Tyrone Vs Donegal

Well done to Tyrone, better team on the day although I have to say I am very proud of how our lads battled, the missed Langan free to put us within 1 seemed to completely sap the energy out of the lads and that was it then, they battled very well before that and that was with McBrearty and McHugh well shackled. I think Bonner will call it a day as he was 50/50 on coming back this year, the man owes nothing to Donegal football and brought great hope again after some years of very poor football. I am just disappointed we couldn't get to another Ulster decider.

In the end thankfully I don't think the referee impacted the result however I feel like we say this every year, how is that man still one of the top refs in the country. I know it is an absolutely thankless job but I don't think anybody would have been walking away from that match today thinking the ref did a good job.

- Foul on McGee that caused the injury, in my view Tyrone man led with the feet, potential trip/black card
- Donegal penalty was a yellow card for the Tyrone man and a free in, it was never in a million years a black and a penalty, crazy decision
- Michael Langan shouldered in the chest as he went to take a shot in the first half, no foul?
- McGeary black card was never a black and the game was in the melting pot at that point, could have been a huge call
- Few big hits off the ball stopping runners from both sides went unpunished? While on the flip side, he gave some unbelievably soft fouls where a defenders hand would just be laid on an attacker - free in for a "pull" was his gesture, dhia sabháil.

It's arguable to say the only thing the man got right was Murphy's red card, and even then he incorrectly gave a black card for the 2nd foul! Unbelievable stuff, as I said I think Tyrone were deserved winners regardless but I had my hair torn out with some of those decisions.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/07/2021 18:12:04    2361180

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Well done Tyrone. Very accurate and kicked brilliantly throughout. Smart fouling in the last 15 minutes. Should beat Monaghan for me.

The penalty miss was huge for us. 5 points up and that's a different game. Clinical teams take those chances. Murphy shouldn't have started as clearly unfit. Some excellent performances for us and battled hard with 14 men for so long. Bonner a great servant but the soft centre remains, a step-up needed now in terms of management quality or progress will be difficult."
Smart fouling?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/07/2021 18:22:41    2361195

No stopping this Tyrone team !

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/07/2021 18:29:57    2361205

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Smart fouling?"
There is always an aspect of smart fouling in every game but I thought the Mcquillan game some soft frees towards the end for Donegal. Apparently now when a player runs towards you, you have to move out of the way or risk getting a black card.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 18/07/2021 18:30:36    2361208

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Smart fouling?"
Yes, fouling constantly in the same central area on the 40 in the final 15 minutes to avoid goal chances. You were watching the game yeah? I was there. Best team won but it did take place.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 18/07/2021 18:30:55    2361209

Does Morgan normally come so far from goal? Donegal had a couple of opportunities in second half with Brennan and Thompson carrying into attack after kick outs and the goal was empty with Morgan running back, if their heads were up they had a long but good chance of knocking into into the net.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 18/07/2021 18:30:56    2361210

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Fantastic win for Tyrone. Hard luck Donegal.

Tyrone better team. We bottled up Paddy McB and McHugh. Murphy wasnt playing well before red card. O'Donnell marked out of it as well.

Tyrone's bench very strong. McKenna, McShane, Canavan not fit to start which I was concerned about. Didn't matter.

McGeary excellent. Meyler I thought was excellent again.

Bonnet gone I'd say. Another huge defeat for Donegal.

Dare I say…….Jim McGuiness to come back??"
Comhghairdeas Fridge, should be a cracker against Monaghan, whoever comes out will be well drilled for Kerry anyway

Jim seems to have his heart set on other things and that's his right. I think many in Donegal feel we are missing a bit of steel/edge that Jim may bring to the defence. I think Bonner may step away himself, he has been a great servant to Donegal GAA

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/07/2021 18:31:07    2361211

Time for Rochford to take over the Reins

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 18/07/2021 18:41:26    2361231

Firstly, well done to Tyrone on their hard fought victory. There's never much between the two teams and I felt that they were due a win against us. Little moments within these tight games often make a huge difference. The ten minute spell before half time illustrated that perfectly today. If the penalty goes in, Donegal go 5 points up and can afford to sit back and counter.

Instead Tyrone not only turn the scoreboard around in their favour, but Donegal lose their talisman.

Dinegal battled gamely in the heat and made a game of it. But if Tyrone were more clinical it could have been a lot worse for us.

Tyrone deserving winners.

The final will be a cracker. Monaghan continue to impress. They will need no extra motivation to win this Ulster title for obvious reasons. But Tyrone will also learn and improve after today.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 18/07/2021 18:44:12    2361234

Replying To joeteor:  "Does Morgan normally come so far from goal? Donegal had a couple of opportunities in second half with Brennan and Thompson carrying into attack after kick outs and the goal was empty with Morgan running back, if their heads were up they had a long but good chance of knocking into into the net."
It was mentioned by McConville prior to throw-in that he had done it the week before, I think it is to stop the big kick over the top of the press that Galligan could do for Cavan and obviously Patton loves to do as well. Have to say it was effective there today, I think Patton only had maybe one that went over the press all game?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/07/2021 18:47:41    2361241

