Tyrone Vs Donegal

I dident see this happening today. I would have put my shirt on Donegal but Tyrone s new management can rest content tonight as they got the game plan and match ups perfect. They obviously didn't put any emphasis on the Kerry game or else "sold a dummy there "Its good to see them on the way up again. We will be well ready for them in the Ulster final though and it should be a cracker.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/07/2021 19:53:35    2361309

I agree with the comments about the refereeing. With the exception of the Murphy (unfortunate but correct) sending off all the other big calls were wrong. It didn't affect the result but that is through luck.

Both black cards Tyrone got were wrong. The penalty was wrong. Burns in the second half performed a perfect shoulder tackle and he gave a free in anyway. In the first half the same player stopped a Donegal attack with the foul and that one wasn't given.

The standard of refereeing has to be improved significantly.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 18/07/2021 19:56:45    2361319

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Best team won. Donegal have some good players but are unbelievably over rated. Few deluded fans laughed at me a few weeks ago when I said Tyrone had better team."
Donegal fan here, congratulations to Tyrone on their deserved win, no one I know in Donegal was expecting anything other than the usual massive game with our north west rivals. These games can always go either way, it was Tyrone's day today should be a very good Ulster final in 2 weeks.

I don't know what this Roscommon man is on about??

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 18/07/2021 20:03:35    2361325

i see alot of people go from one extreme to the next on here ...from hyping up a team to totally condemning them when they lose which i think is incredibly unfair on the players who left it all on the field today
good game i thought few decisions on both sides gone wrong ..for me had murphy not have gotten red carded we could be looking at a different result
players done well to keep it so tight for so long ..donegal seem to lack intensity in defense but for me i much rather look at the style they play now as opposed to the rory gallagher era
all the best to tyrone going forward though heres hoping an ulster team can win even if it is a big ask

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 18/07/2021 20:05:23    2361326

Great Tyrone performance. Mc Geary was superb as was Mc Kenna, Mc Curry, Donnelly and others. Great management by Feargal and Brian particularly that they are changing things up from game to game which makes it tough for the opposition management to predict.

Patton was very good for Donegal. I'd guess Mc Hugh will be Donegal manager next season and try to get a few seasons with Murphy still around.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 18/07/2021 20:10:00    2361328

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Well done to Tyrone, better team on the day although I have to say I am very proud of how our lads battled, the missed Langan free to put us within 1 seemed to completely sap the energy out of the lads and that was it then, they battled very well before that and that was with McBrearty and McHugh well shackled. I think Bonner will call it a day as he was 50/50 on coming back this year, the man owes nothing to Donegal football and brought great hope again after some years of very poor football. I am just disappointed we couldn't get to another Ulster decider.

In the end thankfully I don't think the referee impacted the result however I feel like we say this every year, how is that man still one of the top refs in the country. I know it is an absolutely thankless job but I don't think anybody would have been walking away from that match today thinking the ref did a good job.

- Foul on McGee that caused the injury, in my view Tyrone man led with the feet, potential trip/black card
- Donegal penalty was a yellow card for the Tyrone man and a free in, it was never in a million years a black and a penalty, crazy decision
- Michael Langan shouldered in the chest as he went to take a shot in the first half, no foul?
- McGeary black card was never a black and the game was in the melting pot at that point, could have been a huge call
- Few big hits off the ball stopping runners from both sides went unpunished? While on the flip side, he gave some unbelievably soft fouls where a defenders hand would just be laid on an attacker - free in for a "pull" was his gesture, dhia sabháil.

It's arguable to say the only thing the man got right was Murphy's red card, and even then he incorrectly gave a black card for the 2nd foul! Unbelievable stuff, as I said I think Tyrone were deserved winners regardless but I had my hair torn out with some of those decisions."
Yes youre right, we'd obviously each see the decisions we didn't like, but some v strange calls alright - I made a list, and got bored, there were so many dodgy calls - any time I see him on the field, I get nervous, he's liable to do anything.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/07/2021 20:17:13    2361331

Some of my scribbles in second half, as I saw it in real time:

Terrible decision by ref. 

