Tyrone Vs Donegal

Replying To essmac:  "Classic from Bonner:

"Without having had a chance to look at it, to me it wasn't a sending-off"

How can you make up your mind without even having seen it?

Didn't see Murphy's first yellow, but the second booking was clear cut. He could have broke the guy's shin - an experienced player knows that a wild swing like that is likely to do damage, and it was a yellow - at least - all day long. You could make a case certainly for it being a second yellow instead of a black, but either way it's a sending off.

As for McCann's injury late one - he was hit in the solar plexus area, and you could see him grimacing on the TV close up. RTÉ, who I increasingly struggle to listen to, such is the constant low-level bias, tried to suggest it wasn't a strike, instead, it was something they described as "a hand went in and away quickly".

Bit like saying it's not a headbuttt, his head just "went in and away quickly" lol"
Couldn't believe how bad bonner sounded. I didn't see it but it wasnt a sending off. Trying to hide his poor managment of murphy when he started him against down.

I haven't watched a game on RTE in a while.far better analysis on BBC 2 or sky. Usual crap from rte. On that basis murphy foot went in and away again very quick so it wasnt a foul lol.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 19/07/2021 12:48:54    2361641

Tyrone won.
The beauty of knockout championship.
Hard as nails McCann went down like a pansey when given a bitch slap.
GAA teams of modern age need to forget egos , ditch the glory year(s) as in Donegals McGuinness years, he's gone, Derry 1993 one year wonder, held back by Colemans ghost and his living legends team. How come Kerry abd Dublin churn out successful teams year in year out ?
Murphy was getting second booking big deal it happens in big matches.
The final will be a cracker. Tyrone to win.

IssacBall (Derry) - Posts: 51 - 19/07/2021 12:51:48    2361643

I've been guilty myself of overestimating our All Ireland credentials in recent years. At times we can look like the real deal and I think it's fair to say that we have a lot of talent within our ranks. But there is something intangible missing in the current squad. Call it whatever you want - hunger, lack of intensity, softness. We definitely lack the physical & mental edge that we were renowned for under McGuinness.

There was a time when the opposition wouldn't dare take the ball into contact with us. Nowadays we are very easily got at and I think it might be the case that the management (whomever it may be in 2022) need to get back to brass tacks and make us difficult to beat & horrible to play against again. I'm not advocating a return to blanket defense by the way. Simply that we try to regain that reputation as a team of substance and meanness.

First things first - we need to unearth out and out defenders. Boys whose first thoughts are making their direct opponent's life a complete misery. Like McKaigue and McNamee did to Paddy McBrearty in the last fortnight, Build a solid foundation again at the back and go from there.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2021 13:09:21    2361670

Tyrone reality checks!

Tyrone still haven't got an All Ireland standard midfield paring - actually no where near good enough. Do we play McKenna in midfield?

Donegal waltzed in for a goal - Monaghan will be licking their lips.

Morgan is very questionable - as someone said earlier he could have been lobbed several times yesterday - just stay in your goal Niall - that's your job.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 19/07/2021 13:23:40    2361687

Mc Cann this time got a belt. I've no doubt as it happened in front of me. McKernan was lucky on the Neil Mc Gee incident but thats all over now.

We're not a top 4 team but we're still a top 8 team. That's about it and can see that being our level for a few years. We haven't got the balance right yet between defence and attack not have we the grit as the back required with Tyrone looking like scoring from every posession yesterday. Hopefully we can get back to a top 4 team and we should in the next 3-5 years.

Tyrone need to be careful and not get too excited yet by beating us either. With a man less yesterday we still looked to be competitive and when we ran at your defence there was gaps there. Also the minimal impact of Mc Shane and Mc Kenna from the bench yesterday would be a concern going forward. Mattie Donelly, Mc Curry and your wing half forwards were the difference. All were excellent.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 19/07/2021 13:34:07    2361697

