Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To beano:  "I see reports emerging on twitter of an incident that has no place anywhere in society causing the game to be abandoned a minute from the end. Absolutely scandalous."
Yerra grow a pair and lighten up ffs.

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 08/04/2023 21:49:31    2469658

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "Yerra grow a pair and lighten up ffs."
You obviously have no idea about the incident beano is referring to. Maybe you should inform yourself before making idiotic comments

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 08/04/2023 21:58:33    2469661

Absolutely sickened to hear what happened at yesterdays game. I hate to say it but you don't have to go far to hear racist remarks in this country and from people you don't expect too. It's so widespread in this country from ethnicity, nationality to religion, there's comments I hear so often.
I hope the culprit is found and identified.
I've seen comments saying that Lee Chin is as Irish as any of us. To me that's not much better. If he's Chinese, British, Nigerian or from anywhere else it doesn't make any difference.
Not sure what can be done but the very least I hope he's identified and gets a day in court for it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/04/2023 09:37:48    2469674

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "You obviously have no idea about the incident beano is referring to. Maybe you should inform yourself before making idiotic comments"
What else was he referring to? Hopefully gets banned from this forum

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/04/2023 11:02:55    2469697

Disgusting to hear this has happened..excuse the other limerick poster as I hope he wasn't serious with that comment..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2511 - 09/04/2023 11:25:07    2469701

Seems a bit extreme to abandon the match if it was a spectator and it wasn't a physical assault on the player?

Not defending for one minute anyone abusing a player from the sideline of course.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3531 - 09/04/2023 11:36:23    2469706

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Seems a bit extreme to abandon the match if it was a spectator and it wasn't a physical assault on the player?

Not defending for one minute anyone abusing a player from the sideline of course."
It was completely the right thing to do no matter if it was the 1st or last minute.

When games are abandoned it sends out a message

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 09/04/2023 12:24:59    2469732

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Seems a bit extreme to abandon the match if it was a spectator and it wasn't a physical assault on the player?

Not defending for one minute anyone abusing a player from the sideline of course."
No. It's the right response. Zero tolerance. If not you'd be placing more importance on the last 2 or 3 minutes of a challenge match than standing up to racial abuse.

Continuing the match is 1970s thinking, it's 2023 now, and we've put more credence on the dignity of every individual. I'm not saying life is perfect now and we've lost a lot, in other areas, community etc from 50 years ago.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 09/04/2023 12:33:01    2469739

Replying To hunting:  "Talking to a friend at match, this was our start team(he fairly sure)
Lawlor
Reck, Ryan, Kyle scallon
Flood, Donohue, niall murphy
Hearne, Dunbar
Joe o connor, oisin foley, R lawlor
Chin, dwyer, j o connor
He said wexford were 1 8 to no score down after 15 minutes. He said the biggest concern was we had no game plan, no intensity and players looked like they had been thrown together on the bus journey up.bemch was emptied just after half time"
Great to see Richie and Oisin starting. Terrible result to be beaten by 20 points but I've said it all year to myself I'm not judging them until Salthill.

And that clown racially abusing Lee should be made an example of typical ignorant auld eejit.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 09/04/2023 12:35:09    2469740

If the below was the team that started:

Lawlor
Reck, Ryan, Kyle Scallan
Flood, Donohoe, Niall Murphy
Hearne, Dunbar
Joe O'Connor, Oisín Foley, R Lawlor
Chin, Dwyer, Jack O'Connor

Liam Ryan hasn't hurled since the start of February, Kyle Scallan has played very little Senior Inter-County Hurling, can't remember Simon Donohoe every hurling at centre-back for Wexford, Niall Murphy has played very little Senior Inter-County Hurling, Joe O'Connor is pretty much just back starting, Oisín Foley is pretty much just back starting, and Richie Lawlor last played in late February.

That's seven lads who probably would have been in need of either a game or were playing in an unfamiliar position. Still have Damien Reck, Conor Devitt, Matthew O'Hanlon, Diarmuid O'Keeffe, Liam Óg McGovern, Rory O'Connor, Conor McDonald, Charlie McGuckin, Kevin Foley, and Conor Foley left out from that starting team. Not sure it'd be wise to read that much into the game.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 09/04/2023 12:47:44    2469744

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Great to see Richie and Oisin starting. Terrible result to be beaten by 20 points but I've said it all year to myself I'm not judging them until Salthill.

