Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Cbar:  "If Conroy starts and you also bring in COC are you dropping Carr and AOS?

I'd start ROS and Conroy in each corner with AOS in FF. COC off the bench"
Not saying COC has to start but if available he would absolutely be playing at some point. Conroy has to be given a start, probably at half forward alternating with ROD. Carr hasn't scored in last 2 games. O Shea at least is a good link. Carr not showing enough.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 20/06/2023 17:29:41    2487909

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The latter Mick, trolling and best ignored."
Thanks Greenlandred and methinks you are correct.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/06/2023 18:27:12    2487939

Who do you think will win on Sunday? It's a hard call. I feel if Sean kelly and Comer are injured than Mayo have an easy easy game . Whether they take it or not - who knows.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 20/06/2023 22:15:15    2487977

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Who do you think will win on Sunday? It's a hard call. I feel if Sean kelly and Comer are injured than Mayo have an easy easy game . Whether they take it or not - who knows."
I have a gut feeling Mayo could take Galway.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 21/06/2023 10:33:53    2488046

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Who do you think will win on Sunday? It's a hard call. I feel if Sean kelly and Comer are injured than Mayo have an easy easy game . Whether they take it or not - who knows."
I have a gut feeling Mayo could take Galway.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 21/06/2023 10:34:08    2488048

Replying To drumalee11:  "Not sure why you take such delight in McKaigue's poor performance; the man is a gentleman"
And a class footballer.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 21/06/2023 12:23:46    2488110

Replying To GreenandRed:  "And a class footballer."
I Yes indeed. Chris's McKaigue is a brilliant footballer. I recall him marking Diarmuid Connolly completely out of it in the club championship few years ago and not too many did that with Connolly. No matter how good a back you are there will be the odd bad day but Chrissy is the top notch

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 21/06/2023 14:36:06    2488164

Replying To thelongridge:  "I have a gut feeling Mayo could take Galway."
So do I but it's too close to call. I think McStay is a very sharp manager and can't see Mayo playing poorly a few games in a row. However if Comer and Kelly are playing then it's a toss up. This game could go to extra time.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 21/06/2023 14:42:01    2488172

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "So do I but it's too close to call. I think McStay is a very sharp manager and can't see Mayo playing poorly a few games in a row. However if Comer and Kelly are playing then it's a toss up. This game could go to extra time."
And penos

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 21/06/2023 16:53:28    2488218

You just know what you're going to get with Mayo. I've given up trying to predict but the skerry performance is looking like an outlier this year. Been every poor against Roscommon, Louth and Cork.

We could still turn around and beat Galway though. one thing I'm sure of is there is no all Ireland in this team this year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 21/06/2023 19:38:42    2488257

Replying To totalrecall:  "Derry are nothing to write home about, I was at the donegal game and donegal mssing 5 or 6 regulars and with the county in turmoil asked plenty of questions, and mckeigue got his **** handed back to him by gallen. Take mcguigan out of the game and your a long way to beating them"
Listen to the Leitrim lad, guys! Ye'll be top of Div. 1 and winning AIs in no time at all, if ye do!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1912 - 21/06/2023 19:55:04    2488261

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not saying COC has to start but if available he would absolutely be playing at some point. Conroy has to be given a start, probably at half forward alternating with ROD. Carr hasn't scored in last 2 games. O Shea at least is a good link. Carr not showing enough."
Based on form

You have to drop the following from the team

Loftus, Durcan, Ruane, Diarmuid O Connor, James Carr

Bring in McLoughlin, Callinan, Touhy?, Conroy

We have a lack of depth at midfield so you can't drop Ruane without moving AOS to midfield.
Doing that would be throwing the baby out with the bath water.

For now

I leave the keeper, fullback line and midfield from last week.
Stick Callinan and McLoughlin into the half back line
Have Loftus as a sweeper
Have Conroy in the half forward line with Flynn and Carney
Play with O Shea and O Donoghue Inside

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/06/2023 14:10:08    2488429

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Based on form

You have to drop the following from the team

Loftus, Durcan, Ruane, Diarmuid O Connor, James Carr

Bring in McLoughlin, Callinan, Touhy?, Conroy

We have a lack of depth at midfield so you can't drop Ruane without moving AOS to midfield.
Doing that would be throwing the baby out with the bath water.

For now

I leave the keeper, fullback line and midfield from last week.
Stick Callinan and McLoughlin into the half back line
Have Loftus as a sweeper
Have Conroy in the half forward line with Flynn and Carney
Play with O Shea and O Donoghue Inside"
I'd start Durkan, Coen, Callinan in half back line. Diarmuid and Carney midfield and keep Paddy from rampaging up the pitch. Need to play a bit deeper and not give up so much space in full back and half back lines. Leave Jordan Flynn where he is, more scoring threat than from midfield. Sure we've no idea who will start yet. Need to up our game and forget thinking about whether or not we've a better chance if Comer and Kelly or out. Go out and prove we're the better team, if we're not wish Galway the best in the quarter final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 22/06/2023 14:43:20    2488445

I wonder how many phone call have been made between Chicago and Mayo in the last week. McBrides will be hoping for a Mayo exit.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 23/06/2023 13:23:29    2488645