Replying To TYE08:  "There is always an aspect of smart fouling in every game but I thought the Mcquillan game some soft frees towards the end for Donegal. Apparently now when a player runs towards you, you have to move out of the way or risk getting a black card."
I think you have to put in a legitimate tackle. Those were not hence the frees to avoid any more McGonagle style openings.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 18/07/2021 18:49:00    2361243

Replying To JoeSoap:  "It was mentioned by McConville prior to throw-in that he had done it the week before, I think it is to stop the big kick over the top of the press that Galligan could do for Cavan and obviously Patton loves to do as well. Have to say it was effective there today, I think Patton only had maybe one that went over the press all game?"
Seems very risky to me, if I could spot it on the TV the opponent backrooms will have their lads well primed to have their heads up if they get clean ball off the kick out.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 18/07/2021 18:54:36    2361251

I think Donegal were the better team, albeit with 14. Lots of great individuals on the Tyrone team. Terrific frees …
Am sure you will bring home the Anglo Celt cup - the tails up in Throne..

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/07/2021 18:57:23    2361255

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Well done to Tyrone, better team on the day although I have to say I am very proud of how our lads battled, the missed Langan free to put us within 1 seemed to completely sap the energy out of the lads and that was it then, they battled very well before that and that was with McBrearty and McHugh well shackled. I think Bonner will call it a day as he was 50/50 on coming back this year, the man owes nothing to Donegal football and brought great hope again after some years of very poor football. I am just disappointed we couldn't get to another Ulster decider.

In the end thankfully I don't think the referee impacted the result however I feel like we say this every year, how is that man still one of the top refs in the country. I know it is an absolutely thankless job but I don't think anybody would have been walking away from that match today thinking the ref did a good job.

- Foul on McGee that caused the injury, in my view Tyrone man led with the feet, potential trip/black card
- Donegal penalty was a yellow card for the Tyrone man and a free in, it was never in a million years a black and a penalty, crazy decision
- Michael Langan shouldered in the chest as he went to take a shot in the first half, no foul?
- McGeary black card was never a black and the game was in the melting pot at that point, could have been a huge call
- Few big hits off the ball stopping runners from both sides went unpunished? While on the flip side, he gave some unbelievably soft fouls where a defenders hand would just be laid on an attacker - free in for a "pull" was his gesture, dhia sabháil.

It's arguable to say the only thing the man got right was Murphy's red card, and even then he incorrectly gave a black card for the 2nd foul! Unbelievable stuff, as I said I think Tyrone were deserved winners regardless but I had my hair torn out with some of those decisions."
Absolutely agree Joe plus the extra time on top of injury time in the first half. It resulted in Tyrone going in at HT a point. The standard of reffing at the top level is shocking. As shocking as McStay gushing over McQuillan's performance.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/07/2021 18:58:08    2361257

Replying To BeJasus:  "Time for Rochford to take over the Reins"
I doubt that he has said himself he is more a coach than a manager especially at that level. Besides I think he has been manager in all but name the last couple of years with Declan handling the media duties. I think if Bonner goes so will Rochford.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/07/2021 19:02:40    2361264

Well done Tyrone.
However to play from the 27min to the 66(including 5 added time in first half) 40 mins and to only win that period by a single point is woeful.
With Mc Gee injured and a not fit Mc Menamin on, I can't seem to figure it out. Tyrone pulled away when we tired with 14, albeit they also had 14.

Credit to the donegal players who battled well and some vgood performances. Ban and Langan the standouts from our POV.

The lack of fit defenders cost us and its a worry with nothing coming through.

We were open in the second half which was to be expected with a man down. We needed to commit numbers forward and as a result we left 2 on 2 inside at times. Donnelly and Mc Curry were very good and every time Tyrone attacked we looked in danger. Mainly due to the fact "we couldn't set up" and it was man on man, especially when Mc Fadden went off.

Disappointed, but content in how we performed when up against it.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 18/07/2021 19:22:54    2361287

Best team won. Donegal have some good players but are unbelievably over rated. Few deluded fans laughed at me a few weeks ago when I said Tyrone had better team.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 18/07/2021 19:32:31    2361293

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Best team won. Donegal have some good players but are unbelievably over rated. Few deluded fans laughed at me a few weeks ago when I said Tyrone had better team."
Deluded. We won the previous four games against them in league and championship. Best team won on the day. Murphy penalty and sending off a major bearing.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 18/07/2021 19:46:15    2361302

Replying To panamasam:  "Absolutely agree Joe plus the extra time on top of injury time in the first half. It resulted in Tyrone going in at HT a point. The standard of reffing at the top level is shocking. As shocking as McStay gushing over McQuillan's performance."
Everything summed up exactly as I thought by both of you. Been saying it for years that standard of refs need to increase starting by stop changing the bloody rules. One wrong ref call can end a teams entire season including the back room staff. It's madness to think that months of training, gym work etc can be for nothing due to an error from a ref.

Not having a go at the refs but the professional level gaa is getting to the ref needs help to make the right decision.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 18/07/2021 19:48:28    2361304

Impressed by tyrone today. Nice blend of defence and attack. The forward options are v strong maybe the best array of talent they have had in years. Looking forward to the final.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 18/07/2021 19:53:08    2361308