Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eunans4ever:  "When and where are glenties / Fintown out in ulster club action ??"
If you enter the proper name, Naomh Conaill you will see the fixture for yourself......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 07/11/2023 14:11:55    2511940

Just back from holidays since the county final.

The game was over in the first 5 minutes. I don't think Gweedore will be at the top table for the next 4-5 years. They're rebuilding down there. I'd say Neil is done as he won't have the time with being on McG ticket. Eamonn I think will hang up the boots unless he plays a bit of reserve football.

Glenties on the other hand are a credit, fair play to them and they've got a good break now to prepare for Ulster. Good luck to them.

In regards to the u21 championship, I've heard McG wants it to be done ASAP. He's away the second weekend of Dec on training camp so he'll want it completed the first weekend i'd imagine. Any teams from the south going to compete with Termon/Gweedore this year?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 07/11/2023 14:49:28    2511949

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I mentioned Na Rossa because they seemed to be the only ones giving out about the ref at the end. Maybe Skea would have been of they had lost but we'll never know.

Brendan Kilcoyne raised the point last night that it becomes apparent on the 1st ten mins of any game how a ref is going to ref it. It's up to the teams then to act accordingly. Common sense really.

And please rain in your sensitivity about Bonner, it's beyond embarrassing now.

As a matter of interest do you know what that red card was rescinded for? I'm sure you do."
Listening to kilcoyne on the match commentary and listening to him on the dv show last night. Two different accounts of the referee no doubt he was told to be good to the ref . Sad really if you can't say what you seen.. I've heard a few facts about Saturday but won't be let say it on here. just have to go on Facebook now

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 07/11/2023 15:13:03    2511956

Replying To eunans4ever:  "When and where are glenties / Fintown out in ulster club action ??"
Are you back again I thought you were thrown off the forum. No such luck

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 07/11/2023 16:25:18    2511968

Replying To rorysboys:  "Listening to kilcoyne on the match commentary and listening to him on the dv show last night. Two different accounts of the referee no doubt he was told to be good to the ref . Sad really if you can't say what you seen.. I've heard a few facts about Saturday but won't be let say it on here. just have to go on Facebook now"
You didn't answer my question as to how Na Rossa got the red card overturned?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 07/11/2023 16:54:22    2511974

Replying To Yourjoking:  "There is an ulster Intermediate game at 2.15pm first, they need to leave a gap in throw in time due to maybe extra time/pens.
Kilcoo V Scotstown game is live on TG4 at 3.15pm."
Thank you , double header for the supporters. Four big senior QFs in Ulster this week end. Trillick v Kilcoo on RTE2 Saturday evening.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 550 - 07/11/2023 16:54:24    2511975

Replying To peiledoir20:  "You didn't answer my question as to how Na Rossa got the red card overturned?"
I presume he got off because he deserved too. Hand on heart I never heard how he got off. Could you enlighten me.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 07/11/2023 17:40:06    2511990

Like a bad smell that lingers on.

https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/1342662/children-s-officer-nomination-challenged-as-things-get-heated-at-county-committee.html

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 647 - 07/11/2023 17:57:37    2511991

Replying To Scenicparish:  "If you enter the proper name, Naomh Conaill you will see the fixture for yourself......"
He's probably still recovering from the big night out Eunans had to celebrate Newtowncunningham's best Gaelic footballer.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 427 - 07/11/2023 19:30:46    2512005

Just back from holidays since the county final.

The game was over in the first 5 minutes. I don't think Gweedore will be at the top table for the next 4-5 years. They're rebuilding down there. I'd say Neil is done as he won't have the time with being on McG ticket. Eamonn I think will hang up the boots unless he plays a bit of reserve football.

Glenties on the other hand are a credit, fair play to them and they've got a good break now to prepare for Ulster. Good luck to them.

