Advertisement

Wexford Club Hurling Championships 2023

Has anything been to co board attention regards the Oylgate players red card at the weekend or the same officials on the sideline as 4th officials at another match?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 12/07/2023 18:46:23    2494018

If we're being brutally honest, I'm not sure how Tara Rocks were ever really supposed to be viable as a standalone club. If they're not drawing on a particular part of Gorey, then there's really nothing that differentiates them from Naomh Éanna. And if nothing differentiates the two, why would a promising young hurler/footballer join Tara Rocks when they could just join Naomh Éanna instead?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1530 - 12/07/2023 20:45:46    2494031

https://instagram.com/wexford_scores?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 12/07/2023 21:37:46    2494037

Replying To Viking66:  "From what Pikeman has said anyone from all of Gorey could play for Tara Rocks. It's probably the same as the Harriers/Clonard situation though."
Fair few from town playing for barntown, Martins and shells too

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4674 - 12/07/2023 22:20:11    2494041

Replying To Timbertony:  "It's a tricky one, and the arrangement is a bit loose to put it mildly but I do think your commentary is a bit harsh on Tara Rocks. Up to recently I think the view locally was that Kilanerin (football) were benefitting a lot more than Tara Rocks (hurling) and that the partnership wouldn't last as a result. So fair play for them both for sticking it out and being increasingly successful at both grades.

Obviously Gorey and surrounding areas like Kilanerin and Castletown are benefiting from strong population growth. Without this "alliance" Naomh Eanna would get even more numbers, this wouldn't be healthy either. Definitely the arrangement isn't temporary any longer but at same time I think there's merit in it continuing."
We'll have to agree to disagree on that one. Kilanerin holding their own in senior football is nothing they hadn't done many times before when fielding just in their own right. But Tara Rocks being played two & won two in intermediate hurling, and being possible dark horses for the title, is far above and beyond anything they ever achieved just by themselves. By that token, I think it's clear that Tara Rocks are benefitting a lot more than Kilanerin are.

On your second point, I think the population growth means there's scope for a stronger second club within Gorey all right. But I'm not sure Tara Rocks will ever be fully committed to attracting sufficient new players from the growing Gorey population for so long as they can call on the Kilanerin/Ballyfad players instead.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 4052 - 12/07/2023 22:44:45    2494043

Has anything been brought to co board attention regards the Oylgate player who received a red card at the weekend or the same official on the sideline as 4th official at another match?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 13/07/2023 10:23:28    2494070

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Fair few from town playing for barntown, Martins and shells too"
But they are living in those parishes?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20706 - 13/07/2023 11:24:39    2494087

Replying To WEX98:  "https://instagram.com/wexford_scores?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA=="
Not on insta WEX98. What is that?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20706 - 13/07/2023 11:26:27    2494089

Replying To Viking66:  "Not on insta WEX98. What is that?"
Damien Reck's ridiculous red card. Sent off by a man on a constant power mission.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 13/07/2023 13:21:59    2494126

Replying To countyman2022:  "Damien Reck's ridiculous red card. Sent off by a man on a constant power mission."
Have you a YouTube link Countyman?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20706 - 13/07/2023 14:10:06    2494133

Replying To Viking66:  "But they are living in those parishes?"
Debatable I think.

Whiterock Hill is Pembrokestown which is technically Martins.

New Town Road is the hospital but technically barntown.

Crosstown is town, but technically shells

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4674 - 13/07/2023 14:23:05    2494136

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Debatable I think.

Crosstown is town, but technically shells"
Most of those were just fields when I blew in in the early 90s Doylerwex. As were all the estates from the Mayflower outwards. A friend lived in the cottage by the racecourse and it was countryside, all fields back then. Another friend is building a large estate at the top of Whiterock hill. Again that was all countryside not that long ago. Clonard Church was on the outskirts of town. Across the river was Ely house and more fields. Thats why all of those areas would be in Martins, Barntowns, and Shels catchment areas to this day.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20706 - 13/07/2023 14:58:23    2494149

Replying To Viking66:  "Most of those were just fields when I blew in in the early 90s Doylerwex. As were all the estates from the Mayflower outwards. A friend lived in the cottage by the racecourse and it was countryside, all fields back then. Another friend is building a large estate at the top of Whiterock hill. Again that was all countryside not that long ago. Clonard Church was on the outskirts of town. Across the river was Ely house and more fields. Thats why all of those areas would be in Martins, Barntowns, and Shels catchment areas to this day."
You're not wrong.

I'm from clonard and have recently moved back after a few years in the country.

I recall there being nothing beyond the church, up the hill or over the bridge.

Nowadays you could nearly argue castlebridge and piercestown are part of urban wexford.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4674 - 13/07/2023 15:57:54    2494162

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You're not wrong.

I'm from clonard and have recently moved back after a few years in the country.

I recall there being nothing beyond the church, up the hill or over the bridge.

Nowadays you could nearly argue castlebridge and piercestown are part of urban wexford."
Not too many fields between Barntown and town either. Nothing better craic than calling Barntown lads townies over a few pints!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20706 - 13/07/2023 16:38:09    2494176

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Debatable I think.

Crosstown is town, but technically shells"
Crosstown is town? just because there are a lot of townies in it, it doesn't make it part of the town - the dead don't count!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2235 - 13/07/2023 18:09:51    2494194

Replying To Viking66:  "Have you a YouTube link Countyman?"
https://youtu.be/HRmIYcgilE4

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 13/07/2023 18:53:09    2494208

Replying To Pikeman96:  "We'll have to agree to disagree on that one. Kilanerin holding their own in senior football is nothing they hadn't done many times before when fielding just in their own right. But Tara Rocks being played two & won two in intermediate hurling, and being possible dark horses for the title, is far above and beyond anything they ever achieved just by themselves. By that token, I think it's clear that Tara Rocks are benefitting a lot more than Kilanerin are.

On your second point, I think the population growth means there's scope for a stronger second club within Gorey all right. But I'm not sure Tara Rocks will ever be fully committed to attracting sufficient new players from the growing Gorey population for so long as they can call on the Kilanerin/Ballyfad players instead."
Fair enough on the first point but I'm not really sure how Tara Rocks realistically make inroads into the Gorey schools for example (3 x secondary now 5 or 6 primary schools) . That would require agreement with Naomh Eanna and good luck with that. The part of town near their pitch is expanding population wise and due to expand further at St Walerans. Maybe with them getting stronger with Kilanerin they will pull some more from Gorey, also has Kilanerin lads playing hurling at a higher level. So in the main I think it's a positive.

Shamrocks maybe have the same issue in Enniscorthy? Guess the county boards could try and define boundaries within the towns but surely would be impossible to enforce. But letting one club getting too strong in a town is a bad idea, look at Ballygunner in Waterford. Not sure how they do it in Kilkenny.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 603 - 13/07/2023 21:21:34    2494229

About 26 minutes in

https://youtu.be/fEnEaGT2-mc

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 548 - 13/07/2023 22:46:19    2494238

I dont sorry Viking, just that Insta link. Disgraceful decision again.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 14/07/2023 09:18:56    2494250

I heard a couple of clubs may have lost a few first team players to injury during the week due to the U21 championship matches.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1699 - 14/07/2023 09:34:04    2494254