Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To WEXILE:  "I thought they all struggled to win ball to be fair bar Mac in 1st half who had a field day. Chin at times struggled too and he's a savage to win ball"
David Blanchfield played very well on Lee. The Kilkenny halfbacks weakness is pace. We should've run at them more, and put then under more pressure when they were working the ball out.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 15:14:27    2547680

Replying To Magpie2:  "Fulgrim. The referee is from Galway. Why would he be biased towards Kilkenny? Are you suggesting that he thought if Galway won their game they would have a better chance of beating the cats more than us? Doesn't make sense.
We will always look for excuses as to why we lost.
The simple fact is we played so poorly leading up to half time and again for most of the second half.
They were ultra strong in their half back line and our key forwards were outshone.
Yet we we were within a whisker of getting a draw or maybe even winning. Small margins.
No, the referee made some errors all right but we contributed to our own downfall by letting them dictate the trend of play in that second half.
."
If Galway drew their game they would be through instead of us with us losing. If we drew they would have had to win. Our losing made it slightly easier for them to go through than us winning or drawing. Simple. And there was a Limerick ref for Clare v Tipp. Common sense would tell you the 2 refs should've been swapped, but maybe because he had a poor game in the Clare v Waterford game he wasn't given another Munster game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 15:18:44    2547682

Replying To WEXILE:  "Yeah I agree with all that plus emotionally spent team after losing a Munster are always vulnerable and we've seen that in 2022. Again another if....if we'd the bodies.....If Rory wasn't injured. And that's the frustrations. It would be great to turn these into results. I can't believe this Wexford team have only 1 Leinster. We have under acheieved.

Hopefully we can extend our run and I'd be more optimistic for next year. But in the near future as in this year for me the glass is half empty for you maybe the glass is half full and that's OK too.

Possible return for Paudi and Oisin Foley next year. Will Carty be back? We'd Hopefully have an injection of.more youth with another year of S&C done. Corey Dunne Dunbar, Molloy could all make an impact maybe?

Maybe we'll get more out of Tucker Kinsella with more s&C done same as Conor Foley and Owen Ryan, Cian Byrne too.

Hope we haven't seen the end of D. O'keefe and Mcgovern etc. stay on Hopefully.

I'm not totally negative. Just a bit cautious about asking we can take the likes of Limerick this year"
If we played Limerick 100 times this year we might only beat them once. But if we play them this year we only have to beat them once.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 15:20:56    2547683

Replying To wexford2012:  "Challenge game? Really, like the challenge game last year against Westmeath? We didn't exactly steamroll Offaly in the league!"
They had a fortunate sending off in their favour, and a throw ball missed for their goal. We have a very different team now also. Whoever we play it will be away, and we can't take Laois or Offaly for granted.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 15:23:48    2547684

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree with you Doylerwex. This defeat is hard to take we were so close to a Leinster final . On another poster view that Kilkenny wouldnt be big enough for the All Ireland Quarter final surely 24k capacity would cater for us against Clare or Limerick"
Limerick or Clare could bring near that by themselves. We must've had over 10k there yesterday also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 15:24:43    2547685

Replying To Viking66:  "David Blanchfield played very well on Lee. The Kilkenny halfbacks weakness is pace. We should've run at them more, and put then under more pressure when they were working the ball out."
I think our lads put a lot into the first 35. To be fair the running game does take a lot out of lads with intensity such as yesterday. Im now hoping Limerick beat Clare I think Clare would be seriously disappointed if they lose another Munster final and we would find it hard to raise their game again to play us 2 weeks later. We should take the same approach to Laois/Offaly as we did Carlow and then Hopefully get a crack at Clare which will be our biggest game of the year.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 15:26:32    2547687

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah here. If we've learned one thing this year, surely it has to be to take nothing for granted against any opposition. Referring to our match against Laois or Offaly as a challenge game is both disrespectful and inappropriate."
Yep, it's like groundhog day with wexford.

Like I've said previously there's really no in-between with wexford. I mean we lost to Antrim not so long ago and have beaten Carlow and what now is increasingly looking like a poor Galway team in disarray really.

That's it, we are in no position to be calling games against Laois or Offaly practice games, we don't half get carried away like.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1401 - 27/05/2024 15:37:43    2547691

Replying To Viking66:  "David Blanchfield played very well on Lee. The Kilkenny halfbacks weakness is pace. We should've run at them more, and put then under more pressure when they were working the ball out."
I thought there was a real lack of workrate from our half forwards in that 10 mins before half time, we were 5 up and cruising but they got it back to 2. KK seemed to get some handy puckouts off to the HB/midfielders and scored easily from it. That's frankly not good enough and our two marquee forwards were the main culprits from what I could see. There's lots of ifs and buts today, there was a golden chance there yesterday to reach a Leinster final but yet again we didn't deliver.
Get through Offaly/Laois and I'd give us a very good chance against Clare (I expect Limerick to win Munster again). People forget there was very little in the previous two defeats. Wouldn't give us a prayer against Limerick if it's them.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 27/05/2024 15:39:37    2547693

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah here. If we've learned one thing this year, surely it has to be to take nothing for granted against any opposition. Referring to our match against Laois or Offaly as a challenge game is both disrespectful and inappropriate."
100% agree pikeman. We as a county are not in a position to regard Offaly or Laois as "challenge matches" we have shown in the past that we have consistently flopped against the so called lower ranked teams.
We must go into that preliminary quarter final with respect for whichever team we are up against.
I can say with certainty that they will not fear us one bit and may cause us problems. Remember westmeath. Remember Antrim.
We will have to play like we did against Galway and against Kilkenny in the first half. If we fall flat ( and we are good at that at times) we may come out the wrong end of that game.
However I believe we cam and should win but it will require full concentration and play with intensity throughout. The management and players will know that and will not treat the game as a challenge match.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 27/05/2024 15:40:00    2547694