Colm Reape
Jack Coyne
David McBrien
Padraig O'Hora
Sam Callinan
Conor Loftus
Paddy Durcan
Stephen Coen
Matthew Ruane
Diarmuid O'Connor
Jack Carney
Jordan Flynn
Aidan O'Shea
James Carr
Ryan O'Donoghue

There has been changes for every game so far so you would expect changes again.
Loftus getting alot of blame for the defensive problems, didnt really need the report going through all his involvements against Cork, the Mayo are playing he has to stick with who he is marking if he holds the middles then the player he is marking will be free out wide or where ever and he will get the blame for that too..Mayo midfield were poor against Cork for tracking back and the half back line, Coen is being talked up now again but he was caught out a few times ball watching, same as the defenders especially the second half where Cork players seemed to be always free. Eoghan McLoughlin is being called for to start, but he was terrible when he came on, didnt mark or track anyone, he was poor in league final, he started against Roscommon as a man marker on Enda Smith and was not good at it, came on against Kerry and scored a great goal. So what I think is he isnt good enough to start or be a man marker, he can be an impact sub but maybe in the half forward line or even against a defensive team like Galway start him in the forwards and push up on one of the sweepers.
Would Tommy Conroy be better coming on at half time? Its hard to know how his fitness is, as he could be still minding the knee. Carr has been poor the last 2 games but id prefer Conroy coming in then Carr. Carr will have something to prove. Id give Cillian 20mins, cant see him being up to the level to start yet.
For the love of god will they put in a few high balls to O Shea, even if Kelly does start he isnt good with high balls, everyone knows Gleeson can be iffy, but they have to atart floating in a few high balls, it changes everything when the attacking team have options, O Donghue and Carr making runs and O Shea for high ball, its the perfect mix but they have to start using it. They didnt use it in the league final which has me worried, and going by the last 2 games, the Mayo team seem over coached and a bit of fear cone into play so McStay needs to release the shackles and cut out the fear.
Good to see the comments from Galway supporters, talking down Mayo players, claiming Mayo fans think they will easy and they want Galway to give Mayo a hammering. Its funny how majority of Galway supporters gave turned into the fans they have always been complaining about for years.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 24/06/2023 04:35:45    2488747

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Listen to the Leitrim lad, guys! Ye'll be top of Div. 1 and winning AIs in no time at all, if ye do!"
A donegal man living in exile my friend, perhaps like yourself methinks??

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 24/06/2023 08:24:00    2488751

Theres excitement and nervousness in both sets of supporters, both not sure what performance to expect. A win for either could be the boost needed to get momentum going to give a run at the top prize.
Galway would be slight favourites, injuries not included in that both Comer and Kelly could be out, hearing Comer is out so if Kelly is anyways ok he has to play a part. Joyces 4th year in charge, runners up last year, so pressure is mostly on him and Galway.
There is pressure on Mcstay esp with the backroom team he has in place but it was always going to be second year when he will be judges fully, its hard to change from Horans style in one year and in losing Mullin and Keegan Mayo lost best defenders and very important attacking players.
Both teams look over coached, important players not firing so will come down to which manager can get the players going full tilt. Galway need Shane Walsh to pull the finger out, if he is going well it will lift the rest of them and create space for others, Callinan will need a big game on him and help. Mayo need to stop over thinking it and attack at speed, a mix of long kick passing and angled duns off the shoulder, what they did in the league and against Kerry.
Best of luck to both teams, hope best team wins. Hopefully result isnt determined by any player mistake on either side.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 25/06/2023 04:55:25    2488989

Replying To tommy132:  "Theres excitement and nervousness in both sets of supporters, both not sure what performance to expect. A win for either could be the boost needed to get momentum going to give a run at the top prize.
Galway would be slight favourites, injuries not included in that both Comer and Kelly could be out, hearing Comer is out so if Kelly is anyways ok he has to play a part. Joyces 4th year in charge, runners up last year, so pressure is mostly on him and Galway.
There is pressure on Mcstay esp with the backroom team he has in place but it was always going to be second year when he will be judges fully, its hard to change from Horans style in one year and in losing Mullin and Keegan Mayo lost best defenders and very important attacking players.
Both teams look over coached, important players not firing so will come down to which manager can get the players going full tilt. Galway need Shane Walsh to pull the finger out, if he is going well it will lift the rest of them and create space for others, Callinan will need a big game on him and help. Mayo need to stop over thinking it and attack at speed, a mix of long kick passing and angled duns off the shoulder, what they did in the league and against Kerry.
Best of luck to both teams, hope best team wins. Hopefully result isnt determined by any player mistake on either side."
Both teams were poor for long periods
Goal was the difference in the end.
Shane Walsh had the finger firmly in.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 25/06/2023 18:44:33    2489217

Replying To tommy132:  "Theres excitement and nervousness in both sets of supporters, both not sure what performance to expect. A win for either could be the boost needed to get momentum going to give a run at the top prize.
Best of luck to both teams, hope best team wins. Hopefully result isnt determined by any player mistake on either side."
Just dropping in to say we'll done Mayo. We can have zero complaints today.
Now for ****s sake go and win it this time. Ye have nobody to fear....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 25/06/2023 18:47:40    2489219

Fair play Mayo, better team won on the day.
Ye have some squad that made the difference especially with Carr and Cillian coming on to kick crucial points.
Reape is in some form between the sticks.
Hopefully ye can plough on now and do the job, best of luck to ye!

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 26/06/2023 07:52:55    2489358