Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Take off your blinkers lad it was a horrible game . Am I not allowed to have an opinion on anything. Yesterday wasn't Gaelic football it was a borefest from start to finish. I admire the n Conal team great lads to keep it going year in year out. But as for your supporters there the reason people don't like yous no doubt you're included. That silly singing after the game, it's gaa lad not soccer.. of course I want gweedore to win sure the whole county do apart from n Conal. Ha"
We don't care whether you or anybody else likes us, never did. In fact it makes the Success we have had that bit sweeter, Ha''

I wouldn't expect you to say it was a interesting game, as the dogs on the street know you dislike Naomh conail.
And the singing at the end, such a terrible thing, supporters supporting there team, lol.
You only wish whatever club you are from had such passionate and hardworking supporters. That's why we're fighting for a county title, the 7th final in a row.

Another epic final against Gweedore, one team that never will give up in a final. May the best team win.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 10/10/2023 10:58:07    2507688

Replying To The keeper:  "We don't care whether you or anybody else likes us, never did. In fact it makes the Success we have had that bit sweeter, Ha''

I wouldn't expect you to say it was a interesting game, as the dogs on the street know you dislike Naomh conail.
And the singing at the end, such a terrible thing, supporters supporting there team, lol.
You only wish whatever club you are from had such passionate and hardworking supporters. That's why we're fighting for a county title, the 7th final in a row.

Another epic final against Gweedore, one team that never will give up in a final. May the best team win."
Calm down lad it's only an opinion. If you're happy singing after a game fair enough. I have nothing against n Conal absolute fantastic what they have done. My problem is the way they set up you were very vocal when donegal played the same way but its brilliant when your own club plays like it. Enjoy your week on the road.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 10/10/2023 12:03:18    2507701

Gaoth Dobhair have for most of their run in the championship relied on goals. I can't see them posting more than one against the tight NC defense. They'll definitely have to add something extra to their final gameplan if they're not able to breach the shield. MacNiallais and O Baoill are two who have it in their locker to kick points from distance, so this could be something they'll be looking to utilise in addition to their threat to goal. They're solid enough from frees, but the NC backline are super disciplined in that regard, just what the intercounty team could do with. It'll be a smashing match between two great club teams, and two great sets of supporters.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 135 - 10/10/2023 12:12:23    2507705

Replying To rorysboys:  "Calm down lad it's only an opinion. If you're happy singing after a game fair enough. I have nothing against n Conal absolute fantastic what they have done. My problem is the way they set up you were very vocal when donegal played the same way but its brilliant when your own club plays like it. Enjoy your week on the road."
I was vocal about Donegal because under Bonner even through they had men back, they weren't aggressive in the tackle or disciplined. And didn't attack at pace when they had the ball.

The Naomh conail tackling and discipline is one to be admired and also the speed they counter attack at times.
Hopefully McGuinness can bring the same workrate to Donegal and discipline, if he does we will not be far away.
My problem with Donegal is they lacked a spine and balls when the going got tough the last few years. And as a Donegal man, it annoyed me the fact we let teams bully us.
We are better than that, no team should bully us, I'd rather get beat with a bit of fight in us, then at least we died with out boots on.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 10/10/2023 12:51:07    2507712

Replying To The keeper:  "I was vocal about Donegal because under Bonner even through they had men back, they weren't aggressive in the tackle or disciplined. And didn't attack at pace when they had the ball.

The Naomh conail tackling and discipline is one to be admired and also the speed they counter attack at times.
Hopefully McGuinness can bring the same workrate to Donegal and discipline, if he does we will not be far away.
My problem with Donegal is they lacked a spine and balls when the going got tough the last few years. And as a Donegal man, it annoyed me the fact we let teams bully us.
We are better than that, no team should bully us, I'd rather get beat with a bit of fight in us, then at least we died with out boots on."
No post is complete without mc Guinness getting a mention. Ha. Besotted lad

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 10/10/2023 15:56:26    2507743

Replying To The keeper:  "I was vocal about Donegal because under Bonner even through they had men back, they weren't aggressive in the tackle or disciplined. And didn't attack at pace when they had the ball.

