Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Wasn't a penalty.
As for them being given we had one given against us v Dublin in May 21 for a similar block a foot away from the kick."
That block against Dublin was over 7 or 8 yards from the kicker nothing really similar tbh. Why technically the one at the weekend may not have been a Penalty ever similar incident i have seen in the last god knows how many years has resulted in a penalty.
Anyway we scored a goal within 3 mins of the incident and i doubt that would have happened had it been given. Galway were the much better side and we were closer on the scoreboard than what we should have been.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 02/06/2022 09:57:39    2421725

I would love to see ye draw Mayo
Im sure the Rossies would love nothing more than beating them

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 02/06/2022 12:31:47    2421773

Replying To Belclare:  "Across the border morelike it....
The Mayos love cheering opposition wides..
And booing freetakers.."
I noticed that about Mayo fans in recent years. They used not to , but I guess playing Dublin so many times they were infected by this unsporting scourge. I noticed that by the end in McHale Park, Galway fans were at it too and both Ros and Galway fans were at it in Pearse. I dont like it ,and I will never do it or like it, but I think we are just going to have to accept it.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 02/06/2022 13:37:26    2421787

Replying To rhudson:  "I would love to see ye draw Mayo
Im sure the Rossies would love nothing more than beating them"
Don't you know that's going to happen. I'm afraid after our performance on Sunday I'm not one bit confidant in our ability to defend and without being able to defend we have no business being in a quarter final

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 02/06/2022 13:43:26    2421788

Replying To anotheralias:  "I noticed that about Mayo fans in recent years. They used not to , but I guess playing Dublin so many times they were infected by this unsporting scourge. I noticed that by the end in McHale Park, Galway fans were at it too and both Ros and Galway fans were at it in Pearse. I dont like it ,and I will never do it or like it, but I think we are just going to have to accept it."
We don't have to accept or like it Anotheralias. And there are a good few Mayo supporters at it unfortunately. I used to think it was a generational thing but there are plenty of young people that stay quiet for the opponents freekicks and even a few will applaud a great score from the other team. Good manners cost nothing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 02/06/2022 14:44:03    2421799

Replying To GreenandRed:  "We don't have to accept or like it Anotheralias. And there are a good few Mayo supporters at it unfortunately. I used to think it was a generational thing but there are plenty of young people that stay quiet for the opponents freekicks and even a few will applaud a great score from the other team. Good manners cost nothing."
The worst I've seen from Mayo this year was the minor match in Hyde Park.

A member of the Mayo management team planted himself behind the goal and roared that the top of his head at our free takers with colourful language. That carry on against 16 and 17 year old?

Speaking of the U17 they finish their season off against Leitrim this Friday. Hopefully they finish with a win in what was a difficult and disappointing year for them.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 02/06/2022 16:21:34    2421829

Replying To rhudson:  "I would love to see ye draw Mayo
Im sure the Rossies would love nothing more than beating them"
And nothing worse than being beaten by them.! Mayo need to beat Monaghan first. Roscommon need to tighten up at the back. Considerably. Best of luck Galway for the rest of the championship. Hard to look past Dublin or Kerry for the All Ireland this year though.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 02/06/2022 16:43:49    2421833

I don't like or partake in booing but it's an unfortunate thing that is in our game now. It happens with every county to a degree and if it appears to be more so from Dublin and Mayo fans it is because they have been on tv the most for the last decade.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 02/06/2022 16:56:47    2421835

Replying To dave1988:  "Watched the game back last night and it wasn't easy.. I knew our defence was poor and we set up wrong but I couldn't believe how bad we were until I watched it back. We actually didn't lay a hand on them for the full game.. it was an absolute shambles. Heneghan and Murtagh got back but they don't know how to tackle or defend. Eddie Nolan tried to chase down a Galway player running through from midfield and it was shocking to see the difference in speed. You could tell from being at the game Harney was brilliant but apart from that we had nothing. I actually don't think management see our defensive issues. Players running through us all year and they are average teams. You can't just try outscore a division one team without having a solid defense. IL never understand it. McStay tried it and was found out"
Agree with everything above. I'm seeing now that we won 91% of our own kickouts compared to Galway's 62%. This means nothing when Galway were happy for us to tap the majority of them out to Murray/Daly once they built a lead up. We need to start going long more often as Harney, Nolan and Smith are more than capable of competing out there. We had success early on and got a couple of great scores before Galway could get their defence set. Our press of their kickout was also very puzzling - we tried to press but they still got a lot off short with relative ease as we weren't aggressive enough. We'd have been as well off giving up the kickout altogether as what we were doing.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 02/06/2022 20:40:55    2421868

