Hurling Managerial Merry Go Round

Replying To tiobraid:  "Cummins isn't anywhere near any kind of shortlist - and yes he has put the Sunday Game first all of time - i hope for his sake hes a better coach than commentator. Gleeson, Egan or Dunne are not suitable candidates either. There's been strong rumours of an outside manager the last few days which suggests Cahill had his mind made up before today or yesterday. Donoghue is supposedly in the running.
There are certainly not a list of names jumping out from inside the county. I'd imagine Maher now is the clear front runner and will be offered the job. Remains to be seen what he can do either."
How much actual coaching he was doing is very debatable to say the least.

Having read his book my view of him changed quite a bit. He can talk the talk but I would say he won't walk the walk.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 26/08/2021 14:39:11    2374987

Replying To oneoff:  "How much actual coaching he was doing is very debatable to say the least.

Having read his book my view of him changed quite a bit. He can talk the talk but I would say he won't walk the walk."
He has said recently he'd love to take on the tool job at some point but he has shown no desire to manage anyone in order to build up any kind of experience. He doesn't feel me with confidence and I'd be surprised if he ever got the role - he definitely has no chance this time anyway.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/08/2021 14:48:56    2374990

Definitely surprised Liam Cahill is staying. It must have been a hard decision not to go to his native county but shows a lot of integrity. What ever those players have done so far for him will increase two fold and leaves us in a better position to tackle the might of Limerick (and others).

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/08/2021 14:56:59    2374994

Definitely surprised Liam Cahill is staying. It must have been a hard decision not to go to his native county but shows a lot of integrity. What ever those players have done so far for him will increase two fold and leaves us in a better position to tackle the might of Limerick (and others).

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/08/2021 15:15:31    2375002

Replying To Oldtourman:  "There you go- the Galway crowd will always blame somebody else and never face the fact that they were not good enough. They have a scandalous record in All Ireland Senior Finals, losing four of every five finals they were ever involved in. But there is always an excuse."
Annoying and all as that is, hard to argue with you Oltourman, our record in finals is absolutely shocking, and with no offence to Antrim, I'd be nervous were Galway facing Antrim in an All Ireland final. I also think it's utterly wrong to blame SON for Galway's demise this year, yes he made some strange decisions this year in our games against Dublin & Waterford, but at the end of the day the players let him down badly, and there needs to be a big clearout in Galway of a lot of these players who consistently fail to turn up in big games. Also when the Galway job was on offer two years ago, there were very few big names applying for the job, so whatever people's views on SON, he was the best of a bad lot by the looks of things. Finally if SON does go, I'd love to see someone like Edie Brennan get the job, although sadly he is not a teacher, and his job as a Garda would probably be unworkable were he to get the Galway job.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 26/08/2021 15:36:42    2375006

Replying To Oldtourman:  "There you go- the Galway crowd will always blame somebody else and never face the fact that they were not good enough. They have a scandalous record in All Ireland Senior Finals, losing four of every five finals they were ever involved in. But there is always an excuse."
I've attended all of those finals since 1979 and I agree with you - with the exception of 1990 .Galway were plenty good enough that day but were royally screwed. Lots of people forget how well they had to play that day to get into a winning position despite a series of baffling decisions against them.Until the day I die I'll believe that John Moore helped Cork to that All Ireland even if,I suppose,thats an excuse of sorts

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 26/08/2021 19:41:27    2375059

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "I've attended all of those finals since 1979 and I agree with you - with the exception of 1990 .Galway were plenty good enough that day but were royally screwed. Lots of people forget how well they had to play that day to get into a winning position despite a series of baffling decisions against them.Until the day I die I'll believe that John Moore helped Cork to that All Ireland even if,I suppose,thats an excuse of sorts"
thanks Utah. Galway are not the only ones. For years lads in my own county were at the same thing. I remember after the 1980 Final, Eamon Cregan, who had a great game that day, was asked by some reporter, if he felt Limerick were unlucky. His reply was succinct. 'not at all' he replied 'we were beaten by a better, we were not good enough'. He was right and every other day we were beaten it was because we were not good enough, despite what the moaners were spouting.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/08/2021 20:39:38    2375065

