Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "What happened with Chin has no place in any GAA ground or on the street and that it came from a supporter makes it worse.
But why aren't the Gardai called? And the same when a referee is assaulted. The only way to stamp this carry on out is with these fools getting their day in the dock. Every body who played the game did things they would take back, but that's between players.
I saw a video on Twitter and Rory O'Connor was totally within his rights to confront the individual.
The statement from Tipp was just so GAA - "man is nothing to do with us, we don't condone it so move on". Name and shame.
No surprise immigrants choose other games for their children.
And Lee Chin is an absolute star both on and off the field, he is generous with his time after Wexford matches and has been in our club a couple of times and was great with the children.

The result of the match is irrelevant."
I think even Irish people pushing their kids down a different sporting path is going to be an issue too.
The GAA's lip service and tolerance to issues that arise is laughable.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2489 - 10/04/2023 15:01:07    2470031

Replying To Wexpurebred:  "I taught this was supposed to be a wexford forum . DO tipperary dublin waterford etc not have there own ?"
In fairness Wexpurebred many of your county men and others contribute adding value to all threads. Examples Tiobraid,Viking, Baire, Oldtourman and most of the Limerick lads add value to threads. What goes on in other counties at inter county plus snipets of information has an effect on all our counties. I never comment on your internal club affairs because that is your right. The whole thing became a bit of a mumble jumble and more difficult to find a topic of interest to you when the format changed. County sites that deal with club affairs is a much better format.
P.S.
There is one clown on here who would not add any value as a toilet roll but you Wexford lads know that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3162 - 10/04/2023 15:11:48    2470039

Replying To Bon:  "I think even Irish people pushing their kids down a different sporting path is going to be an issue too.
The GAA's lip service and tolerance to issues that arise is laughable."
So every time a spectator abuses a player for whatever reason and it is brought to the attention of the referee then the match ought to be abandoned?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 10/04/2023 16:21:50    2470053

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "What happened with Chin has no place in any GAA ground or on the street and that it came from a supporter makes it worse.
But why aren't the Gardai called? And the same when a referee is assaulted. The only way to stamp this carry on out is with these fools getting their day in the dock. Every body who played the game did things they would take back, but that's between players.
I saw a video on Twitter and Rory O'Connor was totally within his rights to confront the individual.
The statement from Tipp was just so GAA - "man is nothing to do with us, we don't condone it so move on". Name and shame.
No surprise immigrants choose other games for their children.
And Lee Chin is an absolute star both on and off the field, he is generous with his time after Wexford matches and has been in our club a couple of times and was great with the children.

The result of the match is irrelevant."
Fully agree and to see people defending this person on social media is shocking,I hope this racist is named and shamed,the GAA needs to come down heavy on this person.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 10/04/2023 16:49:38    2470060

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "What harm is there in other counties posting here? Especially on a national story involving a wexford player. What a strange post."
Exactly 1 maybe even 2 of the lads giving out post on other counties forums at times too.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 10/04/2023 16:57:55    2470065

Replying To Báireoir:  "Racial abuse is a symptom of xenophobic and racist attitudes, which are a serious problem. It's not as if someone just made a non-politically correct joke or was having a laugh, it was despicable abuse pure and simple. A lifetime ban and a fine against the Tipp County Board and club in Carrick is what's needed to show that this behaviour isn't tolerated in our games."
Please tell me this is a joke?? Fine the Tipp Co Board and the GAA Club who were hosting a fundraiser????? Idiot post in fairness. Its not about fines for county boards and clubs it's about education firstly and the law now taking this individual aside and making an example of him. This one idiot ruined a day out for everyone and brought something into context of 1950s and 1960s America with racist behaviour. This is not who Tipperary hurling people are and we won't all be tarnished with the one brush because of one person's actions. Tipp and Wexford always has had a healthy rivalry and long may it continue. I'm sure Lee Chin will have another stormer of a year and I wish this fantastic athlete who has stood up time and time again a good championship.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/04/2023 20:32:04    2470097

