Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "nice win for u20s, know it was only waterford, but any win at under age is welcome"
Yes apparently they were better all through. They've been training a good while now and several nights a week, not sure how many, so hopefully they get the results that the effort the management and players are putting in deserves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 11/02/2023 12:25:15    2457788

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes apparently they were better all through. They've been training a good while now and several nights a week, not sure how many, so hopefully they get the results that the effort the management and players are putting in deserves."
we can have a look at them next saturday in pats pk

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 11/02/2023 19:30:10    2457853

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "we can have a look at them next saturday in pats pk"
Yes for sure! Although I dislike that ground tbh. Nice coffee is about all it has going for it!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 11/02/2023 20:33:38    2457865

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes for sure! Although I dislike that ground tbh. Nice coffee is about all it has going for it!"
Think there's a free admission for the game too.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1663 - 11/02/2023 21:08:05    2457874

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Think there's a free admission for the game too."
I'd go anyway it's not expensive.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 11/02/2023 21:16:39    2457876

i dont know all the players but there are 3 or 4 very good players on that team

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 12/02/2023 13:29:19    2457915

A bit odd that you have 5 Gorey starters and no one from GB who beat them comfortably in the u19 final only a few weeks back and also won the corresponding U17 competition 2 years ago (Also against Gorey).
Fair enough if they not committed but without knowing any of the details it seems strange.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 170 - 12/02/2023 16:48:47    2457938

Replying To Paull:  "A bit odd that you have 5 Gorey starters and no one from GB who beat them comfortably in the u19 final only a few weeks back and also won the corresponding U17 competition 2 years ago (Also against Gorey).
Fair enough if they not committed but without knowing any of the details it seems strange."
Maybe some of the better Barntown lads chose hurling u20 instead? Not sure who Keith Rossiter has on his panel

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 12/02/2023 18:41:44    2457961

Good people of Wexford,

Any recommendations for spuds between Wexford park and the train station for after the game?

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 16/02/2023 17:43:36    2458574

Replying To Mugatay:  "Good people of Wexford,

Any recommendations for spuds between Wexford park and the train station for after the game?"
Crown Bar wouldn't be far from the train station.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1663 - 16/02/2023 21:07:46    2458595

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Crown Bar wouldn't be far from the train station."
Yes and they support Wexford GAA and our club with sponsorship. Have rooms too if the pints are good and the craic mighty and you miss your train!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 17/02/2023 08:27:50    2458599

Replying To Paull:  "A bit odd that you have 5 Gorey starters and no one from GB who beat them comfortably in the u19 final only a few weeks back and also won the corresponding U17 competition 2 years ago (Also against Gorey).
Fair enough if they not committed but without knowing any of the details it seems strange."
Selectors of county teams should be judging players as individuals, not by what club comes after their name in the programme

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 17/02/2023 19:28:53    2458737

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes and they support Wexford GAA and our club with sponsorship. Have rooms too if the pints are good and the craic mighty and you miss your train!!"
Haha....I'll have 2 weanlings with me under 6. I've gotten better at making the said train ! !
I railed and sailed to London for the game...the day of the Irl Wales game...one of the connecting trains was heading to Cardiff.....Very nearly went to London via Cardiff but then remembered I'm not a young Bull anymore :-)

I'll leave a few pound behind the bar in the Crown so...
Getting Wexford bus so ye are doing well out of me...

Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 18/02/2023 21:30:03    2458937

Replying To Onfor15:  "Selectors of county teams should be judging players as individuals, not by what club comes after their name in the programme"
Of course they should but it still seems a bit strange. So if no GB boys who made themselves available are good enough to start then that is fine by me.
But if 5 of a team well beaten in a County Final no matter who the opposition were are on that same County team something just does not stack up.
And while today's result will not give us any insight into that anolomy it more depressingly gives us an indication of where we are currently are in the pecking order which is basically very near the bottom.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 170 - 18/02/2023 21:50:35    2458946

Replying To Mugatay:  "Haha....I'll have 2 weanlings with me under 6. I've gotten better at making the said train ! !
I railed and sailed to London for the game...the day of the Irl Wales game...one of the connecting trains was heading to Cardiff.....Very nearly went to London via Cardiff but then remembered I'm not a young Bull anymore :-)

I'll leave a few pound behind the bar in the Crown so...
Getting Wexford bus so ye are doing well out of me...

Liatroim abú"
Hope you and your lads have a great day out down here! Hopefully Wexford win though! I'll be bringing the kids in myself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 19/02/2023 07:12:36    2458949

Replying To Paull:  "Of course they should but it still seems a bit strange. So if no GB boys who made themselves available are good enough to start then that is fine by me.
But if 5 of a team well beaten in a County Final no matter who the opposition were are on that same County team something just does not stack up.
And while today's result will not give us any insight into that anolomy it more depressingly gives us an indication of where we are currently are in the pecking order which is basically very near the bottom."
I wouldn't read too much into yesterday's result Paull. The same group of lads won well the last day and might well win well the next.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 19/02/2023 07:14:32    2458950

Replying To Viking66:  "I wouldn't read too much into yesterday's result Paull. The same group of lads won well the last day and might well win well the next."
That would be fine if it was a one off but it seems to be the new norm.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 170 - 19/02/2023 11:04:18    2458975

Replying To Paull:  "That would be fine if it was a one off but it seems to be the new norm."
And if that was against a Dublin, Meath Kildare etc it would actually nearly be acceptable as we know we are a good bit off them. But surely we should be capable of competing with Wicklow.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 170 - 19/02/2023 11:57:55    2458993

Replying To Paull:  "And if that was against a Dublin, Meath Kildare etc it would actually nearly be acceptable as we know we are a good bit off them. But surely we should be capable of competing with Wicklow."
Nearly all of Wicklows top GAA players choose to play football at u20. Most of ours play hurling. Hard to be a successful dual county at u20 when you have no dual players at that age group, unless you have higher playing numbers, or a particularly good bunch of lads all around the same age coming up together. A golden generation.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 19/02/2023 12:14:56    2459000

great win, played some lovely football, moving the ball with speed, i said it after the london ,game they now have a system of playing, a game plan, it takes time to perfect and its a long way off still, but that team is going to improve with ever game, 2th game in a row i was sitting beside the subs, there seems to be a great spirit and unity in the camp, it was impressive, sligo the big one now, but first keep the heads and get over waterford, which has been a struggle in past few years, bit unlucky with injuries, hopefullg that wheel will turn

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 19/02/2023 16:31:38    2459052