On the other theme, I have relations living in Tipp and know that it isn't what they are re this incident. I can also tell you that I was on a train back from Croke Park a few years ago and what I witnessed by young Wexford people was not 1 bit better and the whole journey home was uncomfortable, intimidating, hostile. Don't fool yourselves that Tipp supporters are any worse than your own. Or any other county. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 11/04/2023 17:03:25 2470346 Link 0 |
I think a win for us would require a big performance similar to Nowlan Park last year no matter what the score line. It's hard to see given the lack of cohesion we have shown in our play this year and the injury worries but its the hope that kills!
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 11/04/2023 17:07:01 2470349 Link 0 |
Countyman, I'm sure if you continue to examine archive material from the Mirror and the Sun you'll find lots of examples of misbehaviour from supporters of other counties, including your own, as one of your fellow county men has already acknowledged. No county has a monopoly on high standards, and sadly, all counties have a small minority of idiots who bring shame on the GAA and on their local area.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 627 - 11/04/2023 17:28:02 2470355 Link 3 |
Yeah I'll head up too, look I understand there's a cost of living issue in the country but supporters really need to step up this year our support in Thurles vs Clare last year was terrible, I understand Galway is a long way away but any genuine supporters have no excuse for not going to the home games or Croke Park vs Dublin if circumstances allow them to travel, look they don't always allow I couldn't go to Mullingar last year with my nephews confirmation but people genuine supporters should always do there best to attend and I don't think they did last year.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/04/2023 21:23:34 2470388 Link 1 |
To be honest I'd ignore that poster, there's a reason they constantly seem to be in a childish quibble which sometimes turn toxic.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/04/2023 21:25:32 2470389 Link 0 |
No they didn't. We were comfortably the worst supported team of the four in Semple and the Banner roar definitely helped their lads over the line at the end. Bizarre that more didn't go after the lads performance in Nowlan Park.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 12/04/2023 08:42:19 2470406 Link 0 |
I'd agree our support last year was very poor . I do remember players in our club put in big orders for tickets for family and friends but Wexford gaa came back and said there was a limit of 4 tickets per member . I know a few families didnt go after that . I do think our support has went down since Davy left though . There was only `10,500 in the park for the Galway game last year and Kilkenny out numbered us in May which would have been unusual even if the match was in Nowlan Park. I hope there is a decent Wexford crowd next Saturday. These lads have always given there all in championship and are capable if we get most of our best players on the pitch fit and ready to go Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/04/2023 09:09:51 2470413 Link 0 |
A childish quibble for pointing out something which is clearly factual? Fair enough. There was one person who there has been a quibble with and that poster is not even a Wexford poster.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 12/04/2023 09:19:49 2470415 Link 0 |
It was shocking, We have an extremely fickle support base. I'd go as close to saying bandwagon.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 12/04/2023 09:56:04 2470426 Link 0 |
If Wexford are at full-strength I'd expect them to beat us too. If not it could be close. I'd actually have been a bit more confident if we'd been playing in Parnell Park
Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 12/04/2023 10:10:01 2470430 Link 0 |
But its constant with ya, you'll be in another childish quibble in a week or 2 on a different topic.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/04/2023 10:10:46 2470431 Link 0 |
That's fair, Galway could give both of us a pasting this year, although we do seem to have more luck against them than yous do. Leinster looks a bit more open than I'd have thought, though, after Kilkenny's limp performance against Limerick the other day. They'll up it for certain but it could be close after all
Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 12/04/2023 10:12:20 2470432 Link 0 |
Don't make stupid posts then. So if fining county boards is the way to go...say a guy walks into a supermarket and racially abuses every ethnic person he sees. Is the way forward to fine the supermarket so no one else gets racially abused? Your argument doesn't stand up and throwing money at it is not the solution. It's education and a bit of cop on.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 12/04/2023 10:30:14 2470440 Link 1 |
For sure. If we get a good result in Salthill there will probably be loads come out of the woodwork. I've been to every match this year home and away from Mountrath to the Gaelic Grounds but no doubt I'll struggle to get a decent ticket for Croke Park if we make a Leinster final.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 12/04/2023 10:36:29 2470444 Link 0 |
I'll be heading, actually find it less hassle to head all the way to Galway than to head to thurles.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1551 - 12/04/2023 10:42:37 2470446 Link 0 |
I think you are missing the point of the proposal for fines for county boards and/or clubs. Have you watched the video of the incident? No official or steward even challenged that fella for what he said. And there will be nothing or next to nothing done about the incident in the coming weeks either. Watch this space.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 12/04/2023 10:49:42 2470449 Link 0 |
It is very much childish when you literally painted all Tipp people with the same brush. No one here is saying all Wexford people are like the lad who punched the referee or the various issues Lee Chin has had from a young age in Wexford, or the group of drunken idiots who jumped in my face as a teenager after Wexford beat us in Babs last game. We will have counties we would probably prefer not to see win but yours posts are just childish digs and nothing else. A horrible and disgusting incident happened last weekend and you're just using it for your own agenda. tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/04/2023 10:51:01 2470450 Link 3 |
Our record against Galway is poor compared to yours for sure, although we drew both of our last 2 Round Robin games against them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 12/04/2023 10:51:35 2470451 Link 0 |
Trying to decide whether to head to Thurles or Ennis. Might be a better game in Ennis?
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 12/04/2023 11:35:57 2470470 Link 0 |
They're honest facts. That's all. If you don't like them that is perfectly fine, all allowed opinions.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 875 - 12/04/2023 11:37:20 2470471 Link 0 |