Tyrone guy threw to ground. Donegal get free out

Donegal kick out too short min 54

McQuillan is dreadful

No free - dreadful decision - guy fairly tackled and fell. No free

Another joke decision. It's not rugby.  You get frees now for charging with the ball and falling in a heap

Foul - that should have been a penalty.  He'd have gave it to Donegal. 64

Tiernan hit. RTE puzzled: "A hand went in and away quickly.". Isn't that what a strike is?!

Donegal guy dived forward after a small shove on chest

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/07/2021 20:23:28    2361332

Replying To essmac:  "Yes youre right, we'd obviously each see the decisions we didn't like, but some v strange calls alright - I made a list, and got bored, there were so many dodgy calls - any time I see him on the field, I get nervous, he's liable to do anything."
On behalf of all of Cavan, we're sorry.

The 2017 all ireland final aside, he'd ruin any game.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 18/07/2021 20:38:18    2361343

Well that's it for us for this year, losing Neil early on and then Michael was too much, Michael is no were near fit and I wouldn't have started him, not fair on the man because I know he'd bust a gut to play for Donegal, thought his first yellow was harsh but that's how it goes sometimes, don't know why we didn't start Mac Niallas, one of the most talented players in the country, maybe not one of Bonners favs I don't know,
on the game I thought it was never a penalty but if Michael sticks it away we might have kicked on, a blind man could see he wasn't fit, not himself at all, I put that down to weak management, same thing happened playing him against Down, the manager has to be strong enough to lay down the law, we seem to have management by consensus. Time for a change, if we don't get Jim back which I know is very unlikely I'd like to see us look outside the county for a good young up and coming manager with some fresh ideas and no baggage, we have a great pool of talent and more coming through, I think the future is bright for Donegal football still, hope that's not the last we see of the great Neil McGee, what a warrior, when you see Neil lying on the ground you know he's injured unlike the likes of Tiernan McCann, seen him at his old antics late on in the game to kill time, feigning injury really makes me sick, it has crept in from the soccer world and Tyrone have a few experts at it,
So now it's Monaghan v Tyrone final, hard to call but if I was having a bet on it I would be favouring Tyrone, when they have their best team on the pitch I think they'll beat Monaghan and will be better equipped to give Kerry a run for their money.
Hope it's a great Ulster final now, best of luck to both teams.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 18/07/2021 20:40:23    2361346

Replying To essmac:  "Yes youre right, we'd obviously each see the decisions we didn't like, but some v strange calls alright - I made a list, and got bored, there were so many dodgy calls - any time I see him on the field, I get nervous, he's liable to do anything."
That's it exactly, as you say you'll see the ones against your own team more than anything that's why I was careful in my post as I didn't want it to come off as sour grapes that I would be blaming McQuillan for losing, as I think Tyrone well deserved the win. But when you think of some of his calls that could have been the defining call, both black cards for Tyrone completely wrong, some missed black cards on both teams, I thought the shoulder on Bán second half was fair but the one first half on Langan as he shot was atrocious refereeing. The man hasn't a clue honest to god I hope we don't see him get another match this year as he will ruin it for some county, I've absolutely no doubt.

A good ref should be one you're barely thinking about, one that makes the big call that is needed when it's needed, but you're not walking away thinking he had a huge bearing on the match. If there's a red card there, give it, if there's a penalty, give it etc., but not walking away thinking "the ref had a massive influence on how that game ended up". Like I said previous I know it's a thankless job in many ways and they are under huge pressure and scrutiny, but some of those calls today there is just no excuse.