Replying To gilly1910:  "Annoying and all as that is, hard to argue with you Oltourman, our record in finals is absolutely shocking, and with no offence to Antrim, I'd be nervous were Galway facing Antrim in an All Ireland final. I also think it's utterly wrong to blame SON for Galway's demise this year, yes he made some strange decisions this year in our games against Dublin & Waterford, but at the end of the day the players let him down badly, and there needs to be a big clearout in Galway of a lot of these players who consistently fail to turn up in big games. Also when the Galway job was on offer two years ago, there were very few big names applying for the job, so whatever people's views on SON, he was the best of a bad lot by the looks of things. Finally if SON does go, I'd love to see someone like Edie Brennan get the job, although sadly he is not a teacher, and his job as a Garda would probably be unworkable were he to get the Galway job."
Thanks Gilly. See reply below to Utah. Best of luck to Galway. I hope ye take over soon like Limerick have now. Great encouragement to all the middle rank counties.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 26/08/2021 20:42:16    2375066

Replying To Canuck:  "Definitely surprised Liam Cahill is staying. It must have been a hard decision not to go to his native county but shows a lot of integrity. What ever those players have done so far for him will increase two fold and leaves us in a better position to tackle the might of Limerick (and others)."
I think it's very good news for Waterford, Canuck. I suspect there are many disappointed people in Tipperary, none more so than the lads who won underage All-Irelands under Cahill and who were largely ignored by Sheedy. I don't believe Sheedy was wrong to keep faith in great players like the Mahers, Noel McGrath and Callinan but that still left hime with plenty of scope to gradually introduce some younger players. Apart from Jake Morris, none of the younger lads seemed to get any regular playing time, even in the league.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 26/08/2021 22:41:51    2375108

One point about hurling management styles. At the top level it seems to be the manager who keeps the coolest head and makes the best use of the data available, who profits most. I think the Davy Fitz style is of little use any more, it causes too much distraction along the sidelines. I think Derek McGrath's style is too scientific, too complicated. The fact that Derek consistently predicted that the best team would lose, raises question marks over his judgement too.

If Liam Cahill takes a different approach with Waterford I think they are very well placed to move forward in 2022. They are an excellent team. Over the last three seasons Waterford have lost to Limerick in three finals and one semi final. They are not too far away and with a bit of thinking they could be a serious threat to winning Liam MacCarthy in 2022.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 27/08/2021 10:24:32    2375163

Replying To slayer:  "One point about hurling management styles. At the top level it seems to be the manager who keeps the coolest head and makes the best use of the data available, who profits most. I think the Davy Fitz style is of little use any more, it causes too much distraction along the sidelines. I think Derek McGrath's style is too scientific, too complicated. The fact that Derek consistently predicted that the best team would lose, raises question marks over his judgement too.

If Liam Cahill takes a different approach with Waterford I think they are very well placed to move forward in 2022. They are an excellent team. Over the last three seasons Waterford have lost to Limerick in three finals and one semi final. They are not too far away and with a bit of thinking they could be a serious threat to winning Liam MacCarthy in 2022."
Ha, ha, Derek was definitely 'overthinking' that 'prediction!!', and Cork on the verge of a potential 30 point whaling.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 27/08/2021 10:31:51    2375167

I suspect we will the ones to turn Limerick over. However that does not mean we will necessarily win the All-Ireland. That is why it is in a final I would want to do it. Having the tag of beaten Limerick and then having to finish the job would not suit us. In hind sight a 5 point and two 11point beatings from them does not look too bad now but no cigar. A league win which does not count for much also. Waterford know how to do it but have to get over the line and need all the pieces to fit. It is a tall order for anyone to overcome than finely tuned Limerick team. All you can do is admire.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 27/08/2021 15:47:36    2375240

I suspect we will the ones to turn Limerick over. However that does not mean we will necessarily win the All-Ireland. That is why it is in a final I would want to do it. Having the tag of beaten Limerick and then having to finish the job would not suit us. In hind sight a 5 point and two 11point beatings from them does not look too bad now but no cigar. A league win which does not count for much also. Waterford know how to do it but have to get over the line and need all the pieces to fit. It is a tall order for anyone to overcome than finely tuned Limerick team. All you can do is admire.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 27/08/2021 15:58:40    2375246

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Ha, ha, Derek was definitely 'overthinking' that 'prediction!!', and Cork on the verge of a potential 30 point whaling."
Wait for the next Derek McGrath article..'as the great Philospher Socrates said in his column in the Athens daily in 1050BC....' ect ect. God he has to be the worst predictor of matches in the media write now...' the precieved superiority of Limerick'....precieved...