We are better than that, no team should bully us, I'd rather get beat with a bit of fight in us, then at least we died with out boots on."
Bonner just lost his way after the Ulster final defeat in 2020, before that I thought he was doing ok but we definitely regressed since that, and then you have/had the whole county board/academy/senior manger appointment debacles.etc etc.
At least for next year I believe we have the best manager we could wish for managing us and hopefully Jim can get us back dining at the top table again, we have a county full of potential and as we can see from this years Championship there is no lack of talent here in the hills of Tir Chonaill, it just needs to be managed correctly and then we can see what we can achieve.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3065 - 10/10/2023 16:04:26    2507747

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Bonner just lost his way after the Ulster final defeat in 2020, before that I thought he was doing ok but we definitely regressed since that, and then you have/had the whole county board/academy/senior manger appointment debacles.etc etc.
At least for next year I believe we have the best manager we could wish for managing us and hopefully Jim can get us back dining at the top table again, we have a county full of potential and as we can see from this years Championship there is no lack of talent here in the hills of Tir Chonaill, it just needs to be managed correctly and then we can see what we can achieve."
This is it. We might not be All Ireland contenders but lets give our lads the best possible chance to be the best they can be. Derry are tipped as being serious All Ireland contenders, but talent wise are they actually that far ahead of us? I think with a good bank of S&C, and the likes of Langan, McHugh, Mogan and the O'Donnells to return we can at least look forward to 2024 with a bit of optimism. I see Jim has a training camp organised already before Christmas. Obviosuly a lot of money involved that maybe wasn't available to the previous management. But still - if we want to improve, these are the steps we need to be taking.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9531 - 10/10/2023 16:46:11    2507758

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Bonner just lost his way after the Ulster final defeat in 2020, before that I thought he was doing ok but we definitely regressed since that, and then you have/had the whole county board/academy/senior manger appointment debacles.etc etc.
At least for next year I believe we have the best manager we could wish for managing us and hopefully Jim can get us back dining at the top table again, we have a county full of potential and as we can see from this years Championship there is no lack of talent here in the hills of Tir Chonaill, it just needs to be managed correctly and then we can see what we can achieve."
Hopefully too we can get you and the keeper off the armchair and support the lads. It's the least they deserve, do your talking and shouting in the stand lads. lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 10/10/2023 17:49:21    2507777

Replying To rorysboys:  "No post is complete without mc Guinness getting a mention. Ha. Besotted lad"
Well you did bring up Donegal and McGuinness is the current manager. So why wouldn't he get a mention.
And yes I admire the man, because he brought pride back to Donegal football in his last spell as manager.
Something other managers failed to do, including your buddy Mr Bonner.
But I am sure that's the reason you don't like naomh conail, because most naomh conail supporters are knowledgeable and said we were going backwards under Mr Bonner.
We all know you hope naomh conail and Donegal fail this year and next year, all because you were obsessed with Mr Bonner staying in charge, ha
99 percent of Donegal supporters are excited about McGuinness being back, but then there is you behind the mask hoping Donegal fail. Sad really

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 11/10/2023 01:48:22    2507815

Replying To The keeper:  "Well you did bring up Donegal and McGuinness is the current manager. So why wouldn't he get a mention.
And yes I admire the man, because he brought pride back to Donegal football in his last spell as manager.
But I am sure that's the reason you don't like naomh conail, because most naomh conail supporters are knowledgeable and said we were going backwards under Mr Bonner.
We all know you hope naomh conail and Donegal fail this year and next year, all because you were obsessed with Mr Bonner staying in charge, ha
99 percent of Donegal supporters are excited about McGuinness being back, but then there is you behind the mask hoping Donegal fail. Sad really"
I bet you he'll be supporting the ex Glenties players togging out for Na Rossa this weekend though.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1071 - 11/10/2023 10:28:57    2507830

