Mayo GAA Thread

Just knew it would be Dublin. Think it's a big ask to go again next weekend after a big effort yesterday , this is the price they pay for letting the Cork game slip away, Dublin will be rested and ready for battle. What's the Mayo feeling on this draw?

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 26/06/2023 09:01:32    2489372

So we meet again my friends.

Good draw for both teams imo. The winner will take some serious momentum outta the game.

Enjoy the build up and game. Should be a cracker!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/06/2023 09:47:33    2489386

Good Draw for Mayo coming in battle hardened after 2 tough games against an untested Dublin . I think ye will take them.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 26/06/2023 10:00:43    2489396

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Just knew it would be Dublin. Think it's a big ask to go again next weekend after a big effort yesterday , this is the price they pay for letting the Cork game slip away, Dublin will be rested and ready for battle. What's the Mayo feeling on this draw?"
Its winnable, but we will need to improve in alot of areas.. Our own kickout had a total failure yesterday.. even with the wind we struggled to find our targets.. The structure of the team seemed to be a bit all over the shop at times.. Doherty was isolated on Damien Comer for 2 or 3 plays in the first half.. We were lucky we only shipped a point during that period. Dublin will have a bit of revenge on their minds.. If we can stay in the game I think we might have the legs on them down the stretch.. They have not been road tested and might be caught cold.. If we are not at it from the start the game could be over at half time

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 26/06/2023 10:03:02    2489399

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Both teams were poor for long periods
Goal was the difference in the end.
Shane Walsh had the finger firmly in."
It was an excellent goal.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 26/06/2023 10:04:48    2489400

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Just knew it would be Dublin. Think it's a big ask to go again next weekend after a big effort yesterday , this is the price they pay for letting the Cork game slip away, Dublin will be rested and ready for battle. What's the Mayo feeling on this draw?"
I'd say Mayo heads will be fairly confident, Go in as underdogs, this Dublin side not a patch on their 2015 to 2019 teams and Mayo have beaten Dublin in Croke Park in their last two meetings.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 26/06/2023 10:12:17    2489406

For Ryan O'Donoghue to go out and kick Sean Kelly right in his injury as a tactic - not only ruined a brilliant footballers season, but possibly career, it shows up a nastiness and total cowardice I won't stand over. Mayo won but they embarrassed themselves as men. It's shame to see this nastiness happening.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 26/06/2023 10:37:11    2489424

It's a good draw IMO. Mayo are battle hardened now, Dublin are not. Dublin are the team to beat and if they are going to be bet, the QF is the place to do it.

Mayo have a big squad. I couldn't believe the changes he made yesterday, but that shows the depth.

I don't expect Mayo to win, if Mayo can't win more of their kickouts, Dublin won't be as wasteful as Galway.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 26/06/2023 10:53:11    2489435

Mayo have always excelled in that week in week out scenario. Dublin have beaten no one of note in the championship yet and the only top team they beat all year was Derry in the league. Best of luck next week, I think ye can do it.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 26/06/2023 10:57:26    2489437

Well done Mayo on a great win, big test next week. Patience and possession are key but Mayo's Achilles heel is lads carrying the ball into the tackle and getting turned over, so McStay needs to emphasise it over and over again leading up to next week and if Mayo can limit that, there's no reason why they cant win.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 26/06/2023 11:23:00    2489447

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "For Ryan O'Donoghue to go out and kick Sean Kelly right in his injury as a tactic - not only ruined a brilliant footballers season, but possibly career, it shows up a nastiness and total cowardice I won't stand over. Mayo won but they embarrassed themselves as men. It's shame to see this nastiness happening."
Ryan embarrased himself. 1 player.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 26/06/2023 11:49:39    2489465

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "For Ryan O'Donoghue to go out and kick Sean Kelly right in his injury as a tactic - not only ruined a brilliant footballers season, but possibly career, it shows up a nastiness and total cowardice I won't stand over. Mayo won but they embarrassed themselves as men. It's shame to see this nastiness happening."
Lol.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/06/2023 11:50:49    2489466

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Mayo have always excelled in that week in week out scenario. Dublin have beaten no one of note in the championship yet and the only top team they beat all year was Derry in the league. Best of luck next week, I think ye can do it."
In the past they did but that was a Mayo team with leaders and warriors in defence. A load of midfielder options and Cillian O'Connor, Andy Moran at their peak.

