Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Well done to glenties/Fintown - no excuses this end - I tip my hat to them - they are an absolutely fantastic bunch of players and mgr team.

The better team one on the day - it's nearly impossible to break that extremely defensive system they deploy but they deploy it better then anyone else.

Can someone help me with the wide count ? I lost count of ours sny can't remember any on the glenties/Fintown end ?????

Best of luck to the boys in blue in the final they fully deserve another championship but for the sake of the game for the future , hopefully Gweedore will find a way to break it down and outscore it - I don't think they will for the record tho…

I'd worry about possible suspensions for the blue brigade for all the strikes at the end but there was ones on both sides - so Enda let it go and don't spoil a final fir any player.

Finally - thank you Rory for winning a championship but move on now as you've had two years trying to find a way to beat glenties/Fintown and failed miserably."
You must be disappointed with you team, failed to turn up on the big day again. Very few players from your team stood up and showed leadership. Turned up with chests out in Naomh conails home pitch when there was nothing really at stake.

I actually enjoy you calling us glenties/fintown, shows me how much you hate us and hate to see us win.
Me on the other hand chatted to St Eunans supporters after the game and was sporting in Victory.
As I would in defeat.

It's no shame getting beat by our great club, leaders all over the pitch, legends of the game .
As for cheering on Gweedore, I am sure you will be along with others.
But that doesn't bother me or any Naomh conail supporters, we are used to it
Bring on Gweedore and may the best team win

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 08/10/2023 21:03:44    2507433

Replying To EP:  "Would i be right in saying we are moving to U18 next year so they'll be going for 3 in a row?"
I didn't hear that but possibly correct. They'll fancy their chances again either way

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1675 - 08/10/2023 21:48:33    2507440

Replying To totalrecall:  "They'll have to go back to the tried and trusted method of pinching players from other clubs if they want to get back to the pinnacle of donegal football"
How many of the 21 winning team did they pinch?

Ballyshannon night go down that route to get themselves a few forwards.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1071 - 08/10/2023 22:00:36    2507443

I only managed to get to the semi-final on Saturday. Gaoth Dobhair were fairly comfortable winners truth be told. Oisín Gallen was simply outstanding for MacCumhaills though. His movement is unbelievable. Even when Gary McFadden and Neil McGee had shepherded him away from goal, on his so called weaker left foot out near the side line, he was still able to clip over points. A phenomenal display. As Donegal supporters we need to hope and pray his injury worries are behind him because he is undoubtedly the real deal.

Gaoth Dobhair were impressive enough when they moved the ball quickly. They have some strong runners and a nice blend of youth and experience. Ethan Harkin is playing with confidence and if they can get Michael Carroll back from injury for the final they'll fancy their chances.

Naomh Conaill and St Eunans played out another tight tussle. By the sounds of things NC were very economical with their shooting, and had their usual tight defensive setup deployed to a T. They really are a remarkable club to keep it going year after year. People complain about their tactics but if you were in their shoes, and getting to the county final 7 years in a row, it wouldn't bother ya to much I'd say.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9531 - 09/10/2023 10:21:19    2507495

Replying To rorysboys:  "I was too late to see it lad. Pity because I've a few pound win on the gaa cship already. I know most of yours won't believe me. Eunans by 5 this weekend."
You're wrong again roryboy lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3065 - 09/10/2023 10:37:44    2507502

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You're wrong again roryboy lol."
Even the greats are not perfect lad. Horrible game for the neutral. Rory kav learned nothing from last year. Cudnt understand how Patton kept going short, enough big men out the field to win there own ball. Fair play to n Conal they play to a system and boys like Leo . Waide. Thompson etc deserve huge credit. . Not pretty viewing but.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 09/10/2023 10:48:01    2507510

Great final in store and I must say a massive well done do Naomh Conaill, 7 finals in a row is some record to set and I doubt we'll ever see that equalled and who's to say they won't make it 8 in a row next year?
It will be interesting to hear what John Haran has to say now given that he said that NC v SE was the county final in effect, the GD men will enjoy that statement by him no doubt.
You'd have to fancy NC to win it but GD will not be easy to beat and I have a feeling it will be very close and will depend on who gets the rub of the green on the day as they say.
It has been a great senior Championship barring a few defensive borefests from Aodh Ruadh,
as has been mentioned Rory Kavanagh not getting the Donegal job last year was a blessing in disguise when you see how things have gone for Eunans under his management.
Exciting times ahead next year for the county with Jim back and a great senior county final still to come.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3065 - 09/10/2023 10:58:22    2507517

Replying To rorysboys:  "Even the greats are not perfect lad. Horrible game for the neutral. Rory kav learned nothing from last year. Cudnt understand how Patton kept going short, enough big men out the field to win there own ball. Fair play to n Conal they play to a system and boys like Leo . Waide. Thompson etc deserve huge credit. . Not pretty viewing but."
The usual stuff of horrible game, not pretty viewing from rorysboys. All because of a Naomh conail victory.