Replying To Báireoir:  "Racial abuse is a symptom of xenophobic and racist attitudes, which are a serious problem. It's not as if someone just made a non-politically correct joke or was having a laugh, it was despicable abuse pure and simple. A lifetime ban and a fine against the Tipp County Board and club in Carrick is what's needed to show that this behaviour isn't tolerated in our games."
You can't blame a club just because the match was there. The man has no affiliation with the club

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/04/2023 21:09:45    2470100

Replying To tiobraid:  "You can't blame a club just because the match was there. The man has no affiliation with the club"
Do you know who he is?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 11/04/2023 07:33:18    2470107

The match was a fundraiser for Ryan O'Dwyer from Carrick on Suir who is in a wheelchair after a tragic car accident.
Let's not lose sight of that.
Carrick Swan GAA hosted the fund raiser match at their beautiful new hurling pitch and club grounds in Ballyrichard,Carrick on Suir which they worked very hard to purchase and develop.
One individual,who is not from Carrick on Suir at all,did what he did and,from the video which we've all seen and heard by now,we know exactly what he said to Lee Ching.
The Carrick Swan club and the Tipp County Board are in no way to blame for what happened.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 92 - 11/04/2023 08:29:02    2470117

Replying To WildPundit:  "Please tell me this is a joke?? Fine the Tipp Co Board and the GAA Club who were hosting a fundraiser????? Idiot post in fairness. Its not about fines for county boards and clubs it's about education firstly and the law now taking this individual aside and making an example of him. This one idiot ruined a day out for everyone and brought something into context of 1950s and 1960s America with racist behaviour. This is not who Tipperary hurling people are and we won't all be tarnished with the one brush because of one person's actions. Tipp and Wexford always has had a healthy rivalry and long may it continue. I'm sure Lee Chin will have another stormer of a year and I wish this fantastic athlete who has stood up time and time again a good championship."
If I can be forgiven for intruding on other counties forums but this is too important to not let it be known that all genuine GAA people in all counties abhor this type of abuse. I have heard this kind of thing and worse over the years but thankfully it is becoming rarer and rarer. Some people seem to get a "buzz" or "fix" from letting this stuff fly and it is more indicative of their own limited educational and social inadequacies than any firmly held beliefs. I too think it is ridiculous to suggest fining the Tipp Co Board and the host club. That won't do anything to stop lone bigoted idiots from expressing themselves. Get the Gardai involved, have a court appearance and let the whole country know this despicable character's name. I don't want to appear patronising but I too have long admired that supreme athlete called Lee Chin. He is a true example of what all our children and grandchildren should aspire to in any walk of life, not alone sport.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1806 - 11/04/2023 08:56:05    2470125

"The Carrick Swan club and the Tipp County Board are in no way to blame for what happened"
If they didn't ensure that this clown left the ground in a squad car, then yes they are to blame.
Releasing generic statements afterwards washing their hands of it, what's the point.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 11/04/2023 09:33:07    2470135

Replying To WildPundit:  "Please tell me this is a joke?? Fine the Tipp Co Board and the GAA Club who were hosting a fundraiser????? Idiot post in fairness. Its not about fines for county boards and clubs it's about education firstly and the law now taking this individual aside and making an example of him. This one idiot ruined a day out for everyone and brought something into context of 1950s and 1960s America with racist behaviour. This is not who Tipperary hurling people are and we won't all be tarnished with the one brush because of one person's actions. Tipp and Wexford always has had a healthy rivalry and long may it continue. I'm sure Lee Chin will have another stormer of a year and I wish this fantastic athlete who has stood up time and time again a good championship."
I don't know if you can say that its not who Tipp hurling people are. I was in Croke Pk in 2019 and they're were several remarks about Lee that day. There has been numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years, fights at back of terrace in Thurles, train stopped on way home from a Waterford match in Cork a number of years ago which was destroyed. It is a pity for a county which has had some great teams and players.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 11/04/2023 09:33:18    2470136

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "So every time a spectator abuses a player for whatever reason and it is brought to the attention of the referee then the match ought to be abandoned?"
There's a line Barney.
You and I know well what players were called from the stands over the years.
There are lines not to be crossed and this has crossed it.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 11/04/2023 09:34:45    2470137