In regards to the u21 championship, I've heard McG wants it to be done ASAP. He's away the second weekend of Dec on training camp so he'll want it completed the first weekend i'd imagine. Any teams from the south going to compete with Termon/Gweedore this year?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 07/11/2023 21:30:53    2512014

Replying To Curlew66:  "Thank you , double header for the supporters. Four big senior QFs in Ulster this week end. Trillick v Kilcoo on RTE2 Saturday evening."
Apologies it's Trillick v Crossmaglen on Sat eve RTE2

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 550 - 08/11/2023 01:49:11    2512020

Replying To Scenicparish:  "If you enter the proper name, Naomh Conaill you will see the fixture for yourself......"
Can you stop following me around with this obsession about a name - multiple users on here call glenties Also and you don't get upset.

Stop looking for reasons to be offended…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 09:57:09    2512032

Replying To rorysboys:  "Are you back again I thought you were thrown off the forum. No such luck"
Your clinging on by a thread on the board again I see clutching at straws - do the honourable thing and walk away and take responsibility for the mess u left in the boardroom.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 09:58:13    2512033

Replying To rorysboys:  "I presume he got off because he deserved too. Hand on heart I never heard how he got off. Could you enlighten me."
Believe it or not the ref who sent him off made an error in spelling his name, I kid you not. Nothing to do with him not deserving it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 08/11/2023 10:31:11    2512041

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Like a bad smell that lingers on.

https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/1342662/children-s-officer-nomination-challenged-as-things-get-heated-at-county-committee.html"
Yea he's the same on here too - hanging around when not wanted or nobody takes much notice of him

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 10:33:41    2512042

What do people make of our captain interview recently saying standards slipped since the messiah previous term

Bit of a damming insight on the Bonner regime……

Great guy and all that and great credit for the effort but he defo held on too long and dragged us further and further behind.

Easier to understand now why so many players walked away over the last few years…

Onwards and upwards now tho the main man has stepped up and will IMO put things right again..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 08/11/2023 10:37:34    2512044

SAT : Trillick v Crossmaglen (7.15) Omagh RTE2
SUN: Glen v Carraigin (3.00) Derry
Kilcoo v Scotstown (3.15) Newry Tg4
Gowna v Naomh Conaill (4.15) Cavan …. Preceded by Ballyhaise/Downing (2.15)

Big games to look forward to this week end. Three of the QFs feature a team that played in an AI final in the last decade or so.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 550 - 08/11/2023 10:51:20    2512048

Replying To eunans4ever:  "What do people make of our captain interview recently saying standards slipped since the messiah previous term

Great guy and all that and great credit for the effort but he defo held on too long and dragged us further and further behind.

Easier to understand now why so many players walked away over the last few years…

Onwards and upwards now tho the main man has stepped up and will IMO put things right again.."
No surprise there blame the manager always, didn't see mc brearty do much this last few years only blame everyone but himself. Past it

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 11:38:57    2512058

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Your clinging on by a thread on the board again I see clutching at straws - do the honourable thing and walk away and take responsibility for the mess u left in the boardroom."
lol coming from an amadan.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 08/11/2023 11:51:04    2512063

Replying To eunans4ever:  "What do people make of our captain interview recently saying standards slipped since the messiah previous term

Onwards and upwards now tho the main man has stepped up and will IMO put things right again.."
Yes Bonner stayed a year too long, possibly 2 years. There were too many voices incl Rochford and the whole thing became a dogs dinner after what was a very promising start. It steadily got worse instead of better.

Regarding Na Rossas match on Saturday last, lets just call it out as it was. A complete ****show of ill discipline on Na Rossas part. The ref was overly fussy yes, but any smart team will adapt to how a ref is applying the rules. Instead, Na Rossa, incl their Manager, doubled down and attacked all officials and their opposition. As a result they lost their focus and their discipline and eventually lost the game, and deservedly so. The self sympathy on Donegal media all week has been pathetic.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 08/11/2023 12:39:40    2512075