But you are correct about Dublin, it's 2020 since they beat a Div 1 opposition in the championship and since then Mayo have beaten Dublin twice in Croke Park.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 26/06/2023 11:52:56    2489468

Brave move by McStay and the selectors to make so many changes before a big game. If you can keep Con O' Callaghan to a couple of points I think ye will do it, as Kilkenny, Rock and a couple of other players are no longer the players they once were. However they are capable of rising to the occasion as they have proved in the past. You would not want to get ahead of yourselves however as Galway were very unlucky with injuries on Sunday and missed a clear goal chance. The Mayo draw will motivate Dublin and ensure that the missing Dublin supporters will reappear. It should be a great atmosphere.
Best of luck from a Rossie.
Question: If Dublin and Kerry both win, will they be kept apart for the semi final? Only asking!!!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 26/06/2023 11:59:53    2489475

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Brave move by McStay and the selectors to make so many changes before a big game. If you can keep Con O' Callaghan to a couple of points I think ye will do it, as Kilkenny, Rock and a couple of other players are no longer the players they once were. However they are capable of rising to the occasion as they have proved in the past. You would not want to get ahead of yourselves however as Galway were very unlucky with injuries on Sunday and missed a clear goal chance. The Mayo draw will motivate Dublin and ensure that the missing Dublin supporters will reappear. It should be a great atmosphere.
Best of luck from a Rossie.
Question: If Dublin and Kerry both win, will they be kept apart for the semi final? Only asking!!!"
What happens in a SF? Is there another draw?

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 26/06/2023 12:04:25    2489478

Now that the dust has settled on yesterdays game I am going to take a moment to compliment McStay and co for their brilliance.... not in the sweeping changes that were made yesterday to everyone surprise but in managing the season.

You see McStay knew Galway would make a b$lls of it against Armagh and finish second. He also knew that if Mayo finished third the GAA would make sure the 2 teams met - a great boost of income for the lads, so, when Mayo went 6 up v Cork an instruction went out to the team to stop playing, Mayo lost deliberately by 3 points (not 2) so we could finish third, be drawn against Galway and knock them out of the championship for the fourth time in five years - Brilliant!

As for Galway, I hope this puts an end to their hype. Favorites for an AI in many peoples eyes, but I am not sure why. Beating Armagh on penalties and a Derry team in their first SF in over 20 years that failed to get out of D2. Granted a great performance in the final. No disrespect to either Armagh or Derry but neither are Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone. Galway can now go back under the stone from where they came, win the odd Connacht championship to boost their egos but who knows, it might be another 21 years (2043) before we see Galway win a knockout game in Croke Park again!

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 26/06/2023 12:21:20    2489491

I see all the Mayo posters Enda and Aidan on Twitter condoning and laughing off O Donoghue cowardly act yesterday, but they'll be crying foul again when something happens one of their own...
Double standards lads #gillmcgearty

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/06/2023 12:30:39    2489498

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Well done Mayo on a great win, big test next week. Patience and possession are key but Mayo's Achilles heel is lads carrying the ball into the tackle and getting turned over, so McStay needs to emphasise it over and over again leading up to next week and if Mayo can limit that, there's no reason why they cant win."
Mayo's achilles heel, what about Sean Kelly's achilles tendon?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 26/06/2023 12:33:33    2489500

Eh hello ! What about Pat O Neills headbutt on Ciaran Duff's foot in the 1983 All Ireland final ?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 26/06/2023 12:36:21    2489503

Should be a cracker on Sunday.

I think Dublin this is the draw Dublin wanted given Mayo's shall we say less than muted celebrations having beat them in the 2021 semi final.

Really looking forward to it from a neutral point of view.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 26/06/2023 12:39:48    2489507