The only thing yourself and Eunansforever have in common, your hate for this great club Naomh conail.

Instead of talking about the tactical masterclass by our management team, the great man marking job done by Ultan Doherty on Niall O'Donnell or the job done by Ethan O'Donnell on Shane O'Donnell, Jason Campbell on McGeehan.
Or the brilliant display by Anthony Thompson, who put younger players on the Eunans team to shame. Or Kieran Thompson, Eunan Doherty's displays.
7 finals in a row, a record by a Donegal club.

Suppose you will have your Gweedore jersey ready for the final, lol

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 09/10/2023 12:19:20    2507538

Replying To The keeper:  "The usual stuff of horrible game, not pretty viewing from rorysboys. All because of a Naomh conail victory.

The only thing yourself and Eunansforever have in common, your hate for this great club Naomh conail.

Instead of talking about the tactical masterclass by our management team, the great man marking job done by Ultan Doherty on Niall O'Donnell or the job done by Ethan O'Donnell on Shane O'Donnell, Jason Campbell on McGeehan.
Or the brilliant display by Anthony Thompson, who put younger players on the Eunans team to shame. Or Kieran Thompson, Eunan Doherty's displays.
7 finals in a row, a record by a Donegal club.

Suppose you will have your Gweedore jersey ready for the final, lol"
Take off your blinkers lad it was a horrible game . Am I not allowed to have an opinion on anything. Yesterday wasn't Gaelic football it was a borefest from start to finish. I admire the n Conal team great lads to keep it going year in year out. But as for your supporters there the reason people don't like yous no doubt you're included. That silly singing after the game, it's gaa lad not soccer.. of course I want gweedore to win sure the whole county do apart from n Conal. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2576 - 09/10/2023 13:00:45    2507549

Fair play to N Conaill, 7 finals in a row is some going. Especially as some had written their obituary after the 2017 final.
Think people are getting a bit carried away in regard to J Harans comments, he had been on record from the start of the championship saying that he thought it would be Eunans or NC to win it and it would take one of them to beat the other, hardly that controversial of an opinion

greatkick (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 09/10/2023 13:37:13    2507565

Big final in two weeks time.

Eunans had no plan b. Very suprised they didn't empty the bench. Mc Veigh or young Doogan would maybe mixed it up. Ah well Kavanagh will be gone iId say and the supposedly 40min run they done at training was no good.

Fair play to Glenties. They are some operators. They do th ebasics very simple and easy.

Glenties by 3 in the final

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 09/10/2023 14:06:59    2507569

Big final in two weeks time.

Eunans had no plan b. Very suprised they didn't empty the bench. Mc Veigh or young Doogan would maybe mixed it up. Ah well Kavanagh will be gone iId say and the supposedly 40min run they done at training was no good.

Fair play to Glenties. They are some operators. They do th ebasics very simple and easy.

Glenties by 3 in the final

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 09/10/2023 14:48:44    2507580

I think it could be interesting if Gaoth Dobhair go a bit gung-ho at the beginning of the match and try to establish an early lead. I know it's risky, but if they managed say to get a three or four point lead early on it could force Naomh Conaill out of their defensive shell a bit and maybe leave some gaps for Gaoth Dobhair's powerful runners to exploit on the counter-attack. Easier said than done of course.

It was different times but who could forget the epic saga of 2019. Naomh Conaill eventually prevailed after the third game with a disupted point being the winner. Hopefully we'll get another close encounter and some decent football.

Just an aside, I know some posters here regulalry bemoan the fact that we don't have enough quality defenders for the county team to seriously compete. But it sounded like two of the Doherty lads came out on top in their respective battles with the O'Donnell brothers. No easy job that. I know Odhran was involved with the county last year and did well. Could the brother be an option too?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9531 - 09/10/2023 14:59:32    2507582

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think it could be interesting if Gaoth Dobhair go a bit gung-ho at the beginning of the match and try to establish an early lead. I know it's risky, but if they managed say to get a three or four point lead early on it could force Naomh Conaill out of their defensive shell a bit and maybe leave some gaps for Gaoth Dobhair's powerful runners to exploit on the counter-attack. Easier said than done of course.

