Donegal GAA thread

Lot of big managerial posts available after recent step downs.

Surely some of these jobs are pretty attractive for someone with ambition to win a championship

Eunans
glenswilly
Kilcar
Ballybofey/Stranorlar

Who will get these big gigs - any thoughts ??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 09/11/2023 12:21:55    2512238

Replying To rorysboys:  "That's the best ever. You brighten my day up regularly with your stupid remarks. 3 pts being the equivalent of 9.. keep them coming lad your priceless. Lol"
Had u severe difficulty reading and/or understanding the rest of the statment ??
Maybe ask someone to read it to you and explain very very slowly..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 09/11/2023 12:32:07    2512240

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Had u severe difficulty reading and/or understanding the rest of the statment ??
Maybe ask someone to read it to you and explain very very slowly.."
Stop trying to cover up now. I read stupid posts but that ranks up there. I'm still laughing at it. Maybe you should go for the eunans job with your knowledge lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 09/11/2023 14:36:04    2512263

Replying To The keeper:  "Best of luck to both Donegal teams at the wkend.
I know I will be up early along with other Naomh conail supporters to support Downings and hopefully cheer them to victory.
Was a long journey back after last year in Belfast, hopefully it's a better journey back on sunday"
Best of luck to both teams. Hoping to be able to head myself.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2798 - 09/11/2023 16:03:04    2512274

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Lot of big managerial posts available after recent step downs.

Surely some of these jobs are pretty attractive for someone with ambition to win a championship

Eunans
glenswilly
Kilcar
Ballybofey/Stranorlar

Who will get these big gigs - any thoughts ??"
Word on the street is that the Eunan's executive have been visiting Annagry and The Banks looking for a manager from that area.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 09/11/2023 16:29:53    2512275

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Lot of big managerial posts available after recent step downs.

Eunans
glenswilly
Kilcar
Ballybofey/Stranorlar

The Conwal and Leck job will attract some big names no doubt.

The_Second_Coming (Donegal) - Posts: 16 - 09/11/2023 17:16:15    2512280

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Word on the street is that the Eunan's executive have been visiting Annagry and The Banks looking for a manager from that area."
Donegal Sport Hub Podcast buddies?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 09/11/2023 17:48:15    2512283

I've been of the view that Paddy is well beyond his best for a few seasons whilst being marked by defences of the better teams in the country, even before the big injury. Posting big scores against poor defences at club or county level can sometimes mask a regression in ability. A great servant to the county, we wouldn't have had the amount of success we had without his contribution. The only hope is that Jim can get him to recapture the form of old like he did with a few 2012 lads who'd gone off the boil, or to tailor a role suitable to whatever strengths he has left to offer. Alternatively, we'll probably see the Messiah tinker with who can work best in partnership with Farah, with the forwards we have in the county.
Poor game management from Bonner, as was alluded to earlier. A shout to the lads to cool the jets when it was evident that there was a card happy ref could have won them the match, but the baby ceremoniously and spectacularly got thrown out with the bathwater. A lesson to be learned.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 09/11/2023 18:30:25    2512290

Eunans
glenswilly
Kilcar
Ballybofey/Stranorlar

I can see Maxi in the Eunans hotseat again!!!!!

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 09/11/2023 19:14:44    2512293

Replying To rorysboys:  "That's the best ever. You brighten my day up regularly with your stupid remarks. 3 pts being the equivalent of 9.. keep them coming lad your priceless. Lol"
As common sense is clearly lacking , I'll put it down to lack of education or most likely your currently going through education…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 10/11/2023 08:45:02    2512311

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Word on the street is that the Eunan's executive have been visiting Annagry and The Banks looking for a manager from that area."
That's just not true is it - people assume that as the chairman sits on a podcast with him…

I'd like to think we are a lot more ambitious than that….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 10/11/2023 08:45:56    2512312

Replying To eunans4ever:  "That's just not true is it - people assume that as the chairman sits on a podcast with him…

I'd like to think we are a lot more ambitious than that…."
You asked for our thoughts on possible new managers in the county, then you get told what is going around in conversation circles in relation to your club and suddenly you don't like it. Are you on the Letterkenny executive to confirm this link isn't true?

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 10/11/2023 09:53:07    2512316

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "You asked for our thoughts on possible new managers in the county, then you get told what is going around in conversation circles in relation to your club and suddenly you don't like it. Are you on the Letterkenny executive to confirm this link isn't true?"
I never said I didn't like it??

I said it's not true that our exec are down in the banks - that's pretty clear.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 10/11/2023 10:46:56    2512330

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I never said I didn't like it??

