Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To countyman2022:  "I don't know if you can say that its not who Tipp hurling people are. I was in Croke Pk in 2019 and they're were several remarks about Lee that day. There has been numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years, fights at back of terrace in Thurles, train stopped on way home from a Waterford match in Cork a number of years ago which was destroyed. It is a pity for a county which has had some great teams and players."
I can remember similar abuse being shouted by a small but vocal group of limerick supporters during the 2014 all Ireland quarter final in thurles. He was also subjected to it here in his own county so we can't claim anyone is better than anyone else. Just hope the gaa and gardai act now and set an example once and for all. Some of the stuff I've seen on social media is utterly depressing

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 11/04/2023 11:14:56    2470175

We need to move on now lads and focus on the championship.let the authorities sort out the incident. I be very worried about salthill

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 11/04/2023 11:16:08    2470176

A Tipp smart **** got caught out with his slurs on Saturday afternoon the sad thing it is going on alot of the time at a large number of games.

A high profile incident like this will focus the minds and hopefully will cut some of it out. However just like the referee abuse that was highlighted last year by Wexford GAA that is all gone to the wayside again and the shouting at referees is back in full force again for 2023.

Does anyone know how the row started prior to the slur? There was a number of lads with helmets off suggesting there could have been at least two red cards for the row. Did the referee send in any report about the rows in the game?

Was anyone at the game? Are we looking down the barrel of a miserable summer for Wexford hurling? Maybe the incident on Saturday will help to galvanise the team, one thing the Wexford team cannot be questioned on is there team bond.

What happens the Under 20 squad when it gets to the business end of that competition? what happens Dunbar and Foley, once they go up to the seniors for a game will they stay with them?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 11/04/2023 11:20:42    2470178

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very dissapointed with the events on Saturday. I admire Rory O Connor for confronting the supporter . That kind of behaviour can no longer be tolerated in the GAA or in any walk of life. This man needs to be made an example of now and shouldnt be allowed set foot inside any gaa grounds for many years"
As far as I know racial abuse is not an offence in Ireland { it should be ) its a pity this individual is nor named & shamed in the Public arena its incredible ignorance in this day & age as well as that this person should get a lifetime ban from GAA

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 1000 - 11/04/2023 11:20:56    2470179

Replying To tiobraid:  "Not personally, no. Only I have heard like everyone else that he isnt from Carrick.
Someone made the point about the Tipp county boards statement washing their hands of it. To be honest I agree that the statement does not look good. It reads as if its not our problem so yes I do think that was a huge mistake but you cant say its Carrick Swans fault for letting the guy in.
Its back on the county board...theyre the ones who should have the expertise for something like this."
I heard a rumour he is involved with your celtic challenge squad. Only a rumour so maybe not true.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16840 - 11/04/2023 11:24:39    2470180

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very dissapointed with the events on Saturday. I admire Rory O Connor for confronting the supporter . That kind of behaviour can no longer be tolerated in the GAA or in any walk of life. This man needs to be made an example of now and shouldnt be allowed set foot inside any gaa grounds for many years"
Great post Afinestick - agree 100%. Interesting to see a fellow Wexford sportsperson (ex pro) condemning this behavior on his social media account and a few hours later posting videos that are fueling these very issues and behaviors throughout our county and country. Fair play to ROC.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 182 - 11/04/2023 11:25:02    2470181

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'm reading that as if all Tipp hurling people are racist. Getting into accusations like that is not helpful.
Every county has scumbags who go to matches and I can honestly say Tipp are no worse than others. Myself and my brother got surrounded on Jones Road as teenagers by a bunch of drunken hooligans after one game.
Some people have a very clear agenda against Tipp and using something like this as a chance to get a dig in is disgusting tbh"
I've no agenda against Tipp people. We have Tipp members in our bike club, a Tipp man managing our clubs adult teams, and a Tipp man managing our intercounty hurlers. As a member of the big 3 I'd support any other county against you on a hurling field but that's as far as it goes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16840 - 11/04/2023 11:27:31    2470184

Replying To countyman2022:  "I don't know if you can say that its not who Tipp hurling people are. I was in Croke Pk in 2019 and they're were several remarks about Lee that day. There has been numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years, fights at back of terrace in Thurles, train stopped on way home from a Waterford match in Cork a number of years ago which was destroyed. It is a pity for a county which has had some great teams and players."
Several numerous issues by young lads no doubt again who take stock with no regard for what they do with in their immature days. Many of those points you raise while the incidents happened years ago all were young thugs again not true genuine hurling Tipp folks so don't tarnish us all with the same brush. The lad in this instance from watching the video circulating seems like a man in his 50s or 60s but again regardless of your age these things should not happen. And it's happened in most counties where we see many ethnics or different races playing and the people now need to be made an example of. Name and shame them.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/04/2023 11:29:52    2470187