I see that renowned sports psychologist Caroline Currid has departed the Limerick hurling setup. By all accounts she was a vital member of Kiely's backroom team. I know that she is from Grange in Sligo, but not sure where she is based, or indeed what her future plans are. She has previously worked with the Tyrone footballers. Given that Jim has a similar sports psychology background it's unlikely that she'd be approached by Donegal GAA. But it'll be interesting to see where her next role will be.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9531 - 11/10/2023 10:53:55    2507833

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I bet you he'll be supporting the ex Glenties players togging out for Na Rossa this weekend though."
And why wouldn't I be supporting the ex naomh conail players this wkend, they were good servants to our club.
And I would also support Na rossa even without them players this wkend, because there our neighbours and a small club fighting to survive over the years.
You see I never had anything personal against Mr Bonner, other than my utter belief that he was not the man to bring Donegal football back to the big time.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 11/10/2023 12:23:17    2507858

Replying To The keeper:  "And why wouldn't I be supporting the ex naomh conail players this wkend, they were good servants to our club.
And I would also support Na rossa even without them players this wkend, because there our neighbours and a small club fighting to survive over the years.
You see I never had anything personal against Mr Bonner, other than my utter belief that he was not the man to bring Donegal football back to the big time."
Relax lad, I was talking about rorysboys.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1071 - 11/10/2023 12:57:35    2507872

Can we forget about this Bonner craic. The man did his time and moved on. I wish all clubs the best of luck this weekend. From junior - senior clubs, players put in serious time and effort.

Na Rossa will be big favs I'd imagine. Downings are prob favorite v Malin. Have the refs been appointed yet?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 11/10/2023 13:07:55    2507877

Replying To The keeper:  "And why wouldn't I be supporting the ex naomh conail players this wkend, they were good servants to our club.
You see I never had anything personal against Mr Bonner, other than my utter belief that he was not the man to bring Donegal football back to the big time."
I think he was on about rorysboys, not yourself.

Hopefully Na Rossa do win and maybe rorysboys might go on the beer for a few days and give the rest of us some peace.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 260 - 11/10/2023 13:13:50    2507878

Replying To The keeper:  "Well you did bring up Donegal and McGuinness is the current manager. So why wouldn't he get a mention.
99 percent of Donegal supporters are excited about McGuinness being back, but then there is you behind the mask hoping Donegal fail. Sad really"
No I'm a Donegal supporter who support them who ever is manager. I won't be on here giving out about mc Guinness like you and your stay at home band wagon supporters did with bonner and Gallagher. Sad really if yous had nothing better to do. Suit you better to go and get a life. lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 11/10/2023 13:15:20    2507879

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I bet you he'll be supporting the ex Glenties players togging out for Na Rossa this weekend though."
So I'm back to being a na Rossa supporter now I was mick mc grath last week. I would say the reason they play for na rossa is because they live in doochary or Lettermacaward unlike a certain n Conal player who has never lived in the n Conal parish.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 11/10/2023 13:19:01    2507880

Replying To rorysboys:  "So I'm back to being a na Rossa supporter now I was mick mc grath last week. I would say the reason they play for na rossa is because they live in doochary or Lettermacaward unlike a certain n Conal player who has never lived in the n Conal parish."
Who is this?

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 11/10/2023 13:56:08    2507889

Replying To FootballGuy:  "I think he was on about rorysboys, not yourself.

Hopefully Na Rossa do win and maybe rorysboys might go on the beer for a few days and give the rest of us some peace."
Not nice lad. Didn't mean to annoy you.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 11/10/2023 15:47:23    2507919

Replying To rorysboys:  "So I'm back to being a na Rossa supporter now I was mick mc grath last week. I would say the reason they play for na rossa is because they live in doochary or Lettermacaward unlike a certain n Conal player who has never lived in the n Conal parish."
There is a Fintown man playing for Na Rossa

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 110 - 12/10/2023 02:39:03    2507969