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Tyrone are 3 points up, 69th minute, nothing on ahead of him, drops to the ground and pretends to be injured to waste a minute or two, clear as day to me what he done, watch it back and tell me I'm wrong,
I can't stand this feigning injury, everyone in the country was on about Sterling diving for the penalty against Denmark in the Euros, it's cheating and so is this,
McCann's partner Michael McKernan also got away with deliberately taking Neil McGee out of the game yesterday, how it wasn't picked up by the ref or the players near to it is beyond me,
watch the incident back."
Not agreeing or disagreeing but all teams do it. Murphy penalty incident yesterday, Donegal player tackled on forearm but holds his head on the ground. All players make the most of tackles but what got on my wick was Mc Keenan waving looking a card for Murphy tackle. Can't stand that, if he wants to ref go and ref, Murphy was unlucky, he tried to pull out of tackle but it was too late.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2298 - 19/07/2021 13:36:48    2361700

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I've been guilty myself of overestimating our All Ireland credentials in recent years. At times we can look like the real deal and I think it's fair to say that we have a lot of talent within our ranks. But there is something intangible missing in the current squad. Call it whatever you want - hunger, lack of intensity, softness. We definitely lack the physical & mental edge that we were renowned for under McGuinness.

There was a time when the opposition wouldn't dare take the ball into contact with us. Nowadays we are very easily got at and I think it might be the case that the management (whomever it may be in 2022) need to get back to brass tacks and make us difficult to beat & horrible to play against again. I'm not advocating a return to blanket defense by the way. Simply that we try to regain that reputation as a team of substance and meanness.

First things first - we need to unearth out and out defenders. Boys whose first thoughts are making their direct opponent's life a complete misery. Like McKaigue and McNamee did to Paddy McBrearty in the last fortnight, Build a solid foundation again at the back and go from there."
100% nailed on analysis of where we need to be.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1416 - 19/07/2021 15:13:08    2361738

Replying To Saynothing:  "Not agreeing or disagreeing but all teams do it. Murphy penalty incident yesterday, Donegal player tackled on forearm but holds his head on the ground. All players make the most of tackles but what got on my wick was Mc Keenan waving looking a card for Murphy tackle. Can't stand that, if he wants to ref go and ref, Murphy was unlucky, he tried to pull out of tackle but it was too late."
Don't think Murphy was unlucky at all, He was lucky he didn't get a straight red for the lazy/late kick which he was black carded for. Bonner talking some spray saying it wasn't a sending off

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1207 - 19/07/2021 15:17:07    2361742

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I've been guilty myself of overestimating our All Ireland credentials in recent years. At times we can look like the real deal and I think it's fair to say that we have a lot of talent within our ranks. But there is something intangible missing in the current squad. Call it whatever you want - hunger, lack of intensity, softness. We definitely lack the physical & mental edge that we were renowned for under McGuinness.

First things first - we need to unearth out and out defenders. Boys whose first thoughts are making their direct opponent's life a complete misery. Like McKaigue and McNamee did to Paddy McBrearty in the last fortnight, Build a solid foundation again at the back and go from there."
Always enjoy your posts Lockjaw. I have been snapped at here many times over the last 3 years for suggesting Donegal were over rated. They have been over rated. And that's not me trolling or having a pop for the craic.

They have a brilliant keeper but defensively very weak. McFadden a good workhorse and midfield but not much more than that. Same for his partner this year. Murphy still carrying the show. Mcbrearty is simply not the man he was. Lots of injuries probably the main reason for that. Ryan McHugh the same. They need to get him back as a half forward with less marking responsibility because not for the first time in recent years he got a bit of a roasting. And he is a class, class player but again a bit like Keegan for my own county not as dominant as he was. It's not all doom and gloom still a few class players there, especially Langan who would make any team any day. I think they need to freshen it up, but not sure how? Jim is probably shrewd enough not to go back just yet. Realistically who is good enough from outside the county? Otherwise it's stick with Bonner or maybe give Rochford the job with full control.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 19/07/2021 15:20:10    2361745

Replying To Saynothing:  "Not agreeing or disagreeing but all teams do it. Murphy penalty incident yesterday, Donegal player tackled on forearm but holds his head on the ground. All players make the most of tackles but what got on my wick was Mc Keenan waving looking a card for Murphy tackle. Can't stand that, if he wants to ref go and ref, Murphy was unlucky, he tried to pull out of tackle but it was too late."
I noticed the Donegal lad holding his head when he got a pull on the arm as well. The other Donegal fan earlier said he witnessed McCann getting a belt as it happened right in front of him. Would take his word for it.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 19/07/2021 15:27:42    2361752

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Mc Cann this time got a belt. I've no doubt as it happened in front of me. McKernan was lucky on the Neil Mc Gee incident but thats all over now.

