Donegal GAA thread

Kilcar or Eunans would be a massive step down for Lacey after managing the No 1 ranked club team in the country. If he isn't added to Jim's ticket or one of the underage team tickets, I wouldn't be surprised if he takes charge of a weaker county next year or to get re-involved with Donegal once the divisive characters on the county board eventually get the message and leave.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 13/11/2023 17:28:39    2512799

Well done Naomh Conaill dug really deep and that man Anthony Thompson what a warrior. The whole of Donegal are behind use. I think use can beat Glen. They aren't the force they were and the way the game ended yesterday its an ideal tonic.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 13/11/2023 22:31:29    2512833

Replying To tickets:  "Fair play to NC! Big test in the next game for them.

Interesting the south table for the u2, it's all to play for. In the north Gweedore are straight into a semi after beating Eunans by 14pts. Going by March report Eunans only had 17 players yesterday?? What is going?? Glenswilly through also but it's either Termon or Eunans to be knocked out as they play each other and both on 0pts."
On our side of group, looks like whoever wins on Sunday in the last game between Aodh Ruadh and ourselves will top the group. Four Masters and ourselves currently on 3 points. Aodh Ruadh on 2 and Machuamhaills on 2.

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 297 - 13/11/2023 23:26:31    2512839

Donegal to Kilcoo was some commute to manage a club team. What is it, 2hours 30 ?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2781 - 14/11/2023 09:00:12    2512850

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I can see Maxi in the Eunans hotseat again!!!!!"
Don't think thst will happen but who knows

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:34:24    2512872

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hopefully now yous can keep the managers job in the club. Yous have no need to be going outside the club to get a manager.. you can't beat a passionate club man. And with your knowledge you might even have a role to play.."
If you had any knowledge of the club scene you would be aware that up until recent years we had a rule where our mgrs had to be appointed from within the membership ranks.

We were prob one of the last clubs to the party in terms of going outside when Maxi and then Richie Thornton had a go - and we then moved back internally with Rory Kav.

Been honest I'm not a fan at all of external appointments at club or county level.

At this moment in time tho I don't see anyone within our current ranks stepping up which is sad.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:37:59    2512875

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If what's reported what was said to the referee by the umpire and the linesman is true the two non playing Na Rossa men who got red cards can't have any complaints and would want to have a good long look at themselves. Their reported comments were archaic and have no place on a football pitch."
What the referee reported the lads as saying is absolutely disgraceful and I'm surprised it's not been called out and got more air time..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:38:58    2512876

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Far from upset, I do have a great laugh with your bizarre musings on Donegal football (just because you think it, that doesn't actually make it correct) but back to the topic as you are still side stepping the question on your new manager and are still waffling, are you on the Letterkenny executive? If you aren't, you don't know and can't confirm my query. You opened the door on the topic of questions with regards to your new manager, you might re-read your previous posting, perhaps silence and not typing the first thing that comes into your head might help."
That's generally how a debate works - people tend to not agree , welcome to the real world.

It's none of your business whether I'm on any executive or not - you made the statment as been true and the onus is on you to prove it which you have failed to do.

I opened the conversation asking for thoughts / opinions on new posts available - you don't give your opinion , you made up a random story from a high stool most likely with no subsistence at all.

There isn't anything difficult to understand about that…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:42:17    2512879

Replying To ballboy101:  "Would hardly consider Danny O'Donnell to be a Eunans outsider. Did he not manage a Eunans team from 12s to minors?? Also lives in LK."
Yes this is the case - but few with little knowledge on the club scene don't see to grasp this.

He may well get the gig but I hope not been honest.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:43:31    2512880

Replying To The keeper:  "We just don't know how to give up, come on Naomh conail.

Didn't play well in second half, but it's all about the result, Ulster semi final on the way"
Brilliant result - well done to all the lads in glenties/fintown/ballybofey/letterkenny/dublin etc.

Played terribly in the second half and were completely overrun but they found a way to win right at the death in dramatic style - you have got to admire that big time.

Huge game next - fully expecting a glenties/fintown win after we got slated for loosing to Glen by a single point ……

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:47:51    2512881

Replying To jacktheboy:  "State of Donegal football , Glenties very lucky to survive but thats their style, cant see them going any further. Downings not at the races, took very heavy defeat and could have been worse only other team eased off in second half and took top players off. Downings didnt appear to have any game plan and their line didnt do anything during game to improve things."
Very harsh on glenties/Fintown there .

They are the masters of what they do to win and you got to hand it to them for that.

They make the most of stifling teams and focus on mass defence but it works and has given them huge return.

They are knocking on the door as the best club team in the county ever - not the most pretty on the eye , but they won't give one jot about that.

The only thing others have other them is Gweedore winning Ulster and ourselves going 3 in a row.

If glenties/Fintown could win Ulster this year and retain dr maguire next year which is a strong possibility then they will be cemented as the greatest no matter how difficult it is to watch..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:51:56    2512883

Replying To gunman:  "Will Lacey be on the McGuinness ticket now do you think."
Lacey is slowly turning into the new R Gallagher jumping from job to job around ulster chasing the dollars…..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:52:56    2512884

Replying To tickets:  "Fair play to NC! Big test in the next game for them.

Interesting the south table for the u2, it's all to play for. In the north Gweedore are straight into a semi after beating Eunans by 14pts. Going by March report Eunans only had 17 players yesterday?? What is going?? Glenswilly through also but it's either Termon or Eunans to be knocked out as they play each other and both on 0pts."
Not good enough from our lads. Guys in Dublin is no excuse nor is the impact from the hurlers reaching the Ulster final the day before…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:54:19    2512886

Replying To StockholmGael:  "Kilcar or Eunans would be a massive step down for Lacey after managing the No 1 ranked club team in the country. If he isn't added to Jim's ticket or one of the underage team tickets, I wouldn't be surprised if he takes charge of a weaker county next year or to get re-involved with Donegal once the divisive characters on the county board eventually get the message and leave."
Can't see him in kilcar and we don't have a big money bags backer to get him in.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:55:28    2512889

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Donegal to Kilcoo was some commute to manage a club team. What is it, 2hours 30 ?"
€€€€€€€€€€€€€

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 10:56:07    2512891

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Donegal to Kilcoo was some commute to manage a club team. What is it, 2hours 30 ?"
There's money in the sheep you know

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 177 - 14/11/2023 11:00:40    2512897

Replying To tidytownman:  "On our side of group, looks like whoever wins on Sunday in the last game between Aodh Ruadh and ourselves will top the group. Four Masters and ourselves currently on 3 points. Aodh Ruadh on 2 and Machuamhaills on 2."
Yeah it should be interesting.

I feel the u21 competition doesn't get the respect it deserves.

Eunansforever- How did the club only have 17 available players for gweedore game?? Has the wheels come off underage?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 14/11/2023 11:02:19    2512900

Replying To tickets:  "Yeah it should be interesting.

I feel the u21 competition doesn't get the respect it deserves.

Eunansforever- How did the club only have 17 available players for gweedore game?? Has the wheels come off underage?"
We made 4 subs so unless my eyes deceived me at the game we didn't play 13 a side ??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 14/11/2023 11:22:11    2512915

Replying To eunans4ever:  "What the referee reported the lads as saying is absolutely disgraceful and I'm surprised it's not been called out and got more air time.."
Wouldn't fit the Na Rossa victim narrative we've been subjected to...

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 14/11/2023 11:34:16    2512921

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Lacey is slowly turning into the new R Gallagher jumping from job to job around ulster chasing the dollars….."
You must be mcgeehin....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 981 - 14/11/2023 11:59:08    2512931