagues and Three Minors to your six senior, one U21, Four National Leagues and three minor. Yes Wexford have five football to our two, although since no Sam McGuire Cup has come to either county is football is that big a deal?"
Yer man is from Westmeath OTM.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 04/09/2021 13:04:53    2377735

Was he not referring to Westmeath? I dunno, sometimes all the posts (and that triumphant feeling) knock me out, too.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 04/09/2021 13:08:40    2377737

Replying To baire:  "Waterford got two soft goals in that AI and we're lucky not to have been beaten by more. Galway had the stronger bench. Poor management and tactics cost Galway in 2012 and 2015, all water under the bridge now, Canuck."
Yes Galway were better and deserved on the day. Small things often happen. With a minute to go Maurice Shanahan hit a screamer heading into the net. Hit his own man Tommy Ryan and went wide. Those are the breaks. All I would say is we could have one that one more than any the others with a full team and everyone healthy. However we did not and no begrudgery to Galway.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 04/09/2021 14:33:43    2377754