We're not a top 4 team but we're still a top 8 team. That's about it and can see that being our level for a few years. We haven't got the balance right yet between defence and attack not have we the grit as the back required with Tyrone looking like scoring from every posession yesterday. Hopefully we can get back to a top 4 team and we should in the next 3-5 years.

Tyrone need to be careful and not get too excited yet by beating us either. With a man less yesterday we still looked to be competitive and when we ran at your defence there was gaps there. Also the minimal impact of Mc Shane and Mc Kenna from the bench yesterday would be a concern going forward. Mattie Donelly, Mc Curry and your wing half forwards were the difference. All were excellent."
McKenna "minimal impact from bench"

I would disagree - hit a wonderful score and set one up on a plate for McCurry after intercepting a dangerous Donegal attack.

Personally i though he a big impact and should start for either Kennedy or Kilpatrick in the final

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 19/07/2021 15:56:16    2361766

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Always enjoy your posts Lockjaw. I have been snapped at here many times over the last 3 years for suggesting Donegal were over rated. They have been over rated. And that's not me trolling or having a pop for the craic.

They have a brilliant keeper but defensively very weak. McFadden a good workhorse and midfield but not much more than that. Same for his partner this year. Murphy still carrying the show. Mcbrearty is simply not the man he was. Lots of injuries probably the main reason for that. Ryan McHugh the same. They need to get him back as a half forward with less marking responsibility because not for the first time in recent years he got a bit of a roasting. And he is a class, class player but again a bit like Keegan for my own county not as dominant as he was. It's not all doom and gloom still a few class players there, especially Langan who would make any team any day. I think they need to freshen it up, but not sure how? Jim is probably shrewd enough not to go back just yet. Realistically who is good enough from outside the county? Otherwise it's stick with Bonner or maybe give Rochford the job with full control."
I think that we do have the nucleus of a decent 15, but we need to add more aggressiveness and dogs, for want of a better phrase. When people think back to the 2012 AI winning team it's probably names like Murphy, Lacey, McFadden and McGlynn that immediately spring to mind. But players like Eamon McGee, Anthony Thompson, Ryan Bradley, Paddy McGrath and Neil Gallagher were just as important. They brought the steel and doggedness to the equation. That isn't to say that they were just workhorses either. There was plenty of football in those lads too.

Looking at our starting 15 yesterday, how many of them would you classify as warriors? Neil McGee, McMenamin and McFadden-Ferry? Neil has been a stalwart but injuries and mileage are taking their toll. McMenamin isn't fully fit, and McFadden-Ferry is just back from a 6 month trip to the Lebanon with the army. We have plenty of nice footballers who if they're let play will do damage.

I think the key going forward will be to find the right balance. Every team is looking for the right balance in fairness. But I think that perhaps we've put a lot of our eggs in the attacking basket the past couple of years. The question is where do we get these players? There are two names that immediately spring to mind - Kieran Gillespie & Conor Morrison, but both have been cruelly beset by injuries so it is unfair to expect either man to simply rejoin the fold. Now that club action will take center stage in Donegal for the rest of the summer it will be imperative that some new options are unearthed.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2021 16:20:26    2361788

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think that we do have the nucleus of a decent 15, but we need to add more aggressiveness and dogs, for want of a better phrase. When people think back to the 2012 AI winning team it's probably names like Murphy, Lacey, McFadden and McGlynn that immediately spring to mind. But players like Eamon McGee, Anthony Thompson, Ryan Bradley, Paddy McGrath and Neil Gallagher were just as important. They brought the steel and doggedness to the equation. That isn't to say that they were just workhorses either. There was plenty of football in those lads too.

Looking at our starting 15 yesterday, how many of them would you classify as warriors? Neil McGee, McMenamin and McFadden-Ferry? Neil has been a stalwart but injuries and mileage are taking their toll. McMenamin isn't fully fit, and McFadden-Ferry is just back from a 6 month trip to the Lebanon with the army. We have plenty of nice footballers who if they're let play will do damage.

