Wexford Inter County Football

Yeah great win. Showed some resilience to fight back from a deficit midway through the half when we were on the ropes. Subs made a difference when introduced. Brooks when playing like today is like an extra forward. Niall Hughes is having some campaign so far, probably MOTM today. Enjoyable brand of football which at least will get bums on seats. Overall, pointing towards an upward trajectory which is the main thing and hopefully build on it now.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 19/02/2023 16:59:02    2459073

Went in with the 2 boys. Excellent enjoyable game of football. Very little backward or sideways passing from either team. 1st half especially there were a few misplaced passes and turnovers conceded but it was noticeable compared to last year that when we got turned over while attacking we had a better structure in place to prevent the opposition run through us for goals on the counterattack. Another real positive was our approach at the end of the game. Instead of retreating and putting ourselves under pressure when 1 point up as the 70 minutes were coming to a close, we were more positive and tacked on 3 more points. Keeping lads like Conor Carty and Darragh Lyons etc to bring on in the second half was very good also, as it meant the team we finished with was pretty much as strong as the team we started with.
One small criticism was we had a few wides from the stand side especially in the final quarter where lads had the space to shoot off the left foot and let the ball draw in with the wind but the players concerned shot with the right foot and put the shots wide as a result. If a lad is so one sided perhaps he should've been playing on the opposite side of the pitch.
I thought Liam Coleman, Dylan Furlong and Kevin O grady were excellent, while Glen Malone looked very good when on the ball but didn't get himself on it often enough. Niall Hughes was very good also. Brian Molloy and Conor Kinsella also covered alot of ground. Darragh Brooks was excellent also and near perfect on the long range frees. All the lads had good games it has to be said and couldn't be faulted for effort. Fair play to Hegarty and the management team also the gameplan and team structure were both effective and entertaining.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 19/02/2023 17:53:39    2459106

Replying To beano:  "Yeah great win. Showed some resilience to fight back from a deficit midway through the half when we were on the ropes. Subs made a difference when introduced. Brooks when playing like today is like an extra forward. Niall Hughes is having some campaign so far, probably MOTM today. Enjoyable brand of football which at least will get bums on seats. Overall, pointing towards an upward trajectory which is the main thing and hopefully build on it now."
Yes, a win at last and nothing more than the lads deserved. Brooks is vital to this team, maybe not THE greatest/ bravest goalkeeper, but his distribution (kick-out and general play) is crucial, and his free-taking today was flawless.
Also good to have Coleman back. Himself , N Hughes, and Malone can be a formidable midfield "diamond".
As you said Beano, an attractive brand of football too.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 19/02/2023 18:26:39    2459127

Couldn't make the game yesterday due to family birthday party but delighted for everyone involved, hopefully can build on it now, having a full fit Furlong I'm sure compensated the loss of Porter and Sheehan to some extent while Coleman and Brooks returning is huge, Coleman our most influential player to my mind certainly with Martin O'Connor away at the moment, hopefully can build on it next Saturday in Carriganore, been pretty much even steven with ourselves and Waterford the last 6-7 years think its 3 wins each nearly all 1 score games either way although Waterford seem at a particularly low ebb this year with some of their best players not togging out at all.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/02/2023 10:41:04    2459302

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Couldn't make the game yesterday due to family birthday party but delighted for everyone involved, hopefully can build on it now, having a full fit Furlong I'm sure compensated the loss of Porter and Sheehan to some extent while Coleman and Brooks returning is huge, Coleman our most influential player to my mind certainly with Martin O'Connor away at the moment, hopefully can build on it next Saturday in Carriganore, been pretty much even steven with ourselves and Waterford the last 6-7 years think its 3 wins each nearly all 1 score games either way although Waterford seem at a particularly low ebb this year with some of their best players not togging out at all."
They always seem to raise their game against us. I think we were favourites to win in all those defeats!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 20/02/2023 12:09:19    2459333

Replying To beano:  "Yeah great win. Showed some resilience to fight back from a deficit midway through the half when we were on the ropes. Subs made a difference when introduced. Brooks when playing like today is like an extra forward. Niall Hughes is having some campaign so far, probably MOTM today. Enjoyable brand of football which at least will get bums on seats. Overall, pointing towards an upward trajectory which is the main thing and hopefully build on it now."
To often in the past it has been the reverse in the home straight, hopefully this can lay that one to bed and going forward win those tight games. There will be more of them for sure!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 20/02/2023 13:01:13    2459358

whats the story with turbitt? he not getting any game time?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 20/02/2023 18:48:27    2459501