I think 2 refs on the pitch might help sometimes but then other times I think jesus would that just mean we'd have two of that buck today on to make twice as many bad decisions

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/07/2021 21:01:57    2361359

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well that's it for us for this year, losing Neil early on and then Michael was too much, Michael is no were near fit and I wouldn't have started him, not fair on the man because I know he'd bust a gut to play for Donegal, thought his first yellow was harsh but that's how it goes sometimes, don't know why we didn't start Mac Niallas, one of the most talented players in the country, maybe not one of Bonners favs I don't know,
on the game I thought it was never a penalty but if Michael sticks it away we might have kicked on, a blind man could see he wasn't fit, not himself at all, I put that down to weak management, same thing happened playing him against Down, the manager has to be strong enough to lay down the law, we seem to have management by consensus. Time for a change, if we don't get Jim back which I know is very unlikely I'd like to see us look outside the county for a good young up and coming manager with some fresh ideas and no baggage, we have a great pool of talent and more coming through, I think the future is bright for Donegal football still, hope that's not the last we see of the great Neil McGee, what a warrior, when you see Neil lying on the ground you know he's injured unlike the likes of Tiernan McCann, seen him at his old antics late on in the game to kill time, feigning injury really makes me sick, it has crept in from the soccer world and Tyrone have a few experts at it,
So now it's Monaghan v Tyrone final, hard to call but if I was having a bet on it I would be favouring Tyrone, when they have their best team on the pitch I think they'll beat Monaghan and will be better equipped to give Kerry a run for their money.
Hope it's a great Ulster final now, best of luck to both teams."
Regarding the McCann incident I gave him the benefit of the doubt this time as there was no reason to fake an injury as he was past the man and had a clear run in front of him. There wasn't really anything to gain from going down as it allowed Donegal to pull players back.

Totally agree any feigning injury should be stomped out.

TYE08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 18/07/2021 21:14:07    2361372

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well that's it for us for this year, losing Neil early on and then Michael was too much, Michael is no were near fit and I wouldn't have started him, not fair on the man because I know he'd bust a gut to play for Donegal, thought his first yellow was harsh but that's how it goes sometimes, don't know why we didn't start Mac Niallas, one of the most talented players in the country, maybe not one of Bonners favs I don't know,
Hope it's a great Ulster final now, best of luck to both teams."
Very gracious post until the McCann part. Complete tripe but il let that go.

Good luck to McGee if he leaves. Great player.

Odhan McN is a strange one, all the Donegal fans want he starting but Bonner doesn't pick him. Strikes me as the kind of guy who mightn't like the physical/defensive side of the modern game? Could be wrong.

Why is Jim McGuiness these days? He didn't get the Dundalk job he was linked to? Who does he manage?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/07/2021 06:29:15    2361481

The talk of Donegal as a top 3/4 team needs to stop at this stage. Massively overhyped!

When push comes to shove and it's a winner takes all championship game against a good side they far more often than not fall short.

I get the point Ulster is competitive but they haven't won these type of games against non ulster sides either since 2014. No Semi Final performance since 2014 either in all of the different championship formats that have been played in recent years. (back door, super 8's, now back to traditional provincial format)

Offtheball10 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 19/07/2021 09:46:18    2361525

Replying To Offtheball10:  "The talk of Donegal as a top 3/4 team needs to stop at this stage. Massively overhyped!

When push comes to shove and it's a winner takes all championship game against a good side they far more often than not fall short.

I get the point Ulster is competitive but they haven't won these type of games against non ulster sides either since 2014. No Semi Final performance since 2014 either in all of the different championship formats that have been played in recent years. (back door, super 8's, now back to traditional provincial format)"
Ya hard to disagree but I think you'll find that the majority of knowledgeable Donegal posters here would acknowledge that there certainly is a mental softness issue. However I don't think yesterday was a day it was exposed. The lads performed admirably and really stuck at it until the last few minutes.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 19/07/2021 10:32:07    2361537

Classic from Bonner:

"Without having had a chance to look at it, to me it wasn't a sending-off"

How can you make up your mind without even having seen it?

Didn't see Murphy's first yellow, but the second booking was clear cut. He could have broke the guy's shin - an experienced player knows that a wild swing like that is likely to do damage, and it was a yellow - at least - all day long. You could make a case certainly for it being a second yellow instead of a black, but either way it's a sending off.

