Donegal GAA thread

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Yes Bonner stayed a year too long, possibly 2 years. There were too many voices incl Rochford and the whole thing became a dogs dinner after what was a very promising start. It steadily got worse instead of better.

Regarding Na Rossas match on Saturday last, lets just call it out as it was. A complete ****show of ill discipline on Na Rossas part. The ref was overly fussy yes, but any smart team will adapt to how a ref is applying the rules. Instead, Na Rossa, incl their Manager, doubled down and attacked all officials and their opposition. As a result they lost their focus and their discipline and eventually lost the game, and deservedly so. The self sympathy on Donegal media all week has been pathetic."
Exactly right.

But what hope do the team have of showing good discipline if there same isn't coming from the line. Not often a physio is sent off but he mouthed himself into the red.

Same with the manager. Sent to the stands and stands at the fence right in behind the dug out. Probably only incensed the ref even more.

Clueless.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 08/11/2023 13:20:08    2512086

Replying To Curlew66:  "SAT : Trillick v Crossmaglen (7.15) Omagh RTE2
SUN: Glen v Carraigin (3.00) Derry
Kilcoo v Scotstown (3.15) Newry Tg4
Gowna v Naomh Conaill (4.15) Cavan …. Preceded by Ballyhaise/Downing (2.15)

Big games to look forward to this week end. Three of the QFs feature a team that played in an AI final in the last decade or so."
2 cracking games there on TV to look forward to watching..

This time of year is great with these games between very good and evenly matched teams..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 13:29:21    2512088

Replying To rorysboys:  "No surprise there blame the manager always, didn't see mc brearty do much this last few years only blame everyone but himself. Past it"
The fact u think Patrick Mc Brearty is past it tells everyone where your football knowledge is at.

Your better served in the boardroom causing chaos

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 13:30:31    2512090

Replying To rorysboys:  "lol coming from an amadan."
I don't engage in childish name calling - when u resort to that your generally loosing your audience.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 13:31:19    2512092

Replying To PeterQ92:  "Yes Bonner stayed a year too long, possibly 2 years. There were too many voices incl Rochford and the whole thing became a dogs dinner after what was a very promising start. It steadily got worse instead of better.

Regarding Na Rossas match on Saturday last, lets just call it out as it was. A complete ****show of ill discipline on Na Rossas part. The ref was overly fussy yes, but any smart team will adapt to how a ref is applying the rules. Instead, Na Rossa, incl their Manager, doubled down and attacked all officials and their opposition. As a result they lost their focus and their discipline and eventually lost the game, and deservedly so. The self sympathy on Donegal media all week has been pathetic."
100% - doesn't take a genius to work out that he wasn't county material at a serious level.

Careful on calling out his discipline - you'll get attacked by the former chairman and Bonner can do no wrong lover - how dare u criticise him, he's beyond that remit..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 13:37:16    2512095

You obviously weren't at the game if that's your opinion. The biggest talking point of the game was the na rossa goalie being blown for over carrying are you calling that lack of discipline . What did you make of the incident at half time between the Lisnaskea Māori foirne and the na rossa player..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 13:56:01    2512099

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Exactly right.

But what hope do the team have of showing good discipline if there same isn't coming from the line. Not often a physio is sent off but he mouthed himself into the red.

Same with the manager. Sent to the stands and stands at the fence right in behind the dug out. Probably only incensed the ref even more.

Clueless."
Where did you want him to stand up in the club house. You are clueless

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 14:23:21    2512110

Replying To eunans4ever:  "The fact u think Patrick Mc Brearty is past it tells everyone where your football knowledge is at.

Your better served in the boardroom causing chaos"
He has been this last few years. If you think otherwise that's your opinion. Am I not allowed an opinion ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 14:25:04    2512112

Replying To rorysboys:  "You obviously weren't at the game if that's your opinion. The biggest talking point of the game was the na rossa goalie being blown for over carrying are you calling that lack of discipline . What did you make of the incident at half time between the Lisnaskea Māori foirne and the na rossa player.."
I know your slightly biased about Na Rossa and you can feel hard done, ref was overly fussy but what he said was right, Na Rossa should have realised very early on there was no messing with this ref and Bonner should have been smart enough to tell his team that, instead he made things worse. I've seen some other NR games and they definitely play on the edge, which is fine so long as you don't go over the edge.

I think they would have won it if they played with more sense. The decisicion at the end with the keeper was a wrong call but that happens in games too. Swings and roundabouts. Anyway I'm sure yous will still reflect on a successful year and best of luck next year.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 08/11/2023 14:29:03    2512113

Replying To rorysboys:  "He has been this last few years. If you think otherwise that's your opinion. Am I not allowed an opinion ha"
Is that the same Paddy McBrearty that averaged 9 points per game in the club championship this year?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 08/11/2023 15:18:34    2512124

Replying To FootballGuy:  "I know your slightly biased about Na Rossa and you can feel hard done, ref was overly fussy but what he said was right, Na Rossa should have realised very early on there was no messing with this ref and Bonner should have been smart enough to tell his team that, instead he made things worse. I've seen some other NR games and they definitely play on the edge, which is fine so long as you don't go over the edge.

