Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To giveitlong:  "With a full deck I would expect Galway to shade it, but since the championship meeting last year where we prevailed by a point, we have lost too many big players, Silke, Molloy, McHugh and looking very doubtful for Comer and Kelly, 3 of those 5 were All Stars. Molloy and Mullkerin playing a bit of club, but as ye can see its not easy to get back to the level required, Tommy Conroy and O'Hora are just getting there now . It will take a massive effort from whatever team comes out on top, and then have to face maybe Kerry a week later......"
The loss of Mullin and Keegan is still a good not filled. Game on Sunday is 50/50. Mayo made a right **** up of that game v Cork. Will join a long list of them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 19/06/2023 16:19:33    2487466

Poor last 2 outings for Mayo, attacking play has been so bad. You could see the basics for breaking down the packed defence was there, you probe down one wing and quickly switch to other side and have runners coming at different angles and have groups of runners in 2 or 3s, but Mayo players half do it, they pass to lads standing, they have to take a solo or 2, and kick it back 20 yards..thats a problem with Ruane, Durcan, Coen, Flynn, they are not great kick passers, have to say Flynn has improved greatly with point scoring, but these lads and others need to improve there passing.
To add to that, Mayo dont have enough scoring threats, games yesterday and Louth game, players had chances to kick points but didnt have the confidence or what ever to kick them, and to be playing county football, you should be able to kick these scores.

People calling for Cillian O Connor cause he scored 2-6 for the club, but 1-6 from dead balls, and was well marshalled by Ballinrobe full back, unless the run out brings him on a huge amount cant see him having any effect this Sunday.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 19/06/2023 17:47:58    2487553

Replying To yew_tree:  "The loss of Mullin and Keegan is still a good not filled. Game on Sunday is 50/50. Mayo made a right **** up of that game v Cork. Will join a long list of them."
It was the biggest ****up in a long time though.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 19/06/2023 20:44:10    2487605

Alot being made of Mayo forwards inability to break down tight defenses.

Against Louth we were 5 up in injury time, and against Cork we were 6 up with 15 to play. if we had seen those games out as we should have, would we be having the same conversation?

Is the problem that we haven't held onto leads which is more to do with poor game management and I would sight a lack of experience in the back 7 primarily for that. Thoughts?

Also - Kildare effectively won the game against Ross by the use of the mark - scored 5 I believe and should have had 6. How many marks has AOS won this year? Are we missing a very obvious trick here.

Have to say I was gutted about the result yesterday but I am buzzing with the draw and can't wait for Sunday. knockout football against Galway in Galway - great stuff

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 19/06/2023 20:50:44    2487611

Replying To tommy132:  "Poor last 2 outings for Mayo, attacking play has been so bad. You could see the basics for breaking down the packed defence was there, you probe down one wing and quickly switch to other side and have runners coming at different angles and have groups of runners in 2 or 3s, but Mayo players half do it, they pass to lads standing, they have to take a solo or 2, and kick it back 20 yards..thats a problem with Ruane, Durcan, Coen, Flynn, they are not great kick passers, have to say Flynn has improved greatly with point scoring, but these lads and others need to improve there passing.
To add to that, Mayo dont have enough scoring threats, games yesterday and Louth game, players had chances to kick points but didnt have the confidence or what ever to kick them, and to be playing county football, you should be able to kick these scores.

People calling for Cillian O Connor cause he scored 2-6 for the club, but 1-6 from dead balls, and was well marshalled by Ballinrobe full back, unless the run out brings him on a huge amount cant see him having any effect this Sunday."
Maybe 1 or 2 of the forgotten on the bench might need a run. Our go to forwards haven't been producing so why not give them a shot.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 19/06/2023 22:12:31    2487641

Replying To S1234:  "Ha sour grapes much .. if that makes our forwards poor how poor ae kerry since we beat you? Should have been more to .. get over yourself!

We've one of the best forwards team in the country . Any team would have struggled against a blanket defence like loyths in a 25 degrees heat!