It was different times but who could forget the epic saga of 2019. Naomh Conaill eventually prevailed after the third game with a disupted point being the winner. Hopefully we'll get another close encounter and some decent football.

Just an aside, I know some posters here regulalry bemoan the fact that we don't have enough quality defenders for the county team to seriously compete. But it sounded like two of the Doherty lads came out on top in their respective battles with the O'Donnell brothers. No easy job that. I know Odhran was involved with the county last year and did well. Could the brother be an option too?"
They did very well. No easy feet marking the O Donnell lads. I think Odhran has the pace for county. I'm unsure of the other two. Easier marking in massed numbers.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1194 - 09/10/2023 17:31:24    2507627

Glenties are horrible to play against they are very defensive and have being since regans rein,the only hope u have is to sneak a gaol or two and then they would come away from there game plan,I still think Gaoth dobhair are a dangerous animal in the final and will put it up big time to glenties nothing to lose

All in all great championship with mc cools starting to come plus aodh rua and if Dungloe parked there defensive tactic they would have a good chance beating gd but I don't think they would go any further

Dunnangállabù (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 09/10/2023 17:43:00    2507631

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think it could be interesting if Gaoth Dobhair go a bit gung-ho at the beginning of the match and try to establish an early lead. I know it's risky, but if they managed say to get a three or four point lead early on it could force Naomh Conaill out of their defensive shell a bit and maybe leave some gaps for Gaoth Dobhair's powerful runners to exploit on the counter-attack. Easier said than done of course.

Just an aside, I know some posters here regulalry bemoan the fact that we don't have enough quality defenders for the county team to seriously compete. But it sounded like two of the Doherty lads came out on top in their respective battles with the O'Donnell brothers. No easy job that. I know Odhran was involved with the county last year and did well. Could the brother be an option too?"
Doherty did a fantastic job on Niall O'Donnell , however some of that could be from that fact Niall O'Donnell is currently miles off.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 09/10/2023 18:44:40    2507637

Replying To rorysboys:  "Take off your blinkers lad it was a horrible game . Am I not allowed to have an opinion on anything. Yesterday wasn't Gaelic football it was a borefest from start to finish. I admire the n Conal team great lads to keep it going year in year out. But as for your supporters there the reason people don't like yous no doubt you're included. That silly singing after the game, it's gaa lad not soccer.. of course I want gweedore to win sure the whole county do apart from n Conal. Ha"
Your entitled to your opinion but my opinion is that it was a brilliant performance from Naomh Conaill. We controlled the match from start to finish. Some of the long range points were a joy to watch. The Naomh Conaill management had their homework done. The 3 O Donnell's were marked out of the match.
Surprised the Eunans management had no plan B, they knew how Naomh Conaill play and never changed their approach during the match.
The singing at the end of the match was specifically aimed at the Eunans team who couldn't take their beating and a few of their players started the melee that took place at the end of the match.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 411 - 09/10/2023 19:07:02    2507638

I remember when Glenties were a very poor club 2 teams in the parish glenties and fintown and a lot of bad bllood between them how times have changed

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 110 - 09/10/2023 20:07:12    2507646

Replying To TheRock2121:  "They did very well. No easy feet marking the O Donnell lads. I think Odhran has the pace for county. I'm unsure of the other two. Easier marking in massed numbers."
I suppose the only way to know for sure would be to get them involved and Jim would obviously know better than anyone whether they could cut it or not. I always thought Jeaic MacCeallbhuí was a steady enough performer for Donegal too. Can't ever remember him doing too much wrong. A very versatile player who could do a job in a number of positions. Maybe not a guaranteed starter but a very useful squad member.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9531 - 10/10/2023 10:40:24    2507681

The narrative all along was that Naomh Connaill had a great defensive system but that St Eunans had better footballers but there was no evidence that they had better players on Sunday.On the contrary even NCs older players looked better and more composed players.There is no doubt that NCs system is hard to crack and while Kavanagh has got a lot of criticism (probably a lot of it deserved) good players should be able to work things out on the pitch.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1126 - 10/10/2023 10:46:32    2507685