Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "I was out on the pitch after the u20 game and the kids were getting hurls signed. I told Shamey O Hagan that for me he was man of the match. None of the lads would have the build of Damien or Shane, never mind Lee or Matthew. Throwing them in too soon against bigger harder grown men might set them back rather than bring them on."
Hagan has the size arite and plenty of hurling too. I see the stand is sold out already. Hopefully a sell out in Carlow Wednesday

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/05/2023 11:29:22    2477813

Replying To Afinestick:  "Hagan has the size arite and plenty of hurling too. I see the stand is sold out already. Hopefully a sell out in Carlow Wednesday"
I only found out last night that while my underage pass is valid the kids aren't free. And the stand tickets were sold out by then. So we will all be on the terraces!!!! Hopefully there will be a good crowd travel. Carlow was picked for that reason and it will be very disappointing if lads from here still don't go. You'd imagine there should be a massive crowd make the short journey up from Bunclody for example with their lads on the team. Offaly will have huge support.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 11:45:59    2477818

Replying To Viking66:  "He would. But we are posting on whats a fairly inconsequential forum anonymously. He's in a position of influence and with that comes a responsibility to be fair and balanced.
Lads on here have been saying about the u20 gameplan. That has worked this year because we have big lads who can catch a ball in the half forward line and half back line AT THEIR LEVEL. At Senior we haven't had anyone except for Chin who could dominate like Shamey O Hagan did aerially a couple of nights ago. Not for years. Stephen Banville was OK at it and so was Podge Doran, maybe Jack Guiney and Andrew Shore also, but none stuck at intercounty very long. And whatever Alan or people on here think, that is not Egans fault, any more than it was Davys or Liams before him.
Storey himself has said about playing Mac and Jacko inside. Can anyone on this forum tell me the name of one top 9 team fullback that Mac has dominated in the last 5 years, either standing under a high dropping ball or running the legs off out to the sideline to win a ball played there? I can't think of one. Not one. Likewise Jacko, who for his height doesn't seem that good at jumping tbh. He would usually play in the half forward line and was in fairness effective against his marker in the Antrim game, but that was the only game in a long time I can remember him winning much contested ball. In the NFL in America one of the stats published about players looking to be drafted every year is how high they can jump. It would be interesting to see where do those 2 lads come if the whole squad had to do that test. Both aren't the fastest or most mobile either, but in fairness to both they are both more effective, even very effective sometimes, coming on in the 2nd half when the game is looser and their markers are more tired. They are both very skilful hurlers before anyone thinks I'm running them down."
This is a great post Viking.

It was a great win for the 20s last week but let`s be honest, if they are beaten next Wednesday night then there willbe people on here/socail media and radio saying Wexford hurling is finished while if we win they will be saying we have a bright future.As a county we find it hard to keep a realistic viewpoint and to have a Joe duffy type approach on local radio does not help.

I saw the 20s in parnell park in the flesh and on screen v Kilkenny. It is too early to judge either the team or the management.
I know a relation of a player and they certainly feel that there is great work being done in the system and that this year has seen alot of improvements in S and C etc which is done with players in squads and in schools. If they lose it is important that this improves year to year.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 12/05/2023 11:48:16    2477819

Replying To Afinestick:  "Hagan has the size arite and plenty of hurling too. I see the stand is sold out already. Hopefully a sell out in Carlow Wednesday"
Yeah i taught tickets would be general sale so I had to settle with a terrace ticket myself, remember for the Laois Offaly minor final last year Duignan got primary schools to arrange buses down to Portlaoise so probably doing the same again for this, there getting far bigger crowds than their senior team.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/05/2023 11:57:24    2477825

Replying To wendellgee:  "He did, and he was always likely to, he had a personal link to this year's group. Alan's son Calum was with the squad earlier in the year, a decent young hurler who has been in this yeargroup's development squads consistently. A lot of people in here lashing into Alan like he never was at a match in his life. I didn't hear Monday's show, but no-one should doubt his passion for Wexford hurling.
If Alan was over the top with his reaction to Saturday's match, he would have lots of company on this forum in that regard."
I know he's a passionate hurling man and he has strong links to the harriers but as I said he was completely out of order in that interview and didn't do himself justice, in my opinion he was fishing for a headline and arguably playing up those people constantly giving out on Facebook. Some of those people have been hilarious since the u20 game saying look what happens when Wexford men are over the team when David Franks is an important part of the coaching set up.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/05/2023 12:03:26    2477828

It's a very small stand!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2853 - 12/05/2023 12:04:11    2477829

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Alan Corcoran is involved with Faythe Harriers. According to the club contacts thing on the Wexford GAA website, he's their PRO this year.

