2021 Hurling Championship

Never so happy to be wrong!

Really did'nt see that one coming. Survived a potentially disastrous opening 6 minutes thanks to Alan Nolan and never looked back. Great performances throughout. Rushie's best game since 2013. Hope O'Donnell is not as bad as it looked.

Second game was absolute belter. Thought Wexford had it even coming into added time. Stripey lads just kept their heads and did what they have often done.

Great day to be there. One of best hurling days in Croke Park and nice to get talking to so many people again before and after.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3879 - 03/07/2021 21:45:42    2355797

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Have to say whatever follows in the Munster championship, this isn't much of a game. Both Leinster matches were better games."
Have to agree with you, at least Leinster in Hurling is competitive

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4959 - 03/07/2021 21:46:41    2355798

Replying To carlowman:  "A lot of questionable responses by Cork players when tackled.... roaring and shouting... are they trying to get Limerick players sent off ? The Munster players are not responding like the Kilkenny and Wexford players earlier in the day."
Cork players were embarrassing at times today the way they behaved. That needs to be stamped out by the refs as if it creeps in we will end up like soccer players acting injured.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 03/07/2021 22:14:15    2355814

Was hoping Galway would get Wexford in the qualifiers but unfortunately We can't!!
So it's either Cork, Waterford or Tipp next for Galway.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2765 - 03/07/2021 22:14:27    2355815

Replying To Viking66:  "You were badly missing Bill Cooper. Hard edge and experience in the middle of the park. Fitzgibbon is one of the best midfielders in the country but doesnt have that presence. Was impressed with your halfback line. Surprisingly so. You are only missing a player or 2 to catch a game by the scruff of the neck to win more all Irelands. The back door is going to be very tough for all of us. Waterford, Galway, Cork, Antrim or Laois, Wexford, and Tipp or Clare. Is it going to be an open draw or Munster v Leinster counties type draw?"
Viking. I really never think that Bill Copper is that brilliant. He was on in '18 and two young lads, Lynch and Donovan more than held their own with himself and Fitzgibbon.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4535 - 03/07/2021 22:43:58    2355828

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Fair play to Limerick. Fantastic team and well deserved win. I feel this Cork team is coming. Missing a couple of pieces of the jigsaw. I think tactically they had a plan for limerick, but didn't have the personnel to exploit. Maybe more equipped teams will take advantage.
For Cork, I think the teams left in the back door will either make it a short summer, or make the team. I fear the former."
And fairplay to you Baldy Badger. You are a very gracious winner and a good loser with no excuses. A true Cork sportsman and best of luck to Cork in the qualifiers.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4083 - 03/07/2021 22:44:09    2355830

Wexford vs Kilkenny was the best game, and Lee Chin is some performer! The intensity , skill and determination shown by both teams was admirable. Result could have gone either way. I thought Walter Walsh was the game winner for Kilkenny

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 03/07/2021 22:46:15    2355833

Replying To Canuck:  "The Munster game poor as last week. Felt sorry for Wexford ran out of steam and players. The cats are the cats. Great win for Dublin. The competition will be in the qualifiers this year with the winners battle hardened for the quarters and semi All Ireland finals."
Think we'll find it hard to pick ourselves up for the first round of the qualifiers. All Ireland quarters/semis seem a long way away right now

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 03/07/2021 22:49:21    2355837

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Cork players were embarrassing at times today the way they behaved. That needs to be stamped out by the refs as if it creeps in we will end up like soccer players acting injured."
Ya. Agreed. 100% correct. Its embarrassing alright. Its symptomatic of a greater ill in the game itself but that people don't want to discuss honestly. People prefer to say hurling is the warrior game, fastest game on earth etc , yet complain about certain aspects. Certainly stamp out what Cork players did tonight but to do that you need to be honest and examine the root cause of it and go from there.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/07/2021 23:26:09    2355851

Replying To katser:  "Was hoping Galway would get Wexford in the qualifiers but unfortunately We can't!!
So it's either Cork, Waterford or Tipp next for Galway."
Shame that! Maybe if between us we can win 2 or 4 games we will get to play eachother later in the year!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17834 - 03/07/2021 23:35:27    2355859

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Never so happy to be wrong!