Replying To Viking66:  "Limerick or Clare could bring near that by themselves. We must've had over 10k there yesterday also."
Maybe if the gaa are looking at a double header Croker could be the venue . That would be brilliant if we can do the business over Laois/Offaly

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 15:41:21    2547695

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Maybe if the gaa are looking at a double header Croker could be the venue . That would be brilliant if we can do the business over Laois/Offaly"
Can't see them having the QFs in Croker, would give Dublin an unfair advantage if they were to lose the Leinster Final

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 27/05/2024 15:53:16    2547700

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Can't see them having the QFs in Croker, would give Dublin an unfair advantage if they were to lose the Leinster Final"
Dont think Cork would object to playing the Dubs in Croker.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 16:26:44    2547708

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Dont think Cork would object to playing the Dubs in Croker."
Lads aren't we all getting ahead of ourselves a wee bit?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 17:34:31    2547737

TJ made TOTW and Cian didn't. Unbelievable.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13342 - 27/05/2024 17:35:23    2547738

Well lads I won't kick you when you are down today. I had a disappointed car load on the way home and my only disappointment was missing out on a magical day for Dublin. But family comes first.
You lost the Leinster final place in the last 5 minutes v us and not taking care of business v Antrim.
Yesterday, you lost because you didn't hurl around the middle for the last 10 min of the first half until 15-20 minutes into the second half and Kilkenny cleaned up once they got a foothold there.
The referee was harsh on Wexford but I think at this stage every single county has players who dive for frees. Hurling needs a second referee who isn't running behind the defending player who can see what actually happens, rather than a referee sprinting from 40 yards away. TJ's dive was as blatant as it gets (even Kilkenny supporters agreed once he got the free but that didn't stop them shouting for it) but Limerick, Waterford, Clare all have players looking for some hurl to pull in to, or something to fall over. Look at Gearoid Hegarty tripping himself up yesterday.
I feared for you after the loss v Antrim and credit where it is due you are still in the championship. But yesterday's effort might beat Offaly or Laois but that sort of effort in the engine room v Clare or Limerick will get found out badly.
But I am delighted Wexford are still in the championship and if they can lift the intensity and take care of business v Laois/Offaly, they can empty the tank v Clare and see where it takes them. It will be in Thurles and Wexford need to get on the road in bigger numbers. One of my in law was reminiscing about 1993 and the thousands who got to Thurles 3 Sundays in a row. In older cars, less money around, etc but they did it.
Get over the Joe Mc runner up and its time for Wexford supporters to dig deep for one last push, especially for some of the elder statesmen who have given such service to your jersey.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1251 - 27/05/2024 18:00:47    2547743

Replying To Viking66:  "Lads aren't we all getting ahead of ourselves a wee bit?"
I agree Dublin could beat Kilkenny in the Leinster final . Don't know if it's correct but I seen Joe.ie posted the path to the all Ireland final after this weekends result. It looks like if we got over Laois/Offaly , Clare/Limerick we would play Kilkenny or Dublin. Think we are a good bit behind Limerick but could catch Clare if they are not fully at it then it would be a semi final against a team we know we would have a chance of beating. I hate getting my hopes up but hopefully the players and management see there is huge opportunities left in the summer yet. I'll be praying for a crack at Clare firstly after we hopefully do a professional job on the Joe Mac runner up .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 344 - 27/05/2024 18:54:21    2547763

I hope Keith can get McGovern, O'Keefe and O'Hanlon to buy into next year. The first year for Rossiter and Co. could be considered a success due to bringing in new players and more to come in next year but you can't buy that sort of experience and just having them around would be great for younger players. Finishing 3rd is also a step up on last year. I'd be a bit worried for Chin too. He took time out to consider whether he was going to play this year after a terrible run of injuries. Good to see he is injury free this year so hopefully he buys in for another few years. Those lads have been great servents for Wexford ya have to be proud of em and the sacrifice. Mcgovern doing his cruciate, battling back and then does the opposite cruciate in training and still comes back.

If what I'm hearing is true that the environment in the camp is good then I'm sure most if not all will hang on. Plus no pressure on them to play early rounds of league. Mac and Ryan's form is evidence of that.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 19:03:16    2547767

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Maybe if the gaa are looking at a double header Croker could be the venue . That would be brilliant if we can do the business over Laois/Offaly"
The games are provisionally down for Semple. One on the Saturday and the other a.Sunday. ours would be a Sunday if we beat Laois/Offally

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 19:07:00    2547769

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Can't see them having the QFs in Croker, would give Dublin an unfair advantage if they were to lose the Leinster Final"
Wouldn't be like the GAA to give Dublin an unfair advantage when it comes to venues

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 27/05/2024 19:14:36    2547771

One thing about yesterday's game, why are our sideline cuts so poor? We had 2/3 of them on the main stand side in the second half and they were abysmal. Foley made a total mess of one that led to the penalty, Chin tried tapping one to someone who was being marked and we lost possession. Obviously, TJ is a special talent who can cut them over the bar but I've seen Dunbar do this on a few occasions so why wasn't he on sidelines yesterday. He's well able to. He wasn't contributing much else but he might have got a bit of confidence from some well taken sidelines

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 226 - 27/05/2024 20:28:16    2547785