I said it's not true that our exec are down in the banks - that's pretty clear."
Answer the question and stop waffling, are you on the Letterkenny executive? That is the only way you can confirm 100% that he hasn't been approached by Letterkenny.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 10/11/2023 11:06:51    2512332

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I've been of the view that Paddy is well beyond his best for a few seasons whilst being marked by defences of the better teams in the country, even before the big injury. Posting big scores against poor defences at club or county level can sometimes mask a regression in ability. A great servant to the county, we wouldn't have had the amount of success we had without his contribution. The only hope is that Jim can get him to recapture the form of old like he did with a few 2012 lads who'd gone off the boil, or to tailor a role suitable to whatever strengths he has left to offer. Alternatively, we'll probably see the Messiah tinker with who can work best in partnership with Farah, with the forwards we have in the county.
Poor game management from Bonner, as was alluded to earlier. A shout to the lads to cool the jets when it was evident that there was a card happy ref could have won them the match, but the baby ceremoniously and spectacularly got thrown out with the bathwater. A lesson to be learned."
If you look at it in truth it shows up Bonners weakness as a manager, he should have been able to read the room as they say these days, a fussy ref and we've all come across them at times should have been recognised early on and the thing to do was cool the jets not up the ante and add fuel to the fire.
It's things like this and the ability to motivate and man manage that sets the great managers apart from the rest, also the tactical set up of a team and not playing players out of position etc and the vision to make changes as a game progresses and not be stuck in a mental rut and bore on regardless.
The top managers don't always get it right either but they are just better at the job simple as that.
On Paddy it's obvious he isn't the player he was but he still has a lot to offer the county team and no doubt Jim will get the best out of him, he has been a great servant to the county.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 10/11/2023 12:18:21    2512341

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I never said I didn't like it??

I said it's not true that our exec are down in the banks - that's pretty clear."
How is it so pretty clear then?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 10/11/2023 12:28:28    2512342

Replying To StockholmGael:  "I've been of the view that Paddy is well beyond his best for a few seasons whilst being marked by defences of the better teams in the country, even before the big injury. Posting big scores against poor defences at club or county level can sometimes mask a regression in ability. A great servant to the county, we wouldn't have had the amount of success we had without his contribution. The only hope is that Jim can get him to recapture the form of old like he did with a few 2012 lads who'd gone off the boil, or to tailor a role suitable to whatever strengths he has left to offer. Alternatively, we'll probably see the Messiah tinker with who can work best in partnership with Farah, with the forwards we have in the county.
Poor game management from Bonner, as was alluded to earlier. A shout to the lads to cool the jets when it was evident that there was a card happy ref could have won them the match, but the baby ceremoniously and spectacularly got thrown out with the bathwater. A lesson to be learned."
You wernt obviously at the game to decide anything about discipline. I don't need to be talking about na rossa as I have no affiliation towards them. I'm speaking as a gaa man who goes to enjoy a game of football and wants to see a team getting fair play. Your probably going by the Brendan devenny show on Monday night, firstly devenny wasn't at the game, Brendan kilcoyne was and to listen to him on Monday night compared to his commentary during the game is completely different. What he said after the game is his true opinion and the opinion of every body at the game. Why did he back track on Monday night not to hard to know he was told to take it easy on the ref and make bonner the scapegoat. Which is a kop out. The fourth official was on to the na rossa line from the start even thought Lisnaskea had more people on the line , I heard the na rossa line onto the linesman about the abuse Oisin Caulfield was getting but no action was taken yet every time the Lisnaskea players were taken down a card was produced. As I said before the decision to award a free to Lisnaskea for allegedly over carrying in injury time was nothing to do with discipline it was just biased refereeing from the ref in my opinion. I'm just bewildered if na rossa don't go and ask for the referee assessors report.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 10/11/2023 12:38:52    2512344

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Answer the question and stop waffling, are you on the Letterkenny executive? That is the only way you can confirm 100% that he hasn't been approached by Letterkenny."
Ok I'm sorry if I upset u - you seem very angry.

Unless your DOD yourself - you have no way of knowing and are just calling out gossip…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 10/11/2023 12:46:45    2512345

Replying To eunans4ever:  "As common sense is clearly lacking , I'll put it down to lack of education or most likely your currently going through education…"
Hopefully now yous can keep the managers job in the club. Yous have no need to be going outside the club to get a manager.. you can't beat a passionate club man. And with your knowledge you might even have a role to play..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 10/11/2023 13:23:07    2512355

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If you look at it in truth it shows up Bonners weakness as a manager, he should have been able to read the room as they say these days, a fussy ref and we've all come across them at times should have been recognised early on and the thing to do was cool the jets not up the ante and add fuel to the fire.
It's things like this and the ability to motivate and man manage that sets the great managers apart from the rest, also the tactical set up of a team and not playing players out of position etc and the vision to make changes as a game progresses and not be stuck in a mental rut and bore on regardless.
The top managers don't always get it right either but they are just better at the job simple as that.
On Paddy it's obvious he isn't the player he was but he still has a lot to offer the county team and no doubt Jim will get the best out of him, he has been a great servant to the county."
Not surprising to see the anti bonner out in force commenting on a game they weren't even at. Sad really but that's Donegal gaa

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 10/11/2023 14:21:15    2512366