All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You know for an organisation that's identity is so heavily rooted in tradition I think the new championship calender has ruined it.

For more casual supporters half of them don't even realise the championship has started nevermind at semi final stage.

Bring back the first Sunday in September please."
Couldn't agree more, it doesn't even have to be September, it just doesn't have to be treated like its something to get out of the way as soon as possible.

I mean this is the best of the best, the cream of the crop and what have we done in recent years only treat it like a hindrance whilst putting some of the best exponents of it behind a pay wall.

What other sport has actually gone down this line, genuinely?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1401 - 05/07/2024 14:35:57    2557070

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You know for an organisation that's identity is so heavily rooted in tradition I think the new championship calender has ruined it.

For more casual supporters half of them don't even realise the championship has started nevermind at semi final stage.

Yes 100%, but to do that weekends have to be freed up in the summer months for club matches in every county and a defined calendar worked out.
What had gone on before was a joke, the whole summer passed without club matches.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 05/07/2024 15:12:28    2557076

Replying To tearintom:  "Maybe it's just me but you would hardly know the games are on!

No promotion, feck all advertising I've seen, another casualty of the condensed season where nothing it seems gets a chance to breath. These games are going to be epic I reckon, we partnered with rte who don't even seem bothered let's be honest unless they stick it on gaago to fleece a few quid!"
Amazing that with such little publicity that there will be over 130,000 people in attendance over the two days

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 05/07/2024 15:20:56    2557078

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Amazing that with such little publicity that there will be over 130,000 people in attendance over the two days"
There are nerves in the air from the participators

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 05/07/2024 18:08:59    2557092

Replying To Knockfiarna:  "Re knockfiarna it is indeed ,manys the time we climbed that hill or v small mountain with my own dad Rip when we were young .Great memories."
Never got there, I recall climbing Tory Hill on the family farm in my far off youth. The peaceful country life always appealed to me. Munster hurling was dominated thenby Cork and Tipp. No Limerick or. Clare to upset the old order.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 05/07/2024 20:16:25    2557110

Fault of IC for not releasing players to club and delaying club championship. GAA tip toed around this issue without resolving.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 05/07/2024 22:37:25    2557126

Replying To tearintom:  "Maybe it's just me but you would hardly know the games are on!

No promotion, feck all advertising I've seen, another casualty of the condensed season where nothing it seems gets a chance to breath. These games are going to be epic I reckon, we partnered with rte who don't even seem bothered let's be honest unless they stick it on gaago to fleece a few quid!"
Tom, it is called keeping ones powder dry.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 05/07/2024 23:29:53    2557132

Replying To skillet:  "No, I'm not.. I just think rushing the championship to be finished by mid July is nuts. It's too condensed."
When do you think club games should be played?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 05/07/2024 23:35:16    2557136

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "There are nerves in the air from the participators"
Naturally…and your point?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2068 - 06/07/2024 00:42:44    2557142

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Amazing that with such little publicity that there will be over 130,000 people in attendance over the two days"
Hurling is becoming more and more a niche sport. Within the counties that are semi final participants yes there is huge interest which is why there will be such a big crowd but Dublin is such a cosmopolitan city now if half of its population were to witness the fans streaming towards Croke Park they would be wondering what was going on.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/07/2024 06:19:47    2557146

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Hurling is becoming more and more a niche sport. Within the counties that are semi final participants yes there is huge interest which is why there will be such a big crowd but Dublin is such a cosmopolitan city now if half of its population were to witness the fans streaming towards Croke Park they would be wondering what was going on."
It was always a niche sport in Dublin. They have 6 All Irelands and only native of Dublin was in a h of them.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 06/07/2024 10:11:44    2557158

Here's hoping for a top class fair encounter today. No yellow cards picked from the air after 7 seconds targeting top players, An unbiased referee today will help greatly as not from either province. Referees are catching on to all the off the ball antics this year I feel... just need to call a free if a forward takes 11 steps to score a goal..

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 06/07/2024 10:21:11    2557159

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Hurling is becoming more and more a niche sport. Within the counties that are semi final participants yes there is huge interest which is why there will be such a big crowd but Dublin is such a cosmopolitan city now if half of its population were to witness the fans streaming towards Croke Park they would be wondering what was going on."
I have been to all Ireland hurling finals in Croke Park , where the resident population has zero interest. It does take away from the atmosphere! Munster finals in Thurles is the opposite… great atmosphere!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 06/07/2024 10:24:25    2557160

Jez I hope Shanagher starts . He offers more than McCarthy. That's an underwhelming team . It's all abit stale. I feel it's groundhog day. I'd have thrown Taylor straight back in. I'd have started Shanagher and I'd have dropped Malone and McCarthy. Id have Possibly dropped Diarmuid Ryan aswell .

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 06/07/2024 11:24:51    2557167

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Jez I hope Shanagher starts . He offers more than McCarthy. That's an underwhelming team . It's all abit stale. I feel it's groundhog day. I'd have thrown Taylor straight back in. I'd have started Shanagher and I'd have dropped Malone and McCarthy. Id have Possibly dropped Diarmuid Ryan aswell ."
Lohan may be throwing a curveball or two ,I'd expect shanagher to start.

Knockfiarna (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 06/07/2024 13:08:59    2557186

Killkenny to win by 8

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 06/07/2024 13:45:02    2557193

Replying To TomWex:  "Here's hoping for a top class fair encounter today. No yellow cards picked from the air after 7 seconds targeting top players, An unbiased referee today will help greatly as not from either province. Referees are catching on to all the off the ball antics this year I feel... just need to call a free if a forward takes 11 steps to score a goal.."
Don't take responsibility for your actions and it will be another 28 years before Liam makes its way down Slaneyside. Rory was on a yellow, made a very bad tackle which was borderline straight red and deservedly sent off. You keep denying that ye got fair play and see what good results

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 06/07/2024 14:28:48    2557200

Mickey Butler 25/1 for MOTM. Stuck a sneaky 20 on him. Will quite SOD or TK.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 06/07/2024 14:34:42    2557201

Clare haven't beaten Kilkenny championship in 27 years, might be another 27 before that happens. Clare have no freetaker. TJ always 100% freetaker.

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 06/07/2024 14:42:46    2557203

Hon the Banner!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2426 - 06/07/2024 14:43:08    2557204