Replying To Moyle:  "The match was a fundraiser for Ryan O'Dwyer from Carrick on Suir who is in a wheelchair after a tragic car accident.
Let's not lose sight of that.
Carrick Swan GAA hosted the fund raiser match at their beautiful new hurling pitch and club grounds in Ballyrichard,Carrick on Suir which they worked very hard to purchase and develop.
One individual,who is not from Carrick on Suir at all,did what he did and,from the video which we've all seen and heard by now,we know exactly what he said to Lee Ching.
The Carrick Swan club and the Tipp County Board are in no way to blame for what happened."
Who is Lee Ching?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16839 - 11/04/2023 09:56:22    2470143

Very dissapointed with the events on Saturday. I admire Rory O Connor for confronting the supporter . That kind of behaviour can no longer be tolerated in the GAA or in any walk of life. This man needs to be made an example of now and shouldnt be allowed set foot inside any gaa grounds for many years

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 11/04/2023 10:17:44    2470149

Replying To hunting:  "Talking to a friend at match, this was our start team(he fairly sure)
Lawlor
Reck, Ryan, Kyle scallon
Flood, Donohue, niall murphy
Hearne, Dunbar
Joe o connor, oisin foley, R lawlor
Chin, dwyer, j o connor
He said wexford were 1 8 to no score down after 15 minutes. He said the biggest concern was we had no game plan, no intensity and players looked like they had been thrown together on the bus journey up.bemch was emptied just after half time"
Did Mac, Damien Reck, Dee, Liam Og or Hanlon feature on Saturday? Good to see Jippo , Richie Lawlor and Oisin Foley back. We will need a performance with intensity similar to the first 60 minutes in Cork to get a result in Galway.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 11/04/2023 10:36:30    2470155

Replying To Viking66:  "Do you know who he is?"
Not personally, no. Only I have heard like everyone else that he isnt from Carrick.
Someone made the point about the Tipp county boards statement washing their hands of it. To be honest I agree that the statement does not look good. It reads as if its not our problem so yes I do think that was a huge mistake but you cant say its Carrick Swans fault for letting the guy in.
Its back on the county board...theyre the ones who should have the expertise for something like this.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/04/2023 10:49:13    2470160

Replying To countyman2022:  "I don't know if you can say that its not who Tipp hurling people are. I was in Croke Pk in 2019 and they're were several remarks about Lee that day. There has been numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years, fights at back of terrace in Thurles, train stopped on way home from a Waterford match in Cork a number of years ago which was destroyed. It is a pity for a county which has had some great teams and players."
I'm reading that as if all Tipp hurling people are racist. Getting into accusations like that is not helpful.
Every county has scumbags who go to matches and I can honestly say Tipp are no worse than others. Myself and my brother got surrounded on Jones Road as teenagers by a bunch of drunken hooligans after one game.
Some people have a very clear agenda against Tipp and using something like this as a chance to get a dig in is disgusting tbh

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/04/2023 10:54:19    2470165

Replying To countyman2022:  "I don't know if you can say that its not who Tipp hurling people are. I was in Croke Pk in 2019 and they're were several remarks about Lee that day. There has been numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years, fights at back of terrace in Thurles, train stopped on way home from a Waterford match in Cork a number of years ago which was destroyed. It is a pity for a county which has had some great teams and players."
I was among a group of Tipp suppporters in 2019 and the only negative remarks I heard were about the referee! In fact, I heard some very complimentary remarks about Lee Chin. There are idiots in every county and Tipp has their share, who mostly seem to come from one particular area in the county. You say there are numerous issues with Tipp supporters down the years but only mention two - what were the others? As well as having some great teams and players, the overwhelming majority of Tipp supporters in my experience of going to hurling games for over 50 years are fair-minded and passionate - much the same as supporters from every other county.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 627 - 11/04/2023 10:56:20    2470166

On a positive note it was a very good win for the Under 20's v Kilkenny. After a dreadful start they looked much the better team, outscored Kilkenny 2-17 to 0-09 for the next 50 minutes and won comfortably really. I know Kilkenny have seniors to come back in but this should give our lads confidence going forward

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 11/04/2023 11:02:37    2470169