I think they would have won it if they played with more sense. The decisicion at the end with the keeper was a wrong call but that happens in games too. Swings and roundabouts. Anyway I'm sure yous will still reflect on a successful year and best of luck next year."
Fair enough but what did the ref say was right. Another thing I'm not from na rossa . Your right they play on the edge seen them 3 times this year and was impressed by there work ethic. But as a neutral it was hard to see any team being treated like that..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 15:19:13    2512125

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Is that the same Paddy McBrearty that averaged 9 points per game in the club championship this year?"
Yea that's the same player who kicked 3 pts against n Conal in qf. Have the highest respect for paddy but I'm afraid to say he's on the wane.. hopefully I'm proved wrong

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 16:12:38    2512141

Replying To rorysboys:  "Fair enough but what did the ref say was right. Another thing I'm not from na rossa . Your right they play on the edge seen them 3 times this year and was impressed by there work ethic. But as a neutral it was hard to see any team being treated like that.."
If you say so.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 08/11/2023 17:06:58    2512152

Best of luck to both Donegal teams at the wkend.
I know I will be up early along with other Naomh conail supporters to support Downings and hopefully cheer them to victory.
Was a long journey back after last year in Belfast, hopefully it's a better journey back on sunday

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 08/11/2023 21:37:04    2512172

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea that's the same player who kicked 3 pts against n Conal in qf. Have the highest respect for paddy but I'm afraid to say he's on the wane.. hopefully I'm proved wrong"
Of course he's on the wane. He's been playing the last 15 years at senior. A lot of miles on the clock despite the relatively young age. Paddy can still do a job at senior level and maybe with Gallan occupying the best man marker and more than likely the plus one that Paddy had to deal with the last few years , Paddy will get a new lease of life.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1170 - 08/11/2023 22:03:37    2512177

Replying To Lockjaw:  "There a lot of good people doing very good work in every club in the county. It isn't always rewarded with success though, but that shouldn't be the ultimate goal anyway in my opinion. The GAA was set up as a cultural and sporting outlet, a very noble idea which has gone from strength to strength over the decades, proof of which is the existence of a GAA club in every pocket of the island practically.

It can be hard to keep the show on the road. Smaller catchment areas will go through cycles where all will appear lost, only for a generation of players to appear, well coached to bring the club on again. Look at Downings as an example. They were operating in Div 4, and in the junior championship not so long ago. Alot of hard work and patience has gone into their progression I'm sure.

So while success on the pitch in terms of titles may be a dream for some clubs, it's more important for clubs to continue to give their youth that outlet to train and play games. It's why I would never be condescending to so-called smaller clubs, and the level that they're playing at. Because you can be damn sure that there are great people in those clubs working away behind the scenes hoping that one day, they'll get their day in the sun too."
That's it in a nutshell lockjaw.

Rather than trying to show up clubs for their weaknesses at a given time, as true GAA people we should be showing what the GAA is really about and that's supporting everyone in our county and association.

Good people are committed in all clubs regardless of their league position. As an organisation the GAA is contributing to every community regardless of whether they win championships or not.

Remember in Donegal it is only possible to win 5 championship cups that leaves 35 clubs who won't win a cup BUT if they have a chance of possibly winning it keeps them going.

In other words we need to have competitions that allow all clubs be COMPETITIVE as that will help keep all clubs alive.

Whateveryourhavingyourself (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 09/11/2023 10:08:01    2512196

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Is that the same Paddy McBrearty that averaged 9 points per game in the club championship this year?"
100% - this lad is clueless about football on the pitch as equally as in the boardroom obviously…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 09/11/2023 11:31:22    2512218

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea that's the same player who kicked 3 pts against n Conal in qf. Have the highest respect for paddy but I'm afraid to say he's on the wane.. hopefully I'm proved wrong"
Scoring 3 points against a superb glenties / Fintown unit is the equivalent of kicking 8/9 scores against other teams…..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 09/11/2023 11:32:14    2512219

Replying To The keeper:  "Best of luck to both Donegal teams at the wkend.
I know I will be up early along with other Naomh conail supporters to support Downings and hopefully cheer them to victory.
Was a long journey back after last year in Belfast, hopefully it's a better journey back on sunday"
Yes hopefully both teams leave with the win and take a step closer to the final.

Safe travels all and the very best of luck to all the Fintown/Glenties/Ballybofey/Letterkenny lads and the Downings lads also.

Are the games been streamed does anyone know ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 09/11/2023 11:34:15    2512220

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Scoring 3 points against a superb glenties / Fintown unit is the equivalent of kicking 8/9 scores against other teams….."
That's the best ever. You brighten my day up regularly with your stupid remarks. 3 pts being the equivalent of 9.. keep them coming lad your priceless. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 09/11/2023 12:15:30    2512235