On the U20s thing, let's hope it doesn't work out that way, but Conor Foley is the obvious one to come back into contention for the seniors. Of the others, both Cian Byrne and Corey Byrne Dunbar have had runs with the seniors in the past, and I wouldn't be hugely suprised to see one of them making the matchday 26 for the seniors. But I think it'd be a big push to promote somebody straight in there who hasn't featured before.

And again, let's hope they don't have the option anyway, on account of U20s beating Offaly in the Leinster Final and therefore preparing for an All-Ireland Final."
Lots of very good hurlers on that u20 team. It's too soon to be thinking about bringing them into the senior setup. Hopefully they can win Leinster. I believe they are good enough.Guys like Dundon,Carley, Rowley, Cian Byrne, O hagen, Byrne Dunbar and Roche impressed me hugely.
Best to blood them in when training starts in December and introduce them during the Walsh Cup and then some gametime in league games.
They may not all make it but its exactly what we need right now.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 447 - 12/05/2023 12:31:28    2477838

Replying To Magpie2:  "Lots of very good hurlers on that u20 team. It's too soon to be thinking about bringing them into the senior setup. Hopefully they can win Leinster. I believe they are good enough.Guys like Dundon,Carley, Rowley, Cian Byrne, O hagen, Byrne Dunbar and Roche impressed me hugely.
Best to blood them in when training starts in December and introduce them during the Walsh Cup and then some gametime in league games.
They may not all make it but its exactly what we need right now."
Mad that 4 of the players featured Wednesday night can't play adult with their clubs this year with the u18 decoupling.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/05/2023 12:39:05    2477844

Replying To Magpie2:  "Lots of very good hurlers on that u20 team. It's too soon to be thinking about bringing them into the senior setup. Hopefully they can win Leinster. I believe they are good enough.Guys like Dundon,Carley, Rowley, Cian Byrne, O hagen, Byrne Dunbar and Roche impressed me hugely.
One thing about the approach Egan has taken this year is that he will likely do that. He will talk to all of them. Get them on nutrition and S and C programs as needed. Try to offer guidance and advice. He has proved that this year. I know a good young hurler who isn't even on the Senior panel this year that he has done that for with a view to the future. Wexfords hurling future, not neccessarily his own. Tbh I find the criticism of him, some verging on personal, very ####ing distasteful.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 13:12:36    2477856

One thing about the approach Egan has taken this year is that he will likely do that. He will talk to all of them. Get them on nutrition and S and C programs as needed. Try to offer guidance and advice. He has proved that this year. I know a good young hurler who isn't even on the Senior panel this year that he has done that for with a view to the future. Wexfords hurling future, not neccessarily his own. Tbh I find the criticism of him, some verging on personal, very ####ing distasteful.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 13:24:29    2477861

A lot of doom and gloom lately

All of that U20 team are very good - add that to the best of our senior plus add in the likes of AJ Redmond, Cian Molloy and hopefully a return of Paudie Foley and suddenly we have that competition for places we need.

If i was the senior manager I would team up with our two closest neighbours dublin and Waterford.

Have an A panel and a B panel. 18 on each.

Every month Wexford As play Waterford/ Dublin As and The Bs play the Bs

The 5 best Bs are promoted and the 5 worst As are demoted

Then once a month the Wexford As play the Wexford Bs

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 12/05/2023 13:52:38    2477869

Replying To Viking66:  "One thing about the approach Egan has taken this year is that he will likely do that. He will talk to all of them. Get them on nutrition and S and C programs as needed. Try to offer guidance and advice. He has proved that this year. I know a good young hurler who isn't even on the Senior panel this year that he has done that for with a view to the future. Wexfords hurling future, not neccessarily his own. Tbh I find the criticism of him, some verging on personal, very ####ing distasteful."
He seems like an honest lad in fairness trying his best for Wexford hurling. The criticism has been over the top . Hopefully he can turn things around for and we can get into the all Ireland series and improve as the summer goes on

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/05/2023 13:54:36    2477870

Replying To Afinestick:  "He seems like an honest lad in fairness trying his best for Wexford hurling. The criticism has been over the top . Hopefully he can turn things around for and we can get into the all Ireland series and improve as the summer goes on"
I'd take alot of the social media criticism with a pinch of salt, I get the sense Covid, lockdowns etc. turned alot of people angry, social media also gives idiots a voice, I wouldn't be surprised if alot of people giving out didn't even watch the game on GAAGO let alone go to the match.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/05/2023 14:14:28    2477876