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/08/2021 16:02:03    2375248

So one poster on a GAA forum constitutes a crowd now? Quite extravagant on the hyperbole too aren't you with 'the absolutely shocking' jibe. The vast majority of counties don't even to get to Senior All Ireland Finals anymore. Galway have done so in both codes in relatively recent times. Hate to think how you'd pronounce on Wicklow, Sligo, Laois, Carlow... the list goes on.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 27/08/2021 16:53:43    2375259

Replying To Maroonatic:  "So one poster on a GAA forum constitutes a crowd now? Quite extravagant on the hyperbole too aren't you with 'the absolutely shocking' jibe. The vast majority of counties don't even to get to Senior All Ireland Finals anymore. Galway have done so in both codes in relatively recent times. Hate to think how you'd pronounce on Wicklow, Sligo, Laois, Carlow... the list goes on."
Well I suppose I was a bit over the top, but with all the victories at Underage, wide ranging Club success at National Level and the frequency with which they qualify for All Ireland finals one would expect Galway to do better, in finals. I was not referring to football, where Galway are very successful. I do not comment on Carlow, because considering their small population, they do very well to field a fairly good team at hurling and football and Laois is much the same. As regards Wicklow, I think they should do far better that they do.
You should note that I also criticise people from my own county who did not always deal with defeat as they should have.
Anyway I wish Galway all the best and I hope some of those young men, who have overcome the 'cats' in so many under age games in recent years, will bring Galway back to All Ireland success in the not too distant. In the last nine years Limerick, Clare and Galway have won five All Irelands, hopefully the big three can be kept in their place for much of this decade.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 27/08/2021 18:20:00    2375273

Replying To bloodyban:  "Wait for the next Derek McGrath article..'as the great Philospher Socrates said in his column in the Athens daily in 1050BC....' ect ect. God he has to be the worst predictor of matches in the media write now...' the precieved superiority of Limerick'....precieved..."
Look I don't take any notice of punters in general and all ready said Derek's predictions were bad. However no need to go over board. He put his time and effort in. Had good success with college kids and took a bunch of young players on to the hurling scene and made them competitive. That is why top clubs and many counties would love his help. Anyone who played for him has the highest respect for him. Yes he over philosophies as that is his thing, but is that not better than the cursing, ranting, blaming and raving we see from others. I will stand up for my county man where deserved. Do I want him as our manager at present? No but if no one else was available a few counties could do worse including Waterford. My believe is if he is interested in managing again he needs to re invent himself. He is smart and educated enough do that. Take the Waterford minors or under 20 and do something with them.
I love what has been achieved in Limerick but ye are all not perfect either.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 27/08/2021 18:57:00    2375278

Would Colm Bonnar be a good fit for the Tipperary job?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/08/2021 01:07:35    2375348

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Would Colm Bonnar be a good fit for the Tipperary job?"
He hasn't really proven himself anywhere near capable enough. And he's around a long time now without setting the hurling managerial world alight.
A perfect fit would be a Davy Fitz and a Babs Keating in a manger/coaching role..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 28/08/2021 12:16:40    2375389

Replying To bloodyban:  "He hasn't really proven himself anywhere near capable enough. And he's around a long time now without setting the hurling managerial world alight.
A perfect fit would be a Davy Fitz and a Babs Keating in a manger/coaching role.."
Two questions (1) Do you really thing modern day Tipp people would want either of those gentlemen, in those roles, at the present time. and (2) have you really the best interests of Tipperary Hurling at heart, when you propose those two candidates?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 28/08/2021 12:56:26    2375399