Replying To Viking66:  "I've no agenda against Tipp people. We have Tipp members in our bike club, a Tipp man managing our clubs adult teams, and a Tipp man managing our intercounty hurlers. As a member of the big 3 I'd support any other county against you on a hurling field but that's as far as it goes."
Wasnt aimed at yourself Viking. I just think the other poster isnt a whole lot better than the scumbag who made the racist remark with his post. Lee Chin has unfortunately received racist abuse in Wexford over the years also, yet this poster is very clearly painting all Tipp people with the one brush.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/04/2023 11:34:59    2470189

That's all very well and good but how on earth would it be policed? Who could prevent him from purchasing a ticket and walking into any ground in the country except maybe in his local area where he is known. Would every turnstile everywhere be given a photo of this guy ? That won't happen but even if it did all he would need would be a baseball cap and a pair of sunglasses to avoid detection.
The county board in Tipperary and the club ground where the match was held are most definitely not responsible for the brainless actions of one individual.
How do we stop this carry on? Answer we can't.
The Gardai are unlikely to get involved,although I wish they would. A heavy fine in the courtroom would I think be the best solution. Maybe a large contribution to the Ryan Dwyer fund would send out a clear message to likeminded idiots and would make them think before they hurl abuse at anyone. Lip service is useless. Action must be taken, NOW!

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 545 - 11/04/2023 11:38:37    2470192

Lads, on a different note altogether, I've to make a run sometime soon to the hellhole known as IKEA and am thinking I may as well do it next Saturday morning and then journey down to Parnell Park to see the U20s play.

Thing is, I haven't driven to Parnell Park in donkey's years. Last couple of times I was there, I just got the DART to Killester and walked the rest of the way.

Anyone got any current advice on parking anywhere near the ground? ExiledinWex, maybe you in particular might be able to help?

Thanks in advance.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3009 - 11/04/2023 11:53:36    2470197

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "A Tipp smart **** got caught out with his slurs on Saturday afternoon the sad thing it is going on alot of the time at a large number of games.

A high profile incident like this will focus the minds and hopefully will cut some of it out. However just like the referee abuse that was highlighted last year by Wexford GAA that is all gone to the wayside again and the shouting at referees is back in full force again for 2023.

Does anyone know how the row started prior to the slur? There was a number of lads with helmets off suggesting there could have been at least two red cards for the row. Did the referee send in any report about the rows in the game?

Was anyone at the game? Are we looking down the barrel of a miserable summer for Wexford hurling? Maybe the incident on Saturday will help to galvanise the team, one thing the Wexford team cannot be questioned on is there team bond.

What happens the Under 20 squad when it gets to the business end of that competition? what happens Dunbar and Foley, once they go up to the seniors for a game will they stay with them?"
They can't play both senior and u20 in the same 7 day period. But they could play both and move backwards and forwards between the 2 panels apart from that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16840 - 11/04/2023 11:59:06    2470202

Replying To WildPundit:  "Please tell me this is a joke?? Fine the Tipp Co Board and the GAA Club who were hosting a fundraiser????? Idiot post in fairness. Its not about fines for county boards and clubs it's about education firstly and the law now taking this individual aside and making an example of him. This one idiot ruined a day out for everyone and brought something into context of 1950s and 1960s America with racist behaviour. This is not who Tipperary hurling people are and we won't all be tarnished with the one brush because of one person's actions. Tipp and Wexford always has had a healthy rivalry and long may it continue. I'm sure Lee Chin will have another stormer of a year and I wish this fantastic athlete who has stood up time and time again a good championship."
Try to keep it civil there, there's no need to insult me just because you disagree with me.

Fining clubs and county boards is the only way I can see to ensure racist incidents are dealt with. It's not some sort of vindictive punishment against Tipp, it's a measure that can ensure that all GAA bodies take this seriously. In other sports this the way it's done, I don't see any reason why the GAA should be any different. A softly-softly approach isn't going to cut it. It would be great if "education" was all that was needed but I think that's a tad naïve.

And if you think I have some sort of anti-Tipp vendetta, your wrong. Offaly county board should have been fined for the racial abuse of a Waterford minor hurler a few weeks back. If something happens in Dublin next week I think the Dublin county board should be fined too. The GAA's attitude towards punishment tends to be very lax, even when it comes to serious incidents like physical assault of children/officials or racial abuse. That must no longer be the case. So a lifetime ban against anyone who does this and a fine against their club or county is the way to stamp it out. I know it's harsh but we need to bring this kind of thing under control.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 11/04/2023 12:16:41    2470211

This is my taughts exactly on the sickening stuff from Saturday, some of the commentary on social media has annoyed me to be honest, you can get a fool like that in any county in Ireland and weather its aimed at 1 of the best players in the country or a lad playing junior B with his club its equally unacceptable. On the result usually I wouldn't read much into challenge games but 2 weeks out from championship would have to be a concern, there's no evidence at the moment that we can get a result in Salthill but I can't articulate how much I want to be wrong on that.