As has been said we have no structure or system in Defence which is the fault of management. We also though lack natural defenders in the current team. We once had the likes of Pat Lindsay, a teak tough full back. The three Dalys who started in Defence are good footballers but not natural defenders. Brian Stack is a fine footballer but not a natural full back. I thought Eoin McCormack was a possible natural defender but Management wouldn't start him in championship. Without a solid Defence, Roscommon will go nowhere in the championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 03/06/2022 17:13:04    2422043

Delighted that our U17 footballers got to finish the campaign off on a high, 14 point winners in the shield final in a sunny Hyde Park, final score line harsh on the effort Leitrim put in but our clinical goal scoring proved the difference 2nd half.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 03/06/2022 20:59:01    2422058

Replying To endgame:  "As has been said we have no structure or system in Defence which is the fault of management. We also though lack natural defenders in the current team. We once had the likes of Pat Lindsay, a teak tough full back. The three Dalys who started in Defence are good footballers but not natural defenders. Brian Stack is a fine footballer but not a natural full back. I thought Eoin McCormack was a possible natural defender but Management wouldn't start him in championship. Without a solid Defence, Roscommon will go nowhere in the championship."
You're right, we really seem to lack natural backs. The natural defenders we do produce seem to step away from football for various reasons, Collins, Mullooly and McInerney off the top of my head. However, we should at least be able to coach lads to tackle. Look at Mayo, even some their forwards are good tacklers, which must have been targeted by coaches. Roscommon have had an issue with tackling for the past 8 years and doesn't seem to have been addressed across various management team's.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 04/06/2022 14:29:53    2422127

So one of Armagh,Mayo,Cork or Clare for us tomorrow each team would bring us problems especially if we defend so poorly again. Short straw draw would be getting Mayo followed by Armagh whom was very impressive this afternoon.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 05/06/2022 15:35:06    2422433

Now we know who we could potentially face all 4 ties are winnable given that it will likely be a Portlaoise/Tulamore venue for Armagh, Cork or Clare. A mayo tie will probably push us to Salthill or Sligo (depending on its capacity).

The debate over the next few days will be what changes if any will management make. Obviously any injuries could influence their decisions.

For me I would forsee at least one defensive change. For me full back line will be same again despite shipping big scores v Galway in two matches. I would expect a sweeper to be deployed from the start if its Mayo or Armagh we face. Personally I'd have one in no matter who we are playing. Ronan Daly to move to No. 5 and Richard Hughes at No.7 with Niall Daly remaining at centre back. Conor Hussey loses out and I think there wouldn't be much debate over that. Eoin McCormack may come into full back line but don't forget he had a torrid 20 minutes on Finnerty in league final and Davy Murray eas moved over.

Midfield will likely remain the same but as one poster on here saying they've done well all year bar Derry match is a bit OTT. Struggled v Clare in 2nd half. Struggled v Derry for a lot of match. Lot of issues in league final and and struggled and outfielded v sligo for periods also. Going back to last Sunday Eddie Nolan was totally out of it and Ultan Harney did well offensively but middle was wide open all day long hence one reason we conceded 2-19.

I would like to see Keith Doyle in and possibly move Ultan to centre forward flanked by Enda Smith amd Ciaran Murtagh. My inside line would be Cian McKeon, Diarmuid Murtagh and Niall Kilroy with him playing a defensive role. Bringing him on at ht 6pts down is not going to turn the match for you. Conor Cox and Donie Smith and Cathal Heneghan lose out in that scenario.

If they keep Eddie and Ultan Midfield then for me it's Ciaran Murtagh who plays 11 and Enda Smith to wing forward where he has played his best football over the years and can help out midfield. Ciaran Murtagh was and is our best centre forward. Cathal Heneghan comes back into wing forward in that scenario and can feel unlucky to be taken off last week at ht as he was no worse than any other forward. Defensively he is suspect but get him to stay upfield where he is so creative and lively and let Kilroy play deeper doing the covering. Diarmuid Murtagh has to start and its a no brainer and how he wasn't introduced earlier is a mystery and as one longford poster on here stated all doesn't appear well with him and manager and it certainly looks like that looking in.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 05/06/2022 15:55:58    2422452

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Now we know who we could potentially face all 4 ties are winnable given that it will likely be a Portlaoise/Tulamore venue for Armagh, Cork or Clare. A mayo tie will probably push us to Salthill or Sligo (depending on its capacity).

The debate over the next few days will be what changes if any will management make. Obviously any injuries could influence their decisions.

For me I would forsee at least one defensive change. For me full back line will be same again despite shipping big scores v Galway in two matches. I would expect a sweeper to be deployed from the start if its Mayo or Armagh we face. Personally I'd have one in no matter who we are playing. Ronan Daly to move to No. 5 and Richard Hughes at No.7 with Niall Daly remaining at centre back. Conor Hussey loses out and I think there wouldn't be much debate over that. Eoin McCormack may come into full back line but don't forget he had a torrid 20 minutes on Finnerty in league final and Davy Murray eas moved over.