Replying To Afinestick:  "He seems like an honest lad in fairness trying his best for Wexford hurling. The criticism has been over the top . Hopefully he can turn things around for and we can get into the all Ireland series and improve as the summer goes on"
Hope so too. Hopefully the injured lads heal up fully and we get a little luck going forwards. Aside from the missed frees and wides in general if Cathal Dunbars shot had been an inch or 2 lower the last close in free in injury time would've won us the game if it had been put over the bar instead of dropped into the square. Miniscule margins.......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 14:38:33    2477889

Lots of doom and gloom surrounding the seniors lately all right, and lots of well-deserved praise and optimism for the U20s.

But here's an example of how fickle the whole thing can be. Let's just say the U20 match had finished slightly differently the other night, with Kilkenny getting a couple of points in injury time to win it. Then where would we have been?

Instead of it being "great chance to win a Leinster Final, Keith Rossiter is a brilliant manager, the seniors could learn a lot from him and I hope he gets the senior job himself some day", it would be:

- We're at little or nothing with the U20s either.
- We only managed to beat Kilkenny in the first match when they were short a good few players.
- We were outplayed by Dublin in Parnell Park and went down with barely a whimper to Galway too.
- We couldn't even hit top gear against Westmeath, we were sloppy for a lot of the game there, and we ended up letting them back to within four points of us.
- And okay, we played better against Kilkenny this time, but we couldn't see it out and they caught us at the end.
- Does that Keith Rossiter fella know what he's doing at all?

And the thing is, Rossiter wouldn't have done a single thing differently along the way. All that would have been different would be the break of the ball in the closing stages in Nowlan Park.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2853 - 12/05/2023 14:46:30    2477891

Replying To Pikeman96:  "It's a very small stand!"
Cheeky of them to charge €15.00 into the stand for juveniles though and €2.00 for a juvenile into the terraces.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 921 - 12/05/2023 15:47:36    2477915

Replying To Past hurler:  "Cheeky of them to charge €15.00 into the stand for juveniles though and €2.00 for a juvenile into the terraces."
Didn't realise that, cheeky is right.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/05/2023 15:55:07    2477916

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Lots of doom and gloom surrounding the seniors lately all right, and lots of well-deserved praise and optimism for the U20s.

But here's an example of how fickle the whole thing can be. Let's just say the U20 match had finished slightly differently the other night, with Kilkenny getting a couple of points in injury time to win it. Then where would we have been?

Instead of it being "great chance to win a Leinster Final, Keith Rossiter is a brilliant manager, the seniors could learn a lot from him and I hope he gets the senior job himself some day", it would be:

- We only managed to beat Kilkenny in the first match when they were short a good few players.
- We were outplayed by Dublin in Parnell Park and went down with barely a whimper to Galway too.
- We couldn't even hit top gear against Westmeath, we were sloppy for a lot of the game there, and we ended up letting them back to within four points of us.
- And okay, we played better against Kilkenny this time, but we couldn't see it out and they caught us at the end.

And the thing is, Rossiter wouldn't have done a single thing differently along the way. All that would have been different would be the break of the ball in the closing stages in Nowlan Park."
Spot on Pikeman! Alot of Wexford fans would remind you of the crowd outside the place where Brian and his mother were. "He's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy"!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 16:08:58    2477924

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Lots of doom and gloom surrounding the seniors lately all right, and lots of well-deserved praise and optimism for the U20s.

And the thing is, Rossiter wouldn't have done a single thing differently along the way. All that would have been different would be the break of the ball in the closing stages in Nowlan Park."
And that's where that little bit of luck comes in.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15630 - 12/05/2023 16:10:06    2477925

Replying To Yellow:  "A lot of doom and gloom lately

All of that U20 team are very good - add that to the best of our senior plus add in the likes of AJ Redmond, Cian Molloy and hopefully a return of Paudie Foley and suddenly we have that competition for places we need.

If i was the senior manager I would team up with our two closest neighbours dublin and Waterford.

Have an A panel and a B panel. 18 on each.

Every month Wexford As play Waterford/ Dublin As and The Bs play the Bs

The 5 best Bs are promoted and the 5 worst As are demoted

Then once a month the Wexford As play the Wexford Bs"
Redmond and Molloy won't commit to the county senior set up. I don't think they're interested.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 12/05/2023 16:57:40    2477937