Was in at u20s game on Saturday, while I wouldn't be getting carried away with the result based on the competition structure and Kilkenny's missing players I was really encouraged for both this year and looking further down the line for the senior panel with some individual displays. If Luke Murphy can keep up the trajectory of his form shown at minor level, his club form last year and push on this year he has the tools to flourish at senior intercounty. Taught Darragh Kehoe at corner back was brillant and the full back line as a whole was really good, 1st time I think I've Dundon from Clongeen and he really caught my eye. Darragh Carley put in the great shift while for 2 lads straight out of u17 Dylan Purcell and Sean Rowley didn't look out of place.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/04/2023 12:19:21    2470213

Replying To Freethinker:  "If I can be forgiven for intruding on other counties forums but this is too important to not let it be known that all genuine GAA people in all counties abhor this type of abuse. I have heard this kind of thing and worse over the years but thankfully it is becoming rarer and rarer. Some people seem to get a "buzz" or "fix" from letting this stuff fly and it is more indicative of their own limited educational and social inadequacies than any firmly held beliefs. I too think it is ridiculous to suggest fining the Tipp Co Board and the host club. That won't do anything to stop lone bigoted idiots from expressing themselves. Get the Gardai involved, have a court appearance and let the whole country know this despicable character's name. I don't want to appear patronising but I too have long admired that supreme athlete called Lee Chin. He is a true example of what all our children and grandchildren should aspire to in any walk of life, not alone sport."
It's not ridiculous. If a supporter or player racially abuses someone in, say, a soccer match, the club/national association gets fined. The individual needs to get banned as well, but fining the governing bodies lights a fire under them to stamp out racist abuse. I didn't say that Tipp county board was to blame for what happened, but if they know fines are on the cars they're going to make a serious effort to prevent more incidents like this happening.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 11/04/2023 12:19:43    2470214

We need to move on now lads and focus on the championship.let the authorities sort out the incident. I be very worried about salthill

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 11/04/2023 12:23:15    2470216

Personally I hope the u20 guys are left to hurl in that grade. The only time I'd think differently would be if the player is a nailed on starter with the senior team which none of the guys are. We saw the messing around with Oisin pepper last year who missed out with the u20's all for a few mins v Dublin. Who knows what might have happened if he had played v Kilkenny in the final.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 11/04/2023 12:47:34    2470232

Replying To midlands:  "I was among a group of Tipp suppporters in 2019 and the only negative remarks I heard were about the referee! In fact, I heard some very complimentary remarks about Lee Chin. There are idiots in every county and Tipp has their share, who mostly seem to come from one particular area in the county. You say there are numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years but only mention two - what were the others? As well as having some great teams and players, the overwhelming majority of Tipp supporters in my experience of going to hurling games for over 50 years are fair-minded and passionate - much the same as supporters from every other county."
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-hunt-for-fans-who-fled-train-rampage-26118948.html

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/2707923/tipperary-fans-brawling-semple-stadium/

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/gaelic-football/gaelic-football-news/two-arrested-after-shocking-video-16170079

I've seen plenty of other incidents including a man in his 70's from KK being assaulted by two of them leaving Croke Park in 2010. More than happy to elaborate on any of them should you wish.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 11/04/2023 13:04:02    2470236

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Lads, on a different note altogether, I've to make a run sometime soon to the hellhole known as IKEA and am thinking I may as well do it next Saturday morning and then journey down to Parnell Park to see the U20s play.

Thing is, I haven't driven to Parnell Park in donkey's years. Last couple of times I was there, I just got the DART to Killester and walked the rest of the way.

Anyone got any current advice on parking anywhere near the ground? ExiledinWex, maybe you in particular might be able to help?

Thanks in advance."
For the Leinster championship game in 2019 we parked in an area called Oak Road and Elm Road across from Donnycarney church and it was perfect. The place was packed that day so with a smaller crowd Saturday should suit even better.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/04/2023 13:06:57    2470237

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Lads, on a different note altogether, I've to make a run sometime soon to the hellhole known as IKEA and am thinking I may as well do it next Saturday morning and then journey down to Parnell Park to see the U20s play.

Thanks in advance."
Just to add aswel if your using google maps makesure it doesn't bring through the port tunnel etc., there's a non toll option on it, a few years ago a friend of mine travelled from Carlow town to Ringsend, recommended route on a weekday evening with commuter traffic was up to the m50 towards the airport and then the tunnel, cost 16euro worth of tolls.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/04/2023 13:15:25    2470241