And that clown racially abusing Lee should be made an example of typical ignorant auld eejit."
These people need to be named and shamed

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2322 - 09/04/2023 13:07:32    2469755

Replying To tiobraid:  "Absolutely sickened to hear what happened at yesterdays game. I hate to say it but you don't have to go far to hear racist remarks in this country and from people you don't expect too. It's so widespread in this country from ethnicity, nationality to religion, there's comments I hear so often.
I've seen comments saying that Lee Chin is as Irish as any of us. To me that's not much better. If he's Chinese, British, Nigerian or from anywhere else it doesn't make any difference.
Not sure what can be done but the very least I hope he's identified and gets a day in court for it."
Agree 100% - just below the surface is a pervasive ignorance - Chin is a fine example of a sportsman and role model for many people from diverse backgrounds who have made Ireland their home

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 579 - 09/04/2023 14:25:16    2469783

Replying To tiobraid:  "Absolutely sickened to hear what happened at yesterdays game. I hate to say it but you don't have to go far to hear racist remarks in this country and from people you don't expect too. It's so widespread in this country from ethnicity, nationality to religion, there's comments I hear so often.
Not sure what can be done but the very least I hope he's identified and gets a day in court for it."
I have seen a lot of people also post how it shouldn't happen to Chin because of how good a hurler he is and I seen one guy on social media on about how it ruins the reputation of Tipp. You have to wonder if the same people would stand up and defend a ordinary person on the street if it happened to them? If anything comes out of it, it should be to use the GAA as a way of saying to the public that this type of behavior is wrong regardless,

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1973 - 09/04/2023 16:27:06    2469812

I hope tiobraid there is not a win any way including intimidation coming into the Tipp set up and not being biased. Your hurling and players are good enough without it. This is the second example of it in a few weeks and if it was Waterford we would be called all the names under the sun and rightly so. Hopefully not the case and we will be talking about how good your team is, this year.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 09/04/2023 18:05:16    2469850

I taught this was supposed to be a wexford forum . DO tipperary dublin waterford etc not have there own ?

Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 09/04/2023 19:08:06    2469884

Replying To Wexpurebred:  "I taught this was supposed to be a wexford forum . DO tipperary dublin waterford etc not have there own ?"
The Waterford lad gets involved in everything and everywhere.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 795 - 10/04/2023 09:14:39    2469944

Replying To Wexpurebred:  "I taught this was supposed to be a wexford forum . DO tipperary dublin waterford etc not have there own ?"
What harm is there in other counties posting here? Especially on a national story involving a wexford player. What a strange post.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 10/04/2023 09:36:18    2469951

What happened with Chin has no place in any GAA ground or on the street and that it came from a supporter makes it worse.
But why aren't the Gardai called? And the same when a referee is assaulted. The only way to stamp this carry on out is with these fools getting their day in the dock. Every body who played the game did things they would take back, but that's between players.
I saw a video on Twitter and Rory O'Connor was totally within his rights to confront the individual.
The statement from Tipp was just so GAA - "man is nothing to do with us, we don't condone it so move on". Name and shame.
No surprise immigrants choose other games for their children.
And Lee Chin is an absolute star both on and off the field, he is generous with his time after Wexford matches and has been in our club a couple of times and was great with the children.

The result of the match is irrelevant.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1341 - 10/04/2023 10:12:14    2469958

Hopefully might galvanise the group a bit if nothing else. Would never read much into challenge games but something seems amiss with the hurling panel all year. All roads lead to Salthill I guess..

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 407 - 10/04/2023 10:38:39    2469963

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "Yerra grow a pair and lighten up ffs."
Racial abuse is a symptom of xenophobic and racist attitudes, which are a serious problem. It's not as if someone just made a non-politically correct joke or was having a laugh, it was despicable abuse pure and simple. A lifetime ban and a fine against the Tipp County Board and club in Carrick is what's needed to show that this behaviour isn't tolerated in our games.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 10/04/2023 12:01:53    2469989