2021 Hurling Championship

As far as All-Ireland competitions go, that was as one-sided an event as you can imagine, but it must have been some buzz for the Treaty fans! Pure champagne hurling from their boys today.

Poor tactics from Cork who seemed to confuse the small-ball for the big-ball for all the work they made out of moving the sliothar up the field. I thought when they managed to respond with a goal of their own that we might have a game on our hands but in truth it was one-way traffic.

Congrats Limerick, that's one hell of a team.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 22/08/2021 19:57:40    2373957

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The only poster that mentioned JP and money was yourself and you are a Dub. This thread is about hurling and Limerick were majestic."
Thank both Mick and Realdub. I loved so much to see my late father's county perform like that. It was complete magic. Oh how I wish I were in the pubs in Limerick tonight, flooring pints of fine porter to bate the band. Alas! But thanks fellows, and let's leave the sponsorship issue for another day, another forum (even though I am well aware that such mentality lurks around the place).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 22/08/2021 20:32:18    2373962

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The only poster that mentioned JP and money was yourself and you are a Dub. This thread is about hurling and Limerick were majestic."
Ah Mick give it up, you know exactly who I'm having a crack at, and it ain't you. Don't feel you have to stand up for them.

Superb from Limerick obviously.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 22/08/2021 20:41:28    2373965

Replying To katser:  "Hard luck Cork, next year try letting the ball off quicker instead of taking too much out of it with the stick and learn how to mark your man tighter."
How would you like a signed Limerick jersey?!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 22/08/2021 20:57:16    2373971

Replying To skillet:  "Privileged to be here and witness the greatest Limerick team ever.. I don't care if it was a boring second half..we were awesome
.I've seen enough heart break supporting Limerick to last a lifetime.. Days like this won't be for ever so gonna enjoy them.
Luimneach Abu."
It was not boring. Those inter link passes were a joy to watch even when the game was out of reach. This is what makes the sport great that those passes even out of defence are moving the ball forward quickly with intent to attack and score. Repeated performances over again will make Limerick very difficult to turn over. I know everyone has an opinion on who will win. However I was surprised that Derek McGrath as a former team manager could seriously pick Cork looking at the physical strength of Limerick, strength on every line on the field, level of fitness, cohesion and a bench that would fill most teams. I would be confident we would beat this Cork team. I would not be confident of beating them in a year or two but neither can I see them turn Limerick over for a few years. If Waterford had all their players available we would do well to get with 5 points of them. That was last year's Munster final and they have kick up another gear.
Congrats to Limerick. This is their day and thanks for the entertainment provided to us all. Cork are stung but will rise to take revenge on the rest of us.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/08/2021 21:03:19    2373972

Replying To realdub:  "Cork won't handle that scoreline too well. Some whipping and congrats to Limerick, again.
Don't mind a few of the Kerry lads when they credit JP McManus with the win."
LOL. Limerick were fantastic. I wonder will the correspondent in Brazil be waxing lyrical about a financially doped Limerick now. I doubt it. :).

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2021 21:07:11    2373975

Replying To festinog:  "As far as All-Ireland competitions go, that was as one-sided an event as you can imagine, but it must have been some buzz for the Treaty fans! Pure champagne hurling from their boys today.

Poor tactics from Cork who seemed to confuse the small-ball for the big-ball for all the work they made out of moving the sliothar up the field. I thought when they managed to respond with a goal of their own that we might have a game on our hands but in truth it was one-way traffic.

Congrats Limerick, that's one hell of a team."
I mentioned it earlier, Cork expended so much energy trying to tip-tap the ball even as far as the halfway line, that even on the odd occasion they got a point or two from it, it was hardly worth the effort! It looked like they were passing it sideways and backwards just for the sake of it. Limerick showed what proper "possession hurling", or whatever you want to call it, should be played.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/08/2021 21:07:36    2373976

Hearty congratulations to Limerick, for about 3/4 of the game a powerful, controlled, skilful display. Cork are not a bad side and will have their time, but Limerick were off the scale. No one could live with them. Delighted for them as they have seen their share of bad days but have got all the ingredients for success right. Decent supporters to boot. Also not easy when operating in the shadow of Munster rugby over the past decade or two.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 22/08/2021 21:07:44    2373977

Replying To realdub:  "Ah Mick give it up, you know exactly who I'm having a crack at, and it ain't you. Don't feel you have to stand up for them.