Really did'nt see that one coming. Survived a potentially disastrous opening 6 minutes thanks to Alan Nolan and never looked back. Great performances throughout. Rushie's best game since 2013. Hope O'Donnell is not as bad as it looked.

Second game was absolute belter. Thought Wexford had it even coming into added time. Stripey lads just kept their heads and did what they have often done.

Great day to be there. One of best hurling days in Croke Park and nice to get talking to so many people again before and after."
Fair play to ye! I have say Nolan was my man of the match today he broke our hearts, his saves were unreal and his puckouts were good also. He is some keeper. I hope ye take Kilkenny but the backs will have to be even tighter than today as we had a lot of chances which we did not convert. But ye fully deserved the win. The second match was something else it had everything!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 04/07/2021 00:12:41    2355867

Galway vs Clare guaranteed so. (:

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 04/07/2021 01:02:50    2355872

Replying To carlowman:  "A lot of questionable responses by Cork players when tackled.... roaring and shouting... are they trying to get Limerick players sent off ? The Munster players are not responding like the Kilkenny and Wexford players earlier in the day."
Hurling is a physical game played by swinging a stick. Inevitably someone will get hit accidentally. As long as there is not deliberate striking this has always been accepted if unfortunate. Last week a player put up his hand as the ball was being batted down. Today in the Limerick Cork game players got hit accidentally. Definitely some players were trying to get their opponent sent off. Rolling around soccer style like they were shot and then jumping up fine. Hopefully this is now part of our games. Incidentally you can't call a penalty for taking away a goal chance if there are still two or three players to be beaten beside the goalie.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3227 - 04/07/2021 01:20:26    2355873

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Never so happy to be wrong!

Great day to be there. One of best hurling days in Croke Park and nice to get talking to so many people again before and after."
A big decision by James Madden to play. You've got to admire the lad.
Out of curiosity Barney , how did you come by the tickets, was it through some kind of lottery?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1072 - 04/07/2021 08:07:00    2355882

the antics of the cork players was terrible to watch......rolling around the ground roaring....to me it was obvious it was something that was discussed by management.....gaa is a mans game hope that kind of stuff is cut out. the irony of it was funny tho conor boylan had a genuine penalty call over looked and got a yellow card for diving......not our best ever performance but still had too much for a speedy but limited cork team.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1151 - 04/07/2021 08:56:59    2355889

Replying To katser:  "Was hoping Galway would get Wexford in the qualifiers but unfortunately We can't!!
the way ye played yesterday ye wouldnt beat london......

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1151 - 04/07/2021 09:27:10    2355899

Katser what happened ye? It must be some kick in the gonads to go down like that yesterday. I still see Galway knocking out a big gun at some point but I don't see them hoping the whole way

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2021 09:52:01    2355907

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Viking. I really never think that Bill Copper is that brilliant. He was on in '18 and two young lads, Lynch and Donovan more than held their own with himself and Fitzgibbon."
I think you are running your men down there. Lynch is a generational talent one of the best playing currently. Donovan is a great hurler also. Also Fitzgibbon is a much better all round player now than then. He was just a chap in 2018. Just think without Cooper in the middle Cork lack a bit of bite. They have great hurlers but seem not so used to the dirty work. I heard the way their senior club championship is refereed might have something to do with it. Not sure. But they just look a bit lightweight compared to Limerick, Kilkenny, Waterford, Galway, Tipperary etc any time I've seen them without Cooper.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17834 - 04/07/2021 10:18:00    2355918

Special mention to James Madden who's father was buried only a couple of days ago. Must have been one hell of an emotional week for him and to play yesterday showed his commitment and guts.
Matty Kenny also had the loss of his brother in law so fair play to them and delighted for both that they got rewarded.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 04/07/2021 10:19:07    2355920

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Cork players were embarrassing at times today the way they behaved. That needs to be stamped out by the refs as if it creeps in we will end up like soccer players acting injured."
It was pathetic and shameful carry on. It has no place in Hurling whatsoever. Cork players should have more pride in themselves than that. They should have concentrated more on their hurling.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2632 - 04/07/2021 10:43:53    2355931