Let's see how the 'mighty' kerry do against louth next.. average bar the Clifford's as joe brolly says to don't know where sam will go but certainly won't be to kerry..."
As I said 'Mayo forwards are poor'. Only one forward got more than 1 point from play v Cork and Aidan continues his 'no score from play' mode.........
And oh, Paddy Power has lost the run of himself: Kerry joint favourites for AI.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 19/06/2023 22:36:49    2487645

This will be a cracker, 50/50. I'll be in the vicinity so I'll have the pleasure of attending :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 20/06/2023 00:34:24    2487653

Replying To tommy132:  "Poor last 2 outings for Mayo, attacking play has been so bad. You could see the basics for breaking down the packed defence was there, you probe down one wing and quickly switch to other side and have runners coming at different angles and have groups of runners in 2 or 3s, but Mayo players half do it, they pass to lads standing, they have to take a solo or 2, and kick it back 20 yards..thats a problem with Ruane, Durcan, Coen, Flynn, they are not great kick passers, have to say Flynn has improved greatly with point scoring, but these lads and others need to improve there passing.

People calling for Cillian O Connor cause he scored 2-6 for the club, but 1-6 from dead balls, and was well marshalled by Ballinrobe full back, unless the run out brings him on a huge amount cant see him having any effect this Sunday."
I think winning the league gave many false hope but the reality is we are in a rebuild job with a very young and inexperienced full back line. The Loftus experiment at 6 has also failed and needs to be changed.

Our forwards are also not contributing enough from play and Mattie Ruanes form on Sunday was very worrying. Point in case we have issues on every line of the field.

The win against an out of sorts Kerry team further raised hope. A win against Galway on a Sunday (huge ask but Galway injuries may tip things in our favour) and a good performance in the quarter final would represent good progress but we nowhere near challengers for Sam yet.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 20/06/2023 08:54:07    2487661

Replying To realdub:  "This will be a cracker, 50/50. I'll be in the vicinity so I'll have the pleasure of attending :D"
Will you be wearing chin putty and a fake mustache?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/06/2023 09:42:11    2487674

Replying To Aibrean:  "As I said 'Mayo forwards are poor'. Only one forward got more than 1 point from play v Cork and Aidan continues his 'no score from play' mode.........
And oh, Paddy Power has lost the run of himself: Kerry joint favourites for AI."
That must make kerry pretty average since we beat ye in your own back yard and should have by more if you think our 'forwards' are poor sour grapes much there ....

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 20/06/2023 10:09:39    2487681

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually don't have a problem with how Louth set up. For sure it's not pleasant to watch but teams are fully entitled to play in a way that gives them the best chance of winning within the rules of the game and that is exactly what Louth did. But to suggest that Louth were the better team and left it behind them is a ridiculous stretch. Mayo led the entire match, even with conceding 1-1 in the last minute. Louth only got to within 1 point all day and that was after hitting that 1-1. The ref immediately blew the whistle after the last point. I defy anyone to look back at that game objectively and make out that Louth somehow deserved to win! I'm not taking away from the effort they put in, especially after the Leinster Final and where Louth have been the last few years, but Mayo were still the better team yesterday."
Whenever an underdog performs better than expected people naturally assume that they were unlucky not to win, even if as you say they were deservedly beaten.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 20/06/2023 10:11:11    2487683

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think winning the league gave many false hope but the reality is we are in a rebuild job with a very young and inexperienced full back line. The Loftus experiment at 6 has also failed and needs to be changed.

Our forwards are also not contributing enough from play and Mattie Ruanes form on Sunday was very worrying. Point in case we have issues on every line of the field.

The win against an out of sorts Kerry team further raised hope. A win against Galway on a Sunday (huge ask but Galway injuries may tip things in our favour) and a good performance in the quarter final would represent good progress but we nowhere near challengers for Sam yet."
I would nt be too pesevmistic yet. The league is a hard won title and you nowadays especially only a top team will win it. A jittery, championship from Mayo so far but you re still in it. Cork are not as bad as some nake them out. I was delighted to come away from PUC with a tight win against the and don't be one bit surprised if they put the Rossies to the sword. Mayo are quite capable of beating Galway and if they do then all bets are off again. Mayo a forwards were poor the last day but I think Mayo have better forwards now when they were unlucky to win an all ireland a few years back. I certainly would nt be writing Mayo off yet. No team has stood out in the championship. Dublin were poor for a couple of games before upping the ante. Kerry were beaten well by Mayo and struggled v Cork. Armagh struggled before Sunday and Tyrone lucky to be still in the championship. Galway struggled so its even Steven. The most consistent team probably Derry but for me anyone of 5 or 6 can win it including Mayo and I certainly would nt be writing off Tyrone either.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/06/2023 10:22:31    2487693