Superb from Limerick obviously."
I know that Realdub I'm winding you lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 22/08/2021 21:21:37    2373983

Replying To realdub:  "Ah Mick give it up, you know exactly who I'm having a crack at, and it ain't you. Don't feel you have to stand up for them.

Superb from Limerick obviously."
I know that Realdub I'm winding you lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 22/08/2021 21:21:38    2373984

Replying To Leftpeg1:  "Well thats the cockiest post I've seen in a while. Lucky Limerick players and management don't have that attitude or they'd be no where near a final."
Well leftpeg 1, i wasn't trying to be cocky. Just trying to call it as i saw it ...

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 22/08/2021 21:36:22    2373991

Replying To ballydalane:  "I mentioned it earlier, Cork expended so much energy trying to tip-tap the ball even as far as the halfway line, that even on the odd occasion they got a point or two from it, it was hardly worth the effort! It looked like they were passing it sideways and backwards just for the sake of it. Limerick showed what proper "possession hurling", or whatever you want to call it, should be played."
So you did! And I couldn't agree more, fast direct, route-one, hurling. This short-passing nonsense spoke of a team that didn't have confidence in itself to win possession or first touch on long-balls, and if you can't do that, you've no business being in an AI final.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 22/08/2021 21:37:52    2373992

Replying To Jackeen:  "And so you should. Fantastic team. I love watching them play. Congratulations!!"
Well, thank you... Sitting in supermacs on O Connell St at the moment, green jerseys everywhere and to be honest wondering if that was actually real. For a long time didn't think I'd ever see Limerick win an all ireland let alone like that.. Great days.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 22/08/2021 21:49:55    2373995

Wow it was mind blowing watching that performance..limerick scored 3-32 and missed 2 more clear goal scoring chances as well as some terrible wides in 2nd half..they could have set every sort of record today..I'm going enjoying every one of these days because we had many,many bad days..thanks very much to everyone involved..ye have brightened a very bleak 18 months in peoples lives..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 22/08/2021 22:05:36    2374001

Amazing performance by Limerick! Great to see them win their 3rd in 4 years!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11842 - 22/08/2021 22:48:57    2374013

Replying To ballydalane:  "I mentioned it earlier, Cork expended so much energy trying to tip-tap the ball even as far as the halfway line, that even on the odd occasion they got a point or two from it, it was hardly worth the effort! It looked like they were passing it sideways and backwards just for the sake of it. Limerick showed what proper "possession hurling", or whatever you want to call it, should be played."
Actually going backwards to go backwards. If Limerick went back it was to immediately go forward and attack. The second Limerick get control in defence their forwards are moving like a programmed machine and all the moving parts know what is happening. I think like the great Kilkenny machine you will have to wait for some of the parts to wear out or come up with some type of spanner to put in the works.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/08/2021 22:50:28    2374014

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Thank both Mick and Realdub. I loved so much to see my late father's county perform like that. It was complete magic. Oh how I wish I were in the pubs in Limerick tonight, flooring pints of fine porter to bate the band. Alas! But thanks fellows, and let's leave the sponsorship issue for another day, another forum (even though I am well aware that such mentality lurks around the place)."
Enjoy

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 22/08/2021 23:30:49    2374021

Well done Limerick. Super team. Best team in Ireland by a country mile. Scoreline flattered a weak, timid
Cork team

Now let's have an an honest discussion about hurling as a sport. The sport needs saving. This year's championship was full of games where the ball spent more time dead than in play. The real skills of hurling (hooking,flicking, blocking, over head or ground striking) have all but disappeared into a puck-out fest (over 80 in today's game).

The best players (Limerick)would still adapt and would still be best team . Maybe spectacle could be better. A lot better.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 22/08/2021 23:47:35    2374022

All the throwing makes hurling hard to watch these days. Maybe some day a ref will tackle the issue.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 23/08/2021 09:12:10    2374041

The inevitable question- Limerick 2021 vs Kilkenny 2008, who would come out on top?

Would think KK still have the edge in overall quality and depth of panel, but if Limerick do 3-in-a-row they will be in the mix in debates on the greatest of all teams.

It must be dreamland for the hardcore Limerick supporter just now.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 23/08/2021 09:13:02    2374042