Midfield will likely remain the same but as one poster on here saying they've done well all year bar Derry match is a bit OTT. Struggled v Clare in 2nd half. Struggled v Derry for a lot of match. Lot of issues in league final and and struggled and outfielded v sligo for periods also. Going back to last Sunday Eddie Nolan was totally out of it and Ultan Harney did well offensively but middle was wide open all day long hence one reason we conceded 2-19.

I would like to see Keith Doyle in and possibly move Ultan to centre forward flanked by Enda Smith amd Ciaran Murtagh. My inside line would be Cian McKeon, Diarmuid Murtagh and Niall Kilroy with him playing a defensive role. Bringing him on at ht 6pts down is not going to turn the match for you. Conor Cox and Donie Smith and Cathal Heneghan lose out in that scenario.

If they keep Eddie and Ultan Midfield then for me it's Ciaran Murtagh who plays 11 and Enda Smith to wing forward where he has played his best football over the years and can help out midfield. Ciaran Murtagh was and is our best centre forward. Cathal Heneghan comes back into wing forward in that scenario and can feel unlucky to be taken off last week at ht as he was no worse than any other forward. Defensively he is suspect but get him to stay upfield where he is so creative and lively and let Kilroy play deeper doing the covering. Diarmuid Murtagh has to start and its a no brainer and how he wasn't introduced earlier is a mystery and as one longford poster on here stated all doesn't appear well with him and manager and it certainly looks like that looking in."
That Longford fella is obviously from Faithleachs.

Roscommon people are one of the few that i see don't seem to understand the importance of impact subs or looking to finish with your strongest team which i believe is done with Diarmuid Murtagh. " All Doesn't appear well with him and his manager" what do you think you are achieving with such of a bizarre comment?

Nothing wrong with Roscommons midfield pairing from what i watched in the league final and last Sunday against a good Galway midfield. Loads wrong defensively and how easily teams can score against you however and it will likely require double sweepers to improve things.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 05/06/2022 17:08:51    2422477

I'd agree with the defensive changes and deploying a sweeper but I don't think you can change midfield pairing especially Harney. Diarmuid definitely deserves a start but benches are vital as above poster says in this day and age. Could Cox be used as an impact sub?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 05/06/2022 17:50:27    2422492

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "You're right, we really seem to lack natural backs. The natural defenders we do produce seem to step away from football for various reasons, Collins, Mullooly and McInerney off the top of my head. However, we should at least be able to coach lads to tackle. Look at Mayo, even some their forwards are good tacklers, which must have been targeted by coaches. Roscommon have had an issue with tackling for the past 8 years and doesn't seem to have been addressed across various management team's."
Agree, think as a defensive unit we need to improve. 6 defenders for me would be Stack, C Daly, McCormack, R Hugh's, Hussey and R Daly. Maybe Niall Daly could play full back?

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 05/06/2022 18:56:15    2422526

Replying To anotheralias:  "Galway cant meet Mayo in Quarters.
And I'm really struggling to see the logic that Mayo would beat Galway.
Galway are no world beaters , but they have proven themselves to be the best team in Connacht ( and by more of a margin than the 1 and 3 point victories would suggest).
I see no reason why we wouldn't beat Mayo , Tyrone or anyone apart from Kerry or Dublin. By that logic reaching an All Ireland is a realistic aspiration.... not guaranteed by any means , but definitely possible."
Galway definitely should win their quarter final now that Tyrone are gone. I thought if Tyrone beat Armagh they'd get back on the horse but they seem to be completely off the boil this year. I still think Mayo will be hard for Galway to beat if they meet further on but great chance now for ye to make a semi if not a final. All to play for.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 05/06/2022 20:30:42    2422579

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "You're right, we really seem to lack natural backs. The natural defenders we do produce seem to step away from football for various reasons, Collins, Mullooly and McInerney off the top of my head. However, we should at least be able to coach lads to tackle. Look at Mayo, even some their forwards are good tacklers, which must have been targeted by coaches. Roscommon have had an issue with tackling for the past 8 years and doesn't seem to have been addressed across various management team's."
Agree, think as a defensive unit we need to improve. 6 defenders for me would be Stack, C Daly, McCormack, R Hugh's, Hussey and R Daly. Maybe Niall Daly could play full back?

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 05/06/2022 20:30:51    2422580

Clare we draw. their manager Colin Collins sounds in confident mood after it and why shouldn't he, after knocking us out in 2016 and drawing with us in Hyde Park this year.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 06/06/2022 08:52:54    2422645