I think the key going forward will be to find the right balance. Every team is looking for the right balance in fairness. But I think that perhaps we've put a lot of our eggs in the attacking basket the past couple of years. The question is where do we get these players? There are two names that immediately spring to mind - Kieran Gillespie & Conor Morrison, but both have been cruelly beset by injuries so it is unfair to expect either man to simply rejoin the fold. Now that club action will take center stage in Donegal for the rest of the summer it will be imperative that some new options are unearthed."
I can't see Kieran Gillespie making it back to that level unfortunately.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 19/07/2021 17:11:43    2361825

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I can't see Kieran Gillespie making it back to that level unfortunately."
Yeah it's asking a lot of him to get back to the levels he was at around 2016. He was such a promising player and had all the attributes needed for county football. He does have something in his favour though in that he is a personal trainer, and keeps himself in serious shape. But the knee injuries he has suffered were cruel and desperately unfortunate. Such a pity because he was the most likely candidate to succeed his clubmate at #3 for club and county IMO.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2021 18:03:44    2361846

Yes, and Murphy took his punishment. Did not gesture, articulate, make life hard for the ref, throw the hands in the air, confront him etc. despite some goading etc. But he has always had an element of class and decency.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 114 - 19/07/2021 19:17:42    2361887

Replying To sam2008:  "Tyrone reality checks!

Tyrone still haven't got an All Ireland standard midfield paring - actually no where near good enough. Do we play McKenna in midfield?

Donegal waltzed in for a goal - Monaghan will be licking their lips.

Morgan is very questionable - as someone said earlier he could have been lobbed several times yesterday - just stay in your goal Niall - that's your job."
I would have thought Morgan learnt his lesson after the kerry game but apparently not. Couldnt believe how far off his line he was at times. Was waiting for one of the Donegal players to lob him

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 19/07/2021 22:37:02    2361964

Replying To TYE08:  "Couldn't believe how bad bonner sounded. I didn't see it but it wasnt a sending off. Trying to hide his poor managment of murphy when he started him against down.

I haven't watched a game on RTE in a while.far better analysis on BBC 2 or sky. Usual crap from rte. On that basis murphy foot went in and away again very quick so it wasnt a foul lol."
Yeah I agree Rte coverage is pppr, and I cannot stand the drivel of analysis,
Playing Michael when the man is clearly not fit was madness and bad management.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3201 - 19/07/2021 22:46:41    2361971

I know what you mean, Ciaran Thompson involved for that penalty incident, holding his head when he was not touched near the head at all, watching it back in his defence I think as he fell his neck kind of snapped back like a whiplash type thing so maybe that's why he grabs his head but it did look exaggerated alright, I hate that feigning injury that has crept into Gaelic football from soccer, fellas 'buying' frees as they call it is nothing but cheating,
all teams do it now I know, McQuillan isn't that great of a ref anymore it seems to me but it's a very difficult job for anyone with all the play acting going on.
Mckernan done Neil McGee as far I can see it was deliberate and should have been a straight red for him, then he's gesturing at the ref to book Michael for that mistimed kick he got black carded for? He has some neck on him I'll give him that.
IMO Michael Murphy should not have been playing, he is not fit and his timing was all off, he is like a bear with a sore paw. the man needs a rest. He owes Donegal nothing that's for sure, he's been carrying half that team around for years.
Anyway good luck in the final, we shall meet again and settle a few scores no doubt.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3201 - 19/07/2021 23:11:43    2361976

Good game , tyrone played the game on there terms ,really impressed on how they can get scores when they need to .. fair play to them... good final coming up,ulster football is unreal but I don't need to tell anybody this I'm sure ..

Theliveshow (Armagh) - Posts: 13 - 19/07/2021 23:18:22    2361979

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yeah I agree Rte coverage is pppr, and I cannot stand the drivel of analysis,
Playing Michael when the man is clearly not fit was madness and bad management."
Have to agree with you on the superior coverage by BBC NI . I tend to watch RTÉ for the sharper HD picture and record BBC for the analysis. The Ulster Championship should be left exclusively to BBC , something ironic about RTÉ opting to show the match with two Leinster semi finals in Croke Park with limited attendance . Ironic because the old panel used to compete for the the most comical insult to Ulster matches/teams' going from 'puke' , 'slugfest' , 'black death' , 'turkey' , 'borefest' 'as ugly as …' etc… they always made it clear they were watching under protest. To be fair they have improved a bit with some new panelist and a presenter who is in control.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 605 - 20/07/2021 10:27:55    2362038