Fair points but Cillian is needed for his leadership and decision making too though, even if that's sometimes killing momentum and buying frees. A bit of streetwise. Forwards haven't been great but defence has to be looked after coughing up 9 points. They're caught out of position too easily and leave too much space for opposition to run into or pop ball into for runners. We had too many handy big wins in the League and Kerry a few weeks ago with easy scores when not really tested. Skewing reality a bit as other teams are primed to peak now. After nearly 50 years watching Mayo I still prefer us to be 3 points down with 5 minutes than 3 points up. That's something that hasn't been fixed. Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Galway teams in their pomp since '89 would push on and win when three points up. We need to back ourselves more and fall over, foul a player, clear our lines rather than play football, at the right time to win the big games.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/06/2023 10:56:32    2487718

Replying To S1234:  "Ha sour grapes much .. if that makes our forwards poor how poor ae kerry since we beat you? Should have been more to .. get over yourself!

We've one of the best forwards team in the country . Any team would have struggled against a blanket defence like loyths in a 25 degrees heat!

Let's see how the 'mighty' kerry do against louth next.. average bar the Clifford's as joe brolly says to don't know where sam will go but certainly won't be to kerry..."
Not too bad after all.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/06/2023 12:07:44    2487760

Replying To S1234:  "Exactly look at the dubs v rossies dubs were really frustrated. Mayo will still beat cork tbh."
Cork not too bad and Dubs not too bad either. Are you a gaa fan or just a bitter whinger?

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/06/2023 12:10:04    2487763

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Cork not too bad and Dubs not too bad either. Are you a gaa fan or just a bitter whinger?"
The latter Mick, trolling and best ignored.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/06/2023 13:12:51    2487797

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would nt be too pesevmistic yet. The league is a hard won title and you nowadays especially only a top team will win it. A jittery, championship from Mayo so far but you re still in it. Cork are not as bad as some nake them out. I was delighted to come away from PUC with a tight win against the and don't be one bit surprised if they put the Rossies to the sword. Mayo are quite capable of beating Galway and if they do then all bets are off again. Mayo a forwards were poor the last day but I think Mayo have better forwards now when they were unlucky to win an all ireland a few years back. I certainly would nt be writing Mayo off yet. No team has stood out in the championship. Dublin were poor for a couple of games before upping the ante. Kerry were beaten well by Mayo and struggled v Cork. Armagh struggled before Sunday and Tyrone lucky to be still in the championship. Galway struggled so its even Steven. The most consistent team probably Derry but for me anyone of 5 or 6 can win it including Mayo and I certainly would nt be writing off Tyrone either."
Derry are nothing to write home about, I was at the donegal game and donegal mssing 5 or 6 regulars and with the county in turmoil asked plenty of questions, and mckeigue got his **** handed back to him by gallen. Take mcguigan out of the game and your a long way to beating them

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 20/06/2023 14:08:02    2487826

If he is fit and able to tog even as a sub he is still the man. Conroy will start and if himself and O D go well then it opens up space for a shooter like Cillian.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 20/06/2023 15:10:22    2487863

Replying To TheFlaker:  "If he is fit and able to tog even as a sub he is still the man. Conroy will start and if himself and O D go well then it opens up space for a shooter like Cillian."
If Conroy starts and you also bring in COC are you dropping Carr and AOS?

I'd start ROS and Conroy in each corner with AOS in FF. COC off the bench

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 20/06/2023 15:51:18    2487875

Replying To totalrecall:  "Derry are nothing to write home about, I was at the donegal game and donegal mssing 5 or 6 regulars and with the county in turmoil asked plenty of questions, and mckeigue got his **** handed back to him by gallen. Take mcguigan out of the game and your a long way to beating them"
Not sure why you take such delight in McKaigue's poor performance; the man is a gentleman

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 20/06/2023 16:10:48    2487881