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "whats the story with turbitt? he not getting any game time?"
Was wondering that myself

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 21/02/2023 10:25:36    2459546

Couldn't make the game on Sunday because of illness. Listening to Spratt though is nearly as good as being there. Well maybe not.
Great performance all round and the finish was Impressive and refreshing.
Now we must build on that result and keep the foot on the pedal in our remaining games.
We should be well capable of beating Waterford, Wicklow and Carlow. The away game against Sligo will be tough but if we have our injured lads back fit and we improve with every game then promotion can be achieved.
Hegerty seems to be getting them playing with confidence and are not overly defensive like previous seasons.
Support is important but it will only grow stronger with positive results.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 21/02/2023 13:36:08    2459586

Football when both teams are not setting up negatively is very entertaining, Leitrim let Wexford play football and vice versa similar to last year. Again in Portlaoise the home side let Wexford play more football unlike when London came to town and parked two sweepers in their defence.
I suspect Waterford to set up defensively on Saturday in Carriganore and if its any kind of a windy day when you leave home to go to the game make sure and bring your big big coat.
If there is one team Waterford don't fear at all its Wexford on recent seasons. I hope the Leitrim result releases the pressure on this team and lets them push on. A win in Carriganore would keep us right in the hunt. No point looking any further than Saturday.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 21/02/2023 15:39:31    2459616

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Football when both teams are not setting up negatively is very entertaining, Leitrim let Wexford play football and vice versa similar to last year. Again in Portlaoise the home side let Wexford play more football unlike when London came to town and parked two sweepers in their defence.
I suspect Waterford to set up defensively on Saturday in Carriganore and if its any kind of a windy day when you leave home to go to the game make sure and bring your big big coat.
If there is one team Waterford don't fear at all its Wexford on recent seasons. I hope the Leitrim result releases the pressure on this team and lets them push on. A win in Carriganore would keep us right in the hunt. No point looking any further than Saturday."
In fairness we should be more adaptable to cope as not everyone will have the Leitrim approach, on the London game we still had enough chances to put the game to bed, should have out of sight rather than 3 points up going into injury time.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 22/02/2023 10:48:04    2459723

Team named! Pretty much the same. Good luck to everyone involved tomorrow and hopefully we pick up another win.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 24/02/2023 15:47:47    2460028

Replying To Mugatay:  "Haha....I'll have 2 weanlings with me under 6. I've gotten better at making the said train ! !
I railed and sailed to London for the game...the day of the Irl Wales game...one of the connecting trains was heading to Cardiff.....Very nearly went to London via Cardiff but then remembered I'm not a young Bull anymore :-)

I'll leave a few pound behind the bar in the Crown so...
Getting Wexford bus so ye are doing well out of me...

Liatroim abú"
Wexford Bus sponsor our club too. Good call!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 25/02/2023 18:29:43    2460130

Good win against what seemed a pretty poor team. 3 more games to go. If we can get a result next time out it should set us up nicely for the final 2 home games and hopefully get the public back behind the team!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 25/02/2023 18:49:46    2460133

I couldn't make it to Carriganore today, any reports ??

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 25/02/2023 19:35:36    2460136

Replying To Yellaman:  "I couldn't make it to Carriganore today, any reports ??"
Unfortunately was working myself but listened on the radio. Not able to do a report off Liams musings!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 25/02/2023 19:54:39    2460139

Laois lost at home to Wicklow by 2 points

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 25/02/2023 20:48:48    2460151

Replying To Viking66:  "Laois lost at home to Wicklow by 2 points"
Yea, great result fir wicklow. Its an interesting group now !!

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 25/02/2023 21:29:56    2460165

Replying To Viking66:  "Laois lost at home to Wicklow by 2 points"
Why can't you say laois lost, why you mention home?

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 431 - 25/02/2023 22:03:26    2460174

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Why can't you say laois lost, why you mention home?"
Sorry lad. I don't analyse everything I say to the word for what it might or might not mean to everyone. I don't have the headspace or indeed the time to do that any more and years ago, when I did, that way of thinking only ended up making me paranoid. I was only stating a fact as completely as I could.
Though there is a difference between home and away form in the League and always has been. As I'm sure you well know.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 26/02/2023 08:16:50    2460180