As for McCann's injury late one - he was hit in the solar plexus area, and you could see him grimacing on the TV close up. RTÉ, who I increasingly struggle to listen to, such is the constant low-level bias, tried to suggest it wasn't a strike, instead, it was something they described as "a hand went in and away quickly".

Bit like saying it's not a headbuttt, his head just "went in and away quickly" lol

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 19/07/2021 11:20:57    2361565

Replying To Offtheball10:  "The talk of Donegal as a top 3/4 team needs to stop at this stage. Massively overhyped!

I get the point Ulster is competitive but they haven't won these type of games against non ulster sides either since 2014. No Semi Final performance since 2014 either in all of the different championship formats that have been played in recent years. (back door, super 8's, now back to traditional provincial format)"
Careful the 3 or 4 trolls will be out for you!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 19/07/2021 11:21:36    2361566

Replying To TYE08:  "Regarding the McCann incident I gave him the benefit of the doubt this time as there was no reason to fake an injury as he was past the man and had a clear run in front of him. There wasn't really anything to gain from going down as it allowed Donegal to pull players back.

Totally agree any feigning injury should be stomped out."
Tyrone are 3 points up, 69th minute, nothing on ahead of him, drops to the ground and pretends to be injured to waste a minute or two, clear as day to me what he done, watch it back and tell me I'm wrong,
I can't stand this feigning injury, everyone in the country was on about Sterling diving for the penalty against Denmark in the Euros, it's cheating and so is this,
McCann's partner Michael McKernan also got away with deliberately taking Neil McGee out of the game yesterday, how it wasn't picked up by the ref or the players near to it is beyond me,
watch the incident back.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 19/07/2021 11:28:52    2361576

Donegal's peak was 2011 to 2014, if people are honest whilst Dublin have dominated football as a whole; Ulster counties haven't won a big semi final outside of beating another Ulster side in a number of years. Donegal, Monaghan and Tyrone have mainly handed Ulster honours back amongst themselves but as a province haven't made much inroads. Mayo and Kerry both drew All Ireland Final's against Dublin so other provinces have to some extent competed, so I think your post could have been about any of the Ulster teams.

I do think Ulster is heading into another strong era, the quality and potential of their teams look very promising, I wouldn't know enough about Donegal football to make a comment on them continuing to compete at the higher level of Ulster football and beyond, the province is certainly about to get a lot stronger than it's been. To me Donegal currently look a team that are tired but time will tell, if there is another Ulster title there, it looks unlikely they'll compete for an All Ireland with the current team let alone if some retire as you're correct they haven't been anywhere near that level since 2014.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/07/2021 11:42:52    2361587

Hard luck our lads. Congrats tyrone.

2bh, I thought that we were lucky to beat derry. We showed good character to come back in our last 3 games, twice to draw and the last one to win by a single point.

Tyrone were a bridge too far.

I think that we could analyse this to death, but the reality is that the result here has as much to do with tyrone's improvement as it has with our loss. Talking about 14 v 15, the ref etc is not going to change the fact that tyrone are a bit better than us this year. I liked the way we stayed in the game despite being at a numerical disadvantage. Tyrone will do well to beat Monaghan, but they have a really good record in ulster finals, so you could say the opposite, that monaghan have their work cut out for them to beat tyrone.

Give Bonner another chance. He has done and is doing well with our lads.

We just have to realise that ulster is all of a sudden a lot more competitive and winning all the time is not going to be as easy, if at all possible, for all teams involved.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/07/2021 12:06:31    2361609

What is the average age of that Donegal team?

Obviously time is getting short for McGee and Murphy but the rest are not even in their Prime yet.

Someone mentioned McBrearty being finished but the man is only 27. Other experienced players are Hugh Mcfaddan and Ryan McHugh both around 27 too.

Then there are a good number around the 24/25 mark.

I honestly believe with the right backroom setup and a few additional players (Defenders) we are on the correct path.

I know you cant always replicate the past but being honest we were in a much worse position in 2010 and people were berating players like Colm McFadden and others after that game against Armagh and look how that turned